New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

Volo Airsport - Wingsuiting with DK2

mzandvlietmzandvliet Posts: 20
edited September 2014 in Games and Apps
Hey folks!

Last week we released v3 of Volo Airsport, our wingsuit flight simulator, and it now has experimental support for the Rift DK2.

It's available on our website now!

Here's a Setup Guide based on Darius' notes



It's early days for the game, and for its support of the Rift. But what's there is already very enjoyable! Here's a video of GamerMuscleVideos trying it out with the DK2:



Check out our website for more info on the game, and our plans for it as we move forward. And let me know what you think! We can use all the feedback we can get. :)

Latest version: See the v3.1 details
«1

Comments

  • eagleeyezeagleeyez Posts: 104
    Art3mis
    Blue is not cool against a green background. Make the Jumpsuit a real person to match the terrain as real and not cartoon with terrain reality. Or make everything cartoony. I will however try it out later.
  • TomSDTomSD Posts: 429
    Brain Burst
    This looks like it could be an excellent fit for one of the VR-focused body tracking sensors coming up, like Control VR, PrioVR, STEM, etc. Have you looked into that? Didn't see anything about it on your web site.
    i7-4770K, 2x GTX 780 SLI, Windows 7 64-bit, Oculus runtime 0.6.0.0
  • DariusDarius Posts: 177
    Hiro Protagonist
    YES!!!!!!! Great news, guys. Instant buy for me, downloading as we speak. I am a huge fan of Volo Airsport on the DK1 and demo-ed to a lot of people. Can't wait to play with it on the DK2. Will spread the word to gather support for your further development!
  • DuselDusel Posts: 40
    Brain Burst
    I bought the game as soon as i heard of version 3. I played the DK1 Demo for hours.
    The pricing might seem a bit high for some, as there is basically no content except for one map and the flight control itself, but for me it's totally worth it as the terrain looks amazing and the physics is simply amazing (though a bit harder then the old controls if I'm correct). I would either drop the price a bit or add more content (1 or 2 maps more to begin with), so it appeals to a bigger amount of people :)

    Concerning the ragdoll model, i got used to it and actually i like it, though i don't mind having a beatiful 3D-Model

    I simply cant wait to see tasks implemented or a kind of map-editor, which has the biggest potential if you ask me, as there will be tons of different mountains to master!

    All in all, still (or again?) one of my favorite rift experiences

    How often are you planning to release updates/content?
  • minbari73minbari73 Posts: 25
    Brain Burst
    Bit of a hassle to get working, but damn it was worth it. Hopefully the problems will be fixed in the next release! My FPS is way higher in this than the UE4 hanglider demo and some very smooth head tracking.

    I have to agree though, it would be great if there was a proper model there instead of a placeholder..it tends to take away from the reality of it all. I would like a hanglider sidegame in this one, for relaxin' :D

    This is up there with the best demos i've seen thus far though. As gamermuscle says, the feeling of speed and height is amazing - and the physics and wind display a depth to it all. Great stuff!
  • DariusDarius Posts: 177
    Hiro Protagonist
    Wow, it's really awesome with the DK2. I love it!!! The new scenery is great and it runs really smooth without judder on my machine. Really looking forward to enhanced scenery with lakes, birds and reference points (bridges, hikercamps?, buildings). For those of you figuring out how to get it running:

    1st time preparation:
    - Start Volo, press ESC on titlescreen and choose OPTIONS
    - Change resolution to 1920x1080
    - Change Windowing to Fullscreen
    - Enable Oculus support (at the bottom of the option list)
    - Exit Volo

    To Play:

    - Set Rift Display mode: Extend Desktop to the HMD
    - You do not have to stop services
    - Then set the HMD as the primary screen
    - Start Volo .. bypass the 2D titlescreen by pressing Enter and you're set; pick a spawnpoint

    Plays best with a XBOX controller.
  • thebkothebko Posts: 47
    Brain Burst
    This demo appears to be very fun ! What a pity there is not a free demo to get an idea. I think it's too expensive for a simple demo. I would gladly have bought it if there were several world and games mode.
    I hope you succeed your project for a full game release. I'll buy it for sure.
  • The demo doesn't accept input from my Razer Sabertooth at all making it hard to impossible to play it. Please fix this, this is the second demo that won't accept my perfectly fine Razer device, only difference is I paid $20 for this one. :(
  • uvflyeruvflyer Posts: 134
    This looks great, but I'm not sure if I will buy another unfinished game with little content in it. I'm not trying to be an asshole because this concept looks great. A demo wouldn't be a wrong idea, since you would have way more people trying out and buy it afterwards, including me ;) .

    Could you also fly from the wingsuiter first person? A more realistic model would be a good next step as well I guess since the terrain looks so good.

    Good luck with finishing the game! :) Might come back later
  • SharpfishSharpfish Posts: 1,303
    Neo
    no demo. no try. sorry.
    EX DK2, EX VIVE, EX PSVR, Currently RIFT CV1 | VR developer
    Poster of the week who never got a T-Shirt ;( dayum they looked tasty!
  • Hey guys, first a public service announcement:

    Volo Airsport now costs $13

    This is to better suit its early access state. If you've already bought it at $20, you'll soon get a second key to gift to a friend.

    (I've also listed known issues for the oculus mode right on the main page. If you have an AMD card for example, you might run into the black screen issue and might want to hold off until we fix it.)
  • Update note: v3.1 will be out within a few days, containing the 0.4.2 SDK release. It fixes a bunch of judder issues.

    @TomSD: I ordered a set of Sixense's new gizmos through their Kickstarter. Hope to be getting my hands on them soon!

    One thing that that I've already figured out though, is that the lack of physical feedback makes the mapping process hard. For example, if I drive the arms by using handheld sensors as inverse kinematic targets, it's way too easy to get out of sync with what your virtual body is doing. It's not just subject to your input, but also to the entire wind and physics system.

    Still, there are some interesting things we can try. :)

    @Darius: Thanks, that's so great to hear! Your set up guide is very handy too, totally dropped the ball on that myself. :D

    @dusel: Fantastic, hope v3 is everything you hoped for. We're planning bi-weekly to monthly updates, although right now I'm just working on a quick patch release. We'll find our rhythm soon enough, I guess! User-made maps and mods are on the todo list. My terrain system is already capable of loading in heights, splats, normals and other texture at runtime, so that'll be the first moddable thing to happen. Apart from that, I'm working on a GTA Online-ish interface for placing props and interactibles so players can create their own events.

    @minbari73: We still need to document the set up process, altough Darius' guide is pretty much bang-on! We're recruiting modelers right now to spruce up the character model and start fleshing out the world.

    @thebko: How's $13 for you then? :)

    @Simpanra: That might be due to a bug in our input system. Do you have any other gamepads or joysticks hooked up to your system currently? Sometimes our input system only registers input on the first enumerated device it finds, skipping the rest. Sorry for the inconvenience, it'll be fixed. If you desire a refund let me know. Also note: because of today's price drop, you'll soon get a second key to gift to a friend.

    @uvflyer: We hear you, and we've lowered the price to better reflect the early access nature of the game. First person mode is in, and we're working on a proper character model. :)

    @Sharpfish: A demo will happen later. Right now you can still try older alpha versions of the game for free though.

    Thanks for all the feedback folks!
  • mzandvliet wrote:
    @Simpanra: That might be due to a bug in our input system. Do you have any other gamepads or joysticks hooked up to your system currently? Sometimes our input system only registers input on the first enumerated device it finds, skipping the rest. Sorry for the inconvenience, it'll be fixed. If you desire a refund let me know. Also note: because of today's price drop, you'll soon get a second key to gift to a friend.

    Thank you for your reply! I have only my keyboard, mouse, razer nostromo (keypad) and the sabertooth. It could be the nostromo but I'm not sure.
    I don't require a refund thank you as I feel you are doing a very professional job with this and your reply has been more than satisfactory :)
    I look forward to the giftable key! :lol:
  • blanesblanes Posts: 1,100
    3Jane
    Does the Alpha V2 win work with DK2 or is only for DK1 ?
  • blanes wrote:
    Does the Alpha V2 win work with DK2 or is only for DK1 ?

    That one's only compatible the with DK1, as it was made with a year-old SDK version. We'll likely do a proper demo version of the game later on so you can give it a shot first.
    Simpanra wrote:
    Thank you for your reply! I have only my keyboard, mouse, razer nostromo (keypad) and the sabertooth. It could be the nostromo but I'm not sure.
    I don't require a refund thank you as I feel you are doing a very professional job with this and your reply has been more than satisfactory :)
    I look forward to the giftable key! :lol:

    That's great to hear, thank you! You'll get your extra key soon. :)
  • jabjab Posts: 241
    Nexus 6
    I know Rift content is scarce, but when did it become normal to have to pay to become a alpha/beta tester?
    You are doing the developer's a favor by testing and reporting bugs on unfinished software, not the other way around.
  • jab wrote:
    I know Rift content is scarce, but when did it become normal to have to pay to become a alpha/beta tester?
    You are doing the developer's a favor by testing and reporting bugs on unfinished software, not the other way around.

    It has been the norm for a while now, even further back than Minecraft even, which you had to pay for in order to play it early. Most people who play Minecraft played it before release I believe :) If you don't want to pay the lesser price to get the early access and the final game, then it is Highly unlikely you will want to pay more for the finished game, so I guess alpha/beta testing at a cost isn't for you?

    If I have misread anything please correct me :)
  • minbari73minbari73 Posts: 25
    Brain Burst
    Thanks for the extra key! That doesn't happen every day :)
  • I'm making progress on the AMD/ATI black screen issue.

    As read elsewhere, some games can be gotten to work by forcing DX11 mode. That's the way I'm looking to do it as well.

    If you've previously tried this trick you'll have noticed many graphical artifacts, such as the terrain rendering as pure black. I have now fixed the terrain shaders, but am still fixing subtler shader problems.

    Still, we're getting there!
  • XenotoneXenotone Posts: 21
    Brain Burst
    Looks fun but I'll wait for a free demo thanks
  • FALSEFALSE Posts: 81
    So I bought this and I'm having a hard time with it.
    It doesn't launch fullscreen. Alt+enter makes it fullscreen but the 3d isnt right.
    And my 360 controller doesnt work.
    Help!
    Loved this on DK1
  • Phil2003Phil2003 Posts: 176
    Brain Burst
    Great, gonna look into this with my ati 7970. Hope theres a demo somewhere, dont want to buy yet another game just to find out it wont work with my setup.
  • If you're currently experiencing the Black Screen In Oculus Mode With AMD Cards issue, and you have some time to help test, let me know! I really need some testers, and I can compensate with an additional download key for your trouble. :)
    FALSE wrote:
    So I bought this and I'm having a hard time with it.
    It doesn't launch fullscreen. Alt+enter makes it fullscreen but the 3d isnt right.
    And my 360 controller doesnt work.
    Help!
    Loved this on DK1

    Hey FALSe, sorry to hear you're having problems!

    You can toggle windowed/fullscreen and set the resolution from the menu (ESC should show it). Alt-enter is not recommended. Darius has a pretty good setup guide for Oculus mode on page 1 of this thread.

    A known issue with input handling is that the game only uses the first game controller it finds. Temporary workaround: If you have any other game controllers hooked up to your computer right now, see if detaching them helps.
    Phil2003 wrote:
    Great, gonna look into this with my ati 7970. Hope theres a demo somewhere, dont want to buy yet another game just to find out it wont work with my setup.

    We don't have a demo yet, sorry. Additionally, the v3 build has issues on AMD cards, so you might want to hold off until that's fixed. I have an alternative offer though:

    If you have some time to test one or two new builds on your AMD card, I'll provide you with a download key.
  • mzandvliet wrote:
    If you're currently experiencing the Black Screen In Oculus Mode With AMD Cards issue, and you have some time to help test, let me know! I really need some testers, and I can compensate with an additional download key for your trouble. :)
    FALSE wrote:
    So I bought this and I'm having a hard time with it.
    It doesn't launch fullscreen. Alt+enter makes it fullscreen but the 3d isnt right.
    And my 360 controller doesnt work.
    Help!
    Loved this on DK1

    Hey FALSe, sorry to hear you're having problems!

    You can toggle windowed/fullscreen and set the resolution from the menu (ESC should show it). Alt-enter is not recommended. Darius has a pretty good setup guide for Oculus mode on page 1 of this thread.

    A known issue with input handling is that the game only uses the first game controller it finds. Temporary workaround: If you have any other game controllers hooked up to your computer right now, see if detaching them helps.
    Phil2003 wrote:
    Great, gonna look into this with my ati 7970. Hope theres a demo somewhere, dont want to buy yet another game just to find out it wont work with my setup.

    We don't have a demo yet, sorry. Additionally, the v3 build has issues on AMD cards, so you might want to hold off until that's fixed. I have an alternative offer though:

    If you have some time to test one or two new builds on your AMD card, I'll provide you with a download key.

    I will participate, I have an AMD 7970 and have the blackscreen issue unless I use -force-d3d11
  • MikzipMikzip Posts: 15
    NerveGear
    I would also like to test, my build:
    i7-4790K
    290X
    16GB
    Win 8.1 64bit
  • Thanks Simpanra, Mikzip! I'll send you a PM shortly with builds to try. :)
  • mzandvliet wrote:
    Thanks Simpanra, Mikzip! I'll send you a PM shortly with builds to try. :)

    Looking forward to it! Thanks for the opportunity (and extra key xD)!
  • MikzipMikzip Posts: 15
    NerveGear
    Also looking forward to test, been able to run almost any demo for dk2 so far, trial and error ;)
  • I just downloaded it, im using DK2 but im having no luck with it. it doesnt work at all. I noticed there's only the "exe" file, the one it appears for dk1 compatible games, but not "direct to oculus" like the ones for dk2.
    Am i missing something to make it run? im very excited to try it out and show it to my friends...
    Im using dk2 in extended mode.
  • MikzipMikzip Posts: 15
    NerveGear
    Mikzip wrote:
    I would also like to test, my build:
    i7-4790K
    290X
    16GB
    Win 8.1 64bit

    All i can say is, it is really awesome with this hardware, and only taxing the GPU really, 75fps and low persistence, a lot of the setup options set high. :D
    This is a beta off the 3.1 build
Sign In or Register to comment.