New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

SpaceEngine

Comments

• LoafmeisterLoafmeister Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    Hi,

I just wanted to add to the comments. I'm an amateur astronomer (very amateur ;)), I've taken some pics with my telescope, quality isn't great but IMHO I'm having fun and doing what I always dreamed I could do, so very happy.

Part of that dream (barring some unforeseen development in space travel) was to somehow, some day travel across our solar system and beyond. Little did I think it was possible that the day I thought would be in maybe 10-20 years... is now.

First things' first: this is an amazing app! I have an oculus ready PC and I can tell you the performance is top notch in desktop mode. Just incredible, the graphical effects, never mind that this is a free download is just outstanding. Well done SpaceEngineer, well done and I can promise you I will be donating very soon for sure, it's well earned.

Now onto the Oculus support. I read of this app on the Oculus reddit forum where a user was saying he got his DK1 to work using the app switcher (to load firmware 0.5) and version 0.973. I promised (and being a fan of the genre, owed it to myself) to download everything (and even added on the beta 0.974) and try and see if I could get the DK2 to work. Unfortunately, it was a long and painful effort without the successful result. I got the menu to load in the DK2, however there was poor convergence of the images and it was not playable.

Now I didn't read the SpaceEngine forums as of yet so it's possible what I'm about to mention was common knowledge but as I didn't read about it here, well here you go: beta 0.974 has 0.8 support!

KAPOW!