Oculus Home Installation Failure — Oculus
New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

Oculus Home Installation Failure

SuperTuckSuperTuck Posts: 119
Art3mis
I download the setup files and run the application. I have disabled all anti-virus, totally removed previous runtimes, deleted the oculus folder that was left over, cleaned the registry, rebooted. The application downloads 842 mb and then attempts to install but it then fails and tells me to restart the computer and try again. It fails each time.

This is the exact same error I had during the Oculus Home beta. I posted the same issue in the forum and received NO REPLY. There is no explanation for why this is happening and they seemed uninterested in what the problem was during the Home Alpha. Will anyone care to help now that it is publicly released? 

I am on Windows 10 Pro with the latest Nvidia drivers released today. 


Comments

  • Same Issue.
  • SyFySyFy Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    edited March 2016
    Same issue here with DK2, Win 10 64bit. Log file attached
  • ChamberedChambered Posts: 9
    NerveGear
    Yep, I get the same exact problem.  RC1, Win 10 64bit, 980TI (SLI) with latest drivers.
  • SuperTuckSuperTuck Posts: 119
    Art3mis
    I had the exact same log results during the Home Beta. I am not seeing a log file spit out during this install... where is that being output?
  • SyFySyFy Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    SuperTuck said:
    I had the exact same log results during the Home Beta. I am not seeing a log file spit out during this install... where is that being output?
    C:\Users\....\AppData\Local\Oculus
  • Link to /r/oculus where the issue is being discussed.

    https://www.reddit.com/r/oculus/comments/4caiwr/failed_install/
  • SolointhematrixSolointhematrix Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    Peoples on reddit are saying that it's a "user privilege" problem. Trying to run as an administrator and stuff like that, I got the same problem
  • edguy1edguy1 Posts: 37
    Brain Burst
    So far have disabled SLI
    Uninstalled 08 runtime
    Reboot the PC.
    Ran the OculusSetup.exe in admin mode.

    No Joy :( 
  • ZachPrinzZachPrinz Posts: 4
    edited March 2016
    FIX: 
    1. Open regedit.exe
    2. Go to HKEY LOCAL MACHINE
    3. Right click
    4. Permissions
    5. Reorder
    6. Add Full Control
    7. Restart Computer
    8. Run Install Software
  • edguy1edguy1 Posts: 37
    Brain Burst
    Worked, Thanks Zatch :)
  • SuperTuckSuperTuck Posts: 119
    Art3mis
    Trying now. Have to redownload for the install with slow hillbilly internet :neutral: 
  • SuperTuckSuperTuck Posts: 119
    Art3mis
    Confirmed to work.
  • GanjaroachGanjaroach Posts: 449
    Hiro Protagonist
    I'm not seeing "reorder" after clicking permissions?
  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 26,156 Oculus Staff
    edited March 2016
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    Gigabyte RX Vega 64 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • SolointhematrixSolointhematrix Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    edited March 2016
    I GOT A SOLUTION! The "Oculus" folder in Program Files could not be created: the privileges in my computer was busted. Solution: manually create the "Oculus" folder in Program Files (x86), right click, and grant acces to everyone, and uncheck "read only"
  • tappatappa Posts: 47
    Brain Burst
    Similar problem but nothing works.
  • mellott124mellott124 Posts: 15
    NerveGear
    Mine was failing due to it not liking my VS C++ Redistributable.  I uninstalled what I had and let the Oculus Home install do what it wanted.  Then everything worked fine.
  • NovitczNovitcz Posts: 5
    Tried all of this, still can't install it :(
  • cnewfeldtcnewfeldt Posts: 3
    NerveGear
    edited April 2016
    Would have liked to save the 842 megs of Oculus software I had to keep re-downloading trying all these work arounds. Also, blowing away the library on repair? On that note; uninstalling the VS C++ Redistribution worked for me.  
  • DanielJonesDanielJones Posts: 6
    NerveGear
    I spent all day, doing everything suggested but finally found error 1638 in a log.  I followed these steps and it is working now!!!

    "My problem was with VC++ 2015 Redist. I had previously installed the latest Visual Studio 2015 Update 2 for Xbox One development and Oculus failed to install right at the point where it tried to install the VC++ 2015 redist. The error code was 1638 which says "error code 1638 is Another version of this product is already installed. Installation of this version cannot continue. To configure or remove the existing version of this product, use Add/Remove Programs in Control Panel."

    Removed Visual Studio and any VC++ 2015 redist packages and reinstalled Oculus. Worked fine after that."

  • KingK76KingK76 Posts: 257
    Art3mis
    Okay I am having an issue where I run the OculusSetup file (it's like 2.8MB) and then a black window opens.  Very briefly a Oculus "O" symbol comes up and the disappears.  After that it does nothing.  If I click the window I get a "Oculus has stopped worked" dialog box.  I have tried the "fix" from @ZachPrinz but it didn't help.  I have a DK1, DK2 and my CV1 get's here on Monday May 2nd (in 3 days) so I wanted this working.  I have uninstalled 0.8 and disconnected my DK2 (tried it connected as well).  Please somebody help!
  • KingK76KingK76 Posts: 257
    Art3mis
    Hey guys...  So I have an update to my issue...  I actually found it in a Reddit thread.  So the setup file was downloaded to my Downloads folder, and that seemed to be the issue.  The suggestion was to move the file to my Desktop and try to launch it from there (I have NO idea why this would be an issue...).  So anyway I did just that and it worked!  So if anyone else has the same issue try that.  Thanks.
  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 26,156 Oculus Staff
    edited May 2016
    Thanks for sharing the solution, @KingK76 hopefully that helps others.
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    Gigabyte RX Vega 64 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • su830304su830304 Posts: 3
    edited May 2016
    u may try this link! a taiwanese hacker just released a cracked package for runtime 1.3. Just followed a few easy installation step after downloading the package.
Sign In or Register to comment.