Can't complete Setup: Sensor LED won't turn on — Oculus
New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

Can't complete Setup: Sensor LED won't turn on

lritterlritter Posts: 12

I'm attempting to complete the setup procedure but can not progress. I am at the "Adjust Your Focus" stage that expects me to put on the Rift, but neither is the Sensor LED on, nor is the headset turning on. In fact I only managed to turn the Sensor LED on once earlier during the "Find your Rift" stage, after four retries to search it.

Just out of curiosity I tried the Oculus World Demo from the 1.3 SDK, and the LED turns on right away, but this also starts Setup again at the "Adjust Your Focus" stage and I still get no HMD picture.

So I'm stuck here. Any ideas?

(FYI: I submitted this as a support ticket before, then figured I should ask here too)

Tagged:

Comments

  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 26,156 Oculus Staff
    Can you open a File Explorer window and paste this in the URL field:
    %LOCALAPPDATA%\Oculus\

    Then look for "OculusSetup.log" and sent that to me.

    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    Gigabyte RX Vega 64 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • lritterlritter Posts: 12
    I uploaded the log to a gist; https://gist.github.com/paniq/fa722fb66c353890bd678097c04af783 as you can see I did a regular install, and then tried a repair later on in an effort to reset the Setup and start from scratch (no success)
  • lritterlritter Posts: 12
    edited April 2016
    Just out of interest I completely unplugged both devices (they correctly show up as devices in the system device manager) and started Setup, it doesn't even complain that anything isn't plugged in. Is there any way to reset setup and start from scratch?
  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 26,156 Oculus Staff
    This is the error "If on Windows 7, must have hotfixes KB2670838 and KB3033929 installed.". Please try to install those specific updates and see if you can continue with the install.
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    Gigabyte RX Vega 64 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • lritterlritter Posts: 12
    I found this error in the server logs... what bandwidth is it talking about? GPU bandwidth or USB bandwidth?

    00:14:57.958 {!ERROR!} [Errors] OVR Error:
      Code: -3000 -- ovrError_Initialize
      System error: -1529741307 (a4d20005) -- (unknown)
      Description: Not enough bandwidth to support required video mode.
      OVRTime: 4841.894211
      Time: 2016-04-05 00:14:57 [958:21:700]
  • lritterlritter Posts: 12
    @cybereality: look closer. you'll find that there were three aborted installations; the patches for KB2670838 and KB3033929 were eventually installed. In the meantime I upgraded to Windows 10 (to get USB 3.0 support) and repaired the installation. It went fine.
  • lritterlritter Posts: 12
    To answer my own question: it appears there are two issues at play here: I tried to test the Rift on a GTX 460 (A new graphics card is on the way), which has insufficient bandwidth to host both a 2160x1200x90 rift output and a 1920x1080x60 desktop. When I unplug the monitor's DVI cable before starting Oculus Home, the sensor light comes on and the bandwidth error disappears from the server log (it's the newest Service_*.txt in %LOCALAPPDATA%\Oculus\), however the sensor turns off shortly afterwards with the log reporting that it has disappeared (in other cases the HMD is reported as missing despite being plugged in).

    I assume this has to do with a faulty USB 3.0 controller. The latest PerfLog_*.json (in the same folder) indicates that my Etron USB controllers are graded as "BLACKLISTED" rather than "PASS". I ordered a (recommended) ePCI USB 3.0 card and I hope that will fix that part of the issue.

    It would have been nice to get better error reporting / diagnostics in the UI rather than expecting users to venture into logfiles or pester support.
  • MrKaktusMrKaktus Posts: 81
    Hiro Protagonist
    It's not your GPU fault but Oculus Faulty Software issue. New GPU may help bud doesn't need to. I have NVidia Quadro M5000 with 8GB VRAM (~980 adequate) and I have the same error message. I've even restarted PC and booted it in 1920x1080/60hz/8bpp resolution. It didn't helped as well. (while the same GPU was capable of handling TWO 4K @ 60Hz displays AND Oculus DK2). So I blame Oculus, as their Software refuses to run on GPU for 2000$.
  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 26,156 Oculus Staff
    A GTX 460 is far below the requirements, but I agree the error messages could be more helpful.
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    Gigabyte RX Vega 64 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
Sign In or Register to comment.