New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

Every few seconds: "We can't find your sensor. Please connect your sensor."

GeoffleeGeofflee Posts: 7
NerveGear
My Oculus Rift CV1 was working fine a couple weeks ago. But today, I started getting a serious problem that completely prevents me from using the Rift.

Every few seconds, I get a notification saying "We can't find your sensor. Please connect your sensor." This is accompanied by Windows 10 making the USB disconnect and connect sound. It seems like the sensor is constantly restarting. I've tried everything including rebooting, different USB 3.0 ports, USB 3.1 port, and re-installing Oculus Home.

Anybody else getting this problem?

Is there a way to suppress this notification message? It does actually work for a few seconds in between the sensor restarting.

Looking at the service logs, you can clearly see the device being restarted due to "[DML:CameraImpl] WMTD302J30092Y: Performing a soft-reset to attempt to recover from catastrophic failure"
17/08 13:06:21.057 {!ERROR!} [Kernel:Error] Camera frame truncated
17/08 13:06:21.057 {WARNING} [DML:CameraImpl] WMTD302J30092Y: Camera frame truncated
17/08 13:06:21.057 {!ERROR!} [Kernel:Error] WaitForFrame wait failed - WAIT_FAILED
17/08 13:06:21.058 {DEBUG}   [HAL:CV1CameraImpl] WMTD302J30092Y: Checking for catastrophic failure cases
17/08 13:06:21.277 {WARNING} [HAL:CV1CameraImpl] WMTD302J30092Y: Original wireless stats:
{
"currentTime": 532433,
"strobes": 1593,
"timesEnabled": 1,
"timesDisabled": 0,
"rssiChannel": 48,
"rssi": -62,
"beaconsHit": 14017,
"beaconsMissed": 1293
}
17/08 13:06:21.277 {INFO}    [HAL:CV1CameraImpl] WMTD302J30092Y: Wireless metrics after 100 ms:
{
"currentTime": 532433,
"strobes": 1601,
"timesEnabled": 1,
"timesDisabled": 0,
"rssiChannel": 40,
"rssi": -60,
"beaconsHit": 14093,
"beaconsMissed": 1296
}
17/08 13:06:21.277 {INFO}    [HAL:CV1CameraImpl] WMTD302J30092Y: Original driver stats:
{
"iso_read_submitted":10599,
"iso_read_completed":10594,
"iso_read_failed":0,
"iso_read_ntstatus":0,
"iso_read_usbdstatus":0,
"iso_read_length_error":0,
"iso_read_stream_error":0,
"iso_read_no_requests":0,
"iso_read_req_too_short":0,
"iso_read_request_completions":1594,
"iso_read_request_completed_bytes":1965233304,
"iso_read_request_total_bytes":1962785932,
"streaming_req_submitted":201,
"streaming_req_succeeded":201,
"streaming_req_failed":0,
"last_bad_isopacket_status":0,
"last_bad_isopacket_status_time":0,
"bad_isopacket_counter":0,
"interrupt_read_completed":508,
"interrupt_read_completed_bytes":0,
"interrupt_read_failed":0,
"interrupt_read_ntstatus":0,
"interrupt_read_usbdstatus":0
}
17/08 13:06:21.277 {INFO}    [HAL:CV1CameraImpl] WMTD302J30092Y: Driver stats after 100 ms:
{
"iso_read_submitted":10672,
"iso_read_completed":10667,
"iso_read_failed":0,
"iso_read_ntstatus":0,
"iso_read_usbdstatus":0,
"iso_read_length_error":0,
"iso_read_stream_error":0,
"iso_read_no_requests":23,
"iso_read_req_too_short":0,
"iso_read_request_completions":1602,
"iso_read_request_completed_bytes":1975096472,
"iso_read_request_total_bytes":1976858284,
"streaming_req_submitted":249,
"streaming_req_succeeded":249,
"streaming_req_failed":0,
"last_bad_isopacket_status":0,
"last_bad_isopacket_status_time":0,
"bad_isopacket_counter":0,
"interrupt_read_completed":511,
"interrupt_read_completed_bytes":0,
"interrupt_read_failed":0,
"interrupt_read_ntstatus":0,
"interrupt_read_usbdstatus":0
}
17/08 13:06:21.277 {!ERROR!} [Kernel:Error] Sync pulses sent but no frames received
17/08 13:06:21.278 {!ERROR!} [DML:CameraImpl] WMTD302J30092Y: Breaking out of capture loop due to catastrophic error. OVR Error:
  Code: -8020 -- ovrError_HALNordicSyncNoFrames
  Description: Sync pulses sent but no frames received
  OVRTime: 532433.478095
  Time: 2016-08-17 13:06:21 [277:420:100]

17/08 13:06:21.308 {!ERROR!} [HAL:CommOcusbvid] WMTD302J30092Y: CancelIoAndWaitForRequestCompletions: Failed to wait for all requests to complete.  Attempting to shutdown anyway.  Wait result: 0xffffffff, Last Error: 0x6
17/08 13:06:21.310 {INFO}    [DeviceEvent] SENSOR [WMTD302J30092Y] HealthChanged -8607 RepeatedCatastrophicFailure
17/08 13:06:21.310 {INFO}    [DML:CameraImpl] WMTD302J30092Y: Performing a soft-reset to attempt to recover from catastrophic failure
17/08 13:06:21.310 {INFO}    [HAL:CV1CameraImpl] WMTD302J30092Y: Initiating soft reset
17/08 13:06:21.310 {INFO}    [HardwareManager] Tracker WMTD302J30092Y got health event with error code -8607
17/08 13:06:21.331 {INFO}    [HAL:CommOcusbvid] OS Callback: sensor unplugged
17/08 13:06:21.331 {DEBUG}   [DML:EndpointManager] Disconnected endpoint: {'UUID':69664,'InstanceNum':28,'InterfaceName':'CameraInfo','DeviceType':'Camera','Path':'cv1:\\\\?\\usb#vid_2833&pid_0211&mi_00#6&13b51fbd&0&0000#{0b6cce76-2100-4c02-919e-01555ecba665}'}
17/08 13:06:21.331 {DEBUG}   [DML:EndpointManager] Disconnected endpoint: {'UUID':69654,'InstanceNum':29,'InterfaceName':'NVM','DeviceType':'Camera','Path':'cv1:\\\\?\\usb#vid_2833&pid_0211&mi_00#6&13b51fbd&0&0000#{0b6cce76-2100-4c02-919e-01555ecba665}'}
17/08 13:06:21.331 {DEBUG}   [DML:EndpointManager] Disconnected endpoint: {'UUID':69653,'InstanceNum':30,'InterfaceName':'Camera','DeviceType':'Camera','Path':'cv1:\\\\?\\usb#vid_2833&pid_0211&mi_00#6&13b51fbd&0&0000#{0b6cce76-2100-4c02-919e-01555ecba665}'}
17/08 13:06:21.709 {INFO}    [DeviceEvent] SENSOR [WMTD302J30092Y] Detached -8607 RepeatedCatastrophicFailure
17/08 13:06:23.392 {INFO}    [HAL:CommOcusbvid] OS Callback: sensor plugged in
17/08 13:06:23.393 {DEBUG}   [DML:EndpointManager] Connected endpoint: {'UUID':69664,'InstanceNum':31,'InterfaceName':'CameraInfo','DeviceType':'Camera','Path':'cv1:\\\\?\\usb#vid_2833&pid_0211&mi_00#6&13b51fbd&0&0000#{0b6cce76-2100-4c02-919e-01555ecba665}'}
17/08 13:06:23.393 {DEBUG}   [DML:EndpointManager] Connected endpoint: {'UUID':69654,'InstanceNum':32,'InterfaceName':'NVM','DeviceType':'Camera','Path':'cv1:\\\\?\\usb#vid_2833&pid_0211&mi_00#6&13b51fbd&0&0000#{0b6cce76-2100-4c02-919e-01555ecba665}'}
17/08 13:06:23.393 {DEBUG}   [DML:EndpointManager] Connected endpoint: {'UUID':69653,'InstanceNum':33,'InterfaceName':'Camera','DeviceType':'Camera','Path':'cv1:\\\\?\\usb#vid_2833&pid_0211&mi_00#6&13b51fbd&0&0000#{0b6cce76-2100-4c02-919e-01555ecba665}'}
17/08 13:06:23.832 {INFO}    [HAL:CV1CameraImpl] WMTD302J30092Y: Camera back online
17/08 13:06:23.832 {INFO}    [DeviceEvent] SENSOR [WMTD302J30092Y] TrackingChanged 0
17/08 13:06:23.832 {INFO}    [HW:Enumeration] Re-enumerating cameras due to hardware change
17/08 13:06:23.833 {INFO}    [HardwareManager] Tracker WMTD302J30092Y got detached event with error code -8607
17/08 13:06:23.834 {DEBUG}   [SystemStatusManager] Critical state detected, switching to UM
17/08 13:06:23.834 {INFO}    [LifeCycle] Request Location: UM
17/08 13:06:23.834 {INFO}    [LifeCycle] Push Location: UM
17/08 13:06:23.834 {INFO}    [LifeCycle] Starting Transition [FAST]: LANDING -> UM (6)
17/08 13:06:23.834 {INFO}    [LifeCycle] Send Fade: (6, BLACK, LINEAR, 250)
17/08 13:06:23.834 {INFO}    [HardwareManager] Obstruction changed: vrHardware
17/08 13:06:23.835 {INFO}    [HardwareManager] Tracker WMTD302J30092Y got tracking event with error code 0
17/08 13:06:23.854 {DEBUG}   [HAL:CV1CameraImpl] WMTD302J30092Y: Using raw uncompressed mode
17/08 13:06:23.863 {INFO}    [HW:Enumeration] 1 sensors detected
17/08 13:06:23.863 {INFO}    [HW:Enumeration] Trying to connect to sensor WMTD302J30092Y
17/08 13:06:23.863 {INFO}    [HW:Enumeration] HMDs: 1, Displays: 1



«13

Answers

  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 26,156 Oculus Staff
    Please try using a USB 2.0 port.
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    Gigabyte RX Vega 64 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • Arock387Arock387 Posts: 729
    Trinity
    Cyber. that doesn't fix the problem.  I'm having the same issue and have tried every USB 3 and 2 on my board and case and it doesn't solve it.  It needs to be solved quickly as this is a pretty huge thing.  It is literally dinging at us every few seconds and interrupts everything from streams to games to music.  The system should not even be trying to detect the sensor when Home is not in use. 

    I have been a defender for Oculus for a while.  This is getting pretty unacceptable though
  • TC1999TC1999 Posts: 184
    Art3mis
    Sorry geofflee it looks like you suffering from the same issue a number of us are having since the last home update to 1.7

    Hoping a new update is out soon to fix it.
  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 26,156 Oculus Staff
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    Gigabyte RX Vega 64 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • AhserAhser Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    I have the same issue, it worked fine a few days ago, I'm guessing something must have changed in an recent software update that needs to be reversed A.S.A.P!
  • JadziyahJadziyah Posts: 17
    NerveGear
    A bunch of people discussing the same issue in this thread, but I guess we have to post here for response...? 

    Ok. Well here is my file @cybereality  
  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 26,156 Oculus Staff
    Sorry for the delay. Let me have someone look into this.
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    Gigabyte RX Vega 64 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • Nukey75Nukey75 Posts: 26
    Brain Burst
    also having this problem,any fix for this??

  • masta2k9masta2k9 Posts: 6
    NerveGear
    me too...Rift is not usable with this bug,
    Every minute my Sensor get disconnected.

    Event Viewer:
    18/08 20:54:09.623 {!ERROR!} [DML:CameraImpl]
    WMTD202C100K62: Breaking out of capture loop due to catastrophic error. OVR Error:
      Code: -8020 -- ovrError_HALNordicSyncNoFrames
      Description: Sync pulses sent but no frames received

    Please Fix ASAP
    Thanks


  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 26,156 Oculus Staff
    It would really help if you all can upload the LogGatherer log zip file so we can investigate the problem. Otherwise is hard to troubleshoot the issue.
    https://forums.oculus.com/community/discussion/33792/how-to-get-logs-for-bug-reports-for-consumer-rift-1-3
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    Gigabyte RX Vega 64 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • masta2k9masta2k9 Posts: 6
    NerveGear
    Also have this Error (but had this before the Runtime Update also)

    18/08 18:24:52.193 {!ERROR!} [Kernel:Default] Windows 10 system doesn't appear to have RiftDisplay.inf installed. Cannot use DXGI 2 path successfully.

  • GeoffleeGeofflee Posts: 7
    NerveGear
    So, unless Oculus sneaked out an update that I'm unaware of, I might've fixed the problem on my end… I installed a new USB 3.1 PCIe card and connected only the Rift Sensor into it. My Rift Headset is connected directly to a motherboard USB 3.0 rear port. This forces the Rift Headset and Rift Sensor to be on separate channels and controllers. So far, I've spent an hour in Elite Dangerous with no problems. I'll keep you guys updated.

    I'm using the ASUS USB 3.1 Dual Type-A PCIe Card: https://amzn.com/B00Y7UXJJI (However, do note that this particular USB 3.1 expansion card requires a motherboard with an X99 or Z170 Intel chipset. Do not use it if you have an AMD processor.)

    One other thing I noticed is that my Rift Sensor gets very hot during operation. I don't know if this is unusual since I never paid close attention to it before. Could it possibly be overheating? I'm curious what the room temperature is for people who have this problem.
  • Arock387Arock387 Posts: 729
    Trinity
    edited August 2016
    Mine is fine while using it.  Its just while its idle is when it connects/disconnects
  • RedRizlaRedRizla Posts: 6,675 Valuable Player
    edited August 2016
    Please try using a USB 2.0 port.
    I don't have a usb 2 port on a brand new highend computer needed to run the rift? All my ports are usb 3 and above because I don't run the rift on a dated computer. I hope we are not having to go back to using old computers because this device is going to be returned if Oculus are now suggesting we use usb 2.
  • Arock387Arock387 Posts: 729
    Trinity
    I'm forced to uninstall and just not use my rift until thisbullshit is fixed.  I'm beginning to regret my decision to stick with oculus.  This is supposed to be a public release.  the annoyance this issue is causing is literally through the roof as I cannot go more than 20 seconds without my speakers blowing up with noises and notifications popping up
  • GeoffleeGeofflee Posts: 7
    NerveGear
    @lovethis Hey, don't take your anger out on me. I'm providing data to Oculus that might be useful in fixing your problem.
  • Good evening everyone,

    I too have been having the 'Critical Error: We can't find your sensor' error for a week now and it coincided with the 1.7 update.  I bought and installed the Inateck PCI USB 3.0 card with no improvement.  The error was occurring every 5-10 seconds and prior to this, I had zero issues(more to this later).  My current system is as follows:

    Asus Z170-A mobo
    16 gb ddr-3000 Corsair Vengeance ram
    I7-6700k 4 ghz processor overclocked by 15%
    Asus gtx 1080 video card founders edition
    Samsung 850 EVO M.2 500 gb
    Corsair RM-650x PS

    My fix:

    Knowing this was clearly some manner of a power drop related to the USB ports, I followed the others suggestions of power management checkboxes within device manager, no luck.

    I attempted every USB 3.0 and USB 2.0 port in every configuration possible.  Even attempted sensor in USB 3.1 and headset in any other port with no luck.

    My fix has been to remove the overclock within the bios.  I also disabled xHCI handoff feature in bios and disabled the USB 3.1.  I believe the overlock worked great but at the detriment to power to the onboard and powered PCI USB card.  As soon as I did this and restarted, oculus came back to life with zero tracking or sensor issues, working as great as it did on day one.  I will be re-enabling 3.1 shortly, but i suspect it will work fine.

    I hope this helps my fellow rifters, and how about some free oculus swag oculus staff.
  • RedRizlaRedRizla Posts: 6,675 Valuable Player
    I'm hoping Oculus fix it soon because I'm not disabling my overclock. I bought the skylake 6700k to overclock it.
  • RedRizlaRedRizla Posts: 6,675 Valuable Player
    Arock387 said:
    Mine is fine while using it.  Its just while its idle is when it connects/disconnects
    This is the same problem I'm having, it's when I'm not using it that it keeps disconnecting and reconnecting.
  • lovethis said:
    I'm hoping Oculus fix it soon because I'm not disabling my overclock. I bought the skylake 6700k to overclock it.
    I hear you, I also want to overclock, but with our processors, until a fix comes out, modify an overclock profile and use it when not rifting.  I bought the skylake 6700k as well, really doesn't need to be overclocked, and if it means not using oculus until 1.7 is fixed, I'm not ok with it just sitting.  Best of luck though, fixing yours. 
  • NexiousNexious Posts: 15
    NerveGear
    Like everyone else I am getting that "Can't find your sensor error...".   I have installed the Inteck USB PCI Express card like cybereality suggested.  Still getting that lovely error.   I have tried plugging the Sensor into a USB 2.0 but it crashes Oculus home app and stops OVRservice service.

    Uploading my log files.
  • PinchanrollPinchanroll Posts: 4
    NerveGear
    Was having the same issue. Once I put the Rift headset in front of the sensor, the disconnected issue went away. So I thought maybe it's an issue with the sensor turning off due to not seeing the headset. So I set the headset behind me hidden from the sensor. The sensors light turned off and it's been 30 minutes now with no disconnects.. 
  • GeoffleeGeofflee Posts: 7
    NerveGear
    This is odd because I have the exact opposite situation. I only get that message when I'm using the Rift Headset.
  • bazmodbazmod Posts: 3
    NerveGear
    I'm also getting this problem.  Seems to have been happening for about a week now which I think coincides with 1.7 update.  Never had the problem before that....
  • PablitoPablito Posts: 361
    Trinity
    My computer is doing it now also, every 9 to 12 seconds.  I'm not uploading any log files though.  With all these people affected by this, they shouldn't need any more!  They'll figure it out sooner or later... patience.
  • falken76falken76 Posts: 2,877 Valuable Player
    Is this specific to only certain OS?  I see everyone mentioning that they have Windows 10, is this also happening on Windows 7, 8 and 8.1?  That info should help the devs, I'm sure they'd see this info in all the logs of course.  I can't even use my rift yet because I got a dead video card in the mail, but I am now expecting it not to work well.  I think I'd just return it to Amazon instead of waiting around for tech support.  It sounds like you get only the 1 year warranty and you get assistance that takes weeks if not months to sort out?  No thanks, I'll just return to Amazon and be done with it or get a new one from them.
  • GeoffleeGeofflee Posts: 7
    NerveGear
    For what it's worth, Oculus support has consistently responded to my open tickets in under 24 hours.
  • eckerputeckerput Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    edited August 2016
    I'm also getting the frequent dropouts of both the headset and sensor.  They generally immediately reconnect, but it kills the program display requiring me to manually shutdown the software.  Elite Dangerous is basically unplayable.  I may have decreased the frequency by removing all other USB peripherals (both USB 2 and 3), but that could be totally psychosomatic.  Here are my log files.  For what it's worth, here is my PC http://pcpartpicker.com/list/Tp7GWZ.
  • JadziyahJadziyah Posts: 17
    NerveGear
    Yep. It's really, really frustrating. If you haven't already done so everyone *please* upload the logs they're asking for, so @cybereality can pass them to the devs and they can figure this out :open_mouth: Cause they mentioned in this thread they can't find the issue... 
Sign In or Register to comment.