WebVR — Oculus
New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

WebVR

AGL1AGL1 Posts: 42
Brain Burst
Has anyone been able to use either the Firefox or Chromium browsers to use WebVR on the ir Rift CV1 successfully?
«1

Comments

  • ZenbaneZenbane Posts: 14,247 Valuable Player
    It works best with Nightly
    https://nightly.mozilla.org/
    Are you a fan of the Myst games? Check out my Mod at http://www.mystrock.com/
    Catch me on Twitter: twitter.com/zenbane
  • AGL1AGL1 Posts: 42
    Brain Burst
    Thanks for the quick reply, I have tried with Nightly and whilst the dual image appears on my monitor, all I get on the Rift is
    'Sorry, Firefox.exe is taking a while to load' etc

    I have installed Nightly and Mozilla's WebVR Plus

    Any help would be most welcome!
  • Jordy74Jordy74 Posts: 5
    NerveGear
    I installed both Firefox Nightly and experimental builds of Chromium.
    Both crash a lot but Chromium works better with "WebVR API Emulation" addon installed and disabled.
    Install instructions here: https://mozvr.com

    Tested on Win10 Pro x64, Rift CV1
    Chromium - Version 54.0.2823.0 (64-bit) + WebVR API Emulation 1.0.3
    Nightly 51.0a1 + Mozilla WebVR Plus 0.5.0

  • LanacainLanacain Posts: 1
    edited August 2016
    I'm having the same issue. I hit enter vr, put on headset, and get "sorry, firefix.exe is taking a while to load." Doesn't matter how long I wait, it just stays there. Received cv1 only a few days ago so not sure if I'm doing something wrong. I've followed the instructions for Firefox and chromium.
  • k_sk_s Posts: 3
    I have the same problem. A week ago, everything was working fine. Seems to be correlated with any update. Has anyone an idea how to resolve this problem?
    My system Windows 10 Pro, DK2, latest Oculus runtime, Firefox Nightly 51.0a1 + Mozilla WebVR Plus 0.5.0.
    Thanks a lot!
  • AGL1AGL1 Posts: 42
    Brain Burst
    I think the Oculus Runtime 1.7 has broken WebVR somehow :(
  • k_sk_s Posts: 3
    Is there a possibility to install the runtime with a previous version? Has anybody else similar problems? :( Using Chromium at least the tracking is working but I can't get input to the Oculus Screens.
  • ZenbaneZenbane Posts: 14,247 Valuable Player
    I just used my Rift successfully with Nightly to view the silly little 360 WebVR page I made,

    http://mystrock.com/goatvr/

    Not sure why other folks are having problems.
    Are you a fan of the Myst games? Check out my Mod at http://www.mystrock.com/
    Catch me on Twitter: twitter.com/zenbane
  • jammin0jammin0 Posts: 7
    NerveGear
    Same issue here.  Everything looks like it is working from the PC end but the rift gives me "firefox.exe/chrome.exe taking long time to load" message with chromium or mozilla nightly.  Was just about ready to backup, uninstall, and then install 1.6 to see if it works but seeing a 30GB filesize.  Might try it when I'm not running so many other things on my drive.  Just trying to use WebVR for the first time so I can't confirm whether it worked before the update or not.  Surprised that there isn't more discussion of a workaround or fix.
  • jammin0jammin0 Posts: 7
    NerveGear
    Bump.  Anyone experience these issues or know how to fix?  Still not successful.
  • vmsnedvmsned Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    There are 2 firefox bug reports on this:
    https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1297053
    and
    https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1298612

    The second one says FireFox version 51.0a1 (2016-08-14) works and the bug was introduced after that.  So a workaround is to use that version through the Moz regression tool.
  • jammin0jammin0 Posts: 7
    NerveGear
    You rock, thanks for the reply.  I'll try  it out tonight.
  • tprashtprash Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    Hi all, 

    I was about to post in here asking some questions because I was having the same issues as well. The Moz regression tool gave me the idea to look for an older version - thanks vmsded!

    If you go here - https://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/firefox/nightly/2016/06/2016-06-01-00-40-14-mozilla-aurora-l10n/ 

    You can download and older Nightly in whatever language. This fixed my issue. Hope it helps someone.

    Cheers - Ash
  • noxonoxo Posts: 5
    NerveGear
    edited October 2016
    Strange that this is still not fixed in Firefox Nightly builds. Here is working link to download build for August 14th (2016-08-14), which vmsned proposed.. It's also working for me.

    https://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/firefox/nightly/2016/08/2016-08-14-00-40-12-mozilla-aurora/
  • aearankyaearanky Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    So I am still trying to figure out the best firefox build that supports WebVR 1.0. I tried the links provided by  noxo and tprash but both give out firefox developer editions which do not support WebVR. Can someone guide me through this?

    I downloaded this - firefox-50.0a2.en-US.win64.zip and the previous version - firefox-48.0a2.as.win64.zip

    But can't open any webVR code.
  • noxonoxo Posts: 5
    NerveGear
    edited January 2017
    Have you tried latest Mozilla nightly builds (e.g. 2017-01-06) and samples at https://webvr.info/samples/?

    Samples which have separate "presentation mode" (ones which calls VRDisplay.requestPresent()) works well on my dual gpu (MSI GE72VR) setup. For example https://webvr.info/samples/03-vr-presentation.html works fine, after entering to presentation mode.

    I think it's the half working dual gpu support, different implementations of WebVR samples (ones conforming WebVR 1.0 specs and ones with Mozilla hacks) and fast changes WebVR implemention in Firefox which are causing my issues at the moment :)  
  • ZenbaneZenbane Posts: 14,247 Valuable Player
    edited January 2017
    Hello! Nice bump on a good thread.

    I just tested that Goat Mountain WebVR page I made long ago:
    http://mystrock.com/goatvr/

    It still works on my Galaxy S6, and I can drop it in a Cardboard VR headset easily. However, I have still given up on using straight Desktop Browser support for all this. All the experimental build stuff causes the environment to remain unreliable.

    For now, WebVR should be treated simply as "Mobile VR" until (I'm about to say a dirty word)... Standards come out. Across-the-board WebVR Browser Standards.

    Are you a fan of the Myst games? Check out my Mod at http://www.mystrock.com/
    Catch me on Twitter: twitter.com/zenbane
  • Tiberius37Tiberius37 Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    Hi,

    I'm new to Oculus Rift and tried to view a panorama tour I build with Kolor Panotour Pro with it, but without success. I installed the latest versions of Chromium and Nightly. With Chromium I get an error message when switching to vr mode that the soundinterface failed to load a sound which is obviously dur to the kolor sw. And then the vr mode is quit. And with nightly the examples say that there is no device connected!? I can start my pano tour without errors and switch to vr mode which obviously works as Nightly gets maximized and you can see the split Screen. But in my Rift I still see my home menu (or how is this room called?).

    Does anybody have a tip what I can do to make it work?

    And another question: I'd like to add interactivity to my pano tour. Is it possible to import stiched panoramas and add interactions with one of the oculus Tools without the need to recreate everything from scratch?

    Thanks!
  • zproxyzproxy Posts: 252
    Art3mis
    webvr on gearvr via samsung browser seems laggy today
  • Tiberius37Tiberius37 Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    Ok, I managed to make my panorama run in chromium but when I switch to vr mode I first didn't get a split screen and the message that chrome.exe is taking long time to load. Then I started another webvr example that first told me that I have to put my hmd on and that worked. After I ran this example and switched back to my panorama I was able to start the vr mode, I could see the split screen. But when I put on the rift it was black ...

    Seems that it has something to do with the command to put on the hmd!? I read something like that in another Forum. But obviously the kolor panorama sw (krpano player) doesn't support it?

    As I said before, I installed the latest versions of chromium and nightly and the other webvr example worked fine, so I can't believe that installing old versions from last summer is the solution!?
  • osadanosadan Posts: 4
    NerveGear
    I have the same issue with almost every demo I tried (including those one in this thread ) I have nvidia 750 gtx ti . ( doe's not fit the requirements) but I am not sure this is the problem 
  • AchimjoAchimjo Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    If your are using a Laptop make sure you are using your high performance graphics adapter for chromium/nightly.
    This solved the problem for me!
  • osadanosadan Posts: 4
    NerveGear
    I solved my problem by upgrading my graphic card to 1060 gtx appears that it does metter (although I could see the apps installed in my pc)
  • scottbretonartistscottbretonartist Posts: 3
    NerveGear
    I am having the exact same issue as the original poster, and some of the others here - 1070 GTX with Firefox Nightly most recent version crashes, and Chromium appears not to register the HMD.  I am going to try the downgraded version of Nightly.  My purpose is primarily for Sketchfab, which would be awesome to access in VR!
  • c0nn0rc0nn0r Posts: 4
    NerveGear
    Just installed the latest nightly Firefox and tried the webVR samples. They still do not work. I guess we just need to wait. Hope to hear positive news soon!
  • nswamy1nswamy1 Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    Even i had the same issue.
    After following configuration steps in the below link, everything worked perfectly.

     https://webvr.rocks/firefox

    Please give a try.
  • hstamatihstamati Posts: 6
    NerveGear
    Just got Firefox 55 which claims to have webVR. I don't even get tracking response from the page, as if nothing works. If I put on the Rift, it just launches the Oculus home as usual.

    (Yes, I did turn on the "allow unknown sources" checkbox)
  • snowdogsnowdog Posts: 6,890 Valuable Player
    Make sure you're using the 64 bit version of Firefox, the 32 bit version doesn't work according to some on Reddit.
    "This you have to understand. There's only one way to hurt a man who's lost everything. Give him back something broken."

    Thomas Covenant, Unbeliever
  • ZenbaneZenbane Posts: 14,247 Valuable Player
    An article came out today boasting of FireFox and its WebVR abilities:



    https://www.roadtovr.com/todays-firefox-update-brings-rift-vive-webvr-support-everyone/





    I plan to get back on WebVR and A-Frame this week. Hopefully things go smoothly, as I'm extremely excited to start building business applications using all this VR goodness.  My first attempts last year fell a bit short due to the lack of browser compatibility.
    Are you a fan of the Myst games? Check out my Mod at http://www.mystrock.com/
    Catch me on Twitter: twitter.com/zenbane
  • HyperionxviiHyperionxvii Posts: 4
    NerveGear
    In case anyone still does not have this working. I started trying to get this to work this evening and finally got it to work after a couple of hours of frustration. Now maybe no one made the silly mistake I did, but just in case, here it is. I downloaded and installed the latest version of Nightly, which is 64 bit. But I made the mistake of then clicking on the old 32 bit shortcut I had pinned to the taskbar. As soon as I corrected that, webVR started working perfectly for me in Nightly.
Sign In or Register to comment.