cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

US Open Tennis 360 NextVR STream STILL NOT AVAILABLE ON OCULUS RIFT!

StreetPreacher
Adventurer
Sorry guys, we still get shafted by whatever BS marketing deal they have with samsung and the Gear hardware....  All of us Oculus Rift early adopters get screwed and have NO ACCESS to any of the 360 streaming concerts, olympics, tennis, etc...

Is this ever going to change???  Does anyone want to trade a Rift for a GearVR and the best phone that goes with it?!!?!

http://www.nextvr.com/#/

Am I just naive for assuming that this service would be available on my overpriced RIft HMD by now?
1 REPLY 1

Warbloke
Superstar

I don't think I would use the word 'naive' - but I think assuming that the 'service' would be available on a much newer development platform just because the hardware to the end user is more expensive is perhaps not a the best assumption to make.

Im no expert, but from what little I have read, added to my own assumptions - here is what I will say... you may agree or disagree.

here:  http://www.wired.co.uk/article/bbc-sport-360-video-rio-olympics I read that the BBC made an experimental 'APP' so that mobile devices could watch many 360 events.

Now - I will say up front I am not a game or mobile APP developer... but my own assumption is the following:
I bet given that the mobile APP platforms for Android and IOS has been around for ages, that developers may find it easier due to their familiarity to actually make an APP in the first place, and that the people such as Apple having had an APP store for a long time, have a well established, and efficient process for developers to get their apps approved etc.