Oculus TrayTool - SuperSampling profiles, HMD disconnect fixes (hopefully) - Page 39 — Oculus
New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

Oculus TrayTool - SuperSampling profiles, HMD disconnect fixes (hopefully)

1363739414251

Comments

  • RuneSR2RuneSR2 Posts: 2,574 Valuable Player
    edited September 2018
    @RuneSR2 Have you checked the log to make sure that the profiles are indeed not being applied? Both the ott.log and the log window will contain info when a profile is applied. Just to make sure it’s not only the audio confirmation that missbehaves. 

    Cheers!

    Thank you - but yes, I could see that the Hellblade VR profile had been activated, but none of the other games. I'm thinking that my 0.84 was integrated among older versions - maybe it's time to perform a complete OTT reinstall.

    I have activated voice confirmation, it does seem to work - thus profiles are voice confirmed when they are applied. 

    BTW, I'm only using profiles for a few games like Hellblade (ss 1.5), Along Together (works at 90 fps ss 2.0, but global ss 2.0 forces ss 2.6 in-game due to some weird adaptive ss), Seeking Dawn (needs OTT ss 1.0, but global OTT ss 2.0 doubles ss in-game, so I just use ss 0.6 in-game to get ss 1.2 - you learn a few ninja tricks in this business ;-) and Windlands (I need to go down to ss 1.8 to keep the 90 fps). Note my profiles have worked perfectly before (but the problem could be some months old, it hasn't bothered me much before getting Along Together a week ago). 

    And why would I burden my video card with ss 2.0 if ss 1.3 is the same? - For example In Lone Echo it's easy to notice differences even between ss 1.7 and 2.0 (check fine text textures on walls and see how much you can zoom out while it's still readable - that's probably why the devs supported up to ss 2.0 in Lone Echo), and although I need to use ss 1.5 to get 90 fps I'd choose beauty@45fps@ASW anytime in that game over fps ;-) And ss 2.0 further reduces the need for anti-aliasing. 
    Games like Moss, Mage's Tale, Kin, Lucky's Tale, Beat Saber, Racket Nx, Blaze Rush, Space Pirate Trainer, Witchblood, The Invisible Hours, Vanishing of Ethan Carter, Thumper and more all work perfectly in 90 fps using ss 2.0 on my system - so unless I really have to, I'd be hard pressed reducing image quality and thereby also perceived depth/clarity in the 3D scenery. Fun thing, in Edge of Nowhere the diff comparing ss 1.0 and 2.0 is like the diff being able to read the text in the documents you find or not ;-)   

    In short, my Rift only works thanks to Oculus Tray Tool - I'm completely dependent on that app! ;-) Even the carpet in classic Oculus Home doesn't look right using ss 1.5 compared to 2.0 (and then there's the true horror of ss 1.0 :# )
    Running Rift apps and games in 90 fps ss 2.0 is the only benefit of getting an RTX 2080 Ti in my mind - nearly all my current games run perfectly in 90 fps with maxed settings using ss 1.5 (but I don't play some demanding simulators, where even ss 1.5 may be too much - admitted, Hellblade and Seeking Dawn would be games that even a 2080 Ti probably won't be able to run in 90 fps ss 2.0).  
    Intel i7 7700K (4.5 GHz); MSI GeForce GTX 1080 8GB Gaming X (oc 2100 MHz boost, 11 Ghz ram); 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 3200 MHz; MSI Z270I Gaming Pro Carbon AC (VR-Ready) mainboard; Samsung 960 Evo M.2 SSD + Toshiba P300 HD; Windows 10 OS; Oculus Rift CV1 - nearly always using super sampling 2.0. 

    "Ask not what VR can do for you – ask what you can do for VR"
  • McSpantalMcSpantal Posts: 6
    NerveGear

    since the update, OTT eats into my CPU very heavily. Ryzen 1700@ 3.8GHz. anybody else experiencing this or its just me?

    https://forums.oculusvr.com/community/discussion/47247/oculus-traytool-supersampling-profiles-hmd-disconnect-fixes-hopefully/p39
    :(

  • ApollyonVRApollyonVR Posts: 358
    Trinity
    @McSpantal I’ve had no orher reports on that yet. Mind sending me the ott.log? If you could also do a restart in debug mode and let it run for a few mins, then grab the new ott.log and get me that too and i’ll have a peek. 

    Cheers!
  • McSpantalMcSpantal Posts: 6
    NerveGear
    @McSpantal I’ve had no orher reports on that yet. Mind sending me the ott.log? If you could also do a restart in debug mode and let it run for a few mins, then grab the new ott.log and get me that too and i’ll have a peek. 

    Cheers!
    Thanks for the quick reply!

    sure, where can i send it to?
    also, do you need both logs?


  • McSpantalMcSpantal Posts: 6
    NerveGear
    just realised i've pasted the wrong link in the previous comment: https://i.imgur.com/fUp45VJ.png
  • ApollyonVRApollyonVR Posts: 358
    Trinity
    edited September 2018
    @McSpantal You can send it as a private message here on the forums by clicking my name, or send it to apollyonvr@gmail.com. And yes, both logs please. 

    Cheers!
  • MarkedOneMarkedOne Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    Hello. I'm a prospective new user of Oculus Tray Tool, but unfortunately I can't get it working on my Windows 10 PC.

    I've tried both version 0.84 and 0.83.1 (the most recent two releases) and the symptoms are the same for both of them. What happens is it installs fine, but when it launches I get a popup notification saying "Oculus Tray Tool. Starting up, please wait ...".

    I've waited for many minutes, relaunched, rebooted, uninstalled and reinstalled, but I've not yet managed to get past this stage.

    I've done searches for similar problems, but I couldn't find anything relating to a first-time user. Are there any suggestions here for what I could try next?
  • RosgilliesRosgillies Posts: 123
    Art3mis
    Marked one, are you running OTT as an administrator. Must be run this way.
  • ApollyonVRApollyonVR Posts: 358
    Trinity
    @MarkedOne i've sent you a PM so we can take a look at what's going on.

    Cheers!
  • MarkedOneMarkedOne Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    Hi ApollyonVR - thanks for the quick reply. I've PMed you the ott.log file.

    Hi Rosgillies - thanks for the hint. Yes, I should have explicitly mentioned that the first time around, I'm starting it with Run As Administrator.
  • lumpking69lumpking69 Posts: 11
    NerveGear
    I have Global ASW turned OFF. Is there any way that I can confirm that ASW is indeed off? (or on?)

    Because I swear its on. 
  • Cain_BloodbaneCain_Bloodbane Posts: 58
    Hiro Protagonist
    I think Global ASW is usually set to auto, but if OTT says its off and not auto, it should be off I think.
  • ApollyonVRApollyonVR Posts: 358
    Trinity
    @lumpking69 ; There's a Visual HUD overlay to check the ASW status, it's on the Game Settings tab, at the bottom.
    Enable that and then change ASW and you'll see the info in the HUD change.

    Cheers!
  • lumpking69lumpking69 Posts: 11
    NerveGear
    @lumpking69 ; There's a Visual HUD overlay to check the ASW status, it's on the Game Settings tab, at the bottom.
    Enable that and then change ASW and you'll see the info in the HUD change.

    Cheers!
    tyvm, I can officially confirm that setting "global asw mode" to off does not work anymore for me.it seems to always be on auto regardless of what I set it to.
  • igmackenzieigmackenzie Posts: 42
    NerveGear
    Have you checked your game profile setting for ASW? It overrides the global setting.
  • lumpking69lumpking69 Posts: 11
    NerveGear
    Have you checked your game profile setting for ASW? It overrides the global setting.
    Its a game on steam and the game doesn't have an ASW option. Its VRChat for the record. 

    @ApollyonVR
    Ive also noticed that regardless of what its set to, when I start the game up ASW seems to be on Auto. But when I'm in game and change it, it seems to change but it never goes off. If I change it to 45FPS, it seems to switch to 45FPS (FPS reads 45FPS). If I change it to auto, it seems to be on auto. But when I change it to off it seems to get stuck on 45fps. 

    AFAIK, the only thing that has change is the 84 update. All of my other settings remain unchanged, "Allow Asynchronous Reprojection" and "Allow Interleaved Projection". are both disabled. The game hasn't had any major updates or anything. 

    I'm willing to try anything. Ive already reinstalled twice. Any ideas? 
  • Cain_BloodbaneCain_Bloodbane Posts: 58
    Hiro Protagonist
    Hmmm... have you tried testing other games or testing without the Tray Tool? It might be VRChat itself that just has this setting on by default, without having any option for it.
  • igmackenzieigmackenzie Posts: 42
    NerveGear
    Have you checked your game profile setting for ASW? It overrides the global setting.
    Its a game on steam and the game doesn't have an ASW option. Its VRChat for the record. 
    Sorry, I was referring the OTT game profile, not in-game.
  • lumpking69lumpking69 Posts: 11
    NerveGear
    Hmmm... have you tried testing other games or testing without the Tray Tool? It might be VRChat itself that just has this setting on by default, without having any option for it.
    I haven't, but I will later on today. But I don't expect anything to happen. I have friends who are using 83 are they aren't having any issues.

     igmackenzie said:
    Have you checked your game profile setting for ASW? It overrides the global setting.
    Its a game on steam and the game doesn't have an ASW option. Its VRChat for the record. 
    Sorry, I was referring the OTT game profile, not in-game.
    Oh, I'm sorry, I misunderstood. But I also didn't know that was a thing. Never thought to look in there. 

    Anywho, I took a look and it was indeed set to auto despite the global setting. I have changed it to off. I will test it again later on tonight and report back! But it seems like this might have been the culprit. I'll keep me fingers crossed! 
  • lumpking69lumpking69 Posts: 11
    NerveGear
    edited September 2018
    OTT game profiles did indeed fix my issues. TY folks! 

    now I just need it to start minimized haha
  • igmackenzieigmackenzie Posts: 42
    NerveGear
    Glad I could be of assistance!
  • lumpking69lumpking69 Posts: 11
    NerveGear
    Oh boy, I hate to do this but Ive just run into another issue. 

    OTT is now preventing windows from restarting. 

    Its not frozen or anything, its running just fine. It just wont let windows restart. I have to cancel the restart and shut it down manually and then restart. 

    I'm not sure why this is happening or how to fix it. Any ideas? 
  • digitalmonkdigitalmonk Posts: 3
    NerveGear
    Hi 
    Installed the newest version and for whatever reason my profiles are not being applied. Everything worked in 83. However 83 hung up today it would not fully load. So I installed 84. 
    The voice confirmation is not working either but I suspect it's because the profiles are not being applied. Tried many clean installs and nothing is working. Can't even go back to 83 as that hangs while loading. Not sure what the issue is. Help please. Was there an oculus update or something?
  • 71st_Mastiff71st_Mastiff Posts: 30
    Brain Burst
    edited September 2018
    Hi 
    Installed the newest version and for whatever reason my profiles are not being applied. Everything worked in 83. However 83 hung up today it would not fully load. So I installed 84. 
    The voice confirmation is not working either but I suspect it's because the profiles are not being applied. Tried many clean installs and nothing is working. Can't even go back to 83 as that hangs while loading. Not sure what the issue is. Help please. Was there an oculus update or something?
    same issue voice confirmation not working.

    as for my profiles they are working after a reboot and resave of the values.
    " any failure you meet is never a defeat; merely a set up for a greater comeback " Asus z370 MX||i7x8700k||ddr4-32gb PC3200||RTX 2080-8gb||AX1200 Corsair||turtle beach elite pro 7.1||Win10x64||TrackIr 4/ir||ViRpiL,T50cm|MFG CrossWinds||X55 Throttle||G15 Keyboard/Mouse|| Rift VR \ 32" Samsung|| 1x9inc||
  • dburnedburne Posts: 2,408 Valuable Player
    edited September 2018
    Guys try adjusting your delay for the profile to kick in - the default is "5" - which is seconds.
    New feature for this latest version.
    Don

    EVGA Z390 Dark MB | I9 9900k| EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 Ultra |32 GB G Skill 3200 cl14 ram | Warthog Throttle | VKB Gunfighter Pro/MCG Pro grip | Crosswind Pedals | EVGA DG 87 Case|
  • ApollyonVRApollyonVR Posts: 358
    Trinity
    @digitalmonk @71st_Mastiff Could you send me the ott.log file and i’ll have a look. Send it to me as a PM here on the forums or to apollyonvr@gmail.com. 
  • 71st_Mastiff71st_Mastiff Posts: 30
    Brain Burst
    got it to work there's an audio click box at the bottom of the UI for the profiles setting. I must of missed it the first time looking around the UI.
    " any failure you meet is never a defeat; merely a set up for a greater comeback " Asus z370 MX||i7x8700k||ddr4-32gb PC3200||RTX 2080-8gb||AX1200 Corsair||turtle beach elite pro 7.1||Win10x64||TrackIr 4/ir||ViRpiL,T50cm|MFG CrossWinds||X55 Throttle||G15 Keyboard/Mouse|| Rift VR \ 32" Samsung|| 1x9inc||
  • ApollyonVRApollyonVR Posts: 358
    Trinity
    Great to hear, just sent you a PM before i saw this. =)
  • 71st_Mastiff71st_Mastiff Posts: 30
    Brain Burst
    edited September 2018
    ok, further testing IL-2: I see the log reports the profile is working, but Im not getting a sound byte of the profile being Started, logged.
    DCS World; I do get a profile activated voice.

    09/21/18 10:22:29: Starting up...
    09/21/18 10:22:29: Version: 0.84.0.0
    09/21/18 10:22:30: .NET Framework Version: 4.7.1 or later
    09/21/18 10:22:30: Checking Internet connection..
    09/21/18 10:22:30: Internet connection available
    09/21/18 10:22:30: Oculus path: C:\Program Files\Oculus\
    09/21/18 10:22:30: Oculus App Version: 1.30.0.676007
    09/21/18 10:22:30: Reading configuration parameters from C:\Users\Bill\AppData\Local\ApollyonVR\OculusTrayTool.exe_Url_cowy4xi1skqx4jmbswhqxtwss4qm420r\0.84.0.0\user.config
    09/21/18 10:22:30: Voice commands Enabled
    09/21/18 10:22:30: Not Used not found in list
    09/21/18 10:22:30: Done reading configuration parameters
    09/21/18 10:22:30: Oculus Library paths not set, retrieving them from the registry
    09/21/18 10:22:30: No library paths found!
    09/21/18 10:22:30: No library paths returned from registry
    09/21/18 10:22:30: Reading profiles
    09/21/18 10:22:31: 10 profiles found
    09/21/18 10:22:31:   10 monitored using WMI
    09/21/18 10:22:31:   0 monitored using Timer
    09/21/18 10:22:31: Using C:\Program Files\Oculus\Support\oculus-diagnostics\OculusDebugToolCLI.exe
    09/21/18 10:22:31: Checking for running DebugTool instances..
    09/21/18 10:22:31: Found 0 instances
    09/21/18 10:22:31: No Fresco Logic settings found in registry, probably not installed
    09/21/18 10:22:31: OVR Service is UP
    09/21/18 10:22:31: Could not find Rift Audio ID
    09/21/18 10:22:31: Could not find Rift Microphone ID
    09/21/18 10:22:31: Setting new option to server:asw.Off
    09/21/18 10:22:31: Done setting new option
    09/21/18 10:22:31: StartOVR is False
    09/21/18 10:22:32: Parsing Third-Party Manifests in C:\Program Files\Oculus\CoreData\Manifests
    09/21/18 10:22:32: Oculus Home required, waiting for it to start
    09/21/18 10:22:32: Startup Complete
    09/21/18 10:22:32: Oculus Home is running
    09/21/18 10:22:32: useVoiceCommands is True, checking grammars
    09/21/18 10:22:32: Creating grammars for voice initialization
    09/21/18 10:22:32: Voice recognition initialized using en-US
    09/21/18 10:22:32: Starting WMI AppWatcher
    09/21/18 10:22:32: No Timer profiles found
    09/21/18 10:22:45: Checking for updates
    09/21/18 10:22:46: Update URL seems reachable, downloading version file
    09/21/18 10:22:46: Downloading version.txt
    09/21/18 10:22:46: No update found
    09/21/18 10:23:02: Profile updated
    09/21/18 10:23:02:   Display Name: IL-2 Sturmovik Battle of Stalingrad
    09/21/18 10:23:02:   Super Sampling: 0
    09/21/18 10:23:02:   ASW: Off
    09/21/18 10:23:02:   CPU Priority: High
    09/21/18 10:23:02:   Launch File: Il-2.exe
    09/21/18 10:23:02:   Detection Method: WMI
    09/21/18 10:23:02:   Path: E:\Steam games\steamapps\common\IL-2 Sturmovik Battle of Stalingrad\bin\game\Il-2.exe
    09/21/18 10:23:02:   ASW Delay: 5
    09/21/18 10:23:02:   CPU Delay: 5
    09/21/18 10:23:02: Reading profiles
    09/21/18 10:23:02: 10 profiles found
    09/21/18 10:23:02:   10 monitored using WMI
    09/21/18 10:23:02:   0 monitored using Timer
    09/21/18 10:23:02: Parsing Third-Party Manifests in C:\Program Files\Oculus\CoreData\Manifests
    09/21/18 10:23:21: Profile for 'IL2_setup_BETA' has been removed
    09/21/18 10:23:21: Reading profiles
    09/21/18 10:23:21: 9 profiles found
    09/21/18 10:23:21:   9 monitored using WMI
    09/21/18 10:23:21:   0 monitored using Timer
    09/21/18 10:23:21: Parsing Third-Party Manifests in C:\Program Files\Oculus\CoreData\Manifests
    09/21/18 10:23:30: Profile for 'launcher' has been removed
    09/21/18 10:23:30: Reading profiles
    09/21/18 10:23:30: 8 profiles found
    09/21/18 10:23:30:   8 monitored using WMI
    09/21/18 10:23:30:   0 monitored using Timer
    09/21/18 10:23:30: Parsing Third-Party Manifests in C:\Program Files\Oculus\CoreData\Manifests
    09/21/18 10:24:16: Profile updated
    09/21/18 10:24:16:   Display Name: launcher
    09/21/18 10:24:16:   Super Sampling: 0
    09/21/18 10:24:16:   ASW: Off
    09/21/18 10:24:16:   CPU Priority: High
    09/21/18 10:24:16:   Launch File: launcher.exe
    09/21/18 10:24:16:   Detection Method: WMI
    09/21/18 10:24:16:   Path: P:\1C Game Studios beta\IL-2 Sturmovik Battle of Stalingrad BETA\bin\game\launcher.exe
    09/21/18 10:24:16:   ASW Delay: 5
    09/21/18 10:24:16:   CPU Delay: 5
    09/21/18 10:24:16: Reading profiles
    09/21/18 10:24:16: 9 profiles found
    09/21/18 10:24:16:   9 monitored using WMI
    09/21/18 10:24:16:   0 monitored using Timer
    09/21/18 10:24:16: Parsing Third-Party Manifests in C:\Program Files\Oculus\CoreData\Manifests
    09/21/18 10:24:26: GUI location has negative number, adjusting
    " any failure you meet is never a defeat; merely a set up for a greater comeback " Asus z370 MX||i7x8700k||ddr4-32gb PC3200||RTX 2080-8gb||AX1200 Corsair||turtle beach elite pro 7.1||Win10x64||TrackIr 4/ir||ViRpiL,T50cm|MFG CrossWinds||X55 Throttle||G15 Keyboard/Mouse|| Rift VR \ 32" Samsung|| 1x9inc||
  • ApollyonVRApollyonVR Posts: 358
    Trinity
    @71st_Mastiff ; The audio confirmation might not get through if the game "steals" the audio before it can be triggered. In the next version i will do this a bit different, so i hope it will work better.
Sign In or Register to comment.