New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

RoboRecall Locomotion Mod

2456711

Comments

  • VampireNZVampireNZ Posts: 23
    Brain Burst
    edited March 2017
    Thank goodness! The teleportation is so broken - robot goes behind you so you turn to shoot him = stuffed for your next telepoprt. Rinse and repeat at pace makes for a very confusing experience lol.
    How many people need to say they can handle locomotion for designers to include it in their games!!
    (In the case of Arizona Sunshine - not long at all! - Fingers crossed the same here as I would like loco in the standard game)
  • tonsta31tonsta31 Posts: 271 Oculus Start Member
    edited March 2017
    New version in around 15 mins. Changes are below.

    V3 

    -Locomotion tweak
    - Jump added
    - 45 degree snap turning added
    - Adjusted slowmo, can be now reused after 2 minutes
    - Damage now works too

    In development : 

    - Better enemy response to locomotion rather than teleporting
    - A couple of new guns
    - New level
    - Double jump
    - other bits :)

    How to use V3

    Click Left stick to activate snap turning on right stick then click left stick to return to teleport on right stick.
    When in snap mode click right stick for jump.When in snap mode use right stick for snap turning left or right.
    Y button on left stick is SLOWMO, once activated it will not activate for 2 minutes after (currently having audio cues made)



    We are now on Patreon! https://www.patreon.com/mgsstudios

    Feel free to have a look around as there are some nice special offfers.

    Owner of MGSStudios
    http://www.mgsstudios.com
  • tonsta31tonsta31 Posts: 271 Oculus Start Member
    edited March 2017
    Released V3 https://www.dropbox.com/s/vvagpre2ahhjwl6/LocomotionV3.rar?dl=0

    Wow cannot believe this thread has over 1k views tonight alone :) A BIG thanks from MGSStudios to all you peeps

    We are now on Patreon! https://www.patreon.com/mgsstudios

    Feel free to have a look around as there are some nice special offfers.

    Owner of MGSStudios
    http://www.mgsstudios.com
  • MowTinMowTin Posts: 1,859 Valuable Player
    looks awesome!



    I'll first finish the game using regular teleport then use this mod


    i7 6700k 2080ti   Rift-S, Index
  • tonsta31tonsta31 Posts: 271 Oculus Start Member
    edited March 2017
    Great vid :) although there are a lot more features in V3 ;)

    We are now on Patreon! https://www.patreon.com/mgsstudios

    Feel free to have a look around as there are some nice special offfers.

    Owner of MGSStudios
    http://www.mgsstudios.com
  • ragesaqragesaq Posts: 17
    NerveGear
    tonsta31 said:
    Released V3 https://www.dropbox.com/s/vvagpre2ahhjwl6/LocomotionV3.rar?dl=0

    Wow cannot believe this thread has over 1k views tonight alone :) A BIG thanks from MGSStudios to all you peeps
    Can you also implement the 360/roomscale-teleport-rotation-position fix? I'm not sure if you can enable multiple movement mods at the same time.
    https://www.reddit.com/r/oculus/comments/5x460g/robo_recall_360_teleportation_mod_now_available/

  • tonsta31tonsta31 Posts: 271 Oculus Start Member
    Sure I will get a fix integrated  into next version!

    We are now on Patreon! https://www.patreon.com/mgsstudios

    Feel free to have a look around as there are some nice special offfers.

    Owner of MGSStudios
    http://www.mgsstudios.com
  • thatdude90210thatdude90210 Posts: 146
    Art3mis
    Awesome stuff. The game is so much more fun this way, doesn't feel like I'm stuck in mud. I did end up on the roof like someone else mentioned after the mission, dropped down and ended up inside a building lobby and couldn't get out without exiting the game. 
  • tonsta31tonsta31 Posts: 271 Oculus Start Member
    edited March 2017
    Awesome stuff. The game is so much more fun this way, doesn't feel like I'm stuck in mud. I did end up on the roof like someone else mentioned after the mission, dropped down and ended up inside a building lobby and couldn't get out without exiting the game. 
    Mmmm I  will look into that I think that's the game side of things as I do not really control spawning. I will see what I can do

    We are now on Patreon! https://www.patreon.com/mgsstudios

    Feel free to have a look around as there are some nice special offfers.

    Owner of MGSStudios
    http://www.mgsstudios.com
  • ragesaqragesaq Posts: 17
    NerveGear
    Awesome stuff. The game is so much more fun this way, doesn't feel like I'm stuck in mud. I did end up on the roof like someone else mentioned after the mission, dropped down and ended up inside a building lobby and couldn't get out without exiting the game. 
    Just thought of another idea (I haven't gotten home yet to try out these mods so I'm full of ideas). You could have left stick be movement, right stick be snap turning, and then you hold in one of the sticks to teleport, letting you rotate normally afterwards. 
    Maybe your jumping system works that way already?
  • OpticKingOpticKing Posts: 1,185
    Wintermute
    edited March 2017
    Awesome stuff. The game is so much more fun this way, doesn't feel like I'm stuck in mud. I did end up on the roof like someone else mentioned after the mission, dropped down and ended up inside a building lobby and couldn't get out without exiting the game. 
    I got the same error, except I didn't have to exit. If it happens again look up, apparently you are dropped through the floor of the elevator, but you can still see the rewards UI. Just click return to hub like normal, it's just harder to see/select.

    *edit* Shameless plug for the leaderboard thread.
     https://forums.oculus.com/community/discussion/50250/robo-recall-leaderboard#latest

  • thatdude90210thatdude90210 Posts: 146
    Art3mis
    I just had it happen again, this time I dropped down into the streets. And the robots spawn and acted like the mission was still on going. I had just failed the second mission of defending the console thing near the steps. The robots kept coming and I couldn't grab anything, couldn't grab guns and couldn't grab robots. I could only punch them and it evolved into a nonstop robo-punching game. It was fun in a different way. 
  • KillCardKillCard Posts: 1,078
    Wintermute
    edited March 2017
    Omg this mod, I am in heaven!

    Well done! .. however I have a couple of asks if possible:

    Snap turning is good, I don't know if you can somehow add "options" to the mod, but if you can, please also add an option for smooth turning.

    Please make movement faster or if possible an option to move faster. It's just a bit too slow for my liking.

    Is it possible to make the enemies harder by making them react/shoot faster? Naturally since free loco is pretty much "cheating" the way the game is balanced, it's now too easy.

    In any case great job so far! I hope this gains enough attention to get Epic to make a proper full-locomotion mode for the game.
  • Ed.QuintanaEd.Quintana Posts: 22
    Brain Burst
    KillCard said:

    "Please make movement faster or if possible an option to move faster. It's just a bit too slow for my liking"

    same here.

  • metallican_30metallican_30 Posts: 6
    NerveGear
    Am I the only one who's have a problem here...I extracted V3, but I can't open it to run installer. I get asked "how do I want to open this file?" but I do not have the proper thing to run it. I even tried "look for an app in store" and it turned up nothing. Feeling stupid...Help!
  • KillCardKillCard Posts: 1,078
    Wintermute
    edited March 2017
    Am I the only one who's have a problem here...I extracted V3, but I can't open it to run installer. I get asked "how do I want to open this file?" but I do not have the proper thing to run it. I even tried "look for an app in store" and it turned up nothing. Feeling stupid...Help!
    It's a RAR file, you need WinRAR to unpack the file.

    http://www.win-rar.com/start.html?&L=0

    Edit: you don't have to buy the full version, just download the free one, it lasts forever.
  • EliteSPAEliteSPA Posts: 1,560
    Project 2501
    edited March 2017
    MowTin said:
    looks awesome!



    I'll first finish the game using regular teleport then use this mod


    Cant wait to test it when I arrive home.
    i7 6700K @ 4.2 GHz | Corsair 16GB DDR4 PC2300 | GTX 1080 Ti | Asus z170-Pro | Corsair RGB Strafe Keyboard | Logitech G27 | Oculus CV1 + Touch + 4 Sensors | Win 10 64 bit | Acer Predator x34 @ 100Hz
  • metallican_30metallican_30 Posts: 6
    NerveGear
    KillCard said:
    Am I the only one who's have a problem here...I extracted V3, but I can't open it to run installer. I get asked "how do I want to open this file?" but I do not have the proper thing to run it. I even tried "look for an app in store" and it turned up nothing. Feeling stupid...Help!
    It's a RAR file, you need WinRAR to unpack the file.

    http://www.win-rar.com/start.html?&L=0

    Edit: you don't have to buy the full version, just download the free one, it lasts forever.
    I thought I was using WinRAR, mine is just rar...going back to/ getting WinRAR now!
  • HermesgbHermesgb Posts: 11
    NerveGear
    Hi, thank you for this great mod. There are in my opinion two things that would make this mod perfect. The first the possibility to run when the stick is totally moved to any side and walk normal when is less moved. Right now the movement is so slow and the action suffers. The second thing would be if it's possible please to deactivate the head movement direction because it's annoying. Let better that the body/Touch directs the movement. Thank you.
  • HermesgbHermesgb Posts: 11
    NerveGear
    I forgot to say that letting the body/controllers direct the movement make possible to move the head freely to any direction while moving, just like on Onward. That would be awesome.
  • metallican_30metallican_30 Posts: 6
    NerveGear
    KillCard said:
    Am I the only one who's have a problem here...I extracted V3, but I can't open it to run installer. I get asked "how do I want to open this file?" but I do not have the proper thing to run it. I even tried "look for an app in store" and it turned up nothing. Feeling stupid...Help!
    It's a RAR file, you need WinRAR to unpack the file.

    http://www.win-rar.com/start.html?&L=0

    Edit: you don't have to buy the full version, just download the free one, it lasts forever.
    Got the free version of WinRAR, opened and extracted V3 to new folder in desktop, but still just seeing locomotion robo file no installer
  • Alex_From_CHNAlex_From_CHN Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    牛B 已经用上了
  • KillCardKillCard Posts: 1,078
    Wintermute
    KillCard said:
    Am I the only one who's have a problem here...I extracted V3, but I can't open it to run installer. I get asked "how do I want to open this file?" but I do not have the proper thing to run it. I even tried "look for an app in store" and it turned up nothing. Feeling stupid...Help!
    It's a RAR file, you need WinRAR to unpack the file.

    http://www.win-rar.com/start.html?&L=0

    Edit: you don't have to buy the full version, just download the free one, it lasts forever.
    Got the free version of WinRAR, opened and extracted V3 to new folder in desktop, but still just seeing locomotion robo file no installer
    That IS the installer, you should be able to just double click on it. Of course you have to have Robo Recall installed first, which I would be really confused if you didn't. Robo Recall should have made all .robo files be seen as mod installers if you installed Robo Recall correctly.
  • tonsta31tonsta31 Posts: 271 Oculus Start Member
    edited March 2017
    OpticKing said:
    Awesome stuff. The game is so much more fun this way, doesn't feel like I'm stuck in mud. I did end up on the roof like someone else mentioned after the mission, dropped down and ended up inside a building lobby and couldn't get out without exiting the game. 
    I got the same error, except I didn't have to exit. If it happens again look up, apparently you are dropped through the floor of the elevator, but you can still see the rewards UI. Just click return to hub like normal, it's just harder to see/select.

    *edit* Shameless plug for the leaderboard thread.
     https://forums.oculus.com/community/discussion/50250/robo-recall-leaderboard#latest


    Hey, in regards to the falling I will have to have a look but in a game developed for locomotion there will be a alot of blocking volumes etc.. missing from maps as they are not needed, hence with this mod you may be able to through some building and other things. The way to play the mod is as if you was teleporting, if you cannot teleport there its best not to go there.  I will be updating tonight (UK time) so will try and add a fix for the elevator bug.

    I am looking at further ways to "fix" this.

    KillCard said:
    Omg this mod, I am in heaven!

    Well done! .. however I have a couple of asks if possible:

    Snap turning is good, I don't know if you can somehow add "options" to the mod, but if you can, please also add an option for smooth turning.

    Please make movement faster or if possible an option to move faster. It's just a bit too slow for my liking.

    Is it possible to make the enemies harder by making them react/shoot faster? Naturally since free loco is pretty much "cheating" the way the game is balanced, it's now too easy.

    In any case great job so far! I hope this gains enough attention to get Epic to make a proper full-locomotion mode for the game.
    I am thinking of adding speed dependent on stick location is, so if the left stick is half forward then you walk, fully up is run.

    Could add some UI i guess for some options.

    I am working on AI as we speak although may take a bit longer.

    Also looking into smoother turning

    When it comes to turning using stick and not Headset this is certainly something we can add. At this rate i will have to add a UI for turning on and off features lol

    We are now on Patreon! https://www.patreon.com/mgsstudios

    Feel free to have a look around as there are some nice special offfers.

    Owner of MGSStudios
    http://www.mgsstudios.com
  • elboelbo Posts: 20
    Brain Burst
    I have a wii-board that has been sleeping at the bottom of a closet for years...would it be possible to implement that for movement?  How could I go about doing that? Any help would be appreciated.
  • tonsta31tonsta31 Posts: 271 Oculus Start Member
    elbo said:
    I have a wii-board that has been sleeping at the bottom of a closet for years...would it be possible to implement that for movement?  How could I go about doing that? Any help would be appreciated.
    Mmmmm that one could be tricky lol

    Also in addition in the next day or so we are going to have a completely new way to move in the game which is very natural :)

    We are now on Patreon! https://www.patreon.com/mgsstudios

    Feel free to have a look around as there are some nice special offfers.

    Owner of MGSStudios
    http://www.mgsstudios.com
  • levi777llevi777l Posts: 19 Oculus Start Member
    If you can activate slow mo on button press, how hard would a super hot mod be?
  • sbart_uksbart_uk Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    Why locomotion wasn't added by default ill never know. I was really happy when i saw it was released but the teleporting caused me to get pretty bored after an hour or so...this mod changed that now its as much fun as i expected. Thanks!
  • STANGERISMSTANGERISM Posts: 36
    Brain Burst
    I am wondering if the reason some
    of us are glitching at the end of level is due to being in a different spot then you would normally be in at the end of the round due to the locomotion mod, as for me I know I am usually chasing down robots that are running away at the end of the round lol. I haven't had a chance to test this theory yet, to try and stay in the general location your supposed to be in at the end of the round. 
  • KillCardKillCard Posts: 1,078
    Wintermute
    I am wondering if the reason some
    of us are glitching at the end of level is due to being in a different spot then you would normally be in at the end of the round due to the locomotion mod, as for me I know I am usually chasing down robots that are running away at the end of the round lol. I haven't had a chance to test this theory yet, to try and stay in the general location your supposed to be in at the end of the round. 
    This could have some merit. From what I can tell, after the mission ends it will teleport you to a white box up in the sky (to surround you with the mission complete screen). There may be a small invisible square that the player is supposed to sit on, which you may be "out of sync" with after moving around.

    The other possibility is that there is no square at all and you simply fall through just because gravity was added for free locomotion and there was no gravity on the player before (since you would just teleport to a fixed position).
Sign In or Register to comment.