New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

Stamp Specifications

GhostWulfGhostWulf Posts: 2
NerveGear
I'm brand new to Medium -- as in I used it for the first time yesterday -- and I love it. As soon as I realized I could use my kit-bash stuff in it via stamps I was super excited to try it. However, I have a huge problem: All of my kits seem too high res to use as stamps. When I import them the mesh is missing lots of detail, even when I increase the layer resolution by 15 clicks or so. I had assumed having super high resolution would fix the problem, but it appears not. 

That made me wonder exactly what sort of export settings I should use on the original meshes to export them. I'm fine with losing some detail to use Medium, but I'd like to retain basic stuff. For example, I have a bunch of Vitali kits like https://vitalybulgarov.com/3d-kitbash/meg and none of them import well. 

Is there a list of optimum settings for exporting OBJs to be used in Medium floating around somewhere? I'd really love to shortcut hours of modification only to find out that nothing I do is going to make more than half of my kits usable. 
Tagged:

Comments

• nosferalatunosferalatu Posts: 29
    Brain Burst
    Hi GhostWulf,

That's a good question. Thanks for the link to the Vitali kits. It sounds like what you'd like to do is take a set of those meshes, import them as stamps into Medium, and then place them with as much fidelity as possible?

The way Medium works isn't ideal for that right now. We've been designing Medium to work as instantly as possible, and one of the performance sensitive areas is the placement of stamps. To help manage that performance, we have a maximum stamp size of 128x128x128 voxels. No matter what the original mesh contains, we reduce its resolution to that 128^3 grid. When you place a stamp down, we resample that grid to the size of the stamp that you've set in the tool.