New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

Pixel Density Examples

kojackkojack Posts: 6,002 Volunteer Moderator
Now that the OculusMirror tool is available, we can see the final image that is sent to the hmd after all the distortion steps. So we can now capture the actual effect of the pixel density setting in the debug tool.

For this I've used Elite Dangerous. It lets you change the pixel density within game without the debug tool. This is useful because you can't change density with the debug tool while a game is running, and restarting Elite moves the camera so the shots wouldn't match.
(My CV1 is sitting on a stool with a piece of foam holding the proximity sensor active)

Here's the Elite Dangerous hangar menu scene in 3 different density values, with layer debug panel on to see the res and density.
0.5 density (672x800 per eye):


1.0 (1344x1600 per eye):


2.0 (2688x3200 per eye):


Of course in all cases the final image is still 1080x1200 per eye. It's just the render texture used to render the scene and give to the sdk that is a different res.

Here's some zooms to look at the difference a bit easier. In each one, it's 0.5, 1.0, 2.0.






I tried bumping density to 4.0, but Elite freaked out and dropped all environment textures to horrible blurry messes.

Performance wise, even with a Geforce 1080 a density of 2 gives tons of dropped frames in Elite. It's trying to render at a total of 5376x3200 after all, well above 4K. There's a heap of settings in Elite that could affect that, but I'm already running with most at medium quality.

Comments

  • nalex66nalex66 Posts: 5,206 Volunteer Moderator
    Nice. If it's not too much trouble, I think it would be informative to see a comparison that includes 1.5. I've seen a few Oculus programmers saying on Reddit that that's sort of the sweet spot between GPU load and the point of diminishing returns, and it's the value that I usually tend to use.
    i7 5820K @ 4.25GHz | EVGA GTX 1080 SC | Gigabyte GA-X99-UD4 | Corsair DDR4 3000 32GB | Corsair HX 750W
    SSDs: Intel 660p M.2 2TB, Samsung 860 Evo 1TB, 850 Evo 1TB, 840 Evo 1TB | Startech 4 controller PCIe USB 3.0
  • FrozenPeaFrozenPea Posts: 2,535 Valuable Player
    Thanks for doing this @kojack it really does show the difference in clarity. As Nalex mentioned, I find 1.5 is the 'sweet spot' too for super sampling, I can't really tell after that. :)

    Text is always where you can notice it the most, the most recent update to the Gear VR version of OH really proves this too and looks massively better.
  • kojackkojack Posts: 6,002 Volunteer Moderator
    Here's some shots from out in space (so actual GUI at game play distances, what you'll be looking at 90% of the time).

    I did these ones at 1.0, 1.25, 1.5, 1.75 and 2.0 (because Elite has those as options).

    (Remember, the native resolution of the rift is a density of 0.8. At 1.0 we are already beyond the native res)






  • YoLolo69YoLolo69 Posts: 1,114
    Wintermute
    That's great what you did here Kojack, lot of persons don't perceive the effect as it could be subtle and often they have to exit a game, change setting and relaunch so you don't compare something side by side but try to remember how it was with the previous setting, and so they conclude PD don't have any effect.
    Very helpful :)

    “Dreams feel real while we are in them, it's only when we wake up that we realize something was strange.” - Dom Cobb

    "Be careful, if you are killed in real life you die in VR too." - TD_4242

    I7 3770K OC 4.6GHz, GTX1080 OC 10%, 16GB DDR3 2448  OC, Oculus Rift CV1

  • Shadowmask72Shadowmask72 Posts: 4,022 Valuable Player
    Not just a pretty moderator.


    System Specs: RTX 2080 ti , i9 9900K CPU, 16 GB DDR 4 RAM, Win 10 64 Bit OS.
  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 26,156 Oculus Staff
    Thanks for this. Lots of people don't realize setting a 2.0 is really rendering at 5K resolution.
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    Gigabyte RX Vega 64 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • shadowfroggershadowfrogger Posts: 502
    Trinity
    Really awesome stuff. It'll be interesting to put this side by side to nvidia lens matching. I don't think any games use it yet.
    Visit my amateur homegrown indie game company website!
    http://www.gaming-disorder.com/
  • FlakMagnetFlakMagnet Posts: 169
    Art3mis
    Very useful! Something seems to 'snap' at 1.5 where the image goes from appearing to be slightly 'fuzzy' to 'crisp'. Or is it just me :smiley:
  • CalmfixupCalmfixup Posts: 288
    Nexus 6
    So I set the density to 2.0 for Elite with the debug tool before, not knowing that there was an option in their menu, and it gave me that whole lo-res texture thing and I never bothered to try it again. Oops.

    >.<
  • YoLolo69YoLolo69 Posts: 1,114
    Wintermute
    Very useful! Something seems to 'snap' at 1.5 where the image goes from appearing to be slightly 'fuzzy' to 'crisp'. Or is it just me :smiley:
    Nope, I agree 100%. This 1.5 seems to be the magic number, where 1.4 appear blurred, and I saw this in numerous games. Easily see in Robo Recall where you have the setting in game options and can see immediately the effect watching around you.

    “Dreams feel real while we are in them, it's only when we wake up that we realize something was strange.” - Dom Cobb

    "Be careful, if you are killed in real life you die in VR too." - TD_4242

    I7 3770K OC 4.6GHz, GTX1080 OC 10%, 16GB DDR3 2448  OC, Oculus Rift CV1

  • SkScotcheggSkScotchegg Posts: 1,327
    Project 2501
    Btw guys, i'm about to ask a stupid question, but I'm new to this, I just got my Rift a few days ago and so far I only really play Robo Recall, Dead & Burred and I got Batman last night. I believe all three of these particular games allow me to set the pixel density in-game, in the in-game menu. So I have a GTX 1060 6GB and set them to 1.4 and it definitely looked sharper. After reading this thread I'll try 1.5 tonight. 

    But my question to you guys is, do I need this tool for any particular reason or is it just for games that don't have the option in the menu?

    Also 2nd question, what resolution is 1.4 and what resolution is 1.5?

    Thanks in advance.
    UK: England - Leeds - - RTX 2080 - Rift CV1 & Rift S - Make love, not war - See you in the Oasis!
  • kojackkojack Posts: 6,002 Volunteer Moderator

    Also 2nd question, what resolution is 1.4 and what resolution is 1.5?
    1.4 is 1881 x 2240 per eye.
    1.5 is 2016 x 2400 per eye.




  • SkScotcheggSkScotchegg Posts: 1,327
    Project 2501
    kojack said:

    Also 2nd question, what resolution is 1.4 and what resolution is 1.5?
    1.4 is 1881 x 2240 per eye.
    1.5 is 2016 x 2400 per eye.




    Thanks for the information mate. So the 2nd res you said, "1.5 is 2016 x 2400 per eye" what is that combined? Like what is the combined resolution?

    It's just I'm having a conversation with my friend and he wanted to know what resolution I was playing with on my Rift.
    UK: England - Leeds - - RTX 2080 - Rift CV1 & Rift S - Make love, not war - See you in the Oasis!
  • danknugzdanknugz Posts: 1,988
    3Jane
    edited April 2017
    not worth it IMo, just wait for CV2 and avoid all the hassle and worry about gpu
    A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
    Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
    A: Top-posting.
    Q: What is the most annoying thing on forums?
  • kojackkojack Posts: 6,002 Volunteer Moderator
    4032 x 2400 total.

  • SkScotcheggSkScotchegg Posts: 1,327
    Project 2501
    kojack said:
    4032 x 2400 total.

    Thanks mate.
    UK: England - Leeds - - RTX 2080 - Rift CV1 & Rift S - Make love, not war - See you in the Oasis!
  • danknugzdanknugz Posts: 1,988
    3Jane
    Very useful! Something seems to 'snap' at 1.5 where the image goes from appearing to be slightly 'fuzzy' to 'crisp'. Or is it just me :smiley:
    probably the way the math lines up with the pixels on the display
    A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
    Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
    A: Top-posting.
    Q: What is the most annoying thing on forums?
  • luca.cecconi2luca.cecconi2 Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    edited June 2017
    hi guys
    question....i have 1080Ti gainward and the max res is 4096 x 2160 ..that mean i can't use pixel density more then 1.8 for don't exceede the max res of video graphic card?
    This just for understand how PD works..
    In Assetto Corsa ,online whit 16 car i can't go up to 1.5 and all game setting at low or off (just mirror on)
    and in this configuration the hadroom usage saty around 65% whit not to much spot at -8%...
    Now i know different game give different results but what kind of PC neeed for play at 2.0 PD and high detail ?

    my config:
    MSI X370 PRO CARBON ; RYZEN 1700 X oc 3900 Mhz ; 16 GB FLARE X 3200 14 CL ; SSD M.2 ; GTX 1080 Ti Gainward

  • kojackkojack Posts: 6,002 Volunteer Moderator
    That's the max output res to a monitor. It's render texture sizes that pixel density affects.
    DX11 level hardware (such as the geforce 1080ti) can do 16,384 x 16,384.


  • luca.cecconi2luca.cecconi2 Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    kojack said:
    That's the max output res to a monitor. It's render texture sizes that pixel density affects.
    DX11 level hardware (such as the geforce 1080ti) can do 16,384 x 16,384.


    OK...thank you...maybe later try robo recall and look whit a more optimize game....but you think another 1080 Ti in SLI can fix my setup at 2.0? and is possible go up to 2.0 or not?
  • FlakMagnetFlakMagnet Posts: 169
    Art3mis
    kojack said:
    That's the max output res to a monitor. It's render texture sizes that pixel density affects.
    DX11 level hardware (such as the geforce 1080ti) can do 16,384 x 16,384.


    OK...thank you...maybe later try robo recall and look whit a more optimize game....but you think another 1080 Ti in SLI can fix my setup at 2.0? and is possible go up to 2.0 or not?
    I could be wrong, but I don't think the Rift works with SLI at the moment.
  • falken76falken76 Posts: 2,895 Valuable Player
    kojack said:
    That's the max output res to a monitor. It's render texture sizes that pixel density affects.
    DX11 level hardware (such as the geforce 1080ti) can do 16,384 x 16,384.


    OK...thank you...maybe later try robo recall and look whit a more optimize game....but you think another 1080 Ti in SLI can fix my setup at 2.0? and is possible go up to 2.0 or not?

    $1,400 in video cards?  Why not get the Titan X?
  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 26,156 Oculus Staff
    For 99% of VR content, multi-GPU does not function at all and will be automatically disabled. So, in the best case, you get no performance gain. In the worst case, you'll get crashes or glitches that you'll have to disable SLI/CF manually. 
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    Gigabyte RX Vega 64 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
Sign In or Register to comment.