New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

Setup says no!. "RESTART COMPUTER"

TomTom1298TomTom1298 Posts: 57
Hiro Protagonist
Sorry, we encountered an error during installation. 
Please restart your computer *1 and try running Oculus Setup again.
If you still experience issues, contact Oculus poor Support. 

1* I'VE DONE THIS 5 ITIMES! 

Let me explain the story.

Today i tryed to install a new game (via Oculus... d'uh) But when trying to install. It told me that it looked like an Antivirus program blocked the installation.
The only anti-virus program i have is Norton. So, i started a call with Norton Support. They've been investigating for 30 min in the PC via one of their magical programs.
They've looked in their history, and no. Norton was not blocking it. 
Also, my Windows Anti-virus is off. 
So, no Anti-virus who could freaking destroy Oculus.

SOOOO! i thought to be smart and un-Install Oculus. Uhu... I did. I un-installed it. Restarted my computer. 
And after doing a few setup steps. THAT FREAKING MESSAGE APPEARS.
I've recorded every step i did in the Setup.

I hope i can place it in this message. 

Oculus is having a big, mad costumer. Spended 1k in a not working shitsoftware. 
The Oculus self is ok. But the software turns me crazy... 

The Video i said. Where i recorded the setup. 
http://bit.ly/2qBwwKN (Bitly, going to YouTube, to my video...)

My PC-Specs:

I7 8700k - 16Gb DDR4 3200 Ram. (2x8) - RTX 2080 Ti

Comments

  • TomTom1298TomTom1298 Posts: 57
    Hiro Protagonist
    By the way. SetupLogs are here....
    Gl, and thankyou if you help me find out...

    My PC-Specs:

    I7 8700k - 16Gb DDR4 3200 Ram. (2x8) - RTX 2080 Ti
  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 26,156 Oculus Staff
    There seems to be permissions/security errors related to creating registry entries and deleting files. Most likely it is due to anti-virus. Have you tried temporarily disabling Norton to see if that is the conflict?
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    Gigabyte RX Vega 64 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • TomTom1298TomTom1298 Posts: 57
    Hiro Protagonist
    There seems to be permissions/security errors related to creating registry entries and deleting files. Most likely it is due to anti-virus. Have you tried temporarily disabling Norton to see if that is the conflict?
    Yes. I've also reordered something via Regedit. Also did not work. 
    My PC-Specs:

    I7 8700k - 16Gb DDR4 3200 Ram. (2x8) - RTX 2080 Ti
  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 26,156 Oculus Staff
    edited May 2017
    Try uninstalling the Oculus app. Then manually delete these two temp folders. Then restart your PC.
    https://forums.oculus.com/community/discussion/comment/521000/#Comment_521000

    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    Gigabyte RX Vega 64 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • TomTom1298TomTom1298 Posts: 57
    Hiro Protagonist
    Try uninstalling the Oculus app. Then manually delete these two temp folders. Then restart your PC.
    https://forums.oculus.com/community/discussion/comment/521000/#Comment_521000

    I've done that. But, did not work... 
    My PC-Specs:

    I7 8700k - 16Gb DDR4 3200 Ram. (2x8) - RTX 2080 Ti
  • Sterling77Sterling77 Posts: 506
    Neo
    Uninstall Antivirus and then try the set up - disabling antivirus isnt really disabled - Its only shitty antivirus anyway, just uninstall it and retry the set up. 
  • TomTom1298TomTom1298 Posts: 57
    Hiro Protagonist
    Uninstall Antivirus and then try the set up - disabling antivirus isnt really disabled - Its only shitty antivirus anyway, just uninstall it and retry the set up. 
    I've done this together with a Norton Helpdesk Employee...
    The Employee fully removed Norton. Asked me to Restart the PC. Try to install it. But, NOPE. Same error....
    So he installed norton back. 
    My PC-Specs:

    I7 8700k - 16Gb DDR4 3200 Ram. (2x8) - RTX 2080 Ti
  • Sterling77Sterling77 Posts: 506
    Neo
    Have you got a 4k monitor ? 
    Have you checked the forum for the current stable nvidia driver 
    Are you installing the oculus setup on a separate drive - ssd and normal sata type - you can set the path in msconfig 
    Have uninstalled the win10 creative update thingy 
    I would uninstall antivirus again .. Just while you get it running - and then check windows 10 internal antivirus firewall crap to see if it blocking you 
    Have you checked the power management 
    Do you have hyperthreading enabled 
    Is your hmd connected to a dvi or HDMI on the back of the card - I have mine connected to the inside ports on the gtx1060 as there is a problem with the HDMI next to the dvi 
    All my issues were caused by antivirus - my life is better with out it for oculus rift - believe me 

  • TomTom1298TomTom1298 Posts: 57
    Hiro Protagonist
    Hello.
    I do have an 4K Monitor yes.
    I have the newest driver yes.
    I install the drivers on my C: (SSD) And gamefolder on D: (HDD)
    How to uninstall the win10 creative update? xD.
    Powermanagment is ok.
    What is Hyperthreading? XD
    It's connect to my HDMI. I use 2x GTX 1070 gaming (SLI) And it's connected to my active one.

    My PC-Specs:

    I7 8700k - 16Gb DDR4 3200 Ram. (2x8) - RTX 2080 Ti
  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 26,156 Oculus Staff
    If you have SLI, make sure Rift and all monitors are only connected to the primary dedicated GPU (usually the top one) and NOT any secondary cards and NOT on the motherboard integrated graphics. Also, feel free to submit a support ticket for assistance.
    https://support.oculus.com
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    Gigabyte RX Vega 64 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • TomTom1298TomTom1298 Posts: 57
    Hiro Protagonist
    Hey. I would like to submit a ticket. But every time I go to that page. It sends me to the Dutch website (because I'm Dutch) but I can't find then where to submit a new ticket ?_? .  And I'm sure they'r all on the top card. 
    My PC-Specs:

    I7 8700k - 16Gb DDR4 3200 Ram. (2x8) - RTX 2080 Ti
  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 26,156 Oculus Staff
    Click Contact Us and then Click Here to submit a support request.
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    Gigabyte RX Vega 64 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • bbookmanbbookman Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    ever get solved?
  • Comic_Book_GuyComic_Book_Guy Posts: 1,195
    3Jane
    Uninstall Antivirus and then try the set up - disabling antivirus isnt really disabled - Its only shitty antivirus anyway, just uninstall it and retry the set up. 
    I've done this together with a Norton Helpdesk Employee...
    The Employee fully removed Norton. Asked me to Restart the PC. Try to install it. But, NOPE. Same error....
    So he installed norton back. 
    Norton...found your issue lol. Why?
  • TomTom1298TomTom1298 Posts: 57
    Hiro Protagonist
    bbookman said:
    ever get solved?
    I think So. I sold my Rift a year ago tho xd
    My PC-Specs:

    I7 8700k - 16Gb DDR4 3200 Ram. (2x8) - RTX 2080 Ti
  • MAC_MAN86MAC_MAN86 Posts: 2,262
    Wintermute
    edited May 14
    You may find it installs easier to a 2nd Drive to avoid any Permission issues especially as the ones you will get in the near future that prevent some Updates!
    Clear old install entirely...

    1.    Disconnect your computer from the internet.

    2.    Backup any necessary content. (GAME SAVES & KEY BINDS!!!)

    ·         You can find steps on how to do so by clicking here.

    3.    Reboot into Safe Mode.

    4.    Uninstall Oculus Home using the Control Panel.

    5.    Delete all Oculus folders from the following folder:

    ·         C:\Program Files

    6a.    Remove any Oculus folders from the following locations:

    ·         These may be hidden folders that require viewing to be enabled.

    ·         C:\Users\YourUserProfile\AppData

    ·         C:\Users\YourUserProfile\AppData\Local

    ·         C:\Users\YourUserProfile\AppData\LocalLow

    ·         C:\Users\YourUserProfile\AppData\Roaming

    ·         C:\OculusSetup-DownloadCache\

    ·         C:\Users<profile>\AppData\Local\Temp\OculusSetup\

    6b   Delete any Games and also all their Folders you can find in the same mentioned

    6c   Use REGSCANNER (free) to search "Oculus" and delete all registries that it can (leave Steam & SteamVR) but leave Virtual Desktop alone (mine won't work after 2 further installs and deleting some of it's Registries!)

    7.    Restart your computer in normal mode.

    8.    Reconnect your computer to the internet.

    9.    Install Oculus Home again using the setup tool from our website here

    10.  Install Games/Apps

    ·         Ensure that Oculus is set as a trusted program in your firewall (automatic) and that your anti-virus is temporarily disabled (I use Defender) or uninstalled. I added steps 6b and 6c myself to be sure.



    Open CMD Prompt in "Run"
    Go to directory of your Setup file e.g. "E:/" "cd Downloads"
    (whatever the directory is called you have it in)
    "OculusSetup.exe /drive=E"
  • Techy111Techy111 Posts: 6,428 Volunteer Moderator
    Another necro thread resurrection!!!! Enough!!!
    A PC with lots of gadgets inside and a thing to see in 3D that you put on your head.

This discussion has been closed.