Third Party Apps and Rift 1.17 Update - Page 5 — Oculus
New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

Third Party Apps and Rift 1.17 Update

12357

Comments

  • SUBZer0VRSUBZer0VR Posts: 127
    Art3mis
    @Keron119 ; If my request messes with anything on your end you can just disregard.  I have already messaged Oculus Support to assist.  One way or the other we will all get our 3rd party titles to function properly...bottom-line! 
      
  • throughtheiris25throughtheiris25 Posts: 13
    NerveGear
    edited August 2017
    A lot of great workarounds mentioned on here, but I guess this feature will all get ironed out in time. Do think that the ability to add third-party apps which you previously removed should be the next priority. It's just common sense that people uninstall and reinstall games all the time. I did what some people on here did, and removed an app or two by mistake, and that's going to happen to a lot of people somewhere down the line.

    Anyhow, you think JSON exchanges may return apps to our library??? If so, I need SteamVR and Audioshield. I think its worth a try until Oculus sorts it out.
  • Keron119Keron119 Posts: 25
    Brain Burst
    SUBZer0VR said:
    @Keron119 ; If my request messes with anything on your end you can just disregard.  I have already messaged Oculus Support to assist.  One way or the other we will all get our 3rd party titles to function properly...bottom-line! 
      

    Hey SUBZer0VR, I am not sure how to upload the files but I can email them to you if you send me your email.
  • DonkyBoYDonkyBoY Posts: 90
    Hiro Protagonist
    @Keron119 ;

    Try Onedrive or tinyupload.com maybe filehosting.org
    Oculus CV1 room scale with 3 tracker's
    i7 4790K @ 4.4Ghz with delid and Liquid metal ultra +Corsair H110i / MSI GTX1080Ti Sea Hawk / 32GB DDR3 @2400Mhz
    (All rads running EK Furious Vardar F4 / F5 fans)
    Sandisk Extreme for OS and Kingston SSD Now for games
    Steam = http://steamcommunity.com/id/xgsdonkyboy
    TS3 server = xgs.ts3.nz
  • Keron119Keron119 Posts: 25
    Brain Burst
    DonkyBoY said:
    @Keron119 ;

    Try Onedrive or tinyupload.com maybe filehosting.org

    SUBZer0VR and DonkyBoY, let me know if this works.


    https://www.dropbox.com/home?preview=Manifests.rar



  • SUBZer0VRSUBZer0VR Posts: 127
    Art3mis
    Keron119 said:
    DonkyBoY said:
    @Keron119 ;

    Try Onedrive or tinyupload.com maybe filehosting.org

    SUBZer0VR and DonkyBoY, let me know if this works.


    https://www.dropbox.com/home?preview=Manifests.rar




    @Keron119
    I sent you a private PM on the Oculus Forums.  Hit me up as time permits...Thanks!

  • SUBZer0VRSUBZer0VR Posts: 127
    Art3mis
    @Keron119


    Thanks for the files!  However, NO-GO did not work.  Guess we will have to wait until the official work around or someone that understands the ins-and-outs of WHY this is what it is.  Appreciate it  
  • SUBZer0VRSUBZer0VR Posts: 127
    Art3mis
    SUBZer0VR said:
    @Keron119


    Thanks for the files!  However, NO-GO did not work.  Guess we will have to wait until the official work around or someone that understands the ins-and-outs of WHY this is what it is.  Appreciate it  

    Disregard this statement.  After a PC reboot the file has re-appeared in the Oculus Home library for me.  Big THANK YOU!  There is still the one issue of the game launching in 2D mode versus VR mode.  "Guess we will have to wait until the official work around or someone that understands the ins-and-outs of WHY this is what it is."  I sure they are already aware of this issue and have someone or a team to address it ASAP (Its not like they have big number of titles to address regarding 3rd party software lol).  
  • Keron119Keron119 Posts: 25
    Brain Burst
    SUBZer0VR said:
    SUBZer0VR said:
    @Keron119


    Thanks for the files!  However, NO-GO did not work.  Guess we will have to wait until the official work around or someone that understands the ins-and-outs of WHY this is what it is.  Appreciate it  

    Disregard this statement.  After a PC reboot the file has re-appeared in the Oculus Home library for me.  Big THANK YOU!  There is still the one issue of the game launching in 2D mode versus VR mode.  "Guess we will have to wait until the official work around or someone that understands the ins-and-outs of WHY this is what it is."  I sure they are already aware of this issue and have someone or a team to address it ASAP (Its not like they have big number of titles to address regarding 3rd party software lol).  

    Glad it worked. At least we now know how to get back games deleted from home.
  • throughtheiris25throughtheiris25 Posts: 13
    NerveGear
    Anyone have SteamVR and Audioshield Json files?
  • SUBZer0VRSUBZer0VR Posts: 127
    Art3mis
    edited August 2017
    Oculus Staff is really kind of funny - This matter was addressed by obtaining JSON manifest files.  The application (Project Cars) has been re-added to my Oculus Home library.    

    _____________________________________________________
    Oculus official response to 3rd Party Applications:

    XXXXX (Oculus Support)

    Aug 7, 2:36 PM PDT

    Hi SubZer0VR,

    Thanks for your patience while this case was escalated and reviewed.

    Unfortunately, there is no way to re-add a third party application to your Oculus Home library after it has been manually removed.

    Our engineering team is exploring ways that this type of functionality can be added in the future.

    However, there is no sort of timeline we are able to provide as to when something like that might be available.

    We appreciate your patience and understanding while this work takes place.

    If you have any further questions or concerns, please let us know!

    Best,

    XXXXX
    Oculus Support

    ____________________________________________________

    I really just want to know...Not knocking the idea(s) at all, but why release a half-assed feature? 

     
  • throughtheiris25throughtheiris25 Posts: 13
    NerveGear
    @SUBZer0VR. They responded to me by telling me to check the change log to keep track of new features.

    So, you're getting an error with a non-oculus app like Project Cars. So, you remove it, because there is no point in having a redundant app in your library. The issue gets fixed, but you can no longer add it your library because that cannot be done.

    What is wrong with these developers? Every ability to delete an item ever created in the existence of computers, has included a way to add it back.
  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 26,156 Oculus Staff
    It's a feature that will likely be included in the future, but it didn't make it for this version. Sorry.
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    Gigabyte RX Vega 64 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • csroguecsrogue Posts: 4
    NerveGear
    anyone have the json files for elite dangerous that I could download?
  • SUBZer0VRSUBZer0VR Posts: 127
    Art3mis
    edited August 2017
    csrogue said:
    anyone have the json files for elite dangerous that I could download?
    I have the JSON for the free version of Elite Dangerous:  Arena (Multiplayer) from Steam.  Sorry, I purchased ED Deluxe Edition from Oculus Home.  Let me know if you would like to attempt that.  However, I doubt it will even work for what we need it to do.  Let me know...Thanks!   :)
    @SUBZer0VR. They responded to me by telling me to check the change log to keep track of new features.

    So, you're getting an error with a non-oculus app like Project Cars. So, you remove it, because there is no point in having a redundant app in your library. The issue gets fixed, but you can no longer add it your library because that cannot be done.

    What is wrong with these developers? Every ability to delete an item ever created in the existence of computers, has included a way to add it back.

    CORRECT, no ifs ands or butts around it!  We must be test subjects to them lol :D

  • SUBZer0VRSUBZer0VR Posts: 127
    Art3mis
    Anyone have SteamVR and Audioshield Json files?

    I sent a PM to you about how to go about re-adding SteamVR to you library.  Sorry, I don't own Audioshield nor have ties or access to any of the files.  If you have issues getting SteamVR to appear in your library you can PM me or chat with the person from the YouTube video.  We response pretty quick to help wanted questions.  
  • throughtheiris25throughtheiris25 Posts: 13
    NerveGear
    @SUBZer0V. Yeah thanks I got it. Nice to have someone respond in a helpful way, unlike you know who.
  • UsaRubberUsaRubber Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    edited August 2017
    Hi guys every since the update today oculus home no longer recognizes my headset plugged in through an hdmi extension. It also has terrible connectivity with my 3rd sensor, Ontop of that, when it would work, it would crash my pc after 5-10 minutes of playing, error: DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL (wdf01000.sys) So naturally I went and updated my GPU drivers from one that was only a month or so old and working flawlessly not even 12 hours ago to the newest one, oculus now crashes my entire PC every time I open it. Reverted back to the drivers that it worked with last and I can no longer open oculus home. Uninstalled oculus entirely and reinstalled. No go, crashes every time. If it doesn't crash my PC it crashes my GPU shutting the fans off until it overheats. Literally wtf happened it was all working so smoothly now I can't even turn it on or it crashes my pc and then goes into infinite reboot loop until I clear bios.

    Is there a link or way to re-download the last driver version? It was working fine. I don't really care about having to launch steam vr games from another launcher honestly because right now my entire PC wont even work with this thing plugged in. I've had this thing literally one week and it was working flawless till update, I was actually extremely impressed.
  • Sterling77Sterling77 Posts: 506
    Neo
    UsaRubber said:
    Hi guys every since the update today oculus home no longer recognizes my headset plugged in through an hdmi extension. It also has terrible connectivity with my 3rd sensor, Ontop of that, when it would work, it would crash my pc after 5-10 minutes of playing, error: DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL (wdf01000.sys) So naturally I went and updated my GPU drivers from one that was only a month or so old and working flawlessly not even 12 hours ago to the newest one, oculus now crashes my entire PC every time I open it. Reverted back to the drivers that it worked with last and I can no longer open oculus home. Uninstalled oculus entirely and reinstalled. No go, crashes every time. If it doesn't crash my PC it crashes my GPU shutting the fans off until it overheats. Literally wtf happened it was all working so smoothly now I can't even turn it on or it crashes my pc and then goes into infinite reboot loop until I clear bios.
    Uninstall Antivirus completely - then try. These are the same issues i have had - strange behaviour and bios loops. 
  • UsaRubberUsaRubber Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    edited August 2017
    Uninstall Antivirus completely - then try. These are the same issues i have had - strange behaviour and bios loops. 
    That shouldn't be an issue, like I stated it was working flawlessly before with exactly the same setup, the only change made was oculus update. I don't use antivirus on this computer. It's strictly for gaming. My gpu literally wont boost past 300mhz with the rift plugged in.

    Update: Uninstalled Rift drivers entirely. When trying to instal, finishes download then Says RESTART, encountered an error. I''m amazed at how seamless this whole experience was until it came crashing down within a 12 hour period, Quite amazing actually. Can't even download the drivers anymore lol. 
  • Stumpy2101Stumpy2101 Posts: 24
    Brain Burst
    Have happily used icons from the Reddit repository for custom icons to update the icons of some of my 3rd party apps. But when it comes to the SteamVR one, I cant use the same process as with the others since I cant seem to find a SteamVR related directory for this purpose.
    The process I am referring to is: Replace the auto-generated icons for 3rd party apps in your \Oculus\Software\Software\StoreAssets\ folder with fancy hand made ones.
    Any advice where the Oculus Home Steam VR Library App entity points to so that I can replace the ugly black box (labelled "vrstartup.exe") with the better icon?
    Although this being only cosmetic in nature, any advice and support is much appreciated.

  • dburnedburne Posts: 2,704 Valuable Player
    edited August 2017
    I am really liking the third party apps feature. 
    One flight sim I have, IL-2 Battle of Stalingrad, after running it the executable was added properly in Oculus Home with the proper icon. I can now launch it from within the Home environment no problem.

    Don't know if this is a bug with this new feature or not, but on the other hand DCS does not seem to work properly. After running it, the shortcut was added in the Home Environment, however no icon. When I launch it from within Oculus Home, it loads up into the DCS Hangar, but there is no menu GUI at all and no sound at all. Just the view of the hangar. I checked it again outside of Oculus Home, and it launches properly using the regular desktop executable I have. The exe file is DCS.exe, and that is what is showing in Oculus Home as well.

    Another Oculus user over on the DCS forums is reporting this same behavior as well.
    Don

    EVGA Z390 Dark MB | I9 9900k| EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 Ultra |32 GB G Skill 3200 cl14 ram | Warthog Throttle | VKB Gunfighter Pro/MCG Pro grip | Crosswind Pedals | EVGA DG 87 Case| Rift S | Quest |
  • throughtheiris25throughtheiris25 Posts: 13
    NerveGear
    edited August 2017
    @Stumpy2101. I sent you a PM with something to try. No idea if it'll work.
  • throughtheiris25throughtheiris25 Posts: 13
    NerveGear
    edited August 2017
    @dburn. Seems some games do not work using this method. I cannot get a few to work myself. It generally has something to do with starting the game directly from the exe or sometimes the launch parameters used. But anomaly's exist, like the one you have experienced. Maybe someone has run into that issue and sorted it out, so hope someone can help you out.
  • dburnedburne Posts: 2,704 Valuable Player
    @dburn. Seems some games do not work using this method. I cannot get a few to work myself. It generally has something to do with starting the game directly from the exe or sometimes the launch parameters used. But anomaly's exist, like the one you have experienced. Maybe someone has run into that issue and sorted it out, so hope someone can help you out.

    Ok thanks, will be keeping an eye out down  the road. 
    Don

    EVGA Z390 Dark MB | I9 9900k| EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 Ultra |32 GB G Skill 3200 cl14 ram | Warthog Throttle | VKB Gunfighter Pro/MCG Pro grip | Crosswind Pedals | EVGA DG 87 Case| Rift S | Quest |
  • Stumpy2101Stumpy2101 Posts: 24
    Brain Burst
    @throughtheiris25 Thank you for the effort and support but unfortunately it did not work :'(
    Nevertheless was worth a try. Nothing ventured, nothing gained B)
  • GreymanGreyman Posts: 1,315
    Wintermute
    It'd be nice if OH could recognise Flyinside XP, instead of the instance of XPlane that it launches, as any subsequent attempt to run it just loads native XPlane and the VR benefits of FI XP are not available.  

    This is presumably the same with Flyinside FSX?

    No major biggy, as i can continue to run it from a desktop FI XP shortcut.
  • jaconchajaconcha Posts: 9
    NerveGear
    Phrap said:
    There seems to be a conflict with this Beta update and Unity. Unity will constantly freeze every few seconds or so while the OVR Server process is alive while on 1.17.X, but does not do this when un-enrolling from the beta channel and downgrading to 1.16.X.

    I am having this exact same problem.  It seems to be when you change between windows in the Unity Editor.  If you stay in one window, it's able to run smoothly.  Are there any solutions out there to this?  It's as close to blocking as a blocker can be.  It may also be related to the latest Windows 10 update, since I received both between sessions of Unity work.

    Just to restate the issue - While Oculus VR Runtime Service is running (in Windows Services), changing focus between Editor windows in any Unity project (of any size/complexity) is followed by a 4-10 second freeze of all input.
  • Mane_VrMane_Vr Posts: 46
    Brain Burst
    edited August 2017
    found the issue I am having it is in the post below
  • Mane_VrMane_Vr Posts: 46
    Brain Burst
    Nibre said:
    @cybereality he's probably referring to this;

    Steam sometimes does this with apps that are launched with command-line options from outside of Steam itself, as a pseudo security check. It can be kinda random with when it decides to throw up this alert, it never seems to be consistent.

    Sometimes if it's a command-line arg that the Developers set themselves in the Steam App settings (like 'Launch with Oculus VR'), it lets it through because it's a normal command (I guess). Other times, it will freak out, and not launch the game until you hit OK (which you can't do in VR). Literally changes all the time with Steam, restart to restart, update to update. It won't even put the alert window into focus, you have to click on Steam to bring it up.

    You can sometimes get around it with;
    Steam.exe -applaunch [app id here] -more -start -commands -here
    Until it suddenly decides that also no longer works, and the alert starts happening again. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

    Steam does not currently offer a way to disable this warning, and I could see it being a large problem for this release going public. Hopefully it can be resolved before then.

    this is the issue I am having and right about not i'm become very pissed with steam I try to never buy my vr games on steam I only have Serious Sam vr there cause they're not on home was so excited thinking I could skip steam all together for vr till I got that message does anyone know of a work around I already have steamvr uninstall cause I use +vrapi oculus in my launch command.
Sign In or Register to comment.