cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Absolute beginner looking for advice.

AerialSnack
Honored Guest
So, I just learned of the oculus rift, and I plan on purchasing it as soon as able (in a month or two), and really want to participate in making the next generation of games. I have pretty much no experience in game making, and was wondering where I should start. I have UDK (I have always been a fan of Unreal Engine), and was wondering which program I should use to create custom material?

Also, I heard that a new version of the Oculus Rift was going to be available for purchase soon. Should I get that, or just stick with the current one?

Any advice is welcome, I hope I can make a game in less than a few years. Thanks for the help!
11 REPLIES 11

MrMolecularyMan
Honored Guest
For the game making I would recommend downloading the UDK looking up tutorials for the UI and then learning C++ after you learn C++ you should move on to UnrealScript which is what UDk uses, C++ is very similar UnrealScript, then for the new version, if you are a developer or about to become you should just go ahead and buy the DK1 if you are a regular consumer and not really interested in developing too much you should wait for the Consumer version or the DK2

AerialSnack
Honored Guest
"MrMolecularyMan" wrote:
For the game making I would recommend downloading the UDK looking up tutorials for the UI and then learning C++ after you learn C++ you should move on to UnrealScript which is what UDk uses, C++ is very similar UnrealScript, then for the new version, if you are a developer or about to become you should just go ahead and buy the DK1 if you are a regular consumer and not really interested in developing too much you should wait for the Consumer version or the DK2

Thanks for the help! I wasn't expecting to get exactly what I was looking for right off the bat xD