New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

How many Oculus headset can I connect to a single powerfull PC simultaniuosly?

robvaz5857robvaz5857 Posts: 1
NerveGear
Hey guys, I'm an educational software developer and I want to know how many Oculus Googles can be connected and used at the ssame time to a single powerfull PC? I want to build a laboratory and I want to know if can use a server with terminals and connect multiples Oculus headset at the same time with differents desktops(users)? I will buy a couple hundreds if it works to a single PC.

Comments

• NilamYTNilamYT Posts: 16
    NerveGear
    Depends on how powerful you are talking here...
  • kojackkojack Posts: 6,424 Volunteer Moderator
    The Oculus runtime only supports a single headset on a PC.

• lemondemonlemondemon Posts: 16
    NerveGear
    What if you have a double headset, won't it be able to support it?
  • ElusiveMarlinElusiveMarlin Posts: 293
    Nexus 6

I had a similar question, as when I watch a film on SkyboxVR I would be good if I can watch a film with my partner in our own private cinema!

Thought about buying a USB & HDMI Y-splitter and connecting two headsets to the feed.

But IF that would work I assume only one headset would control the viewpoint?

RIFT CV1
    RIFT S
    Leeds, UK.

Intel Core i7 7700K 3.7GHz | RAM 32GB DDR4 2666MHz | GeForce GTX 1080 8GB |

"Behind every mask there is a face, and behind that a story...."
  • nalex66nalex66 Posts: 5,450 Volunteer Moderator

I had a similar question, as when I watch a film on SkyboxVR I would be good if I can watch a film with my partner in our own private cinema!

Thought about buying a USB & HDMI Y-splitter and connecting two headsets to the feed.

That won’t work, each headset needs its own PC. You can watch movies together with other users in apps like Big Screen Beta.