Huge PAK files in the oculus directory — Oculus
New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

Huge PAK files in the oculus directory

oh_cripesoh_cripes Posts: 3
NerveGear
I've recently been running low on space on my hard drive and I found a very large .pak file in the oculus directory. "C:\Program Files\Oculus\Support\oculus-worlds\Home2\Content\Paks\Home2-WindowsNoEditor.pak" is 6gb. Any idea what this is or if it can be moved to another drive? I'm guessing it's to do with the home application, but come on, 6gb! That's taking the mickey.


Comments

  • LZoltowskiLZoltowski Posts: 6,755 Volunteer Moderator
    That looks like an Unreal Engine PAK file .. it contains all the 3d assets, textures etc for the new home.
    Core i7-7700k @ 4.9 Ghz | 32 GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance @ 3000Mhz | 2x 1TB Samsung Evo | 2x 4GB WD Black
    ASUS MAXIMUS IX HERO | MSI AERO GTX 1080 OC @ 2000Mhz | Corsair Carbide Series 400C White (RGB FTW!) 

    Be kind to one another :)
  • oh_cripesoh_cripes Posts: 3
    NerveGear
    *opens home for the first time*
    *sees 6gb pirate ship*
    *long sigh*
  • BananaCatBananaCat Posts: 7
    NerveGear
    Yeah. Thought last update was kinda big.. Software is getting way to huge to manage. 
  • Mace404Mace404 Posts: 208
    Nexus 6
    6GB is way too huge? Oh man, I hope you never install Shadow of War  :D
  • oh_cripesoh_cripes Posts: 3
    NerveGear
    Part of the problem is I have a small ssd which my OS is on, but I install games usually to a bigger magnetic hdd. You can't choose where to put this pak file. I guess I could have installed the oculus app on my other hard drive in the first place.
  • DaftnDirectDaftnDirect Posts: 4,799 Volunteer Moderator

    It's a reasonable point @oh_cripes. When it comes to large files, It's always good to have a choice where to put them.

    My M.2 was filling up quicker than I thought it would, I like to have commonly accessed (but not commonly written to) files on there as well as the OS but lately have been shifting more & more to regular HDDs. Plus I like to keep a reasonable amount of unused space on an SSD to maximise its life.

    Intel 5820K OC@4Ghz, Titan X (Maxwell), 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4, ASRock X99 Taichi, Samsung 500Gb 960 Evo M.2, Corsair H100i v2 Cooler, Inateck KTU3FR-4P USB 3 card, Windows 10 Pro v1903 (18362.239)
  • LZoltowskiLZoltowski Posts: 6,755 Volunteer Moderator

    It's a reasonable point @oh_cripes. When it comes to large files, It's always good to have a choice where to put them.

    My M.2 was filling up quicker than I thought it would, I like to have commonly accessed (but not commonly written to) files on there as well as the OS but lately have been shifting more & more to regular HDDs. Plus I like to keep a reasonable amount of unused space on an SSD to maximise its life.

    Why buy one M.2 drive when you can have two for twice the price?!
    Core i7-7700k @ 4.9 Ghz | 32 GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance @ 3000Mhz | 2x 1TB Samsung Evo | 2x 4GB WD Black
    ASUS MAXIMUS IX HERO | MSI AERO GTX 1080 OC @ 2000Mhz | Corsair Carbide Series 400C White (RGB FTW!) 

    Be kind to one another :)
  • DaftnDirectDaftnDirect Posts: 4,799 Volunteer Moderator
    You'd make a great dodgy salesman LZ
    Intel 5820K OC@4Ghz, Titan X (Maxwell), 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4, ASRock X99 Taichi, Samsung 500Gb 960 Evo M.2, Corsair H100i v2 Cooler, Inateck KTU3FR-4P USB 3 card, Windows 10 Pro v1903 (18362.239)
  • LZoltowskiLZoltowski Posts: 6,755 Volunteer Moderator
    You'd make a great dodgy salesman LZ
    I actually want to invest in a 1TB M.2 drive .. im running on standard EVO's at the moment, a friend of mine has it and its so zippy!! ...
    Core i7-7700k @ 4.9 Ghz | 32 GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance @ 3000Mhz | 2x 1TB Samsung Evo | 2x 4GB WD Black
    ASUS MAXIMUS IX HERO | MSI AERO GTX 1080 OC @ 2000Mhz | Corsair Carbide Series 400C White (RGB FTW!) 

    Be kind to one another :)
  • DaftnDirectDaftnDirect Posts: 4,799 Volunteer Moderator
    You'd make a great dodgy salesman LZ
    I actually want to invest in a 1TB M.2 drive .. im running on standard EVO's at the moment, a friend of mine has it and its so zippy!! ...


    I changed from an Evo 850 SSD to the 950 M.2 and there's an improvement... I just didn't bother taking before & after start-up times for example, which I should have done really. I put my work type software on the M.2 also... like CAD & Adobe stuff and it's now half-full so 1TB would be good. Especially if we get many more worlds and assets added to our Oculus Homes paks!


    But the other advantage is now having the 850 as a gaming SSD, I just transfer whatever game I'm currently into onto that. Really makes a difference to games that have lots of scenery loads, like Fallout or Deus Ex... and the OCZ Vertx 3 before that is now my flight sim SSD.


    Anyway, if there's a request to have a choice of where we install our Oculus system program files, I'm all for it.

    Intel 5820K OC@4Ghz, Titan X (Maxwell), 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4, ASRock X99 Taichi, Samsung 500Gb 960 Evo M.2, Corsair H100i v2 Cooler, Inateck KTU3FR-4P USB 3 card, Windows 10 Pro v1903 (18362.239)
  • BananaCatBananaCat Posts: 7
    NerveGear
    They should do it like steam. Let us choose which environments we want and download em. The smaller Oculus home is the better in my opinion. Its buggy as all heck to for lots of users and often requires a reinstall or repair. The faster we can download and install the better. 
  • cercatacercata Posts: 21
    Brain Burst
    BananaCat said:
    They should do it like steam. Let us choose which environments we want and download em. The smaller Oculus home is the better in my opinion. Its buggy as all heck to for lots of users and often requires a reinstall or repair. The faster we can download and install the better. 
    I have 2GB of steam environments ... how can I remove them ? I never used them

    And about the Oculus shitPak files, no statment from Oculus about that ?
    The fill our SSD with crap maybe we never use ?
  • RattyUKRattyUK Posts: 735
    3Jane
    My .pak files are only a little over 5GB, am I missing some interesting bits? :p

    Gone are the days when software was only a MB or 2 - even Nvidia drivers are approaching half a GB so no surprise that something so graphics oriented is large, even the WinSxS folder can grow to 20+ GB, most of which is 'protected' and will just sit there even after a system disc cleanup.

    But then, my SkyrimVr  folder is a mere 28.2 GB... (with another 2.1GB for the saves!)
    PC info: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X, Asus ROG Crosshair VII Hero, 16GB Tforce Pro Dark DDR4 3200, Gigabyte GTX 1080, Samsung 870 Pro M.2, 2x 240GB SSD, 3TB WD Green HDD & 4 TB Seagate Barracuda HDD, Corsair Modular 750w PSU, custom watercooling loop. (Win 10 Pro & Opensuse Leap 15 Linux) 32" AOC 4K Monitor.

    Laptop: Aorus X5 V6-CF1 (I7-6820HK, GTX 1070, 2* 256GB M.2 NVME, 1TB 7200 HDD 3K screen)
  • LZoltowskiLZoltowski Posts: 6,755 Volunteer Moderator
    edited June 2018
    RattyUK said:
    My .pak files are only a little over 5GB, am I missing some interesting bits? :p

    Gone are the days when software was only a MB or 2 - even Nvidia drivers are approaching half a GB so no surprise that something so graphics oriented is large, even the WinSxS folder can grow to 20+ GB, most of which is 'protected' and will just sit there even after a system disc cleanup.

    But then, my SkyrimVr  folder is a mere 28.2 GB... (with another 2.1GB for the saves!)

     Middle Earth Shadow of War is around 100GB !!!!

    Core i7-7700k @ 4.9 Ghz | 32 GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance @ 3000Mhz | 2x 1TB Samsung Evo | 2x 4GB WD Black
    ASUS MAXIMUS IX HERO | MSI AERO GTX 1080 OC @ 2000Mhz | Corsair Carbide Series 400C White (RGB FTW!) 

    Be kind to one another :)
  • RattyUKRattyUK Posts: 735
    3Jane

    Middle Earth Shadow of War is around 100GB !!!!

    Ooooo!  I've not got that one...  yet >:)
    PC info: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X, Asus ROG Crosshair VII Hero, 16GB Tforce Pro Dark DDR4 3200, Gigabyte GTX 1080, Samsung 870 Pro M.2, 2x 240GB SSD, 3TB WD Green HDD & 4 TB Seagate Barracuda HDD, Corsair Modular 750w PSU, custom watercooling loop. (Win 10 Pro & Opensuse Leap 15 Linux) 32" AOC 4K Monitor.

    Laptop: Aorus X5 V6-CF1 (I7-6820HK, GTX 1070, 2* 256GB M.2 NVME, 1TB 7200 HDD 3K screen)
  • LZoltowskiLZoltowski Posts: 6,755 Volunteer Moderator
    RattyUK said:

    Middle Earth Shadow of War is around 100GB !!!!

    Ooooo!  I've not got that one...  yet >:)
    It's really good, huge game .. hours and hours of slashing fun.
    Core i7-7700k @ 4.9 Ghz | 32 GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance @ 3000Mhz | 2x 1TB Samsung Evo | 2x 4GB WD Black
    ASUS MAXIMUS IX HERO | MSI AERO GTX 1080 OC @ 2000Mhz | Corsair Carbide Series 400C White (RGB FTW!) 

    Be kind to one another :)
  • BryBry.78BryBry.78 Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    My Home2-WindowsNoEditor.pak file was 10GB.  I deleted it, and it still works, you just won't have the Oculus home visuals.  You still have the dashboard. 
    I also tested its impact on system resources.  I'm not sure if when you start a game if it closes the Oculus home so it isn't using the resources.   
    With the file       CPU 30%  RAM 5.2gb  GPU 30%
    Without the file  CPU 15%  RAM 4.1gb  GPU 10%


  • autoexec.batautoexec.bat Posts: 4
    NerveGear
    I just moved the 10 Gig .pak file to externl drive. So I have an option to put it back if I want to.
  • CalcCalcCalcCalcCalcCalc Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    edited June 15
    I just moved the 10 Gig .pak file to externl drive. So I have an option to put it back if I want to.
    Similarly, I moved the 10G .pak file from my ssd to hdd.
    But then I created a symlink for it in the directory it was originally in.
    My home experience was unchanged.
    You can follow the instructions in this link to do the same https://www.maketecheasier.com/create-symbolic-links-windows10/
  • Lethal_AimsLethal_Aims Posts: 61
    Hiro Protagonist
    You can install Oculus on another drive if you don’t want it on your system drive.
    https://support.oculus.com/1142129705828091/
  • lord_lethrislord_lethris Posts: 10
    NerveGear
    You can install Oculus on another drive if you don’t want it on your system drive.
    https://support.oculus.com/1142129705828091/
    Like many of us, We have got Oculus installed on a different drive.  You can also pick where to install games.  You can have a number of game librarys on different drives



    The problem is THIS ->



    No matter where you install Oculus main application, THESE files ALWAYS install under c:\program files and they get bigger with every update :(
Sign In or Register to comment.