New To The Forum? Click Here To Read The How To Guide. -- Developers Click Here.

[SOLVED] HDMI not detected

CasperS9900CasperS9900 Posts: 14
NerveGear
edited March 13 in Support
Hi 
I am struggling with my oculus, HDMI not detected. 
I have tried the following and fear i have damaged the cable. 

Uninstalling oculus software
Updating all drivers including recent patch from march
checked hdmi on graphics card
still no luck.

my cable did get stuck for a brief moment with me sitting in my playseat underneath the the seat, so i fear i have destroyed the cable..... 

any inputs will be welcome 

Comments

  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 24,968 Oculus Staff
    Are you on Nvidia? If so, please download driver 388.59. Newer driver may have HDMI issues. If you already have a newer driver, use DDU safe mode to uninstall the current driver first.
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    Gigabyte RX Vega 64 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • CasperS9900CasperS9900 Posts: 14
    NerveGear
    i used DDU in safemode and installed the driver u told me and the problem is still there
  • CasperS9900CasperS9900 Posts: 14
    NerveGear

    Getting quite frustrated now! tried everything and the problem is still there. 
  • CasperS9900CasperS9900 Posts: 14
    NerveGear
  • LZoltowskiLZoltowski Posts: 4,962 Volunteer Moderator
    edited March 11
    Please add this to your Hosts file:

     31.13.95.61 graph.oculus.com 

    and reboot and run it again (oh and don't run MSI afterburner) while setting up
    Core i7-7700k @ 4.9 Ghz | 32 GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance @ 3000Mhz | 2x 1TB Samsung Evo | 2x 4GB WD Black
    ASUS MAXIMUS IX HERO | MSI AERO GTX 1080 OC @ 2000Mhz | Corsair Carbide Series 400C White (RGB FTW!) 

    Be kind to one another :)
  • CasperS9900CasperS9900 Posts: 14
    NerveGear
    Where do i find the hosts file
  • LZoltowskiLZoltowski Posts: 4,962 Volunteer Moderator
    1. Press the Windows key.
    2. Type Notepad in the search field.
    3. In the search results, right-click Notepad and select Run as administrator.
    4. From Notepad, open the following file: c:\Windows\System32\Drivers\etc\hosts
    5. Make the necessary changes to the file (add the line   31.13.95.61 graph.oculus.com  )
    6. Click File > Save to save your changes.
    If you cannot see the hosts file it may be hidden, follow this guide to enable hidden files

    https://www.isunshare.com/windows-10/show-hidden-files-and-folders-in-windows-10.html
    Core i7-7700k @ 4.9 Ghz | 32 GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance @ 3000Mhz | 2x 1TB Samsung Evo | 2x 4GB WD Black
    ASUS MAXIMUS IX HERO | MSI AERO GTX 1080 OC @ 2000Mhz | Corsair Carbide Series 400C White (RGB FTW!) 

    Be kind to one another :)
  • CasperS9900CasperS9900 Posts: 14
    NerveGear
    i added the line in the document as you told me and saved and restarted with no luck 
  • LZoltowskiLZoltowski Posts: 4,962 Volunteer Moderator
    There are a lot of network errors, are you running antivirus? 

    It sounds odd but for the setup to continue the HMD needs to dial home to authenticate the device and make sure its firmware is correct. It looks that its failing constantly

    GateKeeperCheck errored: TransientError domain: CURLcode code: 6 detail: 6: Could not resolve host: graph.oculus.com (1971012)

    I see you have a lot of processes running also that might be interfering

    Disable any and or all:

    GPU Tweakers such as MSI Afterburner
    Any DNS utils
    Any CPU tweakers
    Any SSD Utils
    Any Antivirus
    ANy security utils
    Any Motherboard utils or any MSI utilities





    Core i7-7700k @ 4.9 Ghz | 32 GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance @ 3000Mhz | 2x 1TB Samsung Evo | 2x 4GB WD Black
    ASUS MAXIMUS IX HERO | MSI AERO GTX 1080 OC @ 2000Mhz | Corsair Carbide Series 400C White (RGB FTW!) 

    Be kind to one another :)
  • CasperS9900CasperS9900 Posts: 14
    NerveGear
    I will give it a try. But I am wondering, I had this set for a year working without any problems, and now suddenly stopped working. 
  • LZoltowskiLZoltowski Posts: 4,962 Volunteer Moderator
    There could be 2 things like you said you squished your cable, but also since you are running setup again, the HMD needs to phone home to re-initialise, now between now and one year ago you maybe installed something or done something to your DNS or network config, that now it cannot ..
    Core i7-7700k @ 4.9 Ghz | 32 GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance @ 3000Mhz | 2x 1TB Samsung Evo | 2x 4GB WD Black
    ASUS MAXIMUS IX HERO | MSI AERO GTX 1080 OC @ 2000Mhz | Corsair Carbide Series 400C White (RGB FTW!) 

    Be kind to one another :)
  • CasperS9900CasperS9900 Posts: 14
    NerveGear
    So from what you are saying, you would not rule out that i have broken the cable ? Because I have not installed anything new or changed anything in my network since last week were it was running fine
  • LZoltowskiLZoltowski Posts: 4,962 Volunteer Moderator
    So from what you are saying, you would not rule out that i have broken the cable ? Because I have not installed anything new or changed anything in my network since last week were it was running fine
    You uninstalled the software, so it needs to do the check again, it only does it on initial setup.
    Core i7-7700k @ 4.9 Ghz | 32 GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance @ 3000Mhz | 2x 1TB Samsung Evo | 2x 4GB WD Black
    ASUS MAXIMUS IX HERO | MSI AERO GTX 1080 OC @ 2000Mhz | Corsair Carbide Series 400C White (RGB FTW!) 

    Be kind to one another :)
  • CasperS9900CasperS9900 Posts: 14
    NerveGear
    yes only because i was told to do so by support after it stopped working 
  • CasperS9900CasperS9900 Posts: 14
    NerveGear
    I am going to do a clean install of windows to see if that it is some issue with a setting or software, otherwise i will wait for the new cable i ordered 
  • CasperS9900CasperS9900 Posts: 14
    NerveGear
    Fresh install of Windows only oculus software downloaded and the problem is still there
  • CasperS9900CasperS9900 Posts: 14
    NerveGear
    Problem solved!! Turns out i managed to destroy my cable! Got my new one today and it is registrering the hdmi
  • LZoltowskiLZoltowski Posts: 4,962 Volunteer Moderator
    edited March 13
    Problem solved!! Turns out i managed to destroy my cable! Got my new one today and it is registrering the hdmi

     AMAZEBALLS! Can I mark the title as solved?
    Core i7-7700k @ 4.9 Ghz | 32 GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance @ 3000Mhz | 2x 1TB Samsung Evo | 2x 4GB WD Black
    ASUS MAXIMUS IX HERO | MSI AERO GTX 1080 OC @ 2000Mhz | Corsair Carbide Series 400C White (RGB FTW!) 

    Be kind to one another :)
  • CasperS9900CasperS9900 Posts: 14
    NerveGear
    Mark ahead!! I am really Happy now and just gonna play project cars now
Sign In or Register to comment.