[SOLVED]Error During Installation. — Oculus
New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

[SOLVED]Error During Installation.

TheLastLibrarianTheLastLibrarian Posts: 3
NerveGear
edited March 2018 in Support
EDIT: Thanks to LZOLTOWSKI, I ended up looking through the log file and ended up Googling the error line which ended up sending me to another LZOLTOWSKI solved thread where Windows Defender was the culprit. Ended up temporarily disabling it and the installation went through perfectly. Now I'm getting some issue with the headset HDMI and its USB not being recognized, but hopefully I can figure that out. Thanks again LZOLTOWSKI!

My Rift was working perfectly fine before the necessary patch. When I tried to install the patch it kept giving me an error, I ended up uninstalling the Oculus software completely hoping to do a fresh install.

Well, that didn't work at all. I can start the installation process and after it downloads and proceeds to the installation process, it will run for a couple minutes and then it gives me the message: "Restart Computer. Sorry, we encountered an error during installation. Please restart your computer and try running Oculus Setup again."

I tried that several times using several options: unplugging the headset and sensors, deleting every Oculus related folder, clearing out the registries.

I don't know what else to do/try to complete the installation process.

Like I said before, everything worked perfectly fine before the necessary patch issue.
Ryzen 1700X
Gigabyte AB350N ITX
16GB Corsair RAM
Win 10, 64-bit
EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2

Tagged:

Comments

  • LZoltowskiLZoltowski Posts: 6,774 Volunteer Moderator
    Try running a super lean session of windows, disable any GPU Tweakers, antivirus, CPU monitors, SSD Utils, motherboard utils, etc, basically shut anything nonessential down, then run the setup again.

    If that doesn't help post your setup log

    Open a File Explorer window and paste this in the URL field:
    %LOCALAPPDATA%\Oculus\
    Then look for "OculusSetup.log" and upload it to your post. Please do *not* just copy/paste the text into the post area, as this becomes difficult to read. This folder may be hidden. Make sure you go into the Folder Options and choose Show Hidden Files and Folders first.


    Core i7-7700k @ 4.9 Ghz | 32 GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance @ 3000Mhz | 2x 1TB Samsung Evo | 2x 4GB WD Black
    ASUS MAXIMUS IX HERO | MSI AERO GTX 1080 OC @ 2000Mhz | Corsair Carbide Series 400C White (RGB FTW!) 

    Be kind to one another :)
  • RiftFlyerRiftFlyer Posts: 112
    Art3mis
    I have the exact same problem. I tried installing as admin, windows defender off and it fails every time. I will start my own thread with setup log. 
  • TheLastLibrarianTheLastLibrarian Posts: 3
    NerveGear

    Then look for "OculusSetup.log" and upload it to your post.


    Hey LZOLTOWSKI, thanks for the quick reply, I just restarted from another failed attempt, following your advice and went through safe mode. Attached is the log file.
    RiftFlyer said:
    I have the exact same problem. I tried installing as admin, windows defender off and it fails every time. I will start my own thread with setup log. 
    RIFTFLYER, it's really frustrating, hopefully we can figure out a solution!

  • LZoltowskiLZoltowski Posts: 6,774 Volunteer Moderator
    Ah, yes easy problem, you don't have the right environment variable

    Before you attempt running setup again, make sure you don't run setup as admin, don't run it in windows safe mode.
    Make sure you run a lean version of a normal windows mode by disabling any of the following if you have them

    Antivirus/Antimalware
    MSI Afterburner or any other GPU tweaker
    ANy SSD utilities such as Samsung Magic
    Any motherboard utilities
    etc

    Then
    1. In Search, search for and then select: System (Control Panel)
    2. Click the Advanced system settings link.
    3. Click Environment Variables. In the section System Variables, find the PATH environment variable and select it. Click Edit. If the PATH environment variable does not exist, click New.
    4. In the Edit System Variable (or New System Variable) window, specify the value of the PATH environment variable. The path you need to add is C:\windows if it's not there already. Click OK. Close all remaining windows by clicking OK.



      it should look like this: (ignore my entries, dont add the Oculus paths, c:\windows should be enough by itself)


      The run setup again BUT PLEASE RUN IT WITH EVERYTHING OFF AS IN the PREVIOUS STEP, do NOT run the file as admin, and run the setup file from your C:\ drive, not from downloads directory
    Core i7-7700k @ 4.9 Ghz | 32 GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance @ 3000Mhz | 2x 1TB Samsung Evo | 2x 4GB WD Black
    ASUS MAXIMUS IX HERO | MSI AERO GTX 1080 OC @ 2000Mhz | Corsair Carbide Series 400C White (RGB FTW!) 

    Be kind to one another :)
  • TheLastLibrarianTheLastLibrarian Posts: 3
    NerveGear
    Ah, yes easy problem, you don't have the right environment variable

    Actually, it was easier than that, I just had to disable Windows Defender!
    How did I figure that out, well I looked at the log and Google led me to another thread that you ended up helping someone else with!
    I edited the main post to reflect that, my new issue is that the headset HDMI and USB wouldn't be recognized, so we'll see how that goes. Thanks again!
  • LZoltowskiLZoltowski Posts: 6,774 Volunteer Moderator
    Ah, yes easy problem, you don't have the right environment variable

    Actually, it was easier than that, I just had to disable Windows Defender!
    How did I figure that out, well I looked at the log and Google led me to another thread that you ended up helping someone else with!
    I edited the main post to reflect that, my new issue is that the headset HDMI and USB wouldn't be recognized, so we'll see how that goes. Thanks again!
    Great, if you have more issues and cant solve them, start a new thread and provide the logs :)
    Core i7-7700k @ 4.9 Ghz | 32 GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance @ 3000Mhz | 2x 1TB Samsung Evo | 2x 4GB WD Black
    ASUS MAXIMUS IX HERO | MSI AERO GTX 1080 OC @ 2000Mhz | Corsair Carbide Series 400C White (RGB FTW!) 

    Be kind to one another :)
  • zeberipzeberip Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    Hey, i have the same problema and cant seem to solve it, i have already disabled Windows defender and my other safety antivirus but still nothing, please Help
  • 500stix500stix Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    Hello

    I keep getting the error message 'can't install please restart' when trying to put Oculus Rift onto my PC. Below is the error line from the log. I am quite clueless with PCs. Can someone help please?

    [Error] [27/06/2018 18:23:08] Error fetching / parsing config.\nSystem.AggregateException: One or more errors occurred. ---> System.Net.Http.HttpRequestException: An error occurred while sending the request. ---> System.Net.WebException: The remote name could not be resolved: 'graph.oculus.com'
  • HydropsHydrops Posts: 10
    NerveGear
    delete the oculus folder in program files\oculus, disable AV or defender, install again without rebooting, that did it for me and didn't need to dowload it again
  • NukeNorrisNukeNorris Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    hi LZoltowski

    i saw a couples of post with your help and i have to say ... you rock !!!!!

    I explain you my problem ,i just made a fresh install of window 10 pro and delete everything on each drive one by one in windows instalation , i just have my gpu driver and others drivers installed,i desabled the 3 things in the antivirus of the windows defender and the 3 firewall things to , i desable my corsair utility pump to ... nothing except the oculus setup.exe   i tryed atleast 10 time with different manipulations before the fresh install, and now 2 times after and nothing its always get stuck between 4.72go and 4.83 go and never end ... i even let it like 2 hours ,no luck i cant even get it install and tryed to repair or patch,cause when i tryed to cancel and install it again ,its patch the .3-.8 but when i tryed the patch its says its already uninstall .....im so lost for real , my pc is 1 month old ,i upgrade it just for the rift and now cant even enjoy it anymore :(((((

    any input are apreciate 
    my oculus log is below 

    sorry for my english btw ,its not my maternal language :P 




  • JoeM243JoeM243 Posts: 5
    NerveGear

    Hi,

    I got the exact same problem, new upgrade and I always get stuck at 4.72 or 4.80GB on the download process. I read lot of discussion regards this kind of issue on this forum (see below) but no one works for me.

    https://forums.oculusvr.com/community/discussion/62803/solved-issues-with-reinstall-of-oculus-software#latest

    https://forums.oculusvr.com/community/discussion/comment/608770#Comment_608770

    Please help


    Thanks,

  • 777ryanblack777ryanblack Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    This error is a pain! SOLVED! This error is VERY stubborn and annoying! I am a programmer and was stuck on it for about 16 hours. Oculus support takes a long time to reply and never ended up finding a solution. So I took care of it my self!



    I tried pretty much all of the solutions posted online one after another with NO LUCK!


    What worked for me was actually refreshing the Windows operating system. However the first attempts to refresh the operating system failed.

    So I went to the Microsoft website and selected the option to upgrade to Windows 10...even though I was already running Windows 10. It allows you to keep your files, games, etc. but it installs a fresh version of the Windows 10 operating system and forces some updates. 



    The next time I tried to install the Oculus suite it installed first try and works PERFECT!!!


    The problem seems to have come from damaged drivers, bad security permissions, old installations, antivirus, internet encrytion, damaged operating systems files etc.  Even if you attempt to correct these issues you cant possibly find every aspect of the problem trying to micromanage and correct all the possible solutions is just a waste of time. 


    Booting in safe mode, registry edits,adjusting security settings, etc. IS ALL A WASTE OF TIME! 


    Refresh the operating system and enjoy your Rift! 

  • 777ryanblack777ryanblack Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    Also I just want to point out that even though you can’t see uninstalled programs, changes to internet protocols, damaged operating system files, etc...they are there! Also the system scan showed that all of my updates had been done, drivers were good etc! But if that were true then refreshing the operating system WOULD NOT HAVE WORKED! Upgrading the operating system to correct the error with the operating system restore WOULD NOT HAVE WORKED. The point is these errors are numerous,invisible and very very difficult to find. 
  • mancini.federicomancini.federico Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    My problem was a bank of burnt RAM, that all worked. Use memtest to test the RAM
    
  • M0uldM0uld Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    Hey All, I am also struggling with my instilation and keep getting issues with either it being installed to the wrong drive(not enough space) but when i chnage the drive it says that i need a NTFS drive which is the drive i am using help would be appreciated
  • M0uldM0uld Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    Here is my log
  • CechriCechri Posts: 6
    NerveGear
    Turning off Defender and all firewall/anti-virus worked for me
Sign In or Register to comment.