LONE ECHO & ARENA and SSE4.1/4.2 cpu checks. The only game to use this yet all others do not. — Oculus
New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

LONE ECHO & ARENA and SSE4.1/4.2 cpu checks. The only game to use this yet all others do not.

MAC_MAN86MAC_MAN86 Posts: 2,197
Wintermute
I use XEON DUAL-QUAD which works on ALL GAMES EXCEPT THIS. 
- If the game calls upon commands for use of SSE4.2 then= OK.
- If it simply uses the check only to grant VIP New Computers which can't perform better for anything else or perhaps for best Multiplayer Connectivity yet ALL OTHER GAMES ALLOW as they are not mafia-style to discriminate nor force new tech sales!= Not OK.

The SSE4.2 check was actually NOT needed in the Oculus Runtime Installation and is only a pre-install check before the Runtime file. It has a hack imitation file that ticks the box to say PASS. Some use the re-naming of the cpu registry. Else we can run either Runtime 0.7 or 1.3.2 and it installs without the check and updates to the latest.
So why does LONE ECHO & ARENA need this???


Comments

  • lag0maticlag0matic Posts: 142
    Art3mis
    You've made like, two posts at least that I've seen accusing Oculus/Devs of "mafia style" tactics to "force you to buy new hardware".

    No one is forcing you to do anything. Calm down. 

    You run a "xeon dual-quad" which I am guessing means Dual quad core xeon cpus. Not exactly the average 'consumer level' hardware.  Not something that anyone beta testing, or quite frankly, developing, would probably ever consider someone would use for gaming.  

    What you have is server-level architecture, you cannot be angry at developers for coding a game designed for consumer level hardware, and it not running on something else.

    No ones breaking kneecaps, or holding guns to head. No mafia nothing here. Just you, and your machine which isn't a gaming system, trying to game.

  • MAC_MAN86MAC_MAN86 Posts: 2,197
    Wintermute
    edited March 2018
    You are not getting my point mate. If my cpu runs EVERY OTHER GAME plus I even had to avoid any Oculus Runtime Installation file after 1.3 because they added the SSE4.2 check then there should be no valid reason at all to have the check unless they use "mafia-style" (i.e. lets keep our industry mates happy club) tactics and even continue with the visual warnings of not being the minimum spec even though it does run most games on Max Settings even. 
    The thing is, Beta games include extra background processes for feedback and analysis and contain many memory leaks. The games do run much better upon release and even better with the new Home which can allow us to multitask greatly which the Workstations do incredibly well. I have had Elite Dangerous with loads of programs running simultaneously and pinned within the game on Dash: YouTube watching a film, Cam for behind my chair view, music Playing, other programs I use for social messaging, as well as the many extras I use as 3rdpart apps for the game inc. Voice Attack and many open browsers. With zero FPS hits to without! (MAX SETTINGS!)
    Frankly you are not listening as you do not experience VR with a Xeon Dual-Quad. This is a complaint as there is proof the SSE4.2 check was not needed and many do not like the attempt to get them to buy new computers which a new "gaming only machine" would not allow them as much power as their Workstation. They are not merely Server based but can allow big builds with very powerful cards (music & video & CAD). Some can even overclock to 4GHz and perform just as well as an i7 6770 but multitask and more.

    No one is making you be in the VIP club if it works but they try to hide it from us. There is totally no reason to bin old computers nor for them to attempt to sell ours which do work very well.

    LONE ECHO/ARENA = the ONLY GAME to request SSE4.2
  • MAC_MAN86MAC_MAN86 Posts: 2,197
    Wintermute
    edited March 2018
    I found this on new CPU commands it has but these can be switched off in Settings so it still should PASS SSE4.2 please...

    "In partnership with Intel, the Ready At Dawn team has added a number of new high-performance features to Lone Echo designed to enhance the play experience for players with high-end systems.

    FEATURE #1: Enhanced Set Dressing
    With High Performance Mode enabled, specific areas of the game will have additional floating set dressing.

    FEATURE #2: Ragdoll Jack Husks
    Normally, the Jack Husks that are left behind at the location of a player’s death will be inanimate objects that appear in a huddled position. However, by enabling High Performance Mode, Jack Husks will gain full ragdoll physics, causing their limbs to have full mobility.

    FEATURE #3: Attractor Gun
    The Attractor Gun is a unique prop that can only be accessed when High Performance Mode is enabled. Pressing the trigger on the Attractor Gun while aiming it at small objects in the immediate area will cause those objects to get sucked toward you, where they will accumulate into a cloud of debris at the end of the barrel. Releasing the trigger will then cause all gathered objects to get launched at high speed in the direction that the Attractor Gun is pointed."


  • kilobulbkilobulb Posts: 119
    Art3mis
    Didn't intel sponser echo arena hence it's free? Doesn't seem unreasonable that they would want it locked into their unexpired patents same as Oculus had it locked to Rift.
  • MAC_MAN86MAC_MAN86 Posts: 2,197
    Wintermute
    edited March 2018
    Seems to be these "special" SSE commands and instead of letting the menu auto search the cpu and allow the High Performance Features, instead they let the User select them but prevent any Hard Crashes by not allowing the game to even load by using the SSE4.2 check to first pass. A kinda "mafia-style" door man who has his mates hold up a sign at the Launch screen to say "your computer is too old - go buy a new one". ALL OTHER GAMES WORK. This one is programmed in a one way only VIP club entry only.
  • MAC_MAN86MAC_MAN86 Posts: 2,197
    Wintermute
    edited March 2018
    Please Keep In Mind - this is not a rant for discussion in debate but a complaint about LONE ECHO.
    Has anyone managed a way around this for the XEON QUAD DUO cpu?
    Even Intel provide us with a SSE4.2 Emulator to run checks on other cpu.
    https://software.intel.com/en-us/articles/intel-software-development-emulator

    https://software.intel.com/en-us/articles/intel-software-development-emulator#CHIPCHECK

    I really think the design of this Game should be updated. Perhaps it simply got left in there during all the extra features and without any regard for how brilliant old Xeon Quads actually are whilst their games get optimized with debugs/leaks removed upon on release and the overall improved performance of Oculus.

  • MAC_MAN86MAC_MAN86 Posts: 2,197
    Wintermute
    edited March 2018
    https://forums.oculusvr.com/community/discussion/61257/lone-echo-echo-arena-wont-launch-help#latest
    In regard other Users having similar Loading issues whom may have i5/i7 (minimum specs) I do wonder if it would actually run on my XEON QUAD DUO - if it worked as it should do. As it stands I await my incoming Refund. Do they really want this? No!
  • iJudgementiJudgement Posts: 181
    Art3mis
    Maybe you should just upgrade your CPU and stop complaining. 

    You're the only person I've seen on these forums complaining about this issue. 

    You use a niche CPU, it doesn't have all the features it should.

    Be happy that you're even able to get into the software with your hacked file. Stop complaining when people won't support you for using unsupported hardware.
  • LZoltowskiLZoltowski Posts: 6,754 Volunteer Moderator
    Maybe you should just upgrade your CPU and stop complaining. 

    You're the only person I've seen on these forums complaining about this issue. 

    You use a niche CPU, it doesn't have all the features it should.

    Be happy that you're even able to get into the software with your hacked file. Stop complaining when people won't support you for using unsupported hardware.
    You are WRONG, I wrote a strongly worded email to Netflix for not supporting my Toaster, OUTRAGE.

    /sarcasm
    Core i7-7700k @ 4.9 Ghz | 32 GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance @ 3000Mhz | 2x 1TB Samsung Evo | 2x 4GB WD Black
    ASUS MAXIMUS IX HERO | MSI AERO GTX 1080 OC @ 2000Mhz | Corsair Carbide Series 400C White (RGB FTW!) 

    Be kind to one another :)
  • MAC_MAN86MAC_MAN86 Posts: 2,197
    Wintermute
    edited March 2018
    I totally understand why there are so few Xeon VR Users on this Forum after my experience to get the Rift to work myself. If you google you will see how many have found the methods to evade the SSE4.2 cpu checks and manage to run ALL GAMES on Max Settings perfectly well...either by using Runtime 0.7 or 1.3 to then auto update OR use the registry edit of re-naming their cpu.

    However despite this obvious lack of XEON QUAD DUO owners on the forum (whom run into fewer cpu issues I must add!), LONE ECHO may indeed work. Some said prior the January Update although it gives then the "Buy a new PC" SSE4.2 cpu check at Launch, the game will still run. However, since then even some users not running XEON QUAD DUOs can no longer run their game!

    I do believe the check should NOT be within the game as we do have the option to run it on Low Performance without those extra High Performance commands.

    Obviously OCULUS would indeed SELL MORE games if more people were buying the Rift and getting it to work also!
    So, why do they include the SSE4.2 check prior to the Oculus Home Runtime? 
    PLUS why don't they still provide these Installation files without the SSE4.2 check running which are 0.8 and 1.3
  • lag0maticlag0matic Posts: 142
    Art3mis
    First off, what on earth is a "XEON QUAD DUO". Do you mean two quad core xeon chips? Do you mean four dual core chips? You cant even state what hardware you have in a way that's logical.  "I have two xeon xxxx's." 

    Secondly. 
    I can bet, without even looking to find stats that the % of people using xeon chips in a desktop situation (as you are) is MICROSCOPIC.   

    So, you're wanting a game manufacturer to worry about coding their game so it runs on your rig, when, the rig that you're using is NOT A NORMAL GAMING RIG.

    I want the rift to run on my TI-82 calculator! ZZOMG! They're trying to FORCE ME TO BUY A PC! MAFIA!

    You sound like someone who got a good deal on some used server chips, and is finding out why. 
    Sure, they _Can_ run some games just as well, if not better than desktop chips. But that's not what they're designed for.

    If I put a coal-fired boiler in my car, yes, I can go down the road, just like cars, but I'm not expecting gas stations to start stockpiling coal and water for MY needs. 


  • MAC_MAN86MAC_MAN86 Posts: 2,197
    Wintermute
    edited March 2018
    "First" get off your cloud. If Xeons work (they do) then all is cool. Oculus can remove the cpu check preventing installation.
    Second, there may not be an issue with LONE ECHO at all except for the update.
    Last, it is obvious what I mean QUAD DUO or even DUAL-QUAD so cut the crap thanks.
    Also the market for these IS being made microscopic due to the bloody SSE4.2 check!!!
    Obviously comprehend. My Xeon plays ALL OTHER GAMES with no issues. Therefore do understand what is meant by this "mafia-style" sales tactic. 
Sign In or Register to comment.