New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

Doom VFR works perfectly on Rift - no controller modifications needed!

RuneSR2RuneSR2 Posts: 1,517 Valuable Player
edited May 2018 in Games and Apps
Due to bad reviews I waited months before I finally bought this game. I don't think that reviews older than January 30 2018 represent this game anymore - Doom VFR is much improved due to full locomotion support and more. Actually, next to Lone Echo I'm trying hard to think of a better VR game than Doom VFR - and I can't!



I'm using Oculus Rift, I'm forcing super-sampling 2.0 on everything (thanks Oculus Tray Tool) and due to compatibility with some older games I'm still using Forceware 385.28. I held my breath, purchased Doom VFR and launched the game - and it just worked - perfectly. No missing textures and smooth framerate. I did lower anti-aliasing to 1xTAA (couldn't see benefit from higher levels with super-sampling 2.0) and I did a few times observe some pauses with virtual texturing page set to Ultra - so I set that to High (couldn't see any difference, only once in two hours did I notice a pause using High - I guess some texture swapping happened). I'm using GTX 1080 8GB (oc 2100 Mhz boost, 11 GHz ram), i7 7700K (4.2-4.5 Ghz) processor, 16 GB 3200 MHz system memory and Win10. Very important: remember to select "Gritty" rendering - it's so much better and sharper than the blurry "Default" rendering!



Textures are out-of-this-world awesome - you can even see small scratches on windows and metal surfaces. Textures make monsters look simply photo-realistic. A few years back many games had prerendered intros with worse graphics than Doom VFR in-game graphics. But again, you need to select "Gritty" rendering to really show the utterly amazing textures. And due to limited headset res you'll need to be very close to textures to really see and enjoy them (not easy to enjoy Cyberdemon textures ;-) Monster animations are top of the line too, monsters may crawl up pipes and climb stairs to get to you. And the beholders are breathtakingly awesome! Using FAST full locomotion you'll simply find no better action in VR. Gameplay is just as fast as Doom1-2 and Doom4. Guns/weapons are fantastic too and can be upgraded. I'm left-handed and first I was annoyed that I couldn't switch weapon-hand, but it's no big deal - and I can throw grenades using my left arm, which is perfect (I suck at throwing with my right hand and arm) - later the grenade launcher is perfect for my left hand too.. 



One unique thing - when you jump in the real world you jump in the game. A-w-e-s-o-m-e :-) You can also jump by quickly lifting your hands upwards. Use the controller to run and then jump with your real feet - then you'll jump forward in the game! At first I didn't like the analogue head rotation movement control, but it really works, make the game feel so much more real, and I think it's so much better than same-speed digital rotation. 

So I've become a believer in Doom VFR. It's simply awesome. It's the best adrenaline pumping VR action you'll find. And although the in-game environment is rather spooky, it's just a great feeling finally being on Mars - all previous Doom games was just a warm-up to the real thing: Welcome to Doom VFR!

BTW, I suck at VR horror games, my nerves are thin - so I chose the easiest difficult in the game - but it's not really hard - go for "hurt me plenty" if you've tried Doom before. Note that there's tons of gore and dismembered corpses in-game, this game is not for kids!

Thank you Bethesda and Zenimax for letting Rift users experience this game - and for not letting Rift users become hostages in a legal fight we're not part of.

My rating: 95%


Intel i7 7700K (4.5 GHz); MSI GeForce GTX 1080 8GB Gaming X (oc 2100 MHz boost, 11 Ghz ram); 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 3200 MHz; MSI Z270I Gaming Pro Carbon AC (VR-Ready) mainboard; Samsung 960 Evo M.2 SSD + Toshiba P300 HD; Windows 10 OS; Oculus Rift CV1 - nearly always using super sampling 2.0. 

"Ask not what VR can do for you – ask what you can do for VR"
«1

Comments

  • battleaxe39battleaxe39 Posts: 43
    Brain Burst
    I've been on the fence about this game since it came out for various reasons, all I heard was bad things from the start about it which was a shame because I loved the normal version but your review for it was very good and I will look into it, it's been in the wishlist too long lol
  • RuneSR2RuneSR2 Posts: 1,517 Valuable Player
    I had much the same thoughts about the game - but I got a Steam key for something like $15 - and then not much could go wrong ;-)

    http://www.allkeyshop.com/blog/buy-doom-vfr-cd-key-compare-prices/
    Intel i7 7700K (4.5 GHz); MSI GeForce GTX 1080 8GB Gaming X (oc 2100 MHz boost, 11 Ghz ram); 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 3200 MHz; MSI Z270I Gaming Pro Carbon AC (VR-Ready) mainboard; Samsung 960 Evo M.2 SSD + Toshiba P300 HD; Windows 10 OS; Oculus Rift CV1 - nearly always using super sampling 2.0. 

    "Ask not what VR can do for you – ask what you can do for VR"
  • nalex66nalex66 Posts: 4,182 Valuable Player
    I love the Doom franchise, but I’m still waiting for them to patch in a left-handed mode.
    i7 5820K @ 4.25 GHz | EVGA GTX 1080 SC | Gigabyte GA-X99-UD4 | Corsair DDR4 3000 32 GB | Corsair HX 750W
    Corsair Hydro H100i | Samsung SSDs: 860 Evo 1 TB, 850 Evo 1 TB, 840 Evo 1 TB | Seagate BarraCuda HDD 3 TB
    My Oculus Medium sketchbook thread, and my Oculus Medium Gallery
  • UBSERDUBSERD Posts: 347
    Nexus 6
    Did they finally fix the issue with the missing textures? I haven’t play it in a while because of this, and ID’s lack of communication on the subject. 
  • RuneSR2RuneSR2 Posts: 1,517 Valuable Player
    edited May 2018
    UBSERD said:
    Did they finally fix the issue with the missing textures? I haven’t play it in a while because of this, and ID’s lack of communication on the subject. 

     I'm using Forceware 385.28 - I've never seen missing or flickering textures.
    Intel i7 7700K (4.5 GHz); MSI GeForce GTX 1080 8GB Gaming X (oc 2100 MHz boost, 11 Ghz ram); 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 3200 MHz; MSI Z270I Gaming Pro Carbon AC (VR-Ready) mainboard; Samsung 960 Evo M.2 SSD + Toshiba P300 HD; Windows 10 OS; Oculus Rift CV1 - nearly always using super sampling 2.0. 

    "Ask not what VR can do for you – ask what you can do for VR"
  • UBSERDUBSERD Posts: 347
    Nexus 6
    RuneSR2 said:
    UBSERD said:
    Did they finally fix the issue with the missing textures? I haven’t play it in a while because of this, and ID’s lack of communication on the subject. 

     I'm using Forceware 385.28 - I've never seen missing or flickering textures.
    Yeah that’s the problem. Nvidia needs to get with the program seriously and fix their damn updates.
  • MowTinMowTin Posts: 1,172
    Wintermute
    I want to buy this but I feel like I have too much on my plate already. And my 1 gaming SSD is nearly full. I never imagined I would run out of space. 
  • RattyUKRattyUK Posts: 542
    Neo
    MowTin said:
    I want to buy this but I feel like I have too much on my plate already. And my 1 gaming SSD is nearly full. I never imagined I would run out of space. 
    I have several library locations for Steam games (just over 2 TB currently) and would like Oculus to give the same option for us users, that way the SSD's could hold 'current' games and the others stored on conventional HDD until needed.

    If you have a seperate HDD and unlimited data (or broadband) I suppose you could uninstall / reinstall at a push, just to keep space for current entertainment.
    PC info: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X, Asus ROG Crosshair VII Hero, 16GB Tforce Pro Dark DDR4 3200, Gigabyte GTX 1080, Samsung 850 Pro M.2, 2x 240GB SSD, 3TB WD Green HDD & 4 TB Seagate Barracuda HDD, Corsair Modular 750w PSU, custom watercooling loop. (Win 10 Pro & Opensuse Leap 15 Linux) 32" AOC 4K Monitor.

    Laptop: Aorus X5 V6-CF1 (I7-6820HK, GTX 1070, 2* 256GB M.2 NVME, 1TB 7200 HDD 3K screen)
  • RuneSR2RuneSR2 Posts: 1,517 Valuable Player
    edited May 2018
    I read somewhere that Doom VFR only works if you disable Core 2.0 and use the good old Oculus Home. Guess that blew my cover  :* - Yes, I'm using the old, original and awesome Oculus Home, it works perfectly with SS 2.0, while the Core 2.0 Home is much more demanding and laggy with SS 2.0  :# Besides, Core 2.0 Home feels like a semi-game, I want my Home simple and clean!
    Intel i7 7700K (4.5 GHz); MSI GeForce GTX 1080 8GB Gaming X (oc 2100 MHz boost, 11 Ghz ram); 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 3200 MHz; MSI Z270I Gaming Pro Carbon AC (VR-Ready) mainboard; Samsung 960 Evo M.2 SSD + Toshiba P300 HD; Windows 10 OS; Oculus Rift CV1 - nearly always using super sampling 2.0. 

    "Ask not what VR can do for you – ask what you can do for VR"
  • MowTinMowTin Posts: 1,172
    Wintermute
    You sold me on this. Just purchased. Will let you know in a few days my experience.
  • RedRizlaRedRizla Posts: 5,359 Valuable Player
    edited May 2018
    Sorry, I didn't have time to read the full review is this a teleportation only?
  • elbofforelboffor Posts: 2,572 Valuable Player
    Not any more.
    I pre orderred this on amazon for £12, but when i yried it last it ran loke utter shite.
    Has native rift support been implemented or jas steam vr started playing nice? Was choppy as hell a few month back
    This is my forum signature.
    There are many others like it, but this is mine.
  • MowTinMowTin Posts: 1,172
    Wintermute
    edited May 2018
    This game is not working for me. I get to the start screen and my controllers don't work. My keyboard works but that's it. 

    I checked the forums and others having this issue. 
  • MowTinMowTin Posts: 1,172
    Wintermute
    OK, I got it working. I had to opt out of Steam VR beta. 

    I had to download an autohotkey script to get smooth turning working. 

    https://www.reddit.com/r/oculus/comments/7h6nva/smooth_locomotion_in_doomvfr_for_rift_i_scripted/

    Still tweaking the graphics / performance balance. The bit I did play was pretty awesome. 
  • MAC_MAN86MAC_MAN86 Posts: 1,349
    3Jane
    edited June 2018
    MowTin said:
    OK, I got it working. I had to opt out of Steam VR beta. 

    I had to download an autohotkey script to get smooth turning working. 

    https://www.reddit.com/r/oculus/comments/7h6nva/smooth_locomotion_in_doomvfr_for_rift_i_scripted/

    Still tweaking the graphics / performance balance. The bit I did play was pretty awesome. 

    I followed the instructions precisely but DoomVFR_Oculus.ahk can not be Run as there is no file association.
    All I can do which I done before is Open AutoHotKeyU64 (v2) and drag the DoomVFR_Oculus.ahk into its pane.
    It does not show the H in Rift and no menus to close for it and doesn't appear in Task Bar.
    I placed the 2 Doom files in the same directory as AHK.
    I can load the binds into the game and use the keyboard to function but they don't work on Touch.
    The game already has Free Movement so does that need switched off for the new binds to take over?
    Or how must I Run DoomVFR_Oculus.ahk? If I choose AHK as the Open With it tells me of a wrong text "," at line 70. 
    I know how to delete the Tree & other AHK binds in REGEDIT to leave it with no File Associations too. Hmmm, I will try install AHK once again in case it hasn't added the 2nd Registry.
  • MowTinMowTin Posts: 1,172
    Wintermute
    MAC_MAN86 said:
    The game already has Free Movement so does that need switched off for the new binds to take over?
    I edited the script so that it only affects the right hand turn movement since the game already has motion on the left. 
  • MAC_MAN86MAC_MAN86 Posts: 1,349
    3Jane
    edited June 2018
    OK I will try this later. Do you use Open With AHK on DoomVFR_Oculus.ahk to associate files? For me it had that error so removed it from Registry to restore it. I seen no H in either Task Bar nor in VR. I assume using no Smooth Motion in the Game Menu would rid any double conflicts of binds OR need to edit the script as you did @MowTin.
  • MowTinMowTin Posts: 1,172
    Wintermute
    Yes, I have the AHK files associated. I just double click on the script to run. 

    I close Home and other VR apps then when I click on the script it starts Home. Then I open steam and launch from Doom VFR. 

    Did you use the console ~ and do the bind commands? It's something you need to do. 
  • MAC_MAN86MAC_MAN86 Posts: 1,349
    3Jane
    edited June 2018
    Yes I had been using AHK Beta2. I'm gonna try v1.1.29 next and use open with (unticked to test first).
    TESTED and it works! I also need to stop Loco within the game as it conflicts with the script as expected OR probably best to Unbind these OR edit the script to keep movement dynamic. However, it's a real shame the keys are not transferred to Touch Sticks to be made dynamic. It turns so fast!

    In home it simply stays on the loading screen for AHK which you can ignore and just start Doom in Steam.
    Can I Unbind ASWD and allow Smooth Locomotion in game I wonder for dynamic joystick?
  • MowTinMowTin Posts: 1,172
    Wintermute

    In home it simply stays on the loading screen for AHK which you can ignore and just start Doom in Steam.
    Can I Unbind ASWD and allow Smooth Locomotion in game I wonder for dynamic joystick?
    Yes, that's what I do.
  • RuneSR2RuneSR2 Posts: 1,517 Valuable Player
    edited June 2018
    BTW - this I much like Doom VFR is working on my Rift - although I don't use any AHK files and can't rotate digitally - actually to me it's not necessary trying to improve controls, controls are really great as they are (ability to switch weapon hand would still be nice though):



    Analogue headset rotation really makes Doom VFR stand out in the most positive way, feels much more like being there - including jumping by moving your arms upward (or jumping in the real world = headset-controlled jumping). Furthermore, won't the AHK remove the ability to switch between each weapon's firing modes?
    Intel i7 7700K (4.5 GHz); MSI GeForce GTX 1080 8GB Gaming X (oc 2100 MHz boost, 11 Ghz ram); 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 3200 MHz; MSI Z270I Gaming Pro Carbon AC (VR-Ready) mainboard; Samsung 960 Evo M.2 SSD + Toshiba P300 HD; Windows 10 OS; Oculus Rift CV1 - nearly always using super sampling 2.0. 

    "Ask not what VR can do for you – ask what you can do for VR"
  • MAC_MAN86MAC_MAN86 Posts: 1,349
    3Jane
    I figured out the edit to the Script to rid the Left Touch. Remember to enable Smooth Locomotion in Menu again to allow dynamic movement. This is the only last commands needed which enable only the Right Touch: -

    (after this)
    ; Now to do something with them.
     
     ;Right X axis Plus
     if (rightX > 0.2) and (oldRX <= 0.2)
      Send, {p down}
     if (rightX <= 0.2) and (oldRX > 0.2)
      Send, {p up}
     ;Right X axis Negative 
     if (rightX < -0.2) and (oldRX >= -0.2)
      Send, {o down}
     if (rightX >= -0.2) and (oldRX <- 0.2)
      Send, {o up}
     
     oldRX:= rightX
  • MowTinMowTin Posts: 1,172
    Wintermute
    I wish they ported the entire game. How hard could it be? It's just maps with enemies. 
  • MAC_MAN86MAC_MAN86 Posts: 1,349
    3Jane
    It was/is due to a court case between Oculus and their devs.
  • huliqanhuliqan Posts: 11
    NerveGear
    Oculus runtime 1.27 updated...and AutoHotkey no more works :(((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((
  • MowTinMowTin Posts: 1,172
    Wintermute
    huliqan said:
    Oculus runtime 1.27 updated...and AutoHotkey no more works :(((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((
    When was this update? I've been having problem with autohotkey for a couple of weeks. I haven't had a chance to play Doom VFR again because of this. 
  • MAC_MAN86MAC_MAN86 Posts: 1,349
    3Jane
    The Home Release is still 1.26 and has no update. If you ever need to remove AutoHotKey is easy. Delete the folder and the 2 Registry complete Trees. It might get it working again with another install by doing this but test without checking Always Open With.
  • RattyUKRattyUK Posts: 542
    Neo
    Is the original poster saying that he can run Doom VFR without keybinding scripts?

    Currently this game is sitting in the 'unused' pile as it is anything but useable with Touch controllers for me.  turning off Steam VR beta allows some control, but, for me the game is unplayable as it stands.  Maybe Bethesda will do an update or patch that gives native support to Rift Touch in the future, fingers crossed.

    No great loss as I've played the pancake version to death, but it would have been nice to have a play in VR.
    PC info: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X, Asus ROG Crosshair VII Hero, 16GB Tforce Pro Dark DDR4 3200, Gigabyte GTX 1080, Samsung 850 Pro M.2, 2x 240GB SSD, 3TB WD Green HDD & 4 TB Seagate Barracuda HDD, Corsair Modular 750w PSU, custom watercooling loop. (Win 10 Pro & Opensuse Leap 15 Linux) 32" AOC 4K Monitor.

    Laptop: Aorus X5 V6-CF1 (I7-6820HK, GTX 1070, 2* 256GB M.2 NVME, 1TB 7200 HDD 3K screen)
  • RuneSR2RuneSR2 Posts: 1,517 Valuable Player
    edited June 2018
    RattyUK said:
    Is the original poster saying that he can run Doom VFR without keybinding scripts?

    Currently this game is sitting in the 'unused' pile as it is anything but useable with Touch controllers for me.  turning off Steam VR beta allows some control, but, for me the game is unplayable as it stands.  Maybe Bethesda will do an update or patch that gives native support to Rift Touch in the future, fingers crossed.

    No great loss as I've played the pancake version to death, but it would have been nice to have a play in VR.

     He is indeed ;-) I don't use any script - I just installed the game on Steam, put on my Rift headset and played the game. Along with Lone Echo and Moss, Doom VFR is among the very best VR games.

    I never had a need to use any script. Admitted, at first it was annoying not to be able to turn digitally - but then I grew extremely fond of headset-directed turning. It's much more like in the real world - sure, I totally lose any idea of my orientation in my VR room and easily get tangled up in the hdmi wire, but it's totally worth it. Analogue turning speed (=your speed in the real world) is much better than digital turning (same speed constantly). 

    IMHO, Doom VFR could benefit from a patch making it possible to switch weapon hand (I'm left-handed and  forced to carry my primary weapon in my right hand in Doom VFR), but everything else is perfect - or close enough ;)  
    Intel i7 7700K (4.5 GHz); MSI GeForce GTX 1080 8GB Gaming X (oc 2100 MHz boost, 11 Ghz ram); 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 3200 MHz; MSI Z270I Gaming Pro Carbon AC (VR-Ready) mainboard; Samsung 960 Evo M.2 SSD + Toshiba P300 HD; Windows 10 OS; Oculus Rift CV1 - nearly always using super sampling 2.0. 

    "Ask not what VR can do for you – ask what you can do for VR"
  • RattyUKRattyUK Posts: 542
    Neo
    Us left-handed folk are often ignored... 

    Thanks to someone on Steam publishing his settings I was able to have a play earlier today, but missed snap/graduated/smooth turning as I had to whirl like a Dervish to turn.  Good fun, but really needs to be wireless headset or a penchant for bondage :p
    PC info: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X, Asus ROG Crosshair VII Hero, 16GB Tforce Pro Dark DDR4 3200, Gigabyte GTX 1080, Samsung 850 Pro M.2, 2x 240GB SSD, 3TB WD Green HDD & 4 TB Seagate Barracuda HDD, Corsair Modular 750w PSU, custom watercooling loop. (Win 10 Pro & Opensuse Leap 15 Linux) 32" AOC 4K Monitor.

    Laptop: Aorus X5 V6-CF1 (I7-6820HK, GTX 1070, 2* 256GB M.2 NVME, 1TB 7200 HDD 3K screen)
«1
Sign In or Register to comment.