Elite Exploration - Page 6 — Oculus
New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

Elite Exploration

13468922

Comments

  • bigmike20vtbigmike20vt Posts: 3,825 Valuable Player
    edited November 2018
    i have finished dead island, riptide and am now well into dying light, if you have not got that give it a go, it is dead island but far more polished AND it has semi usable VR support (basically it was gonna be a vr game so has built in support, but was dropped at the last min... but you can still turn it on.  i doubt you would play the full game in vr but its worth it for a look.



    Fiat Coupe, gone. 350Z gone. Dirty nappies, no sleep & practical transport incoming. Thank goodness for VR :)
  • RattyUKRattyUK Posts: 735
    3Jane
    i have finished dead island, riptide and am now well into dying light, if you have not got that give it a go, it is dead island but far more polished AND it has semi usable VR support (basically it was gonna be a vr game so has built in support, but was dropped at the last min... but you can still turn it on.  i doubt you would play the full game in vr but its worth it for a look.



    I hate you Mike!!!!

    After watching the first 2 minutes of the youtube video this terrible game has gone onto my 'buy now' list :D

    Thanks for posting it (grump, grump)...
    PC info: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X, Asus ROG Crosshair VII Hero, 16GB Tforce Pro Dark DDR4 3200, Gigabyte GTX 1080, Samsung 870 Pro M.2, 2x 240GB SSD, 3TB WD Green HDD & 4 TB Seagate Barracuda HDD, Corsair Modular 750w PSU, custom watercooling loop. (Win 10 Pro & Opensuse Leap 15 Linux) 32" AOC 4K Monitor.

    Laptop: Aorus X5 V6-CF1 (I7-6820HK, GTX 1070, 2* 256GB M.2 NVME, 1TB 7200 HDD 3K screen)
  • bigmike20vtbigmike20vt Posts: 3,825 Valuable Player
    RattyUK said:
    I hate you Mike!!!!

    After watching the first 2 minutes of the youtube video this terrible game has gone onto my 'buy now' list :D

    Thanks for posting it (grump, grump)...
    sorry i am derailing a bit here however make sure you get the complete edition, and if you are not in a rush wait for the sale, it is regularly heavily discounted on steam.
    Fiat Coupe, gone. 350Z gone. Dirty nappies, no sleep & practical transport incoming. Thank goodness for VR :)
  • ChazmeisterChazmeister Posts: 535
    Neo
    Blimey, finally back online again! You folks been having fun?

    Mind you, even if I'd had internet on day one of my move I'd still probably not had time to do any gaming, as I've just been so busy settling in etc. Finally got the Rift setup the other day. Just in the process of sticking up a bit of trunking for the cables and all that.

    Anyone tried the beta stuff yet? I'm going to catch up with all the dev vids a bit later and see what I've been missing.

    OH GOD BE PRAISED, I HAVE INTERNET AGAIN!
  • JD-UKJD-UK Posts: 2,289 Valuable Player
    Welcome back! ;)




  • RattyUKRattyUK Posts: 735
    3Jane
    Anyone tried the beta stuff yet? I'm going to catch up with all the dev vids a bit later and see what I've been missing.
    Beta?  What beta...

    Welcome back!

    Last week's livestream was, shall we say 'loose'...   The first 2 were very informative.  Goodness knows what this Thursday's will be like if, as announced, only 2 ships are being released.  guess I've been spending too much time on the other fourm :D
    PC info: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X, Asus ROG Crosshair VII Hero, 16GB Tforce Pro Dark DDR4 3200, Gigabyte GTX 1080, Samsung 870 Pro M.2, 2x 240GB SSD, 3TB WD Green HDD & 4 TB Seagate Barracuda HDD, Corsair Modular 750w PSU, custom watercooling loop. (Win 10 Pro & Opensuse Leap 15 Linux) 32" AOC 4K Monitor.

    Laptop: Aorus X5 V6-CF1 (I7-6820HK, GTX 1070, 2* 256GB M.2 NVME, 1TB 7200 HDD 3K screen)
  • bigmike20vtbigmike20vt Posts: 3,825 Valuable Player
    I dunno, I know the forums are complaining only 2 ships but that mamba looks proper nice imo and the krait phantom I have real hopes for.

    Fiat Coupe, gone. 350Z gone. Dirty nappies, no sleep & practical transport incoming. Thank goodness for VR :)
  • RattyUKRattyUK Posts: 735
    3Jane
    I've been eyeing up the Krait Phantom too, it could be interesting.

    I also wouldn't be too surprised if the 2 ships were neither (or in 'addition to') as it seems a bit strange to leave them in the beta if they wanted a 'big reveal' on their livestream.  We'll all know on Thursday :wink:
    PC info: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X, Asus ROG Crosshair VII Hero, 16GB Tforce Pro Dark DDR4 3200, Gigabyte GTX 1080, Samsung 870 Pro M.2, 2x 240GB SSD, 3TB WD Green HDD & 4 TB Seagate Barracuda HDD, Corsair Modular 750w PSU, custom watercooling loop. (Win 10 Pro & Opensuse Leap 15 Linux) 32" AOC 4K Monitor.

    Laptop: Aorus X5 V6-CF1 (I7-6820HK, GTX 1070, 2* 256GB M.2 NVME, 1TB 7200 HDD 3K screen)
  • bigmike20vtbigmike20vt Posts: 3,825 Valuable Player
    RattyUK said:
    I've been eyeing up the Krait Phantom too, it could be interesting.

    I also wouldn't be too surprised if the 2 ships were neither (or in 'addition to') as it seems a bit strange to leave them in the beta if they wanted a 'big reveal' on their livestream.  We'll all know on Thursday :wink:
    That kind of clanger is classic FD however ;)
    Fiat Coupe, gone. 350Z gone. Dirty nappies, no sleep & practical transport incoming. Thank goodness for VR :)
  • JD-UKJD-UK Posts: 2,289 Valuable Player
    edited November 2018
    I'm so pleased that I found lots of comments from people who feel the same way I do about the FD videos (on other YT channel comments) - I was becoming to think maybe I was a grumpy old bastard! :p

    tbh, I often find it difficult to choose between current ships on the market - for example the Imperial Challenger, Crusader and Chieftain - so unless these new ships are markedly different, or are made for specific game roles, I can't say I'd be that excited about them.




  • bigmike20vtbigmike20vt Posts: 3,825 Valuable Player
    edited November 2018
    from a PvE point of view Frontier have a problem with the ships in elite.... and its name is the anaconda.

    Frontier admitted they made a mistake with the mass of the ship, it was never meant to be 400t, however they are too affraid of the backlash if they changed it now.  the problem is, all new ships are (loosely) balanced against each other but DISCOUNTING the anaconda.

    basically the only negative of the conda is it cant land at outposts, other than that it is the best explorer, the best mining ship, one of the best combat ships (PvE mind) , a very good trade ship (beaten only by the cutter, type 10 and arguably type 9  (type 9 can carry more but it is a much higher risk ship to trade in) and general all round badass.

    despite its 400ton mass (which puts it on a par with medium ships like the Drop ship!) it can magically masslock ships much heavier than it meaning it is also a great pirate ship.

    FD then doubled down on this by giving it military slots :o !!!!
    Fiat Coupe, gone. 350Z gone. Dirty nappies, no sleep & practical transport incoming. Thank goodness for VR :)
  • RattyUKRattyUK Posts: 735
    3Jane
    I don't understand how the Anaconda (& Cutter) are those that a lot of folk 'aspire to' the Anaconda has dreadful handling and a nose even longer than Concord... (I bought one, two actually, a couple of months back and wasn't impressed -the second was just in case I'd been having an off day with the first one)  The Cutter I bought in the beta (no rank lock) flew it around for a bit and sold it back - not entirely dismissive of it, just another 'big' ship.  I didn't even bother with the Corvette...

    I like the T9, it really does handle like a big freight hauler should in my mind, a slow & cumbersome flying warehouse, it rocks!  (provided you aren't interdicted by an NPC above harmless :) )

    T7 is my miner and T6 one of the exploration fleet (T6 waiting for another visit to a couple of engineers to lose some more weight and heat).
    PC info: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X, Asus ROG Crosshair VII Hero, 16GB Tforce Pro Dark DDR4 3200, Gigabyte GTX 1080, Samsung 870 Pro M.2, 2x 240GB SSD, 3TB WD Green HDD & 4 TB Seagate Barracuda HDD, Corsair Modular 750w PSU, custom watercooling loop. (Win 10 Pro & Opensuse Leap 15 Linux) 32" AOC 4K Monitor.

    Laptop: Aorus X5 V6-CF1 (I7-6820HK, GTX 1070, 2* 256GB M.2 NVME, 1TB 7200 HDD 3K screen)
  • bigmike20vtbigmike20vt Posts: 3,825 Valuable Player
    edited November 2018
    i love the T9, it is imo the most fun FA off ship to fly.
    in theory i love my anaconda as well... unlike you i like it exactly because it has a long nose, it makes me feel like i am sailing an oil tanker but in space (I am talking VR now... on a monitor i think this experience may well be lost).   my problem with it is that to be honest if i wanted to i could use it to replace almost every ship in my fleet... so i kind of feel a bit cheap using it, and so generally i dont use it if that makes sense.


    Fiat Coupe, gone. 350Z gone. Dirty nappies, no sleep & practical transport incoming. Thank goodness for VR :)
  • ChazmeisterChazmeister Posts: 535
    Neo
    I have to kind of agree with you there Mike, as I love my Anaconda too, but like you say it does sometimes feel a bit cheap using it as it's such a great allrounder. However I like variety, so in actual fact I do find myself using quite a different spread of ships in my fleet, especially the ones that I've fitted for more specialised roles.

    Anyway, I've just finished catching up with the last 2 vids that I missed (didn't think that they were that bad), and I'm quite excited by it all so far. The new mining looks great and to my surprise so does the squadrons creation. Will have to start one up once it goes live. This is looking so far like the best update since the game was released. They're finally fleshing out all the bits they've put in so far and replacing all those placeholder mechanics. I suppose if you were being cynical, you could say that it's finally being made into the game that it should have been to start with.

    I just hope that with the next big paid expansion that lessons have been learnt and it doesn't deliver more placeholder content that will end up taking another 2-3 years to finally flesh out.
  • JD-UKJD-UK Posts: 2,289 Valuable Player
    edited November 2018
    I have to agree with RattyUK about the Conda - I don't like it either.

    I've bought all of the large ships for testing (and modded each one, with engineering as much as I could with what I had at the time) and have sold every one back. The only one I haven't tested is the Corvette - though I am tempted to give it a try.

    I was sorely disappointed with the Type 10, I really wanted it to be a ship I could dote over - but after finding myself unable to evade interdiction for the only time ever, and having my canopy shot out within a minute of entering combat, it went back.

    No, I'm much happier with well-modded medium ships - Chieftain, Krait II, Python and Orca - oh, and the DBX, the only ship I have two of in my hangar. https://inara.cz/cmdr-fleet/  Don't know if that lets other people see my fleet. I do like other ships, and sometimes buy them short term, for a change, but these ones are permanently in my hangar.

    Edit: forgot the Imperial Clipper - it is one of my faves, but I don't have on right now, having flown my last one to Colonia and returned in the Krait, I decided to sell it - but I will deffo get another one.




  • snowdogsnowdog Posts: 6,749 Valuable Player
    I like the videos so far too. Thought it was just me going by previous posts here lol

    Mining is going to be awesome, I'm going to be blowing shit up all over the place lmfao  :o :D
    "This you have to understand. There's only one way to hurt a man who's lost everything. Give him back something broken."

    Thomas Covenant, Unbeliever
  • RattyUKRattyUK Posts: 735
    3Jane
    @Brixmis ; - the Inara link lets me see my fleet beautifully...   I think there must be something else needed to share our fleets.
    I lke the Clipper too, when I get back to the live game I'll have to stroll around the engineers.

    @bigmike20vt ; - in the other forum you mentioned having fun with bindings.  Which Stick?  (I'm lazy - just in case you mentioned it earlier :) )   My X52 pro: https://edrefcard.info/binds/vbwlnd   A utility that works with the beta bindings - making things visible helps one's imagination get in gear  B)
    PC info: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X, Asus ROG Crosshair VII Hero, 16GB Tforce Pro Dark DDR4 3200, Gigabyte GTX 1080, Samsung 870 Pro M.2, 2x 240GB SSD, 3TB WD Green HDD & 4 TB Seagate Barracuda HDD, Corsair Modular 750w PSU, custom watercooling loop. (Win 10 Pro & Opensuse Leap 15 Linux) 32" AOC 4K Monitor.

    Laptop: Aorus X5 V6-CF1 (I7-6820HK, GTX 1070, 2* 256GB M.2 NVME, 1TB 7200 HDD 3K screen)
  • JD-UKJD-UK Posts: 2,289 Valuable Player
    RattyUK said:
    @Brixmis ; - the Inara link lets me see my fleet beautifully...   I think there must be something else needed to share our fleets.



    Soon sort that out....




    :D




  • bigmike20vtbigmike20vt Posts: 3,825 Valuable Player
    edited November 2018
    RattyUK said:
    @bigmike20vt ; - in the other forum you mentioned having fun with bindings.  Which Stick?
    X56 and judicious use of voice attack!
    I am getting there, i had a dabble again tonight for half an hr or so.  (bugger me if i can get the scan bonus on the planets however i always use way more than the reccomended number of probes)

    but it is the little things which just do not seem that well thought out yet....
    (1 key to enter your planetary scanning suite.... why the hell cant i bind the same key to exit it?
    i should never see the message "you cant use this equipment in this hud mode", i want context dependent controls. ... if i am not in the correct hud mode, then blank off any fire groups which are unavailable OR as an option have it if i select a scanning device in my fire group it should automatically switch into the correct mode to use that device.

    hopefully it will get streamlined before release.  that said, dont get me wrong, i really do like the direction exploration has taken. now i actually feel like i am discovering stuff by using "science".

    things are going to get more complex again when all the new mining gear is unlocked to be tested tomorrow.

    i also need to make a 2nd control set up as i want to have a go with a pure FAoff setup with twin sticks. i have an old X55 joystick so i could have x55 and x56 together
    Fiat Coupe, gone. 350Z gone. Dirty nappies, no sleep & practical transport incoming. Thank goodness for VR :)
  • bigmike20vtbigmike20vt Posts: 3,825 Valuable Player
    oooo i just realised i can import into inara.

    my fleet here, not sure it has correctly got my modules however and defo not got my ship names.

    Fiat Coupe, gone. 350Z gone. Dirty nappies, no sleep & practical transport incoming. Thank goodness for VR :)
  • RattyUKRattyUK Posts: 735
    3Jane
    Nice one Mike :)

    My 'fleet' :


    PC info: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X, Asus ROG Crosshair VII Hero, 16GB Tforce Pro Dark DDR4 3200, Gigabyte GTX 1080, Samsung 870 Pro M.2, 2x 240GB SSD, 3TB WD Green HDD & 4 TB Seagate Barracuda HDD, Corsair Modular 750w PSU, custom watercooling loop. (Win 10 Pro & Opensuse Leap 15 Linux) 32" AOC 4K Monitor.

    Laptop: Aorus X5 V6-CF1 (I7-6820HK, GTX 1070, 2* 256GB M.2 NVME, 1TB 7200 HDD 3K screen)
  • bigmike20vtbigmike20vt Posts: 3,825 Valuable Player
    so maybe i am being stupid but how do i import engineering and ship loadouts and names into inara?
    i use ED discovery but happy to scrape data from another app
    Fiat Coupe, gone. 350Z gone. Dirty nappies, no sleep & practical transport incoming. Thank goodness for VR :)
  • JD-UKJD-UK Posts: 2,289 Valuable Player
    Fuck me, Mike - that's waaay too many ships in one hangar! :D

    Chaz is the best guy to ask about INARA - I've only just started using it myself.

    This is my X56 set-up, with the new exploration functions added:




    Should perhaps mention that I don't use the gaze UI or whatever it's called - I like to have my views clear, and use a 4-way control for the various cockpit UI panels.




  • nroskonrosko Posts: 954
    Neo
    Those of you using vice attack are you using the Oculus mic? I've not had good results with it :/
  • bigmike20vtbigmike20vt Posts: 3,825 Valuable Player
    yep i find the oculus mic great.  have you trained your pc properly in windows? voice attack uses windows speech recognition so if that is bad, your VA will be less than perfect. it also depends on you accent and things.

    dont get me wrong, it has its moments (and i have emergency controls for shield cell on stick just in case). i find it generally works almost perfectly if i am on my own, but it does get confused if playing with mates and chitchatting at the same time as playing (so much so i only use it for rare things if playing in a wing with mates)
    Fiat Coupe, gone. 350Z gone. Dirty nappies, no sleep & practical transport incoming. Thank goodness for VR :)
  • bigmike20vtbigmike20vt Posts: 3,825 Valuable Player
    edited November 2018
    Brixmis said:
    Fuck me, Mike - that's waaay too many ships in one hangar! :D

    Chaz is the best guy to ask about INARA - I've only just started using it myself.

    This is my X56 set-up, with the new exploration functions added:




    Should perhaps mention that I don't use the gaze UI or whatever it's called - I like to have my views clear, and use a 4-way control for the various cockpit UI panels.
    thanks for that...... as for ships, I play Elite in a "strange" way.  Elite is my desert island game, ever since KSer i knew that it was going to be the game i play more than any other for years. I am also a progress based gamer.  i like skinner boxes i guess. my dread is the day i get to triple elite and money no longer matters and this is why i have given myself very strict rules of play.  i never sell a ship i do not own another version of, i never strip a ship to outfit another one, and if i feel a mission template is borked and is paying too much i ban myself from doing it. It is a tough thing tho, because obviously i want to try to be "good" at my job, so it is a constant struggle to earn as much as i can, but WITHOUT doing it in a way i think it cheesy or exploity.  Elite makes it harder than it should be because there are so many loopholes in the game, and the game practically throws money at you now :(

    one of my pilots goals is to own and outfit to a specific purpose one of every ship in the game.  I also periodically use them, so for a session i may just use my sidewinder  or adder for instance.

    i am into the 1000s of hrs into the game any yet my progress (and certainly my bank balance) is relatively puny compared to others.   I own 23 ships, i am not exactly sure how many are in the game right now - at a guess 38 or so, so i have a ways to go yet.
    Fiat Coupe, gone. 350Z gone. Dirty nappies, no sleep & practical transport incoming. Thank goodness for VR :)
  • nroskonrosko Posts: 954
    Neo
    yep i find the oculus mic great.  have you trained your pc properly in windows? voice attack uses windows speech recognition so if that is bad, your VA will be less than perfect. it also depends on you accent and things.

    dont get me wrong, it has its moments (and i have emergency controls for shield cell on stick just in case). i find it generally works almost perfectly if i am on my own, but it does get confused if playing with mates and chitchatting at the same time as playing (so much so i only use it for rare things if playing in a wing with mates)
    I did try & train it several times. The problem i have is it keeps repeating 'on' at random intervals, so seems to pick some other background noise that it processes as 'on'. 
  • bigmike20vtbigmike20vt Posts: 3,825 Valuable Player
    yeah when i look at the log mine picks up all sorts of words!. 
    in which case i would make sure "on" is not a command you use for anything.
    if there is a word you use that it cant get right, try and give it a different command.. ie change landing gear to "deploy landing gear and retract landing gear"
    Fiat Coupe, gone. 350Z gone. Dirty nappies, no sleep & practical transport incoming. Thank goodness for VR :)
  • JD-UKJD-UK Posts: 2,289 Valuable Player
    edited November 2018
    I've used voice commands for Elite with both VA and the HCS pack and with my own dwVAC profiles, but tbh I prefer to use my own, hardware controls. I do really like voice controls for some games, but E:D isn't one of them. Don't know why - it just seems to spoil the fun for me. I do have a couple of extra controllers i use for wing stuff and for external camera controls, though.

    That's a good policy, Mike, and not a bad way to play - but I prefer to just do what I like (and I very much dislike all the exploits and "earn a million in 10 seconds" crap that fill YouTube) and then start from scratch when I feel things are getting stale.

    I last restarted in January last year. Was on my way back from Colonia in an AspX, got sucked into a neutron star and when they asked if I wanted to use the insurance, I decided I didn't want to affect my future no-claims bonus and just started from zero instead. All stats gone, all money gone and started at, I think it was Assellus Primus in a Sidey (mind you, you do get a second ship with planetary landing suite - don't know if that's from original beta or from Horizons).
    In all honesty, I just couldn't be arsed flying all the way back to the Bubble! :D




  • ChazmeisterChazmeister Posts: 535
    Neo
    so maybe i am being stupid but how do i import engineering and ship loadouts and names into inara?
    i use ED discovery but happy to scrape data from another app

    The best thing to use for that is ED Market Connector https://github.com/Marginal/EDMarketConnector/releases/tag/rel-320

    Follow the readme instructions a bit further down the main page, and you shouldn't have too much trouble. https://github.com/Marginal/EDMarketConnector

    You will need to provide your ED username and password on install for it to work, as it needs to read your journal to provide the data.

    For INARA you'll need to generate a key for it, which you can do under the settings menu in INARA and at the bottom of the list you'll see INARA API. You'll need to use that to generate a key to link EDMC to it.

    You can also use it for websites like EDSM https://www.edsm.net/en_GB , which you can use to keep track of your travels and various other stuff such as your earnings and how much you are paying your SLF pilots etc. You can also open up current ship builds in things like ED Shipyard and Coriolis, although the data sometimes doesn't always come through correctly.

    Once you've set it up with INARA, you'll need to hop in and out of each ship in your fleet in order to update it with their details. Other stuff such as your finances, materials, engineers etc should update shortly after a quick login to the game. Usually it doesn't take more than a few minutes for INARA to get updated with your current stats and things.

    All you have to do after that is to remember to run EDMC before you start up ED. Personally I find the info it transfers over to INARA to be invaluable, especially when it comes to Engineer mods and blueprints, as you can use it to see at a glance what materials you have or are missing for individual blueprints. You can also use it to find the nearest commodities, material traders, star ports etc etc to where you are.

    If I have any complaints about INARA, it is that it can be a real pain remembering where to find particular features, as there are menus within menus within menus and it gets a bit confusing at times. It needs a bit of a sort out and streamlining.  

Sign In or Register to comment.