New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

IL-2 Makes Me Giggle Like A Little Schoolboy...

BrixmisBrixmis Posts: 2,234 Valuable Player
edited June 2018 in Games and Apps
who has just planted a stink bomb in the headmaster's office!

Seriously, this has just got to be the best VR flight simulator out there - and when you can fly well-modelled aircraft and do things like this in them...




















You'll be laughing, too!




Tagged:
«1345

Comments

  • Techy111Techy111 Posts: 5,229 Volunteer Moderator
    Wish I could give a lol, awesome and like all at the same time :)
    A PC with lots of gadgets inside and a thing to see in 3D that you put on your head.
    And FlyInside Forum Admin.
    Flyinside Flight Simulator RELEASED.
  • BrixmisBrixmis Posts: 2,234 Valuable Player
    Why thank you - you just did! ;)




  • MowTinMowTin Posts: 1,175
    Wintermute
    It's one of my favorite VR games. The learning curve is pretty steep. I've had to learn a lot about propellers--fine pitch vs coarse pitch, manifold pressure, fuel mixtures and altitude, oil and water temperatures and radiators. 

    But I like learning stuff. 

    This game has given me so much respect for WWII pilots. You feel how scary it is to be trapped in a tin can and knowing there was good chance you might get shot down, fall out of the sky and die a horrific death. 

    If you have a Rift it makes sense to spend $50 on a good joystick. 
  • falken76falken76 Posts: 2,694 Valuable Player
    $50?  I spent $189 on a HOTAS.  I play DCS but this looks just as good as that but for WW2.  These games are amazing.
  • Techy111Techy111 Posts: 5,229 Volunteer Moderator
    400 quid, about 500 US on my warthog  :s
    A PC with lots of gadgets inside and a thing to see in 3D that you put on your head.
    And FlyInside Forum Admin.
    Flyinside Flight Simulator RELEASED.
  • MowTinMowTin Posts: 1,175
    Wintermute
    falken76 said:
    $50?  I spent $189 on a HOTAS.  I play DCS but this looks just as good as that but for WW2.  These games are amazing.
    I spent around the same on my HOTAS too. I'm just saying that for those who don't have even a joystick, it makes sense to just buy a T16000m and enjoy some of these awesome flight/space sims. 

    You can get this for $50


  • MowTinMowTin Posts: 1,175
    Wintermute
    I'm interested in getting this ... VPC Mongoose T-50


  • BrixmisBrixmis Posts: 2,234 Valuable Player
    Yeah - I'm in the process of selling my bike :'( and I'm very seriously considering using the cash to buy myself the full VPC outfit.

    https://virpil.com/en/

    Hard to resist - I have had most of the top range gear - currently have an X56 and Saitek Cessna Pro pedals + CH Pro yoke.





  • BrixmisBrixmis Posts: 2,234 Valuable Player
    Well, some online action last night, and, for more giggles, we have a perfect demonstration of a survivable crash-landing in the early Sturmovik



    followed by @Chazmeister getting to know the Pe-2...



    ...in which I was daft enough to go as rear gunner.... whoa! Quite a ride, from the back seat...



    and it can just a little disturbing on final approach, when your pilot does this:



    ...but never mind - we survived!



    Back up in the later IL-2, armed with chunky 37mm cannon and 8 rockets - oh yeah!



    And - to my amazement - the only rocket I fired knocked out an Opel Blitz!  :D




    All I can say is, The Hun had better watch out next time!





  • ChazmeisterChazmeister Posts: 528
    Neo
    edited June 2018
    Yeah that Pe-2 loses speed very quickly on approach to land, and err.. tends to kind of suddenly stop flying and drop out of the sky. Luckily enough I think we were close enough to the ground to survive with only minor injuries on that occasion.

    I'm slowly getting better anyway. Need to do a bit of control configuring, so I might reset to defaults and start again. Will probably use a shift button as I do with ED. Will definitely have to try and bind the rear tail wheel lock, as that's probably why I've been spinning out on landing and take off a bit, due to perhaps not having that locked. Is it locked or unlocked by default? Will also need to do some bindings for the oil and water radiators as well, especially if we use that server again, as it didn't seem to allow the auto setting and I managed to cook the IL2 engine. I expect the fuel mix was manual too, not that I noticed.

    Trying to post an image of the jpeg with the cockpit reference but it doesn't seem to want to let me attach an image (Chrome issue?). Anyway I think it is one of those Chuck ones, as googling it takes me to a forum page where he posted them.

    Anyway had fun last night, thanks for that! Nice to have someone else around when you're practicing who you can chat too, and who's brain you can pick for bits of info. Pretty cool seeing those guys doing the acrobatics who buzzed me for a bit too. Will have to get a bit more flight time in so that next time we can do a bit of target shooting.



    Edit: OK hang on, had a second go trying to get that pic to appear and despite not showing initially after I submitted my post, it now seems to have appeared above as you can see.
  • BrixmisBrixmis Posts: 2,234 Valuable Player
    edited June 2018
    Yes - that would be fun. I think the tailwheel is locked to start with, but I would need to confirm it. Certainly was on a Yak-1 mission I did yesterday.

    Edit: According to this post - the planes we flew in that session aren't fitted with tailwheel locks - so that's that excuse out of the window!

    https://forum.il2sturmovik.com/topic/19187-la-5-lagg-3-pe-2-tailwheel-locks/

    Some good tips there as well.

    Note: while I'm at it - just a note to other people who may read this and be new to the sim - I found that the flap control works differently for different aircraft. In some, you press the "Extend Flaps" control (mine assigned to my HOTAS) and as long as you keep it pressed, the flaps will extend. Same with retracting.

    Don't make the mistake that I did, of thinking that each time you press extends the flaps 1 stage. I only discovered this yesterday, after months of flying. Other aircraft do require a button/key press per stage (such as the Pe-2). Unfortunately, I don't yet know for sure which aircraft's flap control behaves which way - but I will make a list over the next week or two (at least of those that I own and fly - i.e. the allied aircraft) and post it.

    Regarding the manual control of the radiators and cowl flaps - it really is a lot simpler than it seems and if you get on top of this (which is quite easy) you will have an advantage over any pilot who doesn't know or can't be bothered with it - because they can easily damage their engine and suffer poor performance or worse in dogfight when their engine overheats or freezes up.

    All you really need is to know there the particular gauges are for your temperatures, on the panel of the aircraft you are flying. I have the oil and water radiator controls assigned to two rotating dials on my throttle, within easy reach, but you can assign them to any buttons or keys. Just keep an eye on those gauges and adjust the radiators as required - open slightly if the temps are high and close a bit if they are dropping too much. Look at Chaz' LaGG-3 diagram - they are the two gauges to the right - easy to just keep an eye on as you fly - not necessarily all the time - now and then is enough (or when the engine gets rough or starts smoking!). Your cowl flaps do have a bearing on this, too, but so far I have managed fine without bothering with them too much.

    It's even easier with the superchargers - all you do is engage when you get to a certain altitude, and disengage them when you are descending back through that altitude (or altitudes for a multi-stage supercharger). It makes a big difference to your aircraft's performance and is well worth remembering.

    For both of these things, a simple cheat sheet in front of you, visible through the nose gap, with ideal water and oil temps and supercharger altitudes is all you need for that advantage. I use a white sheet of A6 sized paper, laminated and just write the info down for whichever plane I am jumping into, in big black numbers, with a whiteboard pen. Simples. :)




  • Techy111Techy111 Posts: 5,229 Volunteer Moderator
    Simples he says lol couldn't resist !!!!


    A PC with lots of gadgets inside and a thing to see in 3D that you put on your head.
    And FlyInside Forum Admin.
    Flyinside Flight Simulator RELEASED.
  • ChazmeisterChazmeister Posts: 528
    Neo
    Yeah I've just been having a look through the manual and some guides etc. So yes, not all planes have a tail wheel lock, with the idea being that you pull back to dig in the wheel with those you can't lock. Also not all planes have cowls or allow manual control over fuel mixture, oil and water temps etc. Operational temperatures and speeds etc differ between planes (as you'd expect). So it would seem beneficial to concentrate on and get to know the planes one at a time really. Well if you wanted to get to know them properly that is.

    Didn't know about setting the RPM/prop pitch either. Kind of thought that was just tied to the throttle. Again not all planes let you adjust the prop pitch anyway.

    A cheat sheet sounds definitely well advised. I'll have to get some printed out.

    So lots to learn and get my head round still. With that said, it is relatively easy enough to get airborne and fly around without needing to know any of that stuff, as I have been of course. So it's not like you have to try and take it all on board at once in order to be able to fly. If you can push a throttle forwards and keep the aircraft straight enough down the runway to pick up speed to take off, then you can pretty much fly every plane in the game. How "well" you can fly them once you're in the air of course, depends on learning all that other stuff.

    Anyway, rather quite enjoying getting into all this. Makes a welcome change from the grind of Elite.
  • BrixmisBrixmis Posts: 2,234 Valuable Player
    Oh definitely don't need it to fly - just set it to "auto" setting and away you go! In fact, I would highly recommend new players doing just that - and after doing the take-off and landing practise missions to get out there on the quick missions and have some fun whilst learning the ropes.

    Also, aircraft like the P-40E have much of it on auto anyway - lazy Yanks! :p

    It does help very much when you go on a server and find that they have it set to not allow auto control, though.

    I think I said yesterday that people were recommending the campaigns, but if so that was a mistake - it's the career mode that people have been impressed with. I haven't tried that, yet, but am about to start one.




  • ChazmeisterChazmeister Posts: 528
    Neo
    I'll get a bit more practice in and get stuff setup and memorised a bit first before I try the SP campaigns and careers first I think. Feels good to be finally delving into this at long last anyway. Been putting it off for a while because it always seemed like such a mountain to climb. Story of my life right there.
  • BrixmisBrixmis Posts: 2,234 Valuable Player
    Was just looking at the online store. I'm sorely tempted to get the Spitfire V - but then, I also hope to get Bodenplatte, and that includes the Spitfire IX, so mebbe I should buy Kuban and have some fun in the A-20 Havoc instead. That baby has gotta be good!

    Can't wait for Bodenplatte - besides that Spit IX we'll have the Tempest, 'Stang, Jug and P-38 as a collector plane.

    We've never had it so good B)




  • falken76falken76 Posts: 2,694 Valuable Player
    MowTin said:
    falken76 said:
    $50?  I spent $189 on a HOTAS.  I play DCS but this looks just as good as that but for WW2.  These games are amazing.
    I spent around the same on my HOTAS too. I'm just saying that for those who don't have even a joystick, it makes sense to just buy a T16000m and enjoy some of these awesome flight/space sims. 

    You can get this for $50



    I upgraded from that to my T16000M + Throttle + Pedals upgrade. (I never use the pedals, but I might want to get a helicopter in DCS someday so I'm keeping them)
  • BrixmisBrixmis Posts: 2,234 Valuable Player
    edited June 2018
    I suppose the T-HOTAS X is okay  for those with small budgets - I have a very small income and I always have the best I can buy. But then, flight simming has been my main activity on the PC since I first got a Spectrum.

    I bought the HOTAS X as a spare a couple of years ago and I really didn't like it - even as a backup, I preferred my old MS Sidewinder Precision Pro - which I still have (as a spare) and works amazingly well in DCS World - especially with the helicopters.

    The main issue I had with the T HOTAS X was the throttle - it felt really awful. There was very little resistance to movement - if any - and that just made it unusable for me. Also, I was repeatedly accidentally pressing the button on the side of the stick, at the top.

    Horses for courses, but I would only recommend one of those if the buyer was really poor or very young. I think the VKB Gladiator or Speedlink Airrow as it's sold in W. Europe, is far better. Yes, costs a bit more at £70-ish, but really worth it, with hall sensors and a larger number of buttons than the T HOTAS X. The throttle is a lever, but it's very smooth.




  • MowTinMowTin Posts: 1,175
    Wintermute
    This gives you a sense of what it feels like in VR to play IL-2


  • BrixmisBrixmis Posts: 2,234 Valuable Player
    "Tie me kangaroo down, sport. Tie me kangaroo down...."




  • ChazmeisterChazmeister Posts: 528
    Neo
    edited June 2018
    Well I also have the T16000M + Throttle + Pedals set, and does what I want for Elite (although I don't use the pedals for ED), which was what I was mainly using it for and so far it seems OK for IL2 as well. Obviously not going to be as good as something that costs a lot more, but for the level I'm currently playing at, it's just fine.

    Still keep spinning off the runway on my landings. I'm usually OK until the plane starts to slow down and then it will just spin off to one side or the other. I've also now set my controls up for manual rpm/pitch control and oil/water rads. So I'll start to try and get my head around that a bit too, although I'll probably stick to auto right now for the SP missions and stuff.

    Also my screenshots seem to come out in that double vision and at a really low res. Is there anyway to sort that?
  • ChazmeisterChazmeister Posts: 528
    Neo
    Brixmis said:
    Was just looking at the online store. I'm sorely tempted to get the Spitfire V - but then, I also hope to get Bodenplatte, and that includes the Spitfire IX, so mebbe I should buy Kuban and have some fun in the A-20 Havoc instead. That baby has gotta be good!

    Can't wait for Bodenplatte - besides that Spit IX we'll have the Tempest, 'Stang, Jug and P-38 as a collector plane.

    We've never had it so good B)

    I think I've got quite enough there with BoS and BoM to see me through for a good while yet, not that I wouldn't want the Bodenplatte addon of course. Kind of hoping this will be out by the time I get around to that though.


  • BrixmisBrixmis Posts: 2,234 Valuable Player
    Well I also have the T16000M + Throttle + Pedals set, and does what I want for Elite (although I don't use the pedals for ED), which was what I was mainly using it for and so far it seems OK for IL2 as well. Obviously not going to be as good as something that costs a lot more, but for the level I'm currently playing at, it's just fine.
    yes - the T1600 and TWCS throttle are a completely different kettle of fish. They are a good price and for me, they are what I would recommend someone just starting, who wants to have a serious go at flight sims (but not too serious) or is either young or doesn't have the cash to spend. It's a good beginner set.




  • BrixmisBrixmis Posts: 2,234 Valuable Player
    edited June 2018
    So - was up again this evening - on the AG52 training server. Why don't we make that our unofficial meeting server? Anyone here fancies a go - look there first to see if any of the guys are up? Chaz and I flew there last time - it's got areas for landing & take-off practise, ground attack training and dogfighting.

    This evening I went up in the 1942 mod IL-2, cos I wanted some practise in the machine I have started my IL-2 BoM career in.

    I found that if I aim through the sight with my left eye (closing the right eye) the rounds land where I am aiming. It is probably the same, regardless of which eye you use, but if you try both eyes, you will just get messed up double double vision (reticule and target).

    For some reason, the red reticule doesn't appear in aiming screenshots:



    Usually, just for a laugh, I will do a 'turn & burn' roll as I climb out away from the target - makes me harder to shoot at! :)



    You know you have let target fixation get the better of you when you look out the front and see this:



    At one point, I noticed that the water temps were well into the red - full scale deflection on that needle! Oil temps were pretty high, too:



    Opening the radiators to 90% did the job - though as it wasn't doing a quick enough job (I lost one aircraft this evening, to overheating) I opened up the cowl flaps, too. I left those open for the remainder of the sortie and controlled the temps with the radiators alone. After cooling to around 70°, I set the radiators to 50% during combat and 30% on the cruise home...



    The home base is the other side of the map - but no matter, a couple of guys were keeping me entertained with their dogfighting practise - one in a Spit, the other a Bf-109.

    Nice landing this time around...



    What cheesed me off a bit, though, was that despite getting a number of good hits on the Panzer IIIs, I didn't seem to have done much damage with the default server A/G payload. Checking the armement afterwrds, I could see why - the guns were pretty puny and really not up to the task - so I loaded up the decent 23mm cannon (the 37mm is even better - but not available) - keeping the AP rockets rather than the HE ones.

    In IL-2 you can get all the info you need for each weapon that you can fit to your aircraft.

    Just to make sure, I went to the payload screen for the default A/G payload in my career (the next mission is an anti-tank one, so ideal) - and sure enough it was exactly the same as the one I had chosen after doin so little damage with the server default one.



    So bear these things in mind, guys (and gals?) when you jump into your IL-2 mounts - especially online.

    Yes, I was giggling away again :D

    This sim is a complete hoot.





  • MowTinMowTin Posts: 1,175
    Wintermute
    @Brixmis

    Wow, you're already playing on a server. 

    Do they allow HUD on the server? One problem I had was the server I was on didn't allow HUD aids. But in VR it's hard to see and ID planes at a distance. 
  • Techy111Techy111 Posts: 5,229 Volunteer Moderator
    Try the beginners server. They allow HUD and easy aircraft with no fiddling with controls. Great to get started :) and @Brixmis the A20 is a blast and a must have :)
    A PC with lots of gadgets inside and a thing to see in 3D that you put on your head.
    And FlyInside Forum Admin.
    Flyinside Flight Simulator RELEASED.
  • BrixmisBrixmis Posts: 2,234 Valuable Player
    edited June 2018
    The AG52 server we've been using is intended specifically for training (I think it's in the title of the server) and everything is allowed (HUD) with the exception of auto radiators. I even used the 'autopilot' on the cruise back to base, whilst chatting with Mrs Brix.

    Yes, Tony - I'm trying to persuade the Mrs to let me shell out on Kuban and to get me Bodenplatte for Chrimbo. Think I'm getting there :)

    edit - here's my own 'virtual' A-20, in the guise of the British version - the Boston III



    Wish it was available as a collector plane.




  • BrixmisBrixmis Posts: 2,234 Valuable Player
    btw guys (and gals) I highly recommend having a browse of this site:

    https://stormbirds.blog/aircraft-gazetteer/





  • Techy111Techy111 Posts: 5,229 Volunteer Moderator
    edited June 2018
    I've started a career on the A20. In VR the cockpit is sublime and the presence of 10 others in formation with you is draw droppingingly good. Tell the missus you would like a pre pre Xmas pressie ;)
    A PC with lots of gadgets inside and a thing to see in 3D that you put on your head.
    And FlyInside Forum Admin.
    Flyinside Flight Simulator RELEASED.
  • nroskonrosko Posts: 952
    Neo
    I have all the addons for this game & really looking forward to the upcoming DLCs it's really great for feeling like you are in a full on war. Built a rig that i convert the driving rig into flying 
    I still suck at it though. 
«1345
Sign In or Register to comment.