New to the forums? Click here to read the How To guide. -- Developers click here.

CPU or GPU Upgrade?

Justin_AdamsJustin_Adams Posts: 10
NerveGear
edited August 10 in Oculus Rift + Touch
I know this has been asked 1000 times but I can't play without knowing. I just got my oculus yesterday and i can run the basic games like roller coaster games and ones that dont use the touch controllers but I want to be able to play games like Job Sim, The rick and morty game, Robo Recall, etc.. I want to buy a Gtx 1060 6gb GPU and i want to know if it would be better to upgrade from my gtx 960 2gb ( I know its a terrible card for vr). I also have an AMD fx-4130 quad core 3.80 ghz which came with the prebuilt im using (I have no knowledge about CPUs). Should I buy the GTX 1060 6GB and replace my 960 or Upgrade my CPU. If i should upgrade my cpu please give me a recommendation around $300 since thats how much i would be paying for the 1060. Thanks in advanced

Comments

• cyberealitycybereality Posts: 26,156 Oculus Staff
    Yeah, definitely get the GTX 1060. It will be a pretty big upgrade in terms of VR. That CPU isn't great either, but might be passable. Long term, I would look into getting a Ryzen chip, the 2600 is a pretty nice bang for your buck. But, if you have to choose one, a 1060 upgrade would be the best use of the funds.
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    Gigabyte RX Vega 64 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • Justin_AdamsJustin_Adams Posts: 10
    NerveGear
    Yeah, definitely get the GTX 1060. It will be a pretty big upgrade in terms of VR. That CPU isn't great either, but might be passable. Long term, I would look into getting a Ryzen chip, the 2600 is a pretty nice bang for your buck. But, if you have to choose one, a 1060 upgrade would be the best use of the funds.
    Thanks for the help it is much appreciated