New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

Rift Release 1.31 Rolling Out Now (Live)

cyberealitycybereality Posts: 26,156 Oculus Staff
edited October 2018 in Oculus Rift S and Rift
Today at Oculus Connect, we shared some exciting updates about the future of Rift. Core 2.0 is out of beta — and now known as the new Rift Platform. Soon, everyone will be using Home and Dash. We've put a ton of work into improving performance and look and feel, and can't wait to hear what you think. Release notes for 1.31 can be found below — and be sure to visit the Rift blog for more info.
  • Dash
    • We're launching Experiments, a proving ground for experimental features aren't ready for official release. You can toggle individual experiments via the Settings tab within Dash. Some of the first experimental features available for testing:
      • Oculus Desktop Window Pullout
      • Wristwatch
      • Window Controls
    • Various design improvements to increase usability.
    • Various performance improvements and fixes, including an issue with Library sorting
  • Home:
    • New themed item collections: Spooky, Pirate, and Retro-Modern.
    • Customer Developer Items
      • Developers can now give out special Home objects and decor as gameplay rewards and achievements (live with initial partners, opening to all developers soon).
    • User generated content
      • Home now supports the playback of skinned animations for user generated content
      • Fixed an issue where user generated content would sometimes not show up in Home
    • We've revamped the UI to improve usability.
AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
Gigabyte RX Vega 64 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
«13456727

Comments

  • RattyUKRattyUK Posts: 975
    3Jane
    edited September 2018
    OK Cyber, what did you change between 17:30 and 19:04?  I was typing a reply when the forum told me there was nothing to reply to!

    Think my PC is just downloading it :wink:


    Yep: version 1.31.1 0******   now have to see what it's like.
    PC info: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X, MSI MPG X570 Edge, 16GB Tforce Pro Dark DDR4 3200, KFA2 RTX 2080 Super, Samsung 870 Pro M.2, 2x 240GB SSD, 3TB WD Green HDD & 4 TB Seagate Barracuda HDD, Antec Modular 750w PSU, custom watercooling loop. (Win 10 Pro & Opensuse Leap 15.1 Linux) 32" AOC 4K Monitor.

    Laptop: Aorus X5 V6-CF1 (I7-6820HK, GTX 1070, 2* 256GB M.2 NVME, 1TB 7200 HDD)
  • NetheriNetheri Posts: 259
    Nexus 6
    Gryzor22x said:
    Please give us the possibility to start a game without oculus home running, like selecting the old home aplication. With OCULUS home running in background, I have between 5-10% less performance than with 1.30 version.
    Yeah, +1 on that (again). Now that we won't have opportunity to use Home 1 anymore, please give us chance to disable Home 2 from running whe used i.e. Youtube VR (with Oculus Support) from Steam VR..
    [email protected], ASUS Rog Strix 2080 Super OC , Corsair 32gb 3000MHz DDR4, ROG Strix Z370 H Gaming, 2 x Inateck 4 port USB 3.0 cards.
    Natively Homeless (2.0) Dash, it's a working victory!
  • Gryzor22xGryzor22x Posts: 9
    NerveGear
    kojack said:
    If you don't want Home 2 running, you can stop it now. Hacky, but it works.
    Go into C:\Program Files\Oculus\Support\oculus-worlds\Home2\Binaries\Win64 and rename or delete the file Home2-Win64-Shipping.exe
    That's Home. If that isn't found, Dash still works, you still have your library and can launch games and stuff, but there's no home loaded (or store), you just get a bare empty scene instead.

    Or you can replace the exe with your own vr program as a home alternative. :)

    Of course at some point the software will probably checksum and detect the exe is missing/wrong and redownload it, but I haven't seen that happen yet.



    That doesn´t work, every time you see a Dash error message over the game screen. I just not want to have home2 loaded in memory just for saving resources.
  • kojackkojack Posts: 5,698 Volunteer Moderator
    Gryzor22x said:
    kojack said:
    If you don't want Home 2 running, you can stop it now. Hacky, but it works.
    Go into C:\Program Files\Oculus\Support\oculus-worlds\Home2\Binaries\Win64 and rename or delete the file Home2-Win64-Shipping.exe
    That's Home. If that isn't found, Dash still works, you still have your library and can launch games and stuff, but there's no home loaded (or store), you just get a bare empty scene instead.

    Or you can replace the exe with your own vr program as a home alternative. :)

    Of course at some point the software will probably checksum and detect the exe is missing/wrong and redownload it, but I haven't seen that happen yet.



    That doesn´t work, every time you see a Dash error message over the game screen. I just not want to have home2 loaded in memory just for saving resources.
    I've just completed a song in Beat Saber, flew around in Google Earth and drew in Oculus Medium, all with no dash error and no Home loaded.

  • tom.helleytom.helley Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    Gryzor22x said:
    Please give us the possibility to start a game without oculus home running, like selecting the old home aplication. With OCULUS home running in background, I have between 5-10% less performance than with 1.30 version.

    +1 on this for me as well! Running Elite Dangerous without Oculus is the only way I've found to run it without crashes; and I use a gtx1080 w/16gb of memory and an 8600k so my system should be more than capable.
  • Moto13kMoto13k Posts: 25
    Brain Burst
    edited September 2018
    1.31 is working well. The stuttering I had in home in 1.30 is gone.
    GIGABYTE GA-Z97-HD3 | [email protected] | Kingston HyperX FURY 16GB DDR3 1866MHz | MSI GTX 1080 Duke | Samsung Evo 860 500GB


  • NetheriNetheri Posts: 259
    Nexus 6
    edited September 2018
    kojack said:
    If you don't want Home 2 running, you can stop it now. Hacky, but it works.
    Go into C:\Program Files\Oculus\Support\oculus-worlds\Home2\Binaries\Win64 and rename or delete the file Home2-Win64-Shipping.exe
    That's Home. If that isn't found, Dash still works, you still have your library and can launch games and stuff, but there's no home loaded (or store), you just get a bare empty scene instead.

    Or you can replace the exe with your own vr program as a home alternative. :)

    Of course at some point the software will probably checksum and detect the exe is missing/wrong and redownload it, but I haven't seen that happen yet.



    How much easier it would be to have selections in Oculus desktop app "enable/disable Home2 when using Rift" and "keep/don't keep dash & library in use when Home2 is disabled".

    Edit: And yes, i have sent the feedback about non-mandatory loading of Home2 through feedback option on desktop app. It just seems that the devs are taking feedback through there as vividly as from these forums==none.
    [email protected], ASUS Rog Strix 2080 Super OC , Corsair 32gb 3000MHz DDR4, ROG Strix Z370 H Gaming, 2 x Inateck 4 port USB 3.0 cards.
    Natively Homeless (2.0) Dash, it's a working victory!
  • MPiresMPires Posts: 129
    Art3mis
    I did not have any problems with the upgrade but I noticed that the Rift is warmer on its top. Will not it be worrying?
  • LZoltowskiLZoltowski Posts: 6,774 Volunteer Moderator
    The UI update is fantastic, so much cleaner and makes way more sense now. Bravo to the team.
    Core i7-7700k @ 4.9 Ghz | 32 GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance @ 3000Mhz | 2x 1TB Samsung Evo | 2x 4GB WD Black
    ASUS MAXIMUS IX HERO | MSI AERO GTX 1080 OC @ 2000Mhz | Corsair Carbide Series 400C White (RGB FTW!) 

    Be kind to one another :)
  • MAC_MAN86MAC_MAN86 Posts: 2,262
    Wintermute
    YUP!
  • Gryzor22xGryzor22x Posts: 9
    NerveGear
    Netheri said:
    Gryzor22x said:
    Please give us the possibility to start a game without oculus home running, like selecting the old home aplication. With OCULUS home running in background, I have between 5-10% less performance than with 1.30 version.
    Yeah, +1 on that (again). Now that we won't have opportunity to use Home 1 anymore, please give us chance to disable Home 2 from running whe used i.e. Youtube VR (with Oculus Support) from Steam VR..
    Cyber: Please give us the possibility to not using home while play some high demanding games like project cars 2 or DCS World. Now without home 1, its totally impossible.
  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 26,156 Oculus Staff
    If you're running a recommended system, you should have the resources for Home 2.0 to work along with any games. However, we'd like to look into these performance issues being reported. If you're having a problem, please upload your LogGatherer zip file here and we can take a look. See this thread for how to get the file. Thanks. https://forums.oculusvr.com/community/discussion/33792/how-to-get-logs-for-bug-reports-for-consumer-rift-1-3/p1
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    Gigabyte RX Vega 64 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • TomCgcmfcTomCgcmfc Posts: 1,505
    Project 2501
    Sorry but I’m a bit confused.  When 1.31 goes mainstream do we all have to switch over to core 2 home?

    Custom built gaming desktop; i9 9900k (water cooled) oc to 5ghz, gtx 1080 ti (from my old AGA), 32 gb 3000hz ram, 1 tb ssd, 4 tb hdd.  Asus  ROG Maximus xi hero wifi mb, StarTech 4 port/4 controller sata powered usb3.0 pcie card, Asus VG248QE 1080p 144hz gaming monitor, Oculus Rift cv1 w/2x sensors. Vive Cosmos, currently work in progress.

  • LuluViBritanniaLuluViBritannia Posts: 478
    Trinity
    Removing stuff is always a d*ck move, how can they not know that? At least they could say "we removed it because [...]". Give a reason for their actions.
    Current VR results imo:
    - Great small apps. Great ports of bigger games.
    - Great VR-specific features. Not enough showcased!!!
    - Too many actors in the industry, the market is totally broken.


    My hopes for VR next gen:

    - Better ratio between visual quality and power needs. No more godrays and less SDE.
    - Full Body Tracking.


    "If you don't mind, do you want me to take you there? Where dreams come true."
  • svx94svx94 Posts: 10
    NerveGear
    Would be nice to allow a large screen in home to be used as PC monitor, so I can see Windows as part of my home...
  • LZoltowskiLZoltowski Posts: 6,774 Volunteer Moderator
    edited September 2018
    svx94 said:
    Would be nice to allow a large screen in home to be used as PC monitor, so I can see Windows as part of my home...

     You can, they are called Special Objects in the items menu.
    Core i7-7700k @ 4.9 Ghz | 32 GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance @ 3000Mhz | 2x 1TB Samsung Evo | 2x 4GB WD Black
    ASUS MAXIMUS IX HERO | MSI AERO GTX 1080 OC @ 2000Mhz | Corsair Carbide Series 400C White (RGB FTW!) 

    Be kind to one another :)
  • LuluViBritanniaLuluViBritannia Posts: 478
    Trinity
    edited September 2018
    So, performance in 1.31 seems fine, but only with the latest NVidia drivers (I had to update it to get stable perf in VR). I have no stutter in Home, it's a constant yellow (stable and smooth). Haven't tried games yet.

    Now I have one major issue: Oculus Desktop shows a black screen. Does anyone know how to get back the display? I tried some stuff with the NVidia Control Panel, put "high performance" everywhere, but it didn't help...
    Current VR results imo:
    - Great small apps. Great ports of bigger games.
    - Great VR-specific features. Not enough showcased!!!
    - Too many actors in the industry, the market is totally broken.


    My hopes for VR next gen:

    - Better ratio between visual quality and power needs. No more godrays and less SDE.
    - Full Body Tracking.


    "If you don't mind, do you want me to take you there? Where dreams come true."
  • LZoltowskiLZoltowski Posts: 6,774 Volunteer Moderator
    edited September 2018
    So, performance in 1.31 seems fine, but only with the latest NVidia drivers (I had to update it to get stable perf in VR). I have no stutter in Home, it's a constant yellow (stable and smooth). Haven't tried games yet.

    Now I have one major issue: Oculus Desktop shows a black screen. Does anyone know how to get back the display? I tried some stuff with the NVidia Control Panel, put "high performance" everywhere, but it didn't help...

    Have you seen this? https://forums.oculusvr.com/community/discussion/69754/dash-issue-fix-for-latest-nvidia-driver-and-intel-cpus#latest

    I have my intel chipset disabled in bios and drivers uninstalled for Intel Graphics, been like that ever since I got the rift, never had any issues what so ever with any NV driver version or home version (beta or not) for 2 years now.
    Core i7-7700k @ 4.9 Ghz | 32 GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance @ 3000Mhz | 2x 1TB Samsung Evo | 2x 4GB WD Black
    ASUS MAXIMUS IX HERO | MSI AERO GTX 1080 OC @ 2000Mhz | Corsair Carbide Series 400C White (RGB FTW!) 

    Be kind to one another :)
  • LuluViBritanniaLuluViBritannia Posts: 478
    Trinity
    edited September 2018
    Yes I did... a few days ago and I completely forgot about it xD!
    Anyway, I just tried it, it didn't work... And I don't think I can disable the iGPU on my laptop, but I'll look into it. Thanks!

    EDIT : I stand corrected: I can indeed disable the iGPU and it does give me back Oculus Desktop, but it screws up everything else xD.
    Okay, I just found a fix, I used Windows' Device Manager and downloaded the latest driver of the iGPU from there. I hate this configuration lol.
    Current VR results imo:
    - Great small apps. Great ports of bigger games.
    - Great VR-specific features. Not enough showcased!!!
    - Too many actors in the industry, the market is totally broken.


    My hopes for VR next gen:

    - Better ratio between visual quality and power needs. No more godrays and less SDE.
    - Full Body Tracking.


    "If you don't mind, do you want me to take you there? Where dreams come true."
  • elbofforelboffor Posts: 2,572 Valuable Player
    I just miss the voice control to launch games:/
    This is my forum signature.
    There are many others like it, but this is mine.
  • NetheriNetheri Posts: 259
    Nexus 6
    edited September 2018
    If you're running a recommended system, you should have the resources for Home 2.0 to work along with any games. However, we'd like to look into these performance issues being reported. If you're having a problem, please upload your LogGatherer zip file here and we can take a look. See this thread for how to get the file. Thanks. https://forums.oculusvr.com/community/discussion/33792/how-to-get-logs-for-bug-reports-for-consumer-rift-1-3/p1
    Yeah, well IF majority of the Rift users are having the resources for Home 2 to work along with any games and apps but MANY of us STILL wants the option to disable mandatory Home 2 to be run in backround but still would like to enjoy (or doesn't) from Dash belt, is it really something that the dev team doesn't want to do? What you personally think, if "some" users would rather have "Home free" system than "nice coach to add in the home 2", how hyped thay are about the new coach, which when added just takes another bit of memory and gpu+cpu time from the actual things we want to play, paint, model etc.?

    Another point, when I used the log gatherer regarding other issue, no matter did i choose 1 hour or 24 hour, whole system or just Oculus thingies in the log, the file got so big that the support systems receiving end didn't let me even send it.  :D 
    [email protected], ASUS Rog Strix 2080 Super OC , Corsair 32gb 3000MHz DDR4, ROG Strix Z370 H Gaming, 2 x Inateck 4 port USB 3.0 cards.
    Natively Homeless (2.0) Dash, it's a working victory!
  • RattyUKRattyUK Posts: 975
    3Jane
    Dunno about Grandma, but this Grandpa is quite happy using Home 2.0 or whatever comes along - can't say I've ever noticed any performance hit in gaming with it but that may just be my poor ol' eyes :p

    Levity aside, maybe I am just one of those folk who can live with multiple applications residing in the task list without being overly bothered, about the only thing that hogs resources on my machine is win 10 updates and the snail-like progress to download them, even over BT's top-rated fibre!
    PC info: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X, MSI MPG X570 Edge, 16GB Tforce Pro Dark DDR4 3200, KFA2 RTX 2080 Super, Samsung 870 Pro M.2, 2x 240GB SSD, 3TB WD Green HDD & 4 TB Seagate Barracuda HDD, Antec Modular 750w PSU, custom watercooling loop. (Win 10 Pro & Opensuse Leap 15.1 Linux) 32" AOC 4K Monitor.

    Laptop: Aorus X5 V6-CF1 (I7-6820HK, GTX 1070, 2* 256GB M.2 NVME, 1TB 7200 HDD)
  • RuneSR2RuneSR2 Posts: 3,948 Valuable Player
    edited September 2018
    RattyUK said:
    Dunno about Grandma, but this Grandpa is quite happy using Home 2.0 or whatever comes along - can't say I've ever noticed any performance hit in gaming with it but that may just be my poor ol' eyes :p

    Levity aside, maybe I am just one of those folk who can live with multiple applications residing in the task list without being overly bothered, about the only thing that hogs resources on my machine is win 10 updates and the snail-like progress to download them, even over BT's top-rated fibre!

    GTX 1070 is quite good. If you have the time, try to install Oculus Tray Tool and set Global Super Sampling to 2.0. Do you still like Home 2.0? Grandpa is still happy and smiling? ;-)

    If not, try lowering it to 1.8 - Home 2.0 is now better? 

    Moss (maxed setting) and Transference (maxed settings) and many more games run at 90+ fps using super sampling 2.0 on my rig, and text in Dash really needs ss 2.0 to be readable (like in Big Screen and more). If Home 2.0 has higher hardware requirements than Moss or Transference that would be really bad in my opinion... The last time I tested Home 2.0 hardware requirements were much higher than Moss, Windlands 2 and Transference (= I got 45 fps ASW or worse), so Oculus really needs to push some serious magic here - I have not tried 1.31.

    I do get it that some persons may find it fun to have collections like below, personally such stuff would really annoy me and I greatly hope that such rooms can be completely deleted - although I do recognize the objects, it really looks like kindergarten (a play room) to me:


    Would be great to have different options - I'd like a basic Home 2.0 completely free of any junk and rooms (and scenic vistas) and stuff I don't want - ok, maybe a few items - maybe a Home 2.0 Basic that looks and performs exactly like classic Home ;-)
    Intel i7 7700K (4.5 GHz); MSI GeForce GTX 1080 8GB Gaming X (oc 2100 MHz gpu boost, 11 GHz mem speed); 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 3200 MHz; MSI Z270I Gaming Pro Carbon AC (VR-Ready) mainboard; Samsung 960 Evo M.2 SSD + Toshiba P300 HD; Windows 10 OS; Valve Index and Oculus Rift CV1 - the latter nearly always using super sampling 2.0. 

    "Ask not what VR can do for you – ask what you can do for VR"
Sign In or Register to comment.