Need some advise on a part of sculpt — Oculus
New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

Need some advise on a part of sculpt

Hello everyone,

I'm just starting out using medium and working on my first sculpt (A Genesect from the pokemon games, pictured below) and I'm having trouble creating the abdomen (The part the legs are connected to).

It has 4 sides each curved convexly vertically and horizontally with defined edges connecting the sides together.

I'm not asking anyone to make this for me, just some advice on possible methods on how to make it, its my first "real" sculpt and I want to test myself.

If you do have any other general tips, please leave them here.

Thanks  :) ,

EvoTheWanderer

Comments

• DreamShaperDreamShaper Posts: 724
    3Jane
    edited September 2018
    It's an unusual shape, and it sounds like you want a fairly hard surface to it.

Without putting on my headset, I think the most precise way to go about that  and keep the edges sharp would  probably be (assuming I'm visualizing this properly):

1. make a rectangle
    2.  align one of the edges to the mirror. (The aligned edge would be where the spine is) 
    3.  Then I'd use the sphere or one of the primitives to cut away the curve (using clay remove instead of add).
    This would give the side indents.   You could smooth +/or use the move tool to get those curves where you want them, they'd remain symmetrical from the back
    4. Then use the same process along the spine, so the shape you are using for the cut overlaps, which would leave a sharp, but curved ridge where the spine is.
    5.  Adjust it to your liking (move, inflate, smooth, etc)
    6.  At this point you have the back half and some extra material on the front.  You'll want to remove the front half now.
    7.  Take the square clay (in removal mode), and put the plane tool on, and cut away the front, leaving a flat surface there.