New To The Forum? Click Here To Read The How To Guide. -- Developers Click Here.

Nvidia Driver Not Rendering to Headset Issue

cyberealitycybereality Posts: 26,101 Oculus Staff
edited October 15 in Oculus Rift + Touch
If you get a white light on Rift but no video feed on the Nvidia driver, please run the attached command file and zip up the folder and upload here. This will help us resolve the issue in a future update. After creating your log files, the issue can be resolved by running DDU in safe mode and clearing out both AMD and Nvidia drivers for your system (if you've used either on your machine).
  • Download Display Driver Uninstaller DDU: https://www.guru3d.com/files-details/display-driver-uninstaller-download.html
  • Extract the zip file to a new folder.
  • Run the exe file in that folder (i.e. "DDU v18.0.0.2.exe").
  • Open the new folder (i.e. "DDU v18.0.0.2") and run "Display Driver Uninstaller.exe".
  • Choose "Yes" to the Windows security pop-up.
  • Click "Options" then on the bottom under "Advanced Options" check "Enable safe mode dialog".
  • Click "Close" to the options screen.
  • Click the Windows "X" to close the DDU app.
  • Open the app again by double-clicking "Display Driver Uninstaller.exe".
  • For the "Launch options" drop-down, choose "Safe Mode (recommended)". 
  • Click "Reboot to Safe Mode" on the bottom.
  • NOTE: You must know your Windows password. PIN cannot be used in safe mode.
  • Once the computer boots back to Windows, enter your password and DDU will open automatically.
  • Choose GPU on the right then choose your GPU vendor (Nvidia or AMD).
  • If you've used a different GPU vendor on your machine, you'll have to do this process twice (once for each vendor).
  • Click "Clean and restart" on the upper left. After DDU completes, your computer will restart.
  • Once back at the Windows login screen, you can select PIN or other login options.
AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
Gigabyte RX Vega 64 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
«13

Comments

  • LZoltowskiLZoltowski Posts: 6,350 Volunteer Moderator
    @cybereality should we make this sticky?
    Core i7-7700k @ 4.9 Ghz | 32 GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance @ 3000Mhz | 2x 1TB Samsung Evo | 2x 4GB WD Black
    ASUS MAXIMUS IX HERO | MSI AERO GTX 1080 OC @ 2000Mhz | Corsair Carbide Series 400C White (RGB FTW!) 

    Be kind to one another :)
  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 26,101 Oculus Staff
    Yeah, good call.
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    Gigabyte RX Vega 64 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • MAC_MAN86MAC_MAN86 Posts: 1,016
    Neo
    416.16 is ok for me. Although not had Home update to 1.31 yet.
  • uKERuKER Posts: 99
    Hiro Protagonist
    edited October 8
    I've had this "white light but no picture" countless times and it's always been solved by reinstalling the Rift's drivers.
    Always super happy to do so, having to download all 5 GB of it every time on a 5 Mbps connection, and then all over again if you want to enter the public beta channel.
    Mad props to Oculus' policy of no downloadable drivers once again. Very considerate.
  • bigmike20vtbigmike20vt Posts: 3,440 Valuable Player
    is this fixed now in the newer drivers? i think the above one is now 2 versions out of date (416.16 i think is the newest one)

    btw if you want to get one without all the bloatware carp i will be using these when i install my new gpu


    Fiat Coupe, gone. 350Z gone. Dirty nappies, no sleep & practical transport incoming. Thank goodness for VR :)
  • TomCgcmfcTomCgcmfc Posts: 390
    Trinity
    edited October 9
    I would try 398.82.  This has worked well for me and fixed quite a few others problems.  Sometimes, the latest greatest is not always best, lol!

    BTW, not sure what you mean about avoiding bloatware by avoiding the official nvidia download site.  You download the components but you only install what you want to.  If I have done a DDU clean up I usually just install the video, hd audio, and physics driver components.
    Alienware 17r4 Laptop with i7-7700hq 2.8/3.6, 32 gb ram, gtx1060 w/6gb ram, 256gb ssd, 1tb hdd, Oculus Rift w/2x sensors.  Now using an Alienware Graphics Amplifier (AGA) with Zotac gtx1080ti Blower and Asus vg248qe 144hz external monitor.  All works great!

    Also have a 64gb Oculus Go which I love for travel and quick VR Fixes.  Looking forward to the Quest!
  • bigmike20vtbigmike20vt Posts: 3,440 Valuable Player
    TomCgcmfc said:
    I would try 398.82.  This has worked well for me and fixed quite a few others problems.  Sometimes, the latest greatest is not always best, lol!

    BTW, not sure what you mean about avoiding bloatware by avoiding the official nvidia download site.  You download the components but you only install what you want to.  If I have done a DDU clean up I usually just install the video, hd audio, and physics driver components.
    the "clean" version of the drivers cuts a lot more out that the official installer does not let you.
    of course you can do it yourself if you want by deleting all the excess baggage, but unless you know exactly which ones can go then getting the clean version is easier imo.

    but that said to each their own.
    Fiat Coupe, gone. 350Z gone. Dirty nappies, no sleep & practical transport incoming. Thank goodness for VR :)
  • TomCgcmfcTomCgcmfc Posts: 390
    Trinity
    Sorry but downloading and installing a so called clean version from an unofficial nvidia website seems a little risky to me.  Maybe just me.
    Alienware 17r4 Laptop with i7-7700hq 2.8/3.6, 32 gb ram, gtx1060 w/6gb ram, 256gb ssd, 1tb hdd, Oculus Rift w/2x sensors.  Now using an Alienware Graphics Amplifier (AGA) with Zotac gtx1080ti Blower and Asus vg248qe 144hz external monitor.  All works great!

    Also have a 64gb Oculus Go which I love for travel and quick VR Fixes.  Looking forward to the Quest!
  • owenwpowenwp Posts: 667 Oculus Start Member
    edited October 9
    I don't know if this is the same issue, but I installed a new 2080ti today, and no matter what I try the Oculus devices screen always shows "No HDMI Connection" for the Rift and the LED stays amber. I have rolled back drivers (as far as I can, only the last 3 seem to support the 20 series), restarted Oculus, rebooted, tried different USB ports, etc. 

    When I tried a displayport to hdmi adapter, it stopped showing the error and says that is is properly connected, but the light is still amber and there is nothing in the display.

    I am on Windows 10 64 bit 1709, with an Intel i7-5930K.
    Sanzaru - Programmer
  • trek554trek554 Posts: 42
    Brain Burst
    owenwp said:
    I don't know if this is the same issue, but I installed a new 2080ti today, and no matter what I try the Oculus devices screen always shows "No HDMI Connection" for the Rift and the LED stays amber. I have rolled back drivers (as far as I can, only the last 3 seem to support the 20 series), restarted Oculus, rebooted, tried different USB ports, etc. 

    When I tried a displayport to hdmi adapter, it stopped showing the error and says that is is properly connected, but the light is still amber and there is nothing in the display.

    I am on Windows 10 64 bit 1709, with an Intel i7-5930K.
    Maybe update from your outdated version of Windows 10? 
  • bigmike20vtbigmike20vt Posts: 3,440 Valuable Player
    TomCgcmfc said:
    Sorry but downloading and installing a so called clean version from an unofficial nvidia website seems a little risky to me.  Maybe just me.
    fair enough to each their own and all that. there are certain respected sites i have been using for years which i trust as much, if not more than so called "official" sites... but that is why choice is a good thing.
    Fiat Coupe, gone. 350Z gone. Dirty nappies, no sleep & practical transport incoming. Thank goodness for VR :)
  • Konstantin.IvanovichKonstantin.Ivanovich Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    If you get a white light on Rift but no video feed on Nvidia driver 411.63, please run the attached command file and zip up the folder and upload here. This will help us resolve the issue in a future update. Thanks.
    Same problem but nvidia driver version is 416.16 !

    Windows 10 Pro 1803
    Motherboard: Gigabyte Z68P-DS3
    RAM: 16Gb
    CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2500K CPU @ 3.30GHz
    Video: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 6GB

  • hpat99hpat99 Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    edited October 10
    same problem as Konstantin, get black screen, no video , no sound. Please help
  • Konstantin.IvanovichKonstantin.Ivanovich Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    If you get a white light on Rift but no video feed on Nvidia driver 411.63, please run the attached command file and zip up the folder and upload here. This will help us resolve the issue in a future update. Thanks.
    Same problem but nvidia driver version is 416.16 !

    Windows 10 Pro 1803
    Motherboard: Gigabyte Z68P-DS3
    RAM: 16Gb
    CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2500K CPU @ 3.30GHz
    Video: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 6GB

    I solved my problem!


    Short:

    I deleted file C:\WINDOWS\System32\amd-vulkan64.json and all gets work fine even without  windows restart


    Long:

    Console command  "vulkaninfo"  gave me WARNING:
    WARNING: [Loader Message] Code 0 : loader_icd_scan: ICD JSON C:\Windows\System32\amd-vulkan64.json does not have an 'api_version' field.

    But I using Nvidia now
    File amd-vulkan64.json was created at 2015.12.17
    At that time I was using AMD video card
    And probably that file from old AMD driver (driver already uninstalled)
    I thought that may be source of problem and tried to delete that file and it helped

  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 26,101 Oculus Staff
    Thanks. I should note doing a DDU safe mode uninstall and then installing your latest video drivers should resolve the issue. We are just trying to get log files so we can diagnose the problem, so please do run the script I posted in the OP first. Thanks.
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    Gigabyte RX Vega 64 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 26,101 Oculus Staff
    owenwp said:
    I don't know if this is the same issue, but I installed a new 2080ti today, and no matter what I try the Oculus devices screen always shows "No HDMI Connection" for the Rift and the LED stays amber. I have rolled back drivers (as far as I can, only the last 3 seem to support the 20 series), restarted Oculus, rebooted, tried different USB ports, etc. 

    When I tried a displayport to hdmi adapter, it stopped showing the error and says that is is properly connected, but the light is still amber and there is nothing in the display.

    I am on Windows 10 64 bit 1709, with an Intel i7-5930K.
    Thanks @owenwp . Can you also upload your LogGatherer zip file? See this thread for how to get the file. Thanks. https://forums.oculusvr.com/community/discussion/33792/how-to-get-logs-for-bug-reports-for-consumer-rift-1-3/p1
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    Gigabyte RX Vega 64 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • kibarobkibarob Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    edited October 10
    Looks like that time of year again when oculus makes a manditory update an I own a paperweight until they find some workaround to get it to work again. Worked just fine before and even works on the old build on my laptop that i can put online now because it will stop working. 

    also when i try to repair the oculus software, it encounters an error, and just uninstalls itself. so now i dont even have oculus installed.
  • owenwpowenwp Posts: 667 Oculus Start Member
    Still happening after upgrading Windows to 1803.
    Sanzaru - Programmer
  • thunderkats2001thunderkats2001 Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    i have had the same issue black screen in the headset ive tried installing and updating graphics card tried rolling back the oculus update it worked a few times and now i have nothing as the games are needing to update the oculus to p;ay them what do i now???

  • jiltjesjiltjes Posts: 8
    NerveGear
    For me also happing. Even downgraded the NVidia driver to 399 something.
    What works is starting Oculus Home and then run a game. Only thing is that it requires a lot of PC power and that does not serve the games well...
    Hoping for a quick fix
  • Sonic-NekoChanSonic-NekoChan Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    If you get a white light on Rift but no video feed on Nvidia driver 411.63, please run the attached command file and zip up the folder and upload here. This will help us resolve the issue in a future update. Thanks.
    Same problem but nvidia driver version is 416.16 !

    Windows 10 Pro 1803
    Motherboard: Gigabyte Z68P-DS3
    RAM: 16Gb
    CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2500K CPU @ 3.30GHz
    Video: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 6GB

    I solved my problem!


    Short:

    I deleted file C:\WINDOWS\System32\amd-vulkan64.json and all gets work fine even without  windows restart


    Long:

    Console command  "vulkaninfo"  gave me WARNING:
    WARNING: [Loader Message] Code 0 : loader_icd_scan: ICD JSON C:\Windows\System32\amd-vulkan64.json does not have an 'api_version' field.

    But I using Nvidia now
    File amd-vulkan64.json was created at 2015.12.17
    At that time I was using AMD video card
    And probably that file from old AMD driver (driver already uninstalled)
    I thought that may be source of problem and tried to delete that file and it helped

    This worked for me, so whoever is having the problem, give it a go!, also Thank you for the fix
  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 26,101 Oculus Staff
    Thanks for the log files. I shared with the team.
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    Gigabyte RX Vega 64 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 26,101 Oculus Staff
    @owenwp Can you try to delete these two files? Please zip them up and send them to me in a PM or upload to this thread prior to deleting. Thanks.
    c:\windows\system32\vulkan-1-1-0-3-0.dll
    c:\windows\system32\vulkaninfo-1-1-0-3-0.exe
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    Gigabyte RX Vega 64 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • PaulMcGreenPaulMcGreen Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    If you get a white light on Rift but no video feed on Nvidia driver 411.63, please run the attached command file and zip up the folder and upload here. This will help us resolve the issue in a future update. Thanks.
    Same problem but nvidia driver version is 416.16 !

    Windows 10 Pro 1803
    Motherboard: Gigabyte Z68P-DS3
    RAM: 16Gb
    CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2500K CPU @ 3.30GHz
    Video: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 6GB

    I solved my problem!


    Short:

    I deleted file C:\WINDOWS\System32\amd-vulkan64.json and all gets work fine even without  windows restart


    Long:

    Console command  "vulkaninfo"  gave me WARNING:
    WARNING: [Loader Message] Code 0 : loader_icd_scan: ICD JSON C:\Windows\System32\amd-vulkan64.json does not have an 'api_version' field.

    But I using Nvidia now
    File amd-vulkan64.json was created at 2015.12.17
    At that time I was using AMD video card
    And probably that file from old AMD driver (driver already uninstalled)
    I thought that may be source of problem and tried to delete that file and it helped

    Thx a lot!!! I use eGPU. My laptop GPU is Radeon. My eGPU is GTX 1070ti. The drivers conflict was a common issue. You have helped a lot! Appreciate.
  • steeljockeysteeljockey Posts: 5
    NerveGear
    edited October 11
    Couple of things, updating to NVidia drivers 416.16 got display working in the HMD. Also on Oculus Home 1.31 and Windows 1803.

    Now, I have to make sure Oculus Home is running or the HMD displays won't work. I also had to remap my floor space, as the normal space I play in I am sitting in my racing cockpit just outside my stand up area, so the safety boundary always shows. I had to include the cockpit sitting area to stay within my boundary, which means when I'm standing, I can walk into it before the boundary shows - not safe. Can I turn off the boundary? Can we get the Rift to work without Oculus Home having to run in the background? Can we also turn off the music in Oculus Home when it is running?
  • owenwpowenwp Posts: 667 Oculus Start Member
    No change after deleting those files. Attached them here.
    Sanzaru - Programmer
  • jiltjesjiltjes Posts: 8
    NerveGear
    For me also still happening. Updated to 416.34, deleted the Vulkan fils, still a blackscreen in VR headset.

  • LZoltowskiLZoltowski Posts: 6,350 Volunteer Moderator
    jiltjes said:
    For me also still happening. Updated to 416.34, deleted the Vulkan fils, still a blackscreen in VR headset.

    owenwp said:
    No change after deleting those files. Attached them here.

    Looks like there are errors in Vulkan, can you please try using the DDU tool to completely remove the drivers and re-install a fresh copy on top?
    Core i7-7700k @ 4.9 Ghz | 32 GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance @ 3000Mhz | 2x 1TB Samsung Evo | 2x 4GB WD Black
    ASUS MAXIMUS IX HERO | MSI AERO GTX 1080 OC @ 2000Mhz | Corsair Carbide Series 400C White (RGB FTW!) 

    Be kind to one another :)
  • jiltjesjiltjes Posts: 8
    NerveGear
    jiltjes said:
    For me also still happening. Updated to 416.34, deleted the Vulkan fils, still a blackscreen in VR headset.


    Looks like there are errors in Vulkan, can you please try using the DDU tool to completely remove the drivers and re-install a fresh copy on top?
    Done, still black in Rift


  • LZoltowskiLZoltowski Posts: 6,350 Volunteer Moderator
    jiltjes said:
    jiltjes said:
    For me also still happening. Updated to 416.34, deleted the Vulkan fils, still a blackscreen in VR headset.


    Looks like there are errors in Vulkan, can you please try using the DDU tool to completely remove the drivers and re-install a fresh copy on top?
    Done, still black in Rift


    Are you on Nvidia or AMD?

    Maybe try installing the Vulkan drivers? 
    https://developer.nvidia.com/vulkan-driver

    Download the "Release Driver" for your OS
    Core i7-7700k @ 4.9 Ghz | 32 GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance @ 3000Mhz | 2x 1TB Samsung Evo | 2x 4GB WD Black
    ASUS MAXIMUS IX HERO | MSI AERO GTX 1080 OC @ 2000Mhz | Corsair Carbide Series 400C White (RGB FTW!) 

    Be kind to one another :)
«13
Sign In or Register to comment.