New to the forums? Click here to read the How To guide. -- Developers click here.

"Oculus has detected a problem with your graphics driver" possible fix, re: Nvidia + Core 2.0

LZoltowskiLZoltowski Posts: 6,429 Volunteer Moderator
edited October 11 in General
According to reports, you may experience the rift not showing a white indicator LED and no image in the rift with the core 2.0 update and latest Nvidia drivers.

A possible fix has been reported to work for people:

Delete the file C:\WINDOWS\System32\amd-vulkan64.json if it exists.

The most common correlation between the users with the issue is that at some point they had an AMD card in their system and the json file is interfering with the Vulkan drivers that Core 2.0 is now using.

A good idea is to use the DDU tool to completely wipe your drivers out and re-instal a fresh copy.

DDU can be found here: https://www.wagnardsoft.com/
Core i7-7700k @ 4.9 Ghz | 32 GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance @ 3000Mhz | 2x 1TB Samsung Evo | 2x 4GB WD Black
ASUS MAXIMUS IX HERO | MSI AERO GTX 1080 OC @ 2000Mhz | Corsair Carbide Series 400C White (RGB FTW!) 

Be kind to one another :)

Comments

  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 26,156 Oculus Staff
    Hey @LZoltowski thanks for posting this thread. The best way of solving this issue is to use DDU safe mode to uninstall all video drivers, including both Nvidia and AMD if you've ever used them on your machine, and then install that latest video driver for your current video card. You may also need to install the Intel graphics driver, particularly on laptops but any machine that includes an integrated GPU on the CPU may be affected (this would be most modern Intel processors). Also, it is spelled Vulkan with a "k". Thanks.
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    Gigabyte RX Vega 64 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • LZoltowskiLZoltowski Posts: 6,429 Volunteer Moderator
    Hey @LZoltowski thanks for posting this thread. The best way of solving this issue is to use DDU safe mode to uninstall all video drivers, including both Nvidia and AMD if you've ever used them on your machine, and then install that latest video driver for your current video card. You may also need to install the Intel graphics driver, particularly on laptops but any machine that includes an integrated GPU on the CPU may be affected (this would be most modern Intel processors). Also, it is spelled Vulkan with a "k". Thanks.
    Sorry, my startrek is showing. my auto-correct kicked in. fixed the spelling.
    Core i7-7700k @ 4.9 Ghz | 32 GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance @ 3000Mhz | 2x 1TB Samsung Evo | 2x 4GB WD Black
    ASUS MAXIMUS IX HERO | MSI AERO GTX 1080 OC @ 2000Mhz | Corsair Carbide Series 400C White (RGB FTW!) 

    Be kind to one another :)
  • Digikid1Digikid1 Posts: 1,395
    Project 2501
    Another tool to use is CCleaner. Cleans up files that DDU leaves behind along with invalid registry entrys. Best tool ever. All you need is the free version. 

    Www.piriform.com and click on CCleaner. 
  • roballen321roballen321 Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    Thank you so much for posting this! I've tried everything to fix this error, Oculus tech support were useless and I was just packing my rift up to take back to the store for Vive and I stumbled across your post and your fix worked like a charm! 
  • LZoltowskiLZoltowski Posts: 6,429 Volunteer Moderator
    Thank you so much for posting this! I've tried everything to fix this error, Oculus tech support were useless and I was just packing my rift up to take back to the store for Vive and I stumbled across your post and your fix worked like a charm! 
    Awesome! Glad you got it sorted!
    Core i7-7700k @ 4.9 Ghz | 32 GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance @ 3000Mhz | 2x 1TB Samsung Evo | 2x 4GB WD Black
    ASUS MAXIMUS IX HERO | MSI AERO GTX 1080 OC @ 2000Mhz | Corsair Carbide Series 400C White (RGB FTW!) 

    Be kind to one another :)
  • dosenbr0tdosenbr0t Posts: 4
    NerveGear
    edited October 12
    Sorry, but this doesn't solved the problem (for me).
  • LZoltowskiLZoltowski Posts: 6,429 Volunteer Moderator
    dosenbr0t said:
    Sorry, but this doesn't solved the problem (for me).
    What is your issue?
    Core i7-7700k @ 4.9 Ghz | 32 GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance @ 3000Mhz | 2x 1TB Samsung Evo | 2x 4GB WD Black
    ASUS MAXIMUS IX HERO | MSI AERO GTX 1080 OC @ 2000Mhz | Corsair Carbide Series 400C White (RGB FTW!) 

    Be kind to one another :)
  • dosenbr0tdosenbr0t Posts: 4
    NerveGear
    I get an error message in the oculus app, indicating that something is wrong with the graphic driver. The headset stays black. I already did a fresh install of the graphics driver (using the DDU Software in Safe Mode). The vulkan files are not in the directory (C:\WINDOWS\System32\amd-vulkan64.json).

    I also tried deleting the vulkan *dll and *exe files mentioned by cybereality in another post (in windows/system32 folder), and i did a repair installation of the oculus app.

    I'm also in contact with the oculus support via e-mail.

    I'm using a GTX 1070Ti (driver version 416.34) and never had an AMD Card

    I just want to play :( it's so anyoing

  • LZoltowskiLZoltowski Posts: 6,429 Volunteer Moderator
    dosenbr0t said:
    I get an error message in the oculus app, indicating that something is wrong with the graphic driver. The headset stays black. I already did a fresh install of the graphics driver (using the DDU Software in Safe Mode). The vulkan files are not in the directory (C:\WINDOWS\System32\amd-vulkan64.json).

    I also tried deleting the vulkan *dll and *exe files mentioned by cybereality in another post (in windows/system32 folder), and i did a repair installation of the oculus app.

    I'm also in contact with the oculus support via e-mail.

    I'm using a GTX 1070Ti (driver version 416.34) and never had an AMD Card

    I just want to play :( it's so anyoing

    Can you follow the instructions on here and attach the logs?
    https://forums.oculusvr.com/community/discussion/70097/nvidia-driver-411-63-not-rendering-to-headset-issue/p1
    Core i7-7700k @ 4.9 Ghz | 32 GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance @ 3000Mhz | 2x 1TB Samsung Evo | 2x 4GB WD Black
    ASUS MAXIMUS IX HERO | MSI AERO GTX 1080 OC @ 2000Mhz | Corsair Carbide Series 400C White (RGB FTW!) 

    Be kind to one another :)
  • ZenbaneZenbane Posts: 12,284 Power Poster
    edited October 12
    Reports of this working on Facebook as well:

     Sorted! I used DDU to remove all AMD and NVidia drivers in safe mode, then installed 416.16 drivers and it's now working. Before I fitted this 1080, I had an AMD FX380, and I wonder if it might have been detecting left-over drivers from that.

    Edit: I also uninstalled Oculus Tray Tool while I was at it. Don't know if that in itself made any difference.


    Yes it was stuck to the old amd driver in the reg. Hkey_local_machine\software\khronos\vulkan\drivers and add the location of the nvidia nv-vk64.json


    Are you a fan of the Myst games? Check out my Mod at http://www.mystrock.com/
    Catch me on Twitter: twitter.com/zenbane
  • StoofnieStoofnie Posts: 5
    NerveGear
    Pretty excited to try this, sounds like a promising fix. So many old AMD regrets!
  • StoofnieStoofnie Posts: 5
    NerveGear
    IT WORKED! you are geniuses. <3 Thank you!
  • LZoltowskiLZoltowski Posts: 6,429 Volunteer Moderator
    Stoofnie said:
    IT WORKED! you are geniuses. <3 Thank you!
    AWESOME! SO glad it worked.
    Core i7-7700k @ 4.9 Ghz | 32 GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance @ 3000Mhz | 2x 1TB Samsung Evo | 2x 4GB WD Black
    ASUS MAXIMUS IX HERO | MSI AERO GTX 1080 OC @ 2000Mhz | Corsair Carbide Series 400C White (RGB FTW!) 

    Be kind to one another :)
  • wolwewolwe Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    Nice.
    After I deleted the file, my Rift instantly worked again.
    THANK YOU. :D

    ...also: Stupid, stupid error. This should not have happened in the first place. ;)
  • dosenbr0tdosenbr0t Posts: 4
    NerveGear
    I got the solution (at least for me). Because i'm using a dedicated graphics card (gtx 1070ti), i deactivated the onboard intel awhile ago. I reactivated the onboard chip and now it works ... (even though the rift is plugged in the hdmi port of my graphics card)
  • bud01bud01 Posts: 169
    Hiro Protagonist
    This fixed my problem instantly just by deleting the file C:\WINDOWS\System32\amd-vulkan64.json, closing the Oculus app, then re-opening Oculus / put headset on.
    Box had a AMD card in it for testing a while back (quadro).

    thanks other poster, good job sharing this.

Sign In or Register to comment.