New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

Skyrim VR now supports Ambient Occlusion and Simple global illumination via ENB

LZoltowskiLZoltowski Posts: 6,774 Volunteer Moderator
edited October 2018 in Games and Apps
So this happened, Ambient Occlusion in VR in Skyrim VR via the ENB injector! ... the difference in visual quality is astounding, so much extra detail.

Working on a custom profile, I like my colours a little bit warmer, also making a proper sunset and sunrise cycle. You can tell when it's on and when it's off :)




Core i7-7700k @ 4.9 Ghz | 32 GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance @ 3000Mhz | 2x 1TB Samsung Evo | 2x 4GB WD Black
ASUS MAXIMUS IX HERO | MSI AERO GTX 1080 OC @ 2000Mhz | Corsair Carbide Series 400C White (RGB FTW!) 

Be kind to one another :)

Comments

  • MowTinMowTin Posts: 1,901 Valuable Player
    Looks nice. I may be going back into this. But doesn't that mean that script extender has been made and all sorts of mods are possible for VR? 
    i7 6700k 2080ti   Rift-S, Index
  • TaintFistTaintFist Posts: 180
    Art3mis
    @MowTin
    SKSEVR has been good to go for a while, lots of good stuff to add in that required it.
    I may have a look at ENB again, my eyes are sensitive though, so I will have to find a way to take down the bright a bit.  I have darker nights for at night, but that day time is gonna blind me hehe.
    Thx LZ :D


  • LuciferousLuciferous Posts: 2,315 Valuable Player
    Oh exciting stuff never used ENB is it a pain to set up?
  • LZoltowskiLZoltowski Posts: 6,774 Volunteer Moderator
    Oh exciting stuff never used ENB is it a pain to set up?
    You need to go to download the latest ENB: http://enbdev.com/mod_tesskyrimvr_v0354.htm

    Then place the entire contents of WrapperVersion in your SkyrimVR folder (where the exe is) ...
    Once you launch SkyrimVR it will say "building shaders" and can take a few min on first start

    Once in the game, you can press SHIFT + ENTER to open the config menu up (You have to do it on the monitor, it won't show up in VR)

    You can then play with the settings, or if you just want AO, disable everything apart from ambient Occlusion, click save changes, then Apply changes.




    Core i7-7700k @ 4.9 Ghz | 32 GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance @ 3000Mhz | 2x 1TB Samsung Evo | 2x 4GB WD Black
    ASUS MAXIMUS IX HERO | MSI AERO GTX 1080 OC @ 2000Mhz | Corsair Carbide Series 400C White (RGB FTW!) 

    Be kind to one another :)
  • LuciferousLuciferous Posts: 2,315 Valuable Player
    Nice one, will give it a go. Skyrim VR........ my precious.
  • MowTinMowTin Posts: 1,901 Valuable Player
    Oh exciting stuff never used ENB is it a pain to set up?
    You need to go to download the latest ENB: http://enbdev.com/mod_tesskyrimvr_v0354.htm

    Then place the entire contents of WrapperVersion in your SkyrimVR folder (where the exe is) ...
    Once you launch SkyrimVR it will say "building shaders" and can take a few min on first start

    Once in the game, you can press SHIFT + ENTER to open the config menu up (You have to do it on the monitor, it won't show up in VR)

    You can then play with the settings, or if you just want AO, disable everything apart from ambient Occlusion, click save changes, then Apply changes.




    Once you do this, do you have to SHIFT+ENTER every time you play? And is this stable?
    i7 6700k 2080ti   Rift-S, Index
  • LZoltowskiLZoltowski Posts: 6,774 Volunteer Moderator
    MowTin said:
    Oh exciting stuff never used ENB is it a pain to set up?
    You need to go to download the latest ENB: http://enbdev.com/mod_tesskyrimvr_v0354.htm

    Then place the entire contents of WrapperVersion in your SkyrimVR folder (where the exe is) ...
    Once you launch SkyrimVR it will say "building shaders" and can take a few min on first start

    Once in the game, you can press SHIFT + ENTER to open the config menu up (You have to do it on the monitor, it won't show up in VR)

    You can then play with the settings, or if you just want AO, disable everything apart from ambient Occlusion, click save changes, then Apply changes.




    Once you do this, do you have to SHIFT+ENTER every time you play? And is this stable?
    Stable, only SHIFT + ENTER when you want to adjust things.

    With the default profile, anything other than AO will look bright and super crappy, that is why I am making a custom profile.
    Core i7-7700k @ 4.9 Ghz | 32 GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance @ 3000Mhz | 2x 1TB Samsung Evo | 2x 4GB WD Black
    ASUS MAXIMUS IX HERO | MSI AERO GTX 1080 OC @ 2000Mhz | Corsair Carbide Series 400C White (RGB FTW!) 

    Be kind to one another :)
  • motorsepmotorsep Posts: 1,481 Oculus Start Member
    I wonder if it runs well on i7-7700 and 1060 GTX 6Gb
  • MowTinMowTin Posts: 1,901 Valuable Player
    Skyrim's engine runs really really well in VR. If I were Oculus, I would commission more open world games using that engine. They don't have to be as massive as Skyrim. 
    i7 6700k 2080ti   Rift-S, Index
  • snowdogsnowdog Posts: 7,390 Valuable Player
    MowTin said:
    Skyrim's engine runs really really well in VR. If I were Oculus, I would commission more open world games using that engine. They don't have to be as massive as Skyrim. 

    Bethesda aren't using that version of the engine any more and even if they were it's highly unlikely that Zenimax would give the go ahead to such a project.
    "This you have to understand. There's only one way to hurt a man who's lost everything. Give him back something broken."

    Thomas Covenant, Unbeliever
  • MowTinMowTin Posts: 1,901 Valuable Player
    For some reason, it slowed down my movement speed. I walk so slowly now. 

    I couldn't see the AO. It was a little confusing. So many parameters. I tried to uncheck everything but "EnableAmbientOclusion." I saved and clicked <<<apply .. >>>but couldn't see the difference. Maybe I did something wrong.

    How do I remove it? Do I have to delete the files I added?
    i7 6700k 2080ti   Rift-S, Index
  • LuciferousLuciferous Posts: 2,315 Valuable Player
    Yeah same here it is quite confusing (my walking was Ok though). Although I worked out you have to tick the use effect in the global section to activate it. I think.

    I turned everything else off but AO but struggled to see any real improvement. For example inside was very bright, probably too bright and outside was just very gloomy. I went into some caves and that looked pretty good.

    So at the moment not really seeing any big improvements. Probably doing something wrong though and did not read the manual. Most options, when ticked I could  not see any visible change at all.

  • MowTinMowTin Posts: 1,901 Valuable Player
    @LZoltowski

    Have you created that custom profile yet? 
    i7 6700k 2080ti   Rift-S, Index
  • nroskonrosko Posts: 954
    Neo
    Seems there is now a new mod manager called vortex. Is it straightforward to convert to this? 
  • TaintFistTaintFist Posts: 180
    Art3mis
    edited October 2018
    @nrosko
    Vortex is very user friendly, fairly easy to get into and has a few good video guides to use (I linked a series of them by Gopher)


    It is just freshly out of alpha, and now in beta, so I would expect there would still be a bug or two to be found.  I used it extensively through the alpha, but I stopped using it when I encountered an odd bug that wouldn't allow me to install any downloads over 250Mb hehe (which was later fixed).

    I actually returned to Mod Organizer 2 when I encountered that bug.  The positives are immense for using MO2, but it is not as easy to get into, there is certainly a learning curve, but if you put in the effort to learn it, it pays off big.

    So really depending on how deep into modding you plan to go, I would recommend one or the other:

    MO2 is more complex, but has a lot more features to offer, and allows you tools and micro-managements of mods and files that you can't get anywhere else, at least not yet.  Also, the virtual folder is a huge boon, since it keeps your game data folders "clean" so if you reinstall a game, the process is much faster and easier in the end.  The virtual folder also makes testing and switching in/out mods easier, as it leaves a smaller, "footprint," on the game.

    Vortex is super easy to use, has a few more complex features that are quick and easy to learn (again Gopher does a great job explaining these things), and is much more user friendly.  If you only plan on using a few mods (1 to 150) this is a good way to go.  The interface is very nice, and since it is made by the people on the Nexus, it is very nicely integrated into the Nexus site.

    EDIT: Almost forgot, if you are currently using NMM, Vortex has an import feature to import your mods from NMM to Vortex.  From what I understand this feature is quick and easy, but I've never used it personally.


Sign In or Register to comment.