New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

Should I get the i5 or the i7 for my VR needs?

MediasaurMediasaur Posts: 4
NerveGear
edited February 5 in Oculus Rift S and Rift
G'day mates, I am in need of a new CPU for my PC as my current APU (lord forgive me) is just not cutting it. Money is definitely an important factor in my decision for a new CPU, preferably a CPU under £300-350. I am currently considering the new i5-8600k with 6 cores, 6 threads and a base clock of 3.6GHz. I'm no expert on computer parts and have been frequenting VR discussions about which CPU to buy but I always get the same thing which is 50% i5 and 50% i7 users all contradicting each other's claims about what VR needs most from a rig. I've heard i7's are basically essential for this due to their ability to handle physics in games much better than an i5, which i'm sure is true. But then there's people contradicting that with claims about how i5's do just as good a job in almost all cases. So now i'm a little stuck, I believe an i5 would be a great choice for me as it seems great value for something very close to an i7. The kind of VR games I'm planning on playing are Beat Saber (which runs pretty alright on a good day but most days has tracking issues and sabers passing through blocks like wtf), VRChat (which runs like hell with more than 15+ people in most rooms) and Rec Room. Future proofing and streaming aren't the biggest things on my mind either so i'm not freaked about that rn. Any advice would be great as I just need an answer after all my research, btw I'm also aiming for 45-90 fps, I'm not an fps freak tho... thanks!  :)

My Current Rig:
GPU: EVGA Geforce GTX 1060 6GB
APU: AMD A10-7850k Radeon R7 @ 3.6GHz aka the problemo
RAM: DDR3 16GB (2x8GB) will upgrade
Motherboard: GA-F2A78M-D3H will upgrade
Windows 10 64 bit
HMD: Oculus Rift CV1 /w touch controllers
x 2 sensors