New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

Extra Sensor Support for the Rift S

Im starting this thread as other people have had issues with close contact touch controller dead zones - As oculus has mentioned support for external sensors is possible, just there has to be demand for it.  

Comments

• MAC_MAN86MAC_MAN86 Posts: 2,262
    Wintermute
    The Demand for it is supposedly measured by Votes in UserVoice which never gets attention. The most ever Votes is for Strafe to be added in Home yet they ignore it!
  • xsrvaderxxsrvaderx Posts: 4
    NerveGear
    edited May 2019
    I have been using the original Rift for about two years now without major tracking problems.
    Since a few days I now also have the Rift S, but the tracking is not of the same level as the original Rift.
    The dead area immediately before the headset is terrible in many situations.
    If this cannot be 100% solved with software / firmware updates, the external sensors are required for a good experience.
  • antitrust42antitrust42 Posts: 115
    Art3mis
    i return my mine
  • SkScotcheggSkScotchegg Posts: 1,348
    Project 2501
    Another vote here to bring back Constellation tracking for the original sensors to be used with Rift S.

Many of my best game's don't work properly with Rift S Insight tracking due to dead spots near the headset causing freezing making it impossible for me to aim properly with Rifle+scopes in Onward/Pavlov/Contractors and also the same goes for bows in Archery games like In Death/Apex/Skyrim.
    UK: England - Leeds - - RTX 2080 - Rift CV1 & Rift S - Make love, not war - See you in the Oasis!
  • KiwiphobicKiwiphobic Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    Having the option to use the external sensors, in tandem with the inside out system, would solve/enhance tracking.  I haven't upgraded to the Rift S yet, this option would ease my mind to get one.  One vote from me.