New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

Rift S and Rift 1.38 PTC Release Notes

1246711

Comments

  • DoctoriDoctori Posts: 64
    Hiro Protagonist
    edited May 2019
    Doctori said:
    LOL


  • ninjacoiffeurninjacoiffeur Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    edited May 2019
    people who install the beta update don t forget to reset the headset in the oculus software after installation
  • DeliriumBladesDeliriumBlades Posts: 10
    Brain Burst
    RG4520 said:
    I wanted to put this out there for what it's worth. I've been experiencing the random snow/static every 5 to 20 minutes since day one. I put in a support ticket to Oculus on day one. We've been going back and forth and today they told me they wanted me to send the whole thing back. I send mine back, they ship out a new one. They said it would take two or more weeks. Wasn't really wanting to wait that long so I just exchanged mine at Best Buy. 

    My day one model was manufactured 3/19. The one I exchanged it for, which didn't get to the store until this past Tuesday (one week from launch) was manufactured 4/19. 

    The cord felt a little different on the new headset. It may just be placebo, but I noticed it right away as I was unpacking. Almost felt like a deflated balloon latexy kinda thing, whereas the first felt less stretchy around the cable. (if that makes any sense) It was also wrapped in the case in a different orientation than my original. 

    It's now been a solid 2 hours of playing a variety of games and I haven't gotten a single flash. It's also not stuttering when opening up pass-through like the other one was prone to do at times. My original headset was flashing static almost immediately upon firing it up. It played fantastic, no crashes or anything, just the flashing static every 5 to 20 minutes, and the pass-through not always wanting to cooperate. This new one has none of those issues thus far. I've tried out both the original firmware, and yesterdays update, and it was just as smooth and non static flashy on both. 

    I've read from a variety of users that they've gotten flashes as late as several hours into playing, so if I get any static flashing whatsoever I will update this post right away. I'm not discounting that I'm in a honeymoon phase and this headset just hasn't decided to act up yet, and the manufacture date has nothing to do with the static or whatnot. However the evidence so far is promising. On the last headset I tried all 8 of my USB slots. 6 3.0 and 2 3.1. I also used an adapter and tried the Nvidia virtual link USB C connection on my 2080ti Founders Edition. It was the same flashing on every port. On the new headset tonight I started out with the 3.1, but if I go the weekend without a static flash I'll start trying the others as well just to cover my bases. 

    And while it may just be the default thing they do, the fact that Oculus wanted to exchange my full kit instead of telling me to wait for a firmware update or maybe send me a new cable, led me to go ahead and do the exchange at Best Buy because I knew it was a separate shipment and was probably not just another one from the same batch.

    Maybe it is hardware? I would be super curious to see tear-downs on some of these and see if the headsets were manufactured with different models of  components (maybe to keep the supply chain flowing, or maybe there are multiple factories making them, etc. Kind of like how Nvidia used different ram modules on the 2080ti's, some Samsung, some Micron)


    Mine are manufactured 4/2019.....i never had black screen issue..but i have the snowy white flashes every few minutes.. Sometimes 1-3 times in a burst of a few minutes...then nothing for 5-10 minutes,then a blip again. etc.. never ends. Sometimes it'll do it with in the 1st few seconds of a session and sometimes it wont do it for a few minutes
  • javelina1javelina1 Posts: 7
    NerveGear
    Mine are manufactured 4/2019.....i never had black screen issue..but i have the snowy white flashes every few minutes.. Sometimes 1-3 times in a burst of a few minutes...then nothing for 5-10 minutes,then a blip again. etc.. never ends. Sometimes it'll do it with in the 1st few seconds of a session and sometimes it wont do it for a few minutes
    How do you determine the manufacture date? 
  • Hunter1Hunter1 Posts: 9
    NerveGear
    Sound is still too low after firmware update. The Oculus rep Nate said that an upcoming sound update would be significant. Being that this is a beta update, I do hope that the REAL update will surprise us with improved sound.

    As for resetting the Rift, sometimes just restarting the app is not enough. I've had a couple of connect issues I resolved by stopping and restarting the oculus services. I ran across a batch file someone created some time ago, and it has saved me many times.
    Here it is:
    @echo off
    echo Preparing to disable Oculus Runtime Services
    pause

    net stop OVRService

    echo Oculus Runtime Stopped, enjoy your non-VR experience
    echo When you're ready to re-enable VR
    pause

    net start OVRService

    echo Oculus Runtime Services have been re-enabled
    echo Enjoy your Virtual Reality experiences and
    pause

    Just copy the above into a text file and save it with a .bat extension. Right-clicking on the file to run as admin is all that is needed.

  • DeliriumBladesDeliriumBlades Posts: 10
    Brain Burst
    javelina1 said:
    Mine are manufactured 4/2019.....i never had black screen issue..but i have the snowy white flashes every few minutes.. Sometimes 1-3 times in a burst of a few minutes...then nothing for 5-10 minutes,then a blip again. etc.. never ends. Sometimes it'll do it with in the 1st few seconds of a session and sometimes it wont do it for a few minutes
    How do you determine the manufacture date? 
    on the box it came in..
  • tehnibitehnibi Posts: 8
    NerveGear
    edited May 2019
    still having the same issues saying something about my drivers on my graphics card and stuff about vulkan api (gtx 1060 6gb) it is fully up to date with the may 27th driver I even used DDU program in safe mode to clean it all up ... twice



    the rift s I have works I took it to my brothers house and set it up there worked perfectly (gtx 1070) 
  • Hicks613Hicks613 Posts: 321
    Nexus 6
    Windows Update May 2019 audio in Oculus Home issue is not addressed.  Tracking has not been looked at.  yet
  • Hunter1Hunter1 Posts: 9
    NerveGear
    There is another sound issue that many people may not be aware of that could be affecting them. I have it too. The balance of the speakers in Windows 10 is directly tied to the volume. For example, if you set your volume to 100, both left and right balance channels get set to 100. The only way I can get the balance of my stereo speakers/headphones/Rift headphones to the 50 mark, where they should be, is to lower the volume to 50. So people with popping and cracking sounds in the Rift S may be because of this issue. If the L/R balance is set to 100 this can cause distortion. This doesn't bother me with my computer speakers as I use my usb audio hardware to control the volume. But both my CV1 and Rift S are "out of balance". You guys may want to check your sound settings in the control panel.

    Somewhere back a few Windows 10 updates this got broken for me. I don't know when. A few folks have put in tickets to Microsoft for this issue with no resolution that I have found.
  • TheRealCyberTheRealCyber Posts: 193
    Art3mis
    I just tried the PTC. Sound did seem slightly better in Beat Saber but mostly the same in Robo Recall (though it was fine for me to begin with). Maybe it's placebo, I was expecting a bigger difference. The issue I was having with grab lag and throwing is still there, but maybe it's a hardware issue.
  • Cool_MC_CoolCool_MC_Cool Posts: 31
    Brain Burst
    Allways send logs to support with loggatherer and new update. 
    My logs since update looks very different to before update. 
    Maybe the informations are changed and helpful to Oculus. 
  • TomCgcmfcTomCgcmfc Posts: 2,158 Valuable Player
    Well yesterday’s grip lag fix thanks to 1.38ptc did not last long.  It came back today so I am once again sans controller battery covers, lol!

    Custom built gaming desktop; i9 9900k (water cooled) oc to 5ghz, gtx 1080 ti, 32 gb 3000hz ram, 1 tb ssd, 4 tb hdd.  Asus  ROG Maximus xi hero wifi mb, StarTech 4 port/4 controller sata powered usb3.0 pcie card, Asus VG248QE 1080p 144hz gaming monitor, Oculus Rift cv1 w/2x sensors, Vive Pro w/2.0 base stations/controllers, Quest w/Link and VD wireless (good/close 5Ghz wifi and PC with Ethernet cable to my Router).

  • DEKEDDEKED Posts: 8
    NerveGear
    I can confirm that my 04/19 Rift S has the same issues. Static Whites und BSOD here and there...
  • tex1975tex1975 Posts: 9
    NerveGear
    151/5000
    a disaster now the problem is even more serious because I can no longer connect oculus, having tried all the things written in the forum I will send it back
  • OrkelOrkel Posts: 123
    Art3mis
    tex1975 said:
    151/5000
    a disaster now the problem is even more serious because I can no longer connect oculus, having tried all the things written in the forum I will send it back
    Same here, some small update on the beta channel happened today and now the headset cannot be detected.
  • pforsgardpforsgard Posts: 9
    NerveGear
    Orkel said:
    tex1975 said:
    151/5000
    a disaster now the problem is even more serious because I can no longer connect oculus, having tried all the things written in the forum I will send it back
    Same here, some small update on the beta channel happened today and now the headset cannot be detected.
    I have the same issue. No headset detected after update. 
  • Techy111Techy111 Posts: 6,735 Volunteer Moderator
    Opt out and roll back guys, see if it kicks back to life ???
    A PC with lots of gadgets inside and a thing to see in 3D that you put on your head.

  • pexpe85pexpe85 Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    same problem, no headset detected after update....
  • dburnedburne Posts: 3,537 Valuable Player
    Orkel said:
    tex1975 said:
    151/5000
    a disaster now the problem is even more serious because I can no longer connect oculus, having tried all the things written in the forum I will send it back
    Same here, some small update on the beta channel happened today and now the headset cannot be detected.

    Hmm I have not seen an update today on PTC, least not that I noticed.
    Don

    EVGA Z390 Dark MB | I9 9900k| EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 Ultra |32 GB G Skill 3200 cl14 ram | Warthog Throttle | VKB Gunfighter Pro/MCG Pro grip | Crosswind Pedals | EVGA DG 87 Case| Rift S | Quest |
  • javelina1javelina1 Posts: 7
    NerveGear
    dburne said:

    Hmm I have not seen an update today on PTC, least not that I noticed.
    Me neither....

    still on beta: 1.38.0.250171
    firmware: 1.7.1
  • dburnedburne Posts: 3,537 Valuable Player
    javelina1 said:
    dburne said:

    Hmm I have not seen an update today on PTC, least not that I noticed.
    Me neither....

    still on beta: 1.38.0.250171
    firmware: 1.7.1
    Yep same here.
    Don

    EVGA Z390 Dark MB | I9 9900k| EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 Ultra |32 GB G Skill 3200 cl14 ram | Warthog Throttle | VKB Gunfighter Pro/MCG Pro grip | Crosswind Pedals | EVGA DG 87 Case| Rift S | Quest |
  • pexpe85pexpe85 Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    edited May 2019
    edit. reinstall stable firmware and now it works. beta channel no more
  • stch7299stch7299 Posts: 4
    NerveGear
    RG4520 said:
    I wanted to put this out there for what it's worth. I've been experiencing the random snow/static every 5 to 20 minutes since day one. I put in a support ticket to Oculus on day one. We've been going back and forth and today they told me they wanted me to send the whole thing back. I send mine back, they ship out a new one. They said it would take two or more weeks. Wasn't really wanting to wait that long so I just exchanged mine at Best Buy. 

    My day one model was manufactured 3/19. The one I exchanged it for, which didn't get to the store until this past Tuesday (one week from launch) was manufactured 4/19. 

    The cord felt a little different on the new headset. It may just be placebo, but I noticed it right away as I was unpacking. Almost felt like a deflated balloon latexy kinda thing, whereas the first felt less stretchy around the cable. (if that makes any sense) It was also wrapped in the case in a different orientation than my original. 

    It's now been a solid 2 hours of playing a variety of games and I haven't gotten a single flash. It's also not stuttering when opening up pass-through like the other one was prone to do at times. My original headset was flashing static almost immediately upon firing it up. It played fantastic, no crashes or anything, just the flashing static every 5 to 20 minutes, and the pass-through not always wanting to cooperate. This new one has none of those issues thus far. I've tried out both the original firmware, and yesterdays update, and it was just as smooth and non static flashy on both. 

    I've read from a variety of users that they've gotten flashes as late as several hours into playing, so if I get any static flashing whatsoever I will update this post right away. I'm not discounting that I'm in a honeymoon phase and this headset just hasn't decided to act up yet, and the manufacture date has nothing to do with the static or whatnot. However the evidence so far is promising. On the last headset I tried all 8 of my USB slots. 6 3.0 and 2 3.1. I also used an adapter and tried the Nvidia virtual link USB C connection on my 2080ti Founders Edition. It was the same flashing on every port. On the new headset tonight I started out with the 3.1, but if I go the weekend without a static flash I'll start trying the others as well just to cover my bases. 

    And while it may just be the default thing they do, the fact that Oculus wanted to exchange my full kit instead of telling me to wait for a firmware update or maybe send me a new cable, led me to go ahead and do the exchange at Best Buy because I knew it was a separate shipment and was probably not just another one from the same batch.

    Maybe it is hardware? I would be super curious to see tear-downs on some of these and see if the headsets were manufactured with different models of  components (maybe to keep the supply chain flowing, or maybe there are multiple factories making them, etc. Kind of like how Nvidia used different ram modules on the 2080ti's, some Samsung, some Micron)

    UPDATE: I'm actually relieved to update that the static flashes returned in the exact fashion they've been occurring all along. I'm now pretty much sold that it's a software issue.

    How do u know when the rift s was mfg?
  • TomCgcmfcTomCgcmfc Posts: 2,158 Valuable Player
    Look at the barcode label on the box it came in.

    Custom built gaming desktop; i9 9900k (water cooled) oc to 5ghz, gtx 1080 ti, 32 gb 3000hz ram, 1 tb ssd, 4 tb hdd.  Asus  ROG Maximus xi hero wifi mb, StarTech 4 port/4 controller sata powered usb3.0 pcie card, Asus VG248QE 1080p 144hz gaming monitor, Oculus Rift cv1 w/2x sensors, Vive Pro w/2.0 base stations/controllers, Quest w/Link and VD wireless (good/close 5Ghz wifi and PC with Ethernet cable to my Router).

  • MAC_MAN86MAC_MAN86 Posts: 2,262
    Wintermute
    It's on the cardboard box. Mine is 4/19 and has the issues. Needs a proper software fix and an announcement is well over due.
  • criznagcriznag Posts: 6
    NerveGear
    I just bought a powered 10 port USB 3.0 Hub and all my issues are gone!!! Still on old firmware/software!! Before black screen crash 2-5 minutes into Robo Recall!! WOOHOO! So fun!
  • MAC_MAN86MAC_MAN86 Posts: 2,262
    Wintermute
    Test it for 2hours then try again next day and report back ;)
  • xSTONEMANxxSTONEMANx Posts: 195
    Art3mis
    criznag said:
    I just bought a powered 10 port USB 3.0 Hub and all my issues are gone!!! Still on old firmware/software!! Before black screen crash 2-5 minutes into Robo Recall!! WOOHOO! So fun!
    Can you share a link to the 10 port hub please.
  • TomCgcmfcTomCgcmfc Posts: 2,158 Valuable Player
    edited June 2019
    jdenney said:
    criznag said:
    I just bought a powered 10 port USB 3.0 Hub and all my issues are gone!!! Still on old firmware/software!! Before black screen crash 2-5 minutes into Robo Recall!! WOOHOO! So fun!
    Can you share a link to the 10 port hub please.
    Like Mac said, wait for after the honeymoon period (like 1 or 2 PC restarts, over a couple of days) to evaluate this imho.

    Custom built gaming desktop; i9 9900k (water cooled) oc to 5ghz, gtx 1080 ti, 32 gb 3000hz ram, 1 tb ssd, 4 tb hdd.  Asus  ROG Maximus xi hero wifi mb, StarTech 4 port/4 controller sata powered usb3.0 pcie card, Asus VG248QE 1080p 144hz gaming monitor, Oculus Rift cv1 w/2x sensors, Vive Pro w/2.0 base stations/controllers, Quest w/Link and VD wireless (good/close 5Ghz wifi and PC with Ethernet cable to my Router).

  • CheesyJoksterCheesyJokster Posts: 3
    NerveGear
    I thought I was in the clear, but then last night I almost got through the end of the first level in Robo Recall, doing the recall part, and then my hands stop moving in the game. I could only rotate them, no horizontal or vertical movement. I unplugged the cable from the headset and back in which fixed it. I then was redesigning my home space and it never messed up. Granted that has zero action going on. I am going to continue to test further. I do feel it has improved overall after the updates for me personally.
Sign In or Register to comment.