New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

Rift S - Intermittent Mic Problem?

GeminiNightGeminiNight Posts: 2
NerveGear
Hey all,

I am using the Rift S mic in game and 80% of the time it works fine, however the other 20% the quality drops and I sound like a robot when I talk. Others tell me this, and I can hear it in recordings too. The robotic voice only lasts for about 15 seconds and then it starts to sound normal again.

What can I do to solve this issue?

Thanks!

Comments

  • n0xpn0xp Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    Hey man, even though no one responded, I just wanted to let you know that I'm experiencing the same thing.

    You're not alone.
  • MisterRogersMisterRogers Posts: 8
    NerveGear
    I have the issue where my mic 100% stops working after a random time and I have to reset my USB connection. I think both of these issues may have something to do with a lack of power going through the USB. I ordered a PCIe card for USB 3.1 2nd gen. I'll see if that helps.
  • BD4GSBD4GS Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    I have the issue where my mic 100% stops working after a random time and I have to reset my USB connection. I think both of these issues may have something to do with a lack of power going through the USB. I ordered a PCIe card for USB 3.1 2nd gen. I'll see if that helps.
    Please let us know if your PCIe card fixed your mic issue.
  • rVRclosetrVRcloset Posts: 386
    Trinity
    I have had this as well, but it only happens when using discord, never on normal streams.
    So guess it's a discord bug.
    The Closet Sim Rig
    Aourus Pro Z390 - i7 8086K 32GB Ram - MSI RTX 2080 Ti Gaming X Trio 11GB - Windows 10  / GT Omega WS - NLR V3 - RS6 - Jetseat kw-908 / Fanatec CSW 2.5 / Fanatec ClubSport V3 pedals / Fanatec SQ Shifter 1.5 / Fanatec CS HB V.1.5 / HE SQ Shifter / SHH Shifter / TH8A Shifter / G27 Shifter - Button Box / DSD Button Box / BBJ Button Box / Wind simulator / Rift - S
  • rVRclosetrVRcloset Posts: 386
    Trinity
    Actually happened when I streamed Shadow Point tonight outside of discord.. . Not as long or often as when using discord, but it was there a few times.
    So guess it didn't have anything to do with discord.
    The Closet Sim Rig
    Aourus Pro Z390 - i7 8086K 32GB Ram - MSI RTX 2080 Ti Gaming X Trio 11GB - Windows 10  / GT Omega WS - NLR V3 - RS6 - Jetseat kw-908 / Fanatec CSW 2.5 / Fanatec ClubSport V3 pedals / Fanatec SQ Shifter 1.5 / Fanatec CS HB V.1.5 / HE SQ Shifter / SHH Shifter / TH8A Shifter / G27 Shifter - Button Box / DSD Button Box / BBJ Button Box / Wind simulator / Rift - S
  • rVRclosetrVRcloset Posts: 386
    Trinity
    Looks like my issue is fixed now. Seems my kable extensions was causing it, tried without extensions today, and the guy in discord I tested with didn't hear me become a robot for the whole session. :)
    The Closet Sim Rig
    Aourus Pro Z390 - i7 8086K 32GB Ram - MSI RTX 2080 Ti Gaming X Trio 11GB - Windows 10  / GT Omega WS - NLR V3 - RS6 - Jetseat kw-908 / Fanatec CSW 2.5 / Fanatec ClubSport V3 pedals / Fanatec SQ Shifter 1.5 / Fanatec CS HB V.1.5 / HE SQ Shifter / SHH Shifter / TH8A Shifter / G27 Shifter - Button Box / DSD Button Box / BBJ Button Box / Wind simulator / Rift - S
  • GeminiNightGeminiNight Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    Sorry for the late reply guys, I checked back here for a while and then gave up on getting a reply. Thanks for all the replies, it's nice to know I am not alone on this.

    I contacted Oculus support and was told to try the following steps:

    • Try re-seating the USB cable and headset cable. Click here for the steps on how to complete this.
    • Try another USB 3.0 port
    • Disconnect additional microphones (if any)
    • Exit any additional applications recording audio
    • Set the headset as the default Windows communication device
    Sadly none of the above suggestions have helped. The noise only happens intermittently, but as I stream and record videos, it's pretty frustrating to have 10 - 20 seconds of loud robotic voice.

    This is a clip I took of it happening, my voice starts of normal, goes robotic, and then sorts itself out again. 

    https://clips.twitch.tv/IgnorantAntediluvianAlfalfaPanicBasket

    I've contacted support again to see what else I can try.

    I don't use a cable extension unfortunately @rVRcloset but I am glad it fixed your problem :) Could be a problem with my actual headset wire I guess?

  • rVRclosetrVRcloset Posts: 386
    Trinity
    Sorry for the late reply guys, I checked back here for a while and then gave up on getting a reply. Thanks for all the replies, it's nice to know I am not alone on this.

    I contacted Oculus support and was told to try the following steps:

    • Try re-seating the USB cable and headset cable. Click here for the steps on how to complete this.
    • Try another USB 3.0 port
    • Disconnect additional microphones (if any)
    • Exit any additional applications recording audio
    • Set the headset as the default Windows communication device
    Sadly none of the above suggestions have helped. The noise only happens intermittently, but as I stream and record videos, it's pretty frustrating to have 10 - 20 seconds of loud robotic voice.

    This is a clip I took of it happening, my voice starts of normal, goes robotic, and then sorts itself out again. 

    https://clips.twitch.tv/IgnorantAntediluvianAlfalfaPanicBasket

    I've contacted support again to see what else I can try.

    I don't use a cable extension unfortunately @rVRcloset but I am glad it fixed your problem :) Could be a problem with my actual headset wire I guess?

    Sounds exactly as mine did. I guess what you could try is to lower your mic output to see if that helps.
    The Closet Sim Rig
    Aourus Pro Z390 - i7 8086K 32GB Ram - MSI RTX 2080 Ti Gaming X Trio 11GB - Windows 10  / GT Omega WS - NLR V3 - RS6 - Jetseat kw-908 / Fanatec CSW 2.5 / Fanatec ClubSport V3 pedals / Fanatec SQ Shifter 1.5 / Fanatec CS HB V.1.5 / HE SQ Shifter / SHH Shifter / TH8A Shifter / G27 Shifter - Button Box / DSD Button Box / BBJ Button Box / Wind simulator / Rift - S
  • AltarriStarAltarriStar Posts: 4
    NerveGear
    Sorry for the late reply guys, I checked back here for a while and then gave up on getting a reply. Thanks for all the replies, it's nice to know I am not alone on this.

    I contacted Oculus support and was told to try the following steps:

    • Try re-seating the USB cable and headset cable. Click here for the steps on how to complete this.
    • Try another USB 3.0 port
    • Disconnect additional microphones (if any)
    • Exit any additional applications recording audio
    • Set the headset as the default Windows communication device
    Sadly none of the above suggestions have helped. The noise only happens intermittently, but as I stream and record videos, it's pretty frustrating to have 10 - 20 seconds of loud robotic voice.

    This is a clip I took of it happening, my voice starts of normal, goes robotic, and then sorts itself out again. 

    https://clips.twitch.tv/IgnorantAntediluvianAlfalfaPanicBasket

    I've contacted support again to see what else I can try.

    I don't use a cable extension unfortunately @rVRcloset but I am glad it fixed your problem :) Could be a problem with my actual headset wire I guess?

    I have this exact same issue. My mic quality just drops at random times to the point where I sound like a robot. It's especially annoying when talking on vrchat and discord. I've tried contacting oculus support, where they have sent multiple possible solutions, only to find none to be successful at fixing the issue. Have you had any luck at resolving this yet?
  • morphee7morphee7 Posts: 112
    Art3mis
    i have had this problem for about four months but last night it was happening every couple of minutes so had to end my vr session,
    i contact support and get the same generic response as everyone else gets.
    just a quick question, has anyone changed there microphone setting in the oculus app to use windows settings?

    because when i changed this setting it turned the robot sound into an echo. i did inform support of this but i dont think i helped my case when i said when i use a audio jack mic from 2001 without issues
  • morphee7morphee7 Posts: 112
    Art3mis
    ok ignore my last post it went back to R2D2 again
  • MisterRogersMisterRogers Posts: 8
    NerveGear
    Has anyone tried Oculus tray tool and disabling the USB power saving settings with it? 
  • DownluckDownluck Posts: 27
    Brain Burst
    morphee7 said:
    ok ignore my last post it went back to R2D2 again
    This is a very common issue, there's also an opened topic on the Oculus Uservoice about this, please vote there to let them aware about the problem: https://oculus.uservoice.com/forums/918556-oculus-rift-s-and-rift/suggestions/38299354-fix-rift-s-microphone-intermittent-quality-droppin
  • morphee7morphee7 Posts: 112
    Art3mis
    Has anyone tried Oculus tray tool and disabling the USB power saving settings with it? 
    they suggested that one when i had the static/black screen issue
    the latest thing they have suggested to me was this:

    While reviewing your log files, I noticed you Sonic Suite 3 and AI Suite 3 installed. I would suggest disabling them and trying the Rift S again.

    I would also advise checking to ensure you have the most up-to-date Oculus drivers installed:

    Close the Oculus app.
    Press the Windows key + R on your keyboard to open the Run command.
    Enter C:\Program Files\Oculus\Support\oculus-drivers .
    Open oculus-driver.
    Open the Oculus app and then try to connect your headset again.
    Restart the Oculus app on your PC computer. 

    now surely if the AI/sonic suite was causing this it would effect my logitec G933's?
    ive actually updated my audio drivers to the latest and that didnt have the sonic suite included so ill let you guys know if it makes a difference but wont be today as its far too hot to be stuck in vr


  • Crusty_MoistCrusty_Moist Posts: 4
    NerveGear
    i used to have this problem a lot when I lost all tracking but switching to a different usb port worked.
  • rednekcowboy77rednekcowboy77 Posts: 168
    Art3mis
    i used to have this problem a lot when I lost all tracking but switching to a different usb port worked.
    LMAO, OK so multiple users have had this issue for months with no actual resolution from Oculus support but you simply switching the usb port (as if no one has tried that) magically solved the issue???  believable /sarcasm
  • NapsterATNapsterAT Posts: 6
    NerveGear
    edited December 2019
    morphee7 said:
    Has anyone tried Oculus tray tool and disabling the USB power saving settings with it? 
    they suggested that one when i had the static/black screen issue
    the latest thing they have suggested to me was this:

    While reviewing your log files, I noticed you Sonic Suite 3 and AI Suite 3 installed. I would suggest disabling them and trying the Rift S again.

    I would also advise checking to ensure you have the most up-to-date Oculus drivers installed:

    Close the Oculus app.
    Press the Windows key + R on your keyboard to open the Run command.
    Enter C:\Program Files\Oculus\Support\oculus-drivers .
    Open oculus-driver.
    Open the Oculus app and then try to connect your headset again.
    Restart the Oculus app on your PC computer. 

    now surely if the AI/sonic suite was causing this it would effect my logitec G933's?
    ive actually updated my audio drivers to the latest and that didnt have the sonic suite included so ill let you guys know if it makes a difference but wont be today as its far too hot to be stuck in vr


    i would deinsall sonic suite and AI suite 3 both of these programms cause many different problems and incompatiblities on your system, i also had them both installed on my new asus mainboard but after 1 month of testing and playing around with both of these programs i uninstalled them both for several reasons.
    (i don´t say it will fix the problem you have i just say that both of these programs are prone to cause several conflicts.)
Sign In or Register to comment.