Oculus forcing Virtual Desktop developer to remove SteamVR support — Oculus
New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

Oculus forcing Virtual Desktop developer to remove SteamVR support

gotgalfgotgalf Posts: 48
Brain Burst
Dick move, Oculus, I'll give you that.

You needed only one bad decision to piss off half of your customers, especially the hardcore gamers, that buy the most games.

I'm thinking of returning the Quest, it still has bugs anyway, after several software updates, and the content isn't as rich and fun as I thought.
SteamVR support would've solved that, but now...

Comments

• kojackkojack Posts: 5,235 Volunteer Moderator

Hi guys, I'm sorry to announce this but Oculus doesn't want the SteamVR streaming feature in their store. I've been developing in VR for 5+ years and as some of you may know, I like to experiment and push the envelop with the tech. I saw the ability to stream VR content from your PC as a very cool idea. I thought it would be a perfect fit for my app since it already gives you access to your computer. Like a nice bonus feature. I worked on this for months and was eager to improve the functionality as I received your feedback over the last few days but according to Oculus, I am hurting Quest..

I will look into providing a separate APK with the VR streaming functionality enabled and make it available through SideQuest over the next few days.

• VRBabe14VRBabe14 Posts: 108
    Art3mis
    edited June 12
    Oculus is asking /u/ggodin (the developer) to remove the existing SteamVR support in Virtual Desktop.

Let’s make our voices heard! You can vote here: https://oculus.uservoice.com/forums/921937-oculus-quest/suggestions/37885843-virtual-desktop-with-steam-vr-support and show that this is unacceptable.