cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What is the motivation for a dev to make an experience for the Quest?

Failrunner
Heroic Explorer
I can't imagine spending days and months making an experience for this device with little to no clue what is expected of the experience and possibly be shut down with no explanation. At least someone like Apple will tell you what you need to do to be on their walled garden store. I'm no developer but I can't imagine being motivated to put the work in to even get something ready to submit to Oculus! ?
33 REPLIES 33

nalex66
MVP
MVP
The Quest acceptance/rejection process happens based on a written submission describing the intended concept of the app. They should not be spending days and months developing for the Quest before applying to get on the store.

The motivation for devs is to get their app onto a platform that has the potential to reach a much larger audience than PCVR.

DK2, CV1, Go, Quest, Quest 2, Quest 3.

Try my game: Cyclops Island Demo

Failrunner
Heroic Explorer

nalex66 said:

The Quest acceptance/rejection process happens based on a written submission describing the intended concept of the app. They should not be spending days and months developing for the Quest before applying to get on the store.

The motivation for devs is to get their app onto a platform that has the potential to reach a much larger audience than PCVR.

So they have to write an essay? They don't have to ever present the app? It seems like that's not how this works based on how devs have been getting shut down with no explanation.

CrashFu
Consultant
https://techcrunch.com/2019/06/10/oculus-sold-5-million-worth-of-quest-content-in-first-2-weeks-on-s...

^   That's the incentive. If your game is good enough to make it onto the Quest, you get a piece of that action.   That 5 million was split between, what, like fifty different games?

It's hard being the voice of reason when you're surrounded by unreasonable people.