What is the motivation for a dev to make an experience for the Quest? — Oculus
New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

What is the motivation for a dev to make an experience for the Quest?

FailrunnerFailrunner Posts: 186
Art3mis
edited June 12 in Oculus Quest
I can't imagine spending days and months making an experience for this device with little to no clue what is expected of the experience and possibly be shut down with no explanation. At least someone like Apple will tell you what you need to do to be on their walled garden store. I'm no developer but I can't imagine being motivated to put the work in to even get something ready to submit to Oculus! 😡

Comments

• nalex66nalex66 Posts: 4,489 Volunteer Moderator
    edited June 12
    The Quest acceptance/rejection process happens based on a written submission describing the intended concept of the app. They should not be spending days and months developing for the Quest before applying to get on the store.

The motivation for devs is to get their app onto a platform that has the potential to reach a much larger audience than PCVR.
    i7 5820K @ 4.25 GHz | EVGA GTX 1080 SC | Gigabyte GA-X99-UD4 | Corsair DDR4 3000 32 GB | Corsair HX 750W
    Corsair Hydro H100i | Samsung SSDs: 860 Evo 1 TB, 850 Evo 1 TB, 840 Evo 1 TB | Seagate BarraCuda HDD 3 TB
  • FailrunnerFailrunner Posts: 186
    Art3mis
    nalex66 said:
    The Quest acceptance/rejection process happens based on a written submission describing the intended concept of the app. They should not be spending days and months developing for the Quest before applying to get on the store.

The motivation for devs is to get their app onto a platform that has the potential to reach a much larger audience than PCVR.