Fallout 4 VR 75% Off!! — Oculus
New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

Fallout 4 VR 75% Off!!

rVRclosetrVRcloset Posts: 354
Trinity
The Closet Sim Rig
Aourus Pro Z390 - i7 8086K 32GB Ram - MSI RTX 2080 Ti Gaming X Trio 11GB - Windows 10  / GT Omega WS - NLR V3 - RS6 - Jetseat kw-908 / Fanatec CSW 2.5 / Fanatec ClubSport V3 pedals / Fanatec SQ Shifter 1.5 / Fanatec CS HB V.1.5 / HE SQ Shifter / SHH Shifter / TH8A Shifter / G27 Shifter - Button Box / DSD Button Box / BBJ Button Box / Wind simulator / Rift - S
«134567

Comments

  • Shadowmask72Shadowmask72 Posts: 3,655 Valuable Player
    edited July 19
    Yeh I grabbed Doom VFR for around £6. I just need to work out the locomotion/turning/movement mod options.


    System Specs: RTX 2080 ti , i9 9900K CPU, 16 GB DDR 4 RAM, Win 10 64 Bit OS.
  • LuciferousLuciferous Posts: 2,061 Valuable Player
    My god absolute bargain.
  • DaftnDirectDaftnDirect Posts: 4,928 Volunteer Moderator

    That's quite a deal... almost tempted to buy it again.

    Intel 5820K OC@4Ghz, Titan X (Maxwell), 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4, ASRock X99 Taichi, Samsung 500Gb 960 Evo M.2, Corsair H100i v2 Cooler, Inateck KTU3FR-4P USB 3 card, Windows 10 Pro v1903 (18362.239)
  • Techy111Techy111 Posts: 6,238 Volunteer Moderator
    Taken the plunge.
    A PC with lots of gadgets inside and a thing to see in 3D that you put on your head.

  • OmegaM4NOmegaM4N Posts: 491
    Trinity
    edited July 19
    ^^You won't regret it, but most certainly you need to add some mods to not only fix some of the annoying bugs, but to make the game a much more enjoyable experience overal, so head over the the nexus mod site, grab Vortex, install, then pick the nod you want, DL and f drag and drop into the votex manager and install, it is that simple and quick........i have 90 hours in this so far and it is just fantastic, this and Skyrim vr are reason for owning VR hardware.....oh and if i may be so bold, here are a few must have mods just to start you off....
    VR optimisation project
    True Storms Wasteland edition
    Steevins clitter pack
    Wasteland illumination
    Some trees
    True blood
    Nuclear colours
    Conelrad radio station(this is a must)
    Spooky radio station
    Fallout4 Classical music
    That is a nice base for you to start.......good luck out there. ;)



  • lensmandavelensmandave Posts: 252
    Nexus 6
    Techy111 said:
    Taken the plunge.
    Plunged too :)
    Intel Core i7 6700K @ 4.5GHz. Asus-Z170-PRO MB
    CORSAIR H105 HYDRO CPU COOLER.
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX1080ti. 16GB DDR4 2666MHZ HYPERX SAVAGE.
    SAMSUNG M.2 SSD 128GB SM951 Boot Drive. SAMSUNG SSD 500GB EVO Working Drive.
    Windows 10  64bit Professional
  • Techy111Techy111 Posts: 6,238 Volunteer Moderator
    I see skyrim is on sale at humblebundle also, taken a second plunge :) and thanks @OmegaM4N do you have a link for the site for mods ?
    A PC with lots of gadgets inside and a thing to see in 3D that you put on your head.

  • LuciferousLuciferous Posts: 2,061 Valuable Player
    Both incredible games in VR, Skyrim definitely needs a lot modding but fallout not bad out of the box.
  • OmegaM4NOmegaM4N Posts: 491
    Trinity
    Techy111 said:
    I see skyrim is on sale at humblebundle also, taken a second plunge :) and thanks @OmegaM4N do you have a link for the site for mods ?

    Site will give you great mods for both games, ;)

  • RattyUKRattyUK Posts: 848
    3Jane
    If you have the original (full) FO4 the DLC now works in VR (with a little fiddling and a lot of swearwords) quite well - apart from the Robot Machine (forget its name)  - I've been in NukaWorld for a little while now, have to return to Far Harbor at some point.  Just Elite Dangerous is hogging my playtime currently - we go to war today :)
    PC info: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X, Asus ROG Crosshair VII Hero, 16GB Tforce Pro Dark DDR4 3200, Gigabyte GTX 1080, Samsung 870 Pro M.2, 2x 240GB SSD, 3TB WD Green HDD & 4 TB Seagate Barracuda HDD, Corsair Modular 750w PSU, custom watercooling loop. (Win 10 Pro & Opensuse Leap 15 Linux) 32" AOC 4K Monitor.

    Laptop: Aorus X5 V6-CF1 (I7-6820HK, GTX 1070, 2* 256GB M.2 NVME, 1TB 7200 HDD 3K screen)
  • SkScotcheggSkScotchegg Posts: 1,160
    Wintermute
    Oh thanks, I've wanted this for a while but didn't want to pay £40.

    I'm looking forward to trying this in VR as I've never played fallout games before so it's going to be complete new to me.
    UK: England - Leeds - - RTX 2080 - Make love, not war - See you in the Oasis!
  • LuciferousLuciferous Posts: 2,061 Valuable Player
    Well its not the best implementation of VR controls but they work just fine once you get used to them. Persevere its worth it.
  • dburnedburne Posts: 2,515 Valuable Player
    Ok I bit and grabbed this one.
    Don

    EVGA Z390 Dark MB | I9 9900k| EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 Ultra |32 GB G Skill 3200 cl14 ram | Warthog Throttle | VKB Gunfighter Pro/MCG Pro grip | Crosswind Pedals | EVGA DG 87 Case|
  • DaftnDirectDaftnDirect Posts: 4,928 Volunteer Moderator
    RattyUK said:
    If you have the original (full) FO4 the DLC now works in VR (with a little fiddling and a lot of swearwords) quite well - apart from the Robot Machine (forget its name)  - I've been in NukaWorld for a little while now, have to return to Far Harbor at some point.  Just Elite Dangerous is hogging my playtime currently - we go to war today :)

    Hey Ratty, I've been saving my visit to Far Harbor until I've run out of side quests in the main game and I'm taking my time with those. I really want to make the game last as long as possible.

    I'd heard NukaWorld had a lot of problems in VR but if you've been there for a while and it's ok then that's great!

    That really just leaves the Automatron which I gather there is a mod out to fix for VR. Far Harbor and NukaWorld by themselves will keep me going for a good while yet though. The game just gets better.

    I play the vanilla version just because it takes me back to the world I knew in non-VR. May try a few mods in the future if the mood takes. 

    Intel 5820K OC@4Ghz, Titan X (Maxwell), 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4, ASRock X99 Taichi, Samsung 500Gb 960 Evo M.2, Corsair H100i v2 Cooler, Inateck KTU3FR-4P USB 3 card, Windows 10 Pro v1903 (18362.239)
  • snowdogsnowdog Posts: 6,887 Valuable Player
    All you need to play the Automotron DLC is a flat save apparently!
    "This you have to understand. There's only one way to hurt a man who's lost everything. Give him back something broken."

    Thomas Covenant, Unbeliever
  • DaftnDirectDaftnDirect Posts: 4,928 Volunteer Moderator
      snowdog said:
    All you need to play the Automotron DLC is a flat save apparently!


    hmmm so if I want to carry on with my VR progress... I wonder if I can transfer a VR save to pancake, activate the Automatron DLC, then transfer that pancake save back to VR

    If it goes wrong, I could always just give up on the level 105 character I've developed and start again :|

    Intel 5820K OC@4Ghz, Titan X (Maxwell), 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4, ASRock X99 Taichi, Samsung 500Gb 960 Evo M.2, Corsair H100i v2 Cooler, Inateck KTU3FR-4P USB 3 card, Windows 10 Pro v1903 (18362.239)
  • snowdogsnowdog Posts: 6,887 Valuable Player
    Or you could do the sensible thing and back up your save of course!
    "This you have to understand. There's only one way to hurt a man who's lost everything. Give him back something broken."

    Thomas Covenant, Unbeliever
  • RattyUKRattyUK Posts: 848
    3Jane
      snowdog said:
    All you need to play the Automotron DLC is a flat save apparently!


    hmmm so if I want to carry on with my VR progress... I wonder if I can transfer a VR save to pancake, activate the Automatron DLC, then transfer that pancake save back to VR

    If it goes wrong, I could always just give up on the level 105 character I've developed and start again :|

    Yes, you have (up until recently?) had to do exactly that, transfer the VR save to flat, do the automatron bit, then load the save in VR, it does work if you ignore the warnings.

    Far Harbor and Nuka World both had texture loss issues when I first tried, but a couple of 'fixes' later and everything is 95% good, an occasional glitch which can normally be resolved by a save, exit, restart.
    PC info: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X, Asus ROG Crosshair VII Hero, 16GB Tforce Pro Dark DDR4 3200, Gigabyte GTX 1080, Samsung 870 Pro M.2, 2x 240GB SSD, 3TB WD Green HDD & 4 TB Seagate Barracuda HDD, Corsair Modular 750w PSU, custom watercooling loop. (Win 10 Pro & Opensuse Leap 15 Linux) 32" AOC 4K Monitor.

    Laptop: Aorus X5 V6-CF1 (I7-6820HK, GTX 1070, 2* 256GB M.2 NVME, 1TB 7200 HDD 3K screen)
  • OmegaM4NOmegaM4N Posts: 491
    Trinity
    edited July 23
    Oh thanks, I've wanted this for a while but didn't want to pay £40.

    I'm looking forward to trying this in VR as I've never played fallout games before so it's going to be complete new to me.
    And definalty consider adding some game fixing mods to it as modders have actually fixed a lot of issues with the game itself, basically unofficial patches that work like real ones but fix a plethora of issues that the game devs never bothered to fix, and they make the game a whole lot better in every way, and the mods themselves are just as case or dl then drag and drop into to vortex mod manager and that is it.
  • DaftnDirectDaftnDirect Posts: 4,928 Volunteer Moderator
    RattyUK said:
    Yes, you have (up until recently?) had to do exactly that, transfer the VR save to flat, do the automatron bit, then load the save in VR, it does work if you ignore the warnings.

    Can you do any of the Automatron quests in VR or do you have to do them all in pancake then go back to VR?

    I think I'll have a closer look at the mod, give that a go and report back.

    Intel 5820K OC@4Ghz, Titan X (Maxwell), 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4, ASRock X99 Taichi, Samsung 500Gb 960 Evo M.2, Corsair H100i v2 Cooler, Inateck KTU3FR-4P USB 3 card, Windows 10 Pro v1903 (18362.239)
  • Shadowmask72Shadowmask72 Posts: 3,655 Valuable Player
    Where can you get the DLC cheap these days?


    System Specs: RTX 2080 ti , i9 9900K CPU, 16 GB DDR 4 RAM, Win 10 64 Bit OS.
  • DaftnDirectDaftnDirect Posts: 4,928 Volunteer Moderator
    Where can you get the DLC cheap these days?

    I think the best bet is to get a GOTY key even if you already have the original game. G2A has keys starting at €12 and upwards.
    Intel 5820K OC@4Ghz, Titan X (Maxwell), 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4, ASRock X99 Taichi, Samsung 500Gb 960 Evo M.2, Corsair H100i v2 Cooler, Inateck KTU3FR-4P USB 3 card, Windows 10 Pro v1903 (18362.239)
  • rVRclosetrVRcloset Posts: 354
    Trinity

    The Closet Sim Rig
    Aourus Pro Z390 - i7 8086K 32GB Ram - MSI RTX 2080 Ti Gaming X Trio 11GB - Windows 10  / GT Omega WS - NLR V3 - RS6 - Jetseat kw-908 / Fanatec CSW 2.5 / Fanatec ClubSport V3 pedals / Fanatec SQ Shifter 1.5 / Fanatec CS HB V.1.5 / HE SQ Shifter / SHH Shifter / TH8A Shifter / G27 Shifter - Button Box / DSD Button Box / BBJ Button Box / Wind simulator / Rift - S
  • DaftnDirectDaftnDirect Posts: 4,928 Volunteer Moderator
    edited July 23
    Where can you get the DLC cheap these days?

    I think the best bet is to get a GOTY key even if you already have the original game. G2A has keys starting at €12 and upwards.


    Just checked Steam again and they have the GOTY edition for £9.99. I'm sure when I checked this afternoon it was £39.99  so must have just gone on sale?

    You need the original pancake game to install the DLC, then copy the folders over to your VR install, so GOTY is definitely the one to get if you haven't already or even if you have the pancake version but don't have any DLC. 


    Intel 5820K OC@4Ghz, Titan X (Maxwell), 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4, ASRock X99 Taichi, Samsung 500Gb 960 Evo M.2, Corsair H100i v2 Cooler, Inateck KTU3FR-4P USB 3 card, Windows 10 Pro v1903 (18362.239)
  • LuciferousLuciferous Posts: 2,061 Valuable Player
    Good call DaftnDirect, I bought the steam GOTY last night. I deliberately didn't buy any DLCs so I could play them in Fallout VR.

  • bigmike20vtbigmike20vt Posts: 3,896 Valuable Player
    Hi
    so i bought FO4VR a long time ago but never played it yet. 
    so is it definitely worth buying the GOTY pancake version and then copying the content over to VR?

    thanks
    Fiat Coupe, gone. 350Z gone. Dirty nappies, no sleep & practical transport incoming. Thank goodness for VR :)
  • Shadowmask72Shadowmask72 Posts: 3,655 Valuable Player
    Will I lose my mods if I do this though. Right now my FO4 VR game is reminiscent of a sick, depraved post-apocalyptic hell filled with gratuitous artistic porn imagery and a zipper suit female partner wearing a stetson and little else.
     <3 


    System Specs: RTX 2080 ti , i9 9900K CPU, 16 GB DDR 4 RAM, Win 10 64 Bit OS.
  • RattyUKRattyUK Posts: 848
    3Jane
    Hi
    so i bought FO4VR a long time ago but never played it yet. 
    so is it definitely worth buying the GOTY pancake version and then copying the content over to VR?

    thanks
    Yes!

    But remember to download the patches from Nexus first :)
    PC info: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X, Asus ROG Crosshair VII Hero, 16GB Tforce Pro Dark DDR4 3200, Gigabyte GTX 1080, Samsung 870 Pro M.2, 2x 240GB SSD, 3TB WD Green HDD & 4 TB Seagate Barracuda HDD, Corsair Modular 750w PSU, custom watercooling loop. (Win 10 Pro & Opensuse Leap 15 Linux) 32" AOC 4K Monitor.

    Laptop: Aorus X5 V6-CF1 (I7-6820HK, GTX 1070, 2* 256GB M.2 NVME, 1TB 7200 HDD 3K screen)
  • RattyUKRattyUK Posts: 848
    3Jane
    Will I lose my mods if I do this though. Right now my FO4 VR game is reminiscent of a sick, depraved post-apocalyptic hell filled with gratuitous artistic porn imagery and a zipper suit female partner wearing a stetson and little else.
     <3 
    No, it is only the DLC and patches you will need to add to FO4VR, and a sanity check to make sure none of the mods argue with your own / load order :)
    PC info: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X, Asus ROG Crosshair VII Hero, 16GB Tforce Pro Dark DDR4 3200, Gigabyte GTX 1080, Samsung 870 Pro M.2, 2x 240GB SSD, 3TB WD Green HDD & 4 TB Seagate Barracuda HDD, Corsair Modular 750w PSU, custom watercooling loop. (Win 10 Pro & Opensuse Leap 15 Linux) 32" AOC 4K Monitor.

    Laptop: Aorus X5 V6-CF1 (I7-6820HK, GTX 1070, 2* 256GB M.2 NVME, 1TB 7200 HDD 3K screen)
  • Shadowmask72Shadowmask72 Posts: 3,655 Valuable Player
    edited July 24
    Do you have a link for those patches please? I assume you just copy all files marked DLC from the DATA folder into the FO4VR Data folder?




    System Specs: RTX 2080 ti , i9 9900K CPU, 16 GB DDR 4 RAM, Win 10 64 Bit OS.
Sign In or Register to comment.