New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

Rift S and Rift 1.40 PTC Release Notes

OculusSupportOculusSupport Posts: 350 Oculus Staff
edited August 6 in Oculus Rift S and Rift
Guardian
We’ve made performance improvements and feature updates to improve your experience while interacting with Guardian. These updates include:
  • Ability to clear your Guardian boundary history from your Guardian settings menu.
  • Opportunity to confirm your Guardian boundaries are accurate when you first put on your headset.
  • Removed the need to indicate what direction is forward when setting up Guardian.
Store
  • Updated the design, and improved performance and load times for the Oculus Store.
Home
  • You can now collect all of your Oculus Home rewards at once with the new Collect All button.
Fixes
  • Fixed an issue where touch controllers could lose tracking during fast movements with Rift.
  • Removed warning that USB drivers needed to be updated when drivers were already up to date.

As always, if you encounter any issues with this software release, please be sure to report them using the Help Center > Provide Feedback option within the Oculus desktop software. If you have any feature requests or suggestions to make the Oculus software even better, please head over to our UserVoice page to share your feedback. Thanks for your continued help!
«1345

Comments

  • Digikid1Digikid1 Posts: 2,050 Valuable Player
    Home
    • You can now collect all of your Oculus Home rewards at once with the new Collect All button.
    Fixes
    • Removed warning that USB drivers needed to be updated when drivers were already up to date.

    Well.....it took you long enough for the COLLECT ALL feature....

    As for the USB fix....a LOT of ppl will be VERY happy about that.
  • Error-401Error-401 Posts: 27
    Brain Burst
    Downloading as we speak :smiley: yay to the USB fix
    PC: Intel Core i9-9900K | Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3200 16GB | MSI RTX 2080 Ventus | Samsung 970 Pro NVMe | SilverStone SX700-LPT | GIGABYTE Z390 I AORUS PRO WiFi | SilverStone RVZ03B-ARGB

  • dburnedburne Posts: 2,778 Valuable Player
    edited August 6
    Sounds great Oculus, now I can collect all my rewards and I am sure I have plenty backed up.
    Also nice to have all my devices showing green again.

    Just checked the store, sooo much better thanks!
    Nice to see you listening to the community!
    Don

    EVGA Z390 Dark MB | I9 9900k| EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 Ultra |32 GB G Skill 3200 cl14 ram | Warthog Throttle | VKB Gunfighter Pro/MCG Pro grip | Crosswind Pedals | EVGA DG 87 Case| Rift S | Quest |
  • dburnedburne Posts: 2,778 Valuable Player
    edited August 6
    I am getting a message " Something went wrong and your  device can not track the movement of the headset".
    However tracking seems fine, so not sure why I am getting that message.
    It pops up in the headset when I put it on, and remains in the Notification area.
    Don

    EVGA Z390 Dark MB | I9 9900k| EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 Ultra |32 GB G Skill 3200 cl14 ram | Warthog Throttle | VKB Gunfighter Pro/MCG Pro grip | Crosswind Pedals | EVGA DG 87 Case| Rift S | Quest |
  • JimO22JimO22 Posts: 4
    NerveGear
    I am getting the same message " Something went wrong and your  device can not track the movement of the headset".



  • john.zigmontjohn.zigmont Posts: 116
    Art3mis
    Same here "Something went wrong and your  device can not track the movement of the headset".

  • dburnedburne Posts: 2,778 Valuable Player
    dburne said:
    I am getting a message " Something went wrong and your  device can not track the movement of the headset".
    However tracking seems fine, so not sure why I am getting that message.
    It pops up in the headset when I put it on, and remains in the Notification area.
    Thanks for reporting. This is a known issue that we're working on resolving asap. It should not affect functionality. I'll see if we can get the release notes updated to call this out.
    Great, thanks for the quick feedback!
    Don

    EVGA Z390 Dark MB | I9 9900k| EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 Ultra |32 GB G Skill 3200 cl14 ram | Warthog Throttle | VKB Gunfighter Pro/MCG Pro grip | Crosswind Pedals | EVGA DG 87 Case| Rift S | Quest |
  • kojackkojack Posts: 5,628 Volunteer Moderator
    Yay for my Rift-S now getting a green tick (no more orange due to false usb update warning).
    :)

  • KannaTvKannaTv Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    This actually fixed all my issues with the rift-s. good fps and not needing to re plug my headset every time i turn my pc on. Thanks guys  :open_mouth:
  • Error-401Error-401 Posts: 27
    Brain Burst
    Can't find the "collect all' button.... :#
    PC: Intel Core i9-9900K | Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3200 16GB | MSI RTX 2080 Ventus | Samsung 970 Pro NVMe | SilverStone SX700-LPT | GIGABYTE Z390 I AORUS PRO WiFi | SilverStone RVZ03B-ARGB

  • RattyUKRattyUK Posts: 944
    3Jane
    Can't find the "collect all' button.... :#
    Top right corner of the box when you open the Items :)
    PC info: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X, MSI MPG X570 Edge, 16GB Tforce Pro Dark DDR4 3200, KFA2 RTX 2080 Super, Samsung 870 Pro M.2, 2x 240GB SSD, 3TB WD Green HDD & 4 TB Seagate Barracuda HDD, Antec Modular 750w PSU, custom watercooling loop. (Win 10 Pro & Opensuse Leap 15.1 Linux) 32" AOC 4K Monitor.

    Laptop: Aorus X5 V6-CF1 (I7-6820HK, GTX 1070, 2* 256GB M.2 NVME, 1TB 7200 HDD)
  • RattyUKRattyUK Posts: 944
    3Jane
    That's impressive...  everything just worked!  Starting to feel like the Original Rift, excellent job folks!
    PC info: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X, MSI MPG X570 Edge, 16GB Tforce Pro Dark DDR4 3200, KFA2 RTX 2080 Super, Samsung 870 Pro M.2, 2x 240GB SSD, 3TB WD Green HDD & 4 TB Seagate Barracuda HDD, Antec Modular 750w PSU, custom watercooling loop. (Win 10 Pro & Opensuse Leap 15.1 Linux) 32" AOC 4K Monitor.

    Laptop: Aorus X5 V6-CF1 (I7-6820HK, GTX 1070, 2* 256GB M.2 NVME, 1TB 7200 HDD)
  • JimO22JimO22 Posts: 4
    NerveGear
    I reloaded the software, now I have the screen "continue setup in VR' but my VR screen is just black - cannot continue setup.
  • ZynageZynage Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    edited August 6
    After the update, other than also getting the Head tracking message, my image looks way worse and with RGB "snow" and tracking is almost useless.
    UPDATE: Had to just unplug and plug back in for the RGB "snow" to go away. Will test it now and report if all is good.
    UPDATE 2: Seems like the tracking "isn't" working, Beat Saber score is kinda broken.
  • ShushmoShushmo Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    edited August 6
    JimO22 said:
    I reloaded the software, now I have the screen "continue setup in VR' but my VR screen is just black - cannot continue setup.
     @JimO22 Restart your PC

    I also have the headset tracking notification. However the first time it appeared, moving my head resulted in the entire virtual landscape moving in tandem. Example: I turned my head left then my entire home moved left with it.
    The headset then immediately reported a "Fatal Error" with no further explanation and shut down on it's own. A restart of my PC solved the issue.


  • JimO22JimO22 Posts: 4
    NerveGear
    I just have black screen with the notification message "Something went wrong and your  device can not track the movement of the headset". With the screen black I obviously cannot use the headset.
  • ShushmoShushmo Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    JimO22 said:
    I just have black screen with the notification message "Something went wrong and your  device can not track the movement of the headset". With the screen black I obviously cannot use the headset.
    Power Cycle everything first. Then, try another port for display/USB until you get a visual. You may need to uninstall the oculus software completely in order to resolve the issue. Hopefully someone from the Oculus team can lend a hand here if that doesn't resolve the problem. 

    In order to avoid this in the future it may be wise to consider opting out of the Public Test Channel updates.

    Hope that helps.
  • snowdogsnowdog Posts: 7,115 Valuable Player
    A Collect All button? I love you and I want to have your children.

    I just hope your servers are ready for everyone pressing the Collect All button at the same time lol  :D :D :D
    "This you have to understand. There's only one way to hurt a man who's lost everything. Give him back something broken."

    Thomas Covenant, Unbeliever
  • sford52sford52 Posts: 174
    Art3mis
    I haven't used my CV1 in quite a while (30+ days). I noticed I have been updated to 1.40.  Both the home and store seem to load quite a bit faster now. Perhaps just perception, but I don't think so.  Nice job dev folks.
    ASUS ROG Strix GL702VS-AH73 17.3" Laptop.  I7-7700HQ, GTX1070, 12 GB DDR4 RAM, 500 EVO 970 GB SSD, VS 2017, Oculus rift, Windows 10 home
  • RichooalRichooal Posts: 1,211
    Wintermute
    Home
    • You can now collect all of your Oculus Home rewards at once with the new Collect All button.


    This is the stuff we want.
    When can we expect the Oculus Setup to allow us to choose the install drive?
    i5 6600k - GTX1060 - 8GB RAM - 0 PROBLEMS
  • Scoop_Scoop_ Posts: 9
    NerveGear
    edited August 6
    I can't find the collect all button. my oculus is updated but there's no button.
  • msm903msm903 Posts: 106
    Art3mis
    Scoop_ said:
    I can't find the collect all button. my oculus is updated but there's no button.
    same for me.
  • RichooalRichooal Posts: 1,211
    Wintermute
    edited August 6
    Scoop_ said:
    I can't find the collect all button. my oculus is updated but there's no button.

    This same thing happened with the screen shot button.
    Some people say that a simple PC restart is needed to complete an update. Worth a try.
    i5 6600k - GTX1060 - 8GB RAM - 0 PROBLEMS
  • xeno3dxeno3d Posts: 63
    Hiro Protagonist
    Can we please have the forward facing center marker for guardian back please?
  • liquidhotliquidhot Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    msm903 said:
    Scoop_ said:
    I can't find the collect all button. my oculus is updated but there's no button.
    same for me.
    I cannot find it either. I've checked in the notifications window, the inventory window, I've collected a few to see if it would pop up along the way anywhere. Can't see a button anywhere to collect all of the items.
  • TomCgcmfcTomCgcmfc Posts: 1,466
    Project 2501
    edited August 6
    Richooal said:
    Scoop_ said:
    I can't find the collect all button. my oculus is updated but there's no button.

    This same thing happened with the screen shot button.
    Some people say that a simple PC restart is needed to complete an update. Worth a try.

     Some updates in the past have required you to sign out, then sign in again in order to complete the update (via Oculus desktop app /Friends/top right 3 buttons/sign out).  Easier and faster to try than a restart (or repair, lol!).

    Custom built gaming desktop; i9 9900k (water cooled) oc to 5ghz, gtx 1080 ti (from my old AGA), 32 gb 3000hz ram, 1 tb ssd, 4 tb hdd.  Asus  ROG Maximus xi hero wifi mb, StarTech 4 port/4 controller sata powered usb3.0 pcie card, Asus VG248QE 1080p 144hz gaming monitor, Oculus Rift cv1 w/2x sensors. Vive Cosmos, currently work in progress.

  • RichooalRichooal Posts: 1,211
    Wintermute
    TomCgcmfc said:
    Richooal said:
    Scoop_ said:
    I can't find the collect all button. my oculus is updated but there's no button.

    This same thing happened with the screen shot button.
    Some people say that a simple PC restart is needed to complete an update. Worth a try.

     Some updates in the past have required you to sign out, then sign in again in order to complete the update (via Oculus desktop app /Friends/top right 3 buttons/sign out).  Easier and faster to try than a restart (or repair, lol!).

    You may be right. I've never had to sign out, or in, to the Rift software in 3 years. The only thing I've been forced to sign into is this weird forum.
    i5 6600k - GTX1060 - 8GB RAM - 0 PROBLEMS
  • Scoop_Scoop_ Posts: 9
    NerveGear
    edited August 6
    TomCgcmfc said:
    Richooal said:
    Scoop_ said:
    I can't find the collect all button. my oculus is updated but there's no button.

    This same thing happened with the screen shot button.
    Some people say that a simple PC restart is needed to complete an update. Worth a try.

     Some updates in the past have required you to sign out, then sign in again in order to complete the update (via Oculus desktop app /Friends/top right 3 buttons/sign out).  Easier and faster to try than a restart (or repair, lol!).
     
    Tried restarting my PC, restarting oculus, signing out of oculus and reinstalling the update by opting out of then back in to the PTC, but still no button.
  • bigmike20vtbigmike20vt Posts: 4,074 Valuable Player
    excellent...... sounds like a good one this!.....
    i know it is the little thing but collect all feature has been a much needed thing for ages.
    Fiat Coupe, gone. 350Z gone. Dirty nappies, no sleep & practical transport incoming. Thank goodness for VR :)
Sign In or Register to comment.