RTX 2080ti and Rift S - Black Screen Issues - Oculus helpdesk lost... — Oculus
New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

RTX 2080ti and Rift S - Black Screen Issues - Oculus helpdesk lost...

blacky75blacky75 Posts: 27
Brain Burst
Hello dear community,

I'd like to know how many gamers have problems on the combination RTX 2080ti card with the Rift-S.

I had the Rift S running on a 'simple' 1080, and it worked fine. When I changed a few weeks ago for a new 2080ti, I was stunned on the performance jump in the VR world. But... since the latest firmware update on the rift (at least it's what I highly guess), I got Black Screen, or sometimes only 3 dots graphic in the VR.

I've done all things asked by the oculus support. (I'm on a 3 screen setup btw, under Windows 10 64b, up to date). Now in despite of finding a solution, I went the ultime "I DO NOT WANNA DO THAT" solution, reinstall the whole. Which...... I did.... But still black screen. And I went all "might-be-solution" through (leaving only 1 screen connected, changing HDMI or DP port, USB port changing and power saver setup, and so forth.)

Now, I'd like to know, who has the same BlackScreen issues, on which pc setup (graphic card)? I'm not at all into the oculus coding or nvidia drivers, but something went berserk between the latest oculus fw update and the nvidia drivers (up to date too).

Anyone? I search around, find that I'm not alone, but looks like no solution comes up or posts being deleted to oversee that there's a problem, somewhere (which is never good :-) )

TIA :-)
specs: MB-Asus P9X79, CPU-i7 4820K (not OC'ed) Watercooled, RAM-64Gb, SSDs, GC-Zotac AmpExtreme 2080ti, Oculus Rift S, 3x32Samsung Screen

Comments

  • dburnedburne Posts: 2,594 Valuable Player
    I used to get a black screen and found disabling my secondary monitor before using Rift S solved that for me.

    Are you sure you have camera enabled currently in your Windows 10 settings?
    Don

    EVGA Z390 Dark MB | I9 9900k| EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 Ultra |32 GB G Skill 3200 cl14 ram | Warthog Throttle | VKB Gunfighter Pro/MCG Pro grip | Crosswind Pedals | EVGA DG 87 Case|
  • blacky75blacky75 Posts: 27
    Brain Burst
    Thnx for your hind, but even when leaving only 1 screen connected I have he same issues :( Yes camera settings enabled.... I really can't wait to jump into EliteDangerous again!!!! :D It's driving me crazy :dizzy:
    specs: MB-Asus P9X79, CPU-i7 4820K (not OC'ed) Watercooled, RAM-64Gb, SSDs, GC-Zotac AmpExtreme 2080ti, Oculus Rift S, 3x32Samsung Screen
  • dburnedburne Posts: 2,594 Valuable Player
    blacky75 said:
    Thnx for your hind, but even when leaving only 1 screen connected I have he same issues :( Yes camera settings enabled.... I really can't wait to jump into EliteDangerous again!!!! :D It's driving me crazy :dizzy:
    Have you tried the below?

    Disconnect your computer from the internet.Back up any Oculus content if you want to. Click here for instructions. (This step is completely optional.)Reboot your computer into Safe Mode. For instructions, click here.Uninstall Oculus Home using the Control Panel.Delete all Oculus folders from here:
    • C:\Program Files
    Remove any Oculus folders from here:
    • C:\Users\YourUserProfile\AppData
    • C:\Users\YourUserProfile\AppData\Local
    • C:\Users\YourUserProfile\AppData\LocalLow
    • C:\Users\YourUserProfile\AppData\Roaming
    Reboot your computer into normal mode.Reconnect the computer to the internet.Reinstall Oculus Home with a new installer
    Don

    EVGA Z390 Dark MB | I9 9900k| EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 Ultra |32 GB G Skill 3200 cl14 ram | Warthog Throttle | VKB Gunfighter Pro/MCG Pro grip | Crosswind Pedals | EVGA DG 87 Case|
  • Twisted_Midnight420Twisted_Midnight420 Posts: 11
    NerveGear
    edited August 15
    Try your GPU in a different slot

  • blacky75blacky75 Posts: 27
    Brain Burst
    dburne said:
    blacky75 said:
    Thnx for your hind, but even when leaving only 1 screen connected I have he same issues :( Yes camera settings enabled.... I really can't wait to jump into EliteDangerous again!!!! :D It's driving me crazy :dizzy:
    Have you tried the below?

    Done all that already, helpless. I think I'm condamned to wait oculus to cross their data with others and see that or their firmware lacks somewhere or their drivers lacking compatibility with nvidia's drivers... who knows...
    specs: MB-Asus P9X79, CPU-i7 4820K (not OC'ed) Watercooled, RAM-64Gb, SSDs, GC-Zotac AmpExtreme 2080ti, Oculus Rift S, 3x32Samsung Screen
  • sraurasraura Posts: 589
    Trinity
    edited August 16
    You might want to try connecting your rift s to the usb-c connector you should have in your graphics card... obviously you need usb-c to usb-a 3.1 adapter. That has solved many issues with these new generation graphics cards.
    Also unrelated to above - if your computer's bios has thunderbolt setting under acpi settings, turn that on.
  • blacky75blacky75 Posts: 27
    Brain Burst
    sraura said:
    You might want to try connecting your rift s to the usb-c connector you should have in your graphics card... obviously you need usb-c to usb-a 3.1 adapter. That has solved many issues with these new generation graphics cards.

    ordered in the afternoon a conferter for USB-C to a USB female.... in the meantime I connected it to one of the 2 USB3 connection I got on extension PCI card .... and *¨%@# see there, it works!!!!! Yep, it's fairly a USB driver problem somehow, as it worked on the "older" USB 3 before ^^ thnaks for your inpu Sraura!
    specs: MB-Asus P9X79, CPU-i7 4820K (not OC'ed) Watercooled, RAM-64Gb, SSDs, GC-Zotac AmpExtreme 2080ti, Oculus Rift S, 3x32Samsung Screen
  • TragicDelightTragicDelight Posts: 40
    Brain Burst
    blacky75 said:
    dburne said:
    blacky75 said:
    Thnx for your hind, but even when leaving only 1 screen connected I have he same issues :( Yes camera settings enabled.... I really can't wait to jump into EliteDangerous again!!!! :D It's driving me crazy :dizzy:
    Have you tried the below?

    Done all that already, helpless. I think I'm condamned to wait oculus to cross their data with others and see that or their firmware lacks somewhere or their drivers lacking compatibility with nvidia's drivers... who knows...
    fixed it by updating the GPU drivers.
Sign In or Register to comment.