Hello just a couple of questions — Oculus
New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

Hello just a couple of questions

DigitalDayDreamDigitalDayDream Posts: 4
NerveGear

Hello just a couple of questions

Little bit of a noob here but-

I am planing of purchasing a Oculus Quest 128GB, once the Quest Link is released.

Question 1

Will this mobile phone be powerful enough to run the Quest app via WiFi or bluetooth?

I am new to bluetooth/WiFi and know very little.

https://www.allphones.com.au/alcatel-essential-plus-5033t-metallic-black

If not can you recommend me a phone that will work but wont break the bank.

Question 2 –

How do I install games on the Quest do I buy them from the Oculus store and copy them through my pc to the headset via a cable? And how fast is the transfer speed copying games?

Question 3 –

How exactly dose the Quest App work with a mobile phone? Does it use WiFi or bluetooth or something when I am connecting to the headset to play Oculus Quest games and apps and such?

Thats my main questions If I think of any more I will add them.

Thank you for your help.

Comments

• enigma01enigma01 Posts: 216
    Nexus 6
    1. The mobile phone is only really used for initial set up process. The app runs on iOS 10 or later or Android 6.0 or later and requires WiFi 802.11 b/g/n.

2. You connect the headset itself to your WiFi router. You can either purchase games from the Oculus store from the headset itself, or from the Oculus mobile app. If purchased from the Oculus app, when you turn on your headset next the games will be queued for download. The download speed will depend on your internet speed and WiFi strength and the size of the app/game. There is the ability to ‘side load’ games and apps that are not from the Oculus library, this does require you to connect the headset to a computer and enable Developer mode. But this may not be something you’d be interested in.