New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

Oculus Rift awful jerky movement with NVIDIA RTX 2070 Max-Q

I'm relatively new to VR, and after checking the recommended specs for Oculus Rift (original one, not Rift S) I purchased a HP Omen with an NVIDIA RTX 2070 Max-Q graphics card. The laptop has an i7-9750 processor, 16GB RAM and SSD, so it should easily meet the requirements of the rift. But when I plugged in the rift for the first time I'm getting tonnes of jerky movement and lag when moving my head or controllers around. The screen on the laptop is also doing the same when using the Rift. All I've done so far is the tutorial and tried to navigate the home room, but it's completely unusable. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated as I'm completely at a loss as to why this would be the case.
Tagged:

Comments

• RattyUKRattyUK Posts: 938
    3Jane
    edited October 21
    The Max-Q is a 'cut-down' version of the GPU - but still should be able to give you a pretty reasonable experience (my laptop is pretty good with a generation earlier).
    That said, for the first half minute or so, on the laptop, it seems to be doing 'catch-up' and stutters before settling down and behaving.
    Stupid question - do you have an alternative USB port available to try (a powered USB Hub would be nice too) just in case it is a simple data bottleneck.
    I'll wish you luck - laptops are very much hit-and-miss in VR, even those sold as VR Ready.
    PC info: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X, MSI MPG X570 Edge, 16GB Tforce Pro Dark DDR4 3200, KFA2 RTX 2080 Super, Samsung 870 Pro M.2, 2x 240GB SSD, 3TB WD Green HDD & 4 TB Seagate Barracuda HDD, Antec Modular 750w PSU, custom watercooling loop. (Win 10 Pro & Opensuse Leap 15.1 Linux) 32" AOC 4K Monitor.

Laptop: Aorus X5 V6-CF1 (I7-6820HK, GTX 1070, 2* 256GB M.2 NVME, 1TB 7200 HDD)
  • paul.carpenter.5076paul.carpenter.5076 Posts: 3
    NerveGear