New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

Link not working??

NextusNextus Posts: 3
NerveGear
I don't know if this is the proper place to post this but I'm getting an error on the Oculus Software that says to restart my PC or contact Oculus Support. My Quest gets a popup to enable Link and I hit enable but it just takes me back to the Quest home screen. I have a 1050ti and I've seen people who have it that said it works fine. Everything in the devices tab is green so it should work.
Tagged:

Comments

  • chkev2001chkev2001 Posts: 5
    NerveGear
    I have the same issue, too.
    I have i5 with RTX2080, and I use type C to USB A 3.1 gen1 3m cable, but it does not work....

    My Quest gets a popup to enable link and i hit enable but it just take me back to the Quest home screen,
    Everything in the devices tab is green, so it should work.....

    However I notice that when I hit enable button, Quest will be disconnected then reconnect again...
    I think this causes the problem....it seems that when quest starts data transfer, it will cause Quest to disconnect, and reconnect agin....
    so it keep popup the "asking enable link" message again and again,.... 

    I try disable PTC, but that does not help,... and also turn off the Geforce Experence Overlay, and still have problem....
    I also try re-install Oculus PC app, and factory reset my Quest, and with no luck, does not work....
    I update Quest to v11, and keep Oculus PC app to version 1.43.0, and update my PC's drivers to the newest version.
    and the link just does not work....   :(

    someone says that I should test Quest in Roomscale, and I did try that too, that does not fix the problem.....
    even now, I am still trying to make my Quest link work.....and that's why I am asking for help here...

  • chkev2001chkev2001 Posts: 5
    NerveGear
    edited November 24
    I have the same issue, too.
    I have i5 with RTX2080, and I use type C to USB A 3.1 gen1 3m cable, but it does not work....

    My Quest gets a popup to enable link and i hit enable but it just take me back to the Quest home screen,
    Everything in the devices tab is green, so it should work.....

    However I notice that when I hit enable button, Quest will be disconnected then reconnect again...
    I think this causes the problem....it seems that when quest starts data transfer, it will cause Quest to disconnect, and reconnect agin....
    so it keep popup the "asking enable link" message again and again,.... 

    I try disable PTC, but that does not help,... and also turn off the Geforce Experence Overlay, and still have problem....
    I also try re-install Oculus PC app, and factory reset my Quest, and with no luck, does not work....
    I update Quest to v11, and keep Oculus PC app to version 1.43.0, and update my PC's drivers to the newest version.
    and the link just does not work....   :(
    someone says that I should test Quest in Roomscale, and I did try that too, it does not fix the problem..

    even now, I am still trying to make my Quest link to work, and that's why I am asking help here.....


    =====================================================================================
    2019/Nov/25 updated
    =====================================================================================
    I have a usb 3.0 hub with external power, and I connect this hub to my computer, then use the port of hub with my cord, and it works!!! Yes!! it works!!  :)

    now I can play PCVR games with my Quest!! Yes!!
    just leave this message for others, so they can share my experience, and maybe that may help someone who have the similar issue?!
  • SpuzzumSpuzzum Posts: 823
    3Jane
    I just had this issue...disabled Geforce Experience Overlay, and set Vertical Sync to 'use 3D application settings'. After that, I was still getting the loop around, but I had a 90 degree extension adapter plugged into the Quest's usb port, with the 10' Anker cable connected to that. I found that without the adapter, with the Anker cable plugged directly into the Quest, I had a solid connection. I then found that swapping the cable from the motherboard's usb 3.0 port to my Startech usb 3.0 pci-e card, I was then able to reattach the 90 degree extension adapter, then still have a solid connection. I guess it came down to power.


  • NextusNextus Posts: 3
    NerveGear
    chkev2001 said:
    I have the same issue, too.
    I have i5 with RTX2080, and I use type C to USB A 3.1 gen1 3m cable, but it does not work....

    My Quest gets a popup to enable link and i hit enable but it just take me back to the Quest home screen,
    Everything in the devices tab is green, so it should work.....

    However I notice that when I hit enable button, Quest will be disconnected then reconnect again...
    I think this causes the problem....it seems that when quest starts data transfer, it will cause Quest to disconnect, and reconnect agin....
    so it keep popup the "asking enable link" message again and again,.... 

    I try disable PTC, but that does not help,... and also turn off the Geforce Experence Overlay, and still have problem....
    I also try re-install Oculus PC app, and factory reset my Quest, and with no luck, does not work....
    I update Quest to v11, and keep Oculus PC app to version 1.43.0, and update my PC's drivers to the newest version.
    and the link just does not work....   :(
    someone says that I should test Quest in Roomscale, and I did try that too, it does not fix the problem..

    even now, I am still trying to make my Quest link to work, and that's why I am asking help here.....


    =====================================================================================
    2019/Nov/25 updated
    =====================================================================================
    I have a usb 3.0 hub with external power, and I connect this hub to my computer, then use the port of hub with my cord, and it works!!! Yes!! it works!!  :)

    now I can play PCVR games with my Quest!! Yes!!
    just leave this message for others, so they can share my experience, and maybe that may help someone who have the similar issue?!
    which usb hub do you use? I wanna make sure I get one that will work. Glad to hear you got it working! :)
  • chkev2001chkev2001 Posts: 5
    NerveGear
    Nextus said:
    chkev2001 said:
    I have the same issue, too.
    I have i5 with RTX2080, and I use type C to USB A 3.1 gen1 3m cable, but it does not work....

    My Quest gets a popup to enable link and i hit enable but it just take me back to the Quest home screen,
    Everything in the devices tab is green, so it should work.....

    However I notice that when I hit enable button, Quest will be disconnected then reconnect again...
    I think this causes the problem....it seems that when quest starts data transfer, it will cause Quest to disconnect, and reconnect agin....
    so it keep popup the "asking enable link" message again and again,.... 

    I try disable PTC, but that does not help,... and also turn off the Geforce Experence Overlay, and still have problem....
    I also try re-install Oculus PC app, and factory reset my Quest, and with no luck, does not work....
    I update Quest to v11, and keep Oculus PC app to version 1.43.0, and update my PC's drivers to the newest version.
    and the link just does not work....   :(
    someone says that I should test Quest in Roomscale, and I did try that too, it does not fix the problem..

    even now, I am still trying to make my Quest link to work, and that's why I am asking help here.....


    =====================================================================================
    2019/Nov/25 updated
    =====================================================================================
    I have a usb 3.0 hub with external power, and I connect this hub to my computer, then use the port of hub with my cord, and it works!!! Yes!! it works!!  :)

    now I can play PCVR games with my Quest!! Yes!!
    just leave this message for others, so they can share my experience, and maybe that may help someone who have the similar issue?!
    which usb hub do you use? I wanna make sure I get one that will work. Glad to hear you got it working! :)




    VANTEC USB HUB 4-PORT SUPERSPEED 3.0 UGT-MH431U3-BK
    I got this usb 3.0 hub several years ago, it's package does not include the power adapter....
    However, it has a power sucket, that alow it to input external power. 

    It works for me, surprisingly!

  • SpuzzumSpuzzum Posts: 823
    3Jane
    chkev2001 said:
    Nextus said:
    chkev2001 said:
    I have the same issue, too.
    I have i5 with RTX2080, and I use type C to USB A 3.1 gen1 3m cable, but it does not work....

    My Quest gets a popup to enable link and i hit enable but it just take me back to the Quest home screen,
    Everything in the devices tab is green, so it should work.....

    However I notice that when I hit enable button, Quest will be disconnected then reconnect again...
    I think this causes the problem....it seems that when quest starts data transfer, it will cause Quest to disconnect, and reconnect agin....
    so it keep popup the "asking enable link" message again and again,.... 

    I try disable PTC, but that does not help,... and also turn off the Geforce Experence Overlay, and still have problem....
    I also try re-install Oculus PC app, and factory reset my Quest, and with no luck, does not work....
    I update Quest to v11, and keep Oculus PC app to version 1.43.0, and update my PC's drivers to the newest version.
    and the link just does not work....   :(
    someone says that I should test Quest in Roomscale, and I did try that too, it does not fix the problem..

    even now, I am still trying to make my Quest link to work, and that's why I am asking help here.....


    =====================================================================================
    2019/Nov/25 updated
    =====================================================================================
    I have a usb 3.0 hub with external power, and I connect this hub to my computer, then use the port of hub with my cord, and it works!!! Yes!! it works!!  :)

    now I can play PCVR games with my Quest!! Yes!!
    just leave this message for others, so they can share my experience, and maybe that may help someone who have the similar issue?!
    which usb hub do you use? I wanna make sure I get one that will work. Glad to hear you got it working! :)




    VANTEC USB HUB 4-PORT SUPERSPEED 3.0 UGT-MH431U3-BK
    I got this usb 3.0 hub several years ago, it's package does not include the power adapter....
    However, it has a power sucket, that alow it to input external power. 

    It works for me, surprisingly!


    I was just thinking of a powered hub as the 900mA that the onboard 3.0 port supplies isn't enough to keep the headset charged. Not even my Startech 4-port pci-e card. But with a powered hub, it should give enough amperage to keep the internal battery topped up. Just need to find a hub that outputs enough to increase the current closer to 3A.
  • dburnedburne Posts: 2,850 Valuable Player
    My Link is now working fine, but never could get it to run through a powered USB 3 Hub. Oculus kept saying it was not USB3 when plugged into it.

    I have it running great now though on my motherboard front panel USB 3.1 port.
    Don

    EVGA Z390 Dark MB | I9 9900k| EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 Ultra |32 GB G Skill 3200 cl14 ram | Warthog Throttle | VKB Gunfighter Pro/MCG Pro grip | Crosswind Pedals | EVGA DG 87 Case| Rift S | Quest |
  • NextusNextus Posts: 3
    NerveGear
    I got a USB hub with external power but I still get the black screen then quest menu...
  • SpuzzumSpuzzum Posts: 823
    3Jane
    I got it working with an Amazon Basics hub, working on the ports that gave me issues before.
    https://www.amazon.com/AmazonBasics-Port-2-5A-power-adapter/dp/B00DQFGH80
  • czdaryleczdaryle Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    I have usb3.0 but when I plug it in to one when the screen tells you it just spins. I dont get red x or nothing. Just the wait circle spinning? Any help would be appreciated. Tried a few cables and same issue. Even the one the recommended
  • DDugo13DDugo13 Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    Hey, I have the same problem as Nextus but absolutely nothing works nor changes. My usb works ports work just fine and are the right ones, the cable also work just fine. The quest just keeps going back to the Quest menu and never loads the Rift menu... Just a damn loop
    And idk what to do anymore

Sign In or Register to comment.