New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

Oculus Rift S stuck in software restart required loop

Wilky926Wilky926 Posts: 6
NerveGear
Hi all.  I bought an Oculus Rift S to replace my original Rift yesterday, set it up and played with it all day with no issues.  However today it just will not work at all!  The Oculus home keeps telling me that it requires a software restart but every time I do this it just reboots and tells me it needs to restart again.  Also windows flashes up saying the headset is not detected every time I turn my pc on now and the setup for the headset gets stuck on the sensor setup part.
I have updated all drivers and downloaded the latest Oculus software and ran the repair and nothing has worked so far.  
A google search is revealing that this has been an issue since July!  but I cant find a definitive answer as to how to fix this.
Any help is appreciated because im 2 seconds away from sending this back and getting a HTC Vive lol.
«1

Comments

  • robertoalbarobertoalba Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    I have the same exact problem, I'm very worried because this is my first VR Headset
  • KdozerKdozer Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    The same exact thing happens for me. I'm a new user as well. I disconnect the display port and usb c and it comes back temporarily. is this a bug?
  • MizcreantMizcreant Posts: 3
    NerveGear
    I'm not a new user and this is happening to me too.  In fact, I can't even reinstall the Oculus software.
  • Killerchef9037Killerchef9037 Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    This is happening to me as well,

    Every time i shut down the PC the Oculus software says i need to restart the software and so on, i have to disconnect the headset then remove it from the device list on the Oculus software, I then have to do a complete setup again.

    This is my second Rift S as the first was faulty, I have just given my headset to a friend who has one themselves to see if it happens to him with my headset as he doesn't have any problems

    I had an original Rift which worked great.
  • HaidengHaideng Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    I have the *exact* same problem. I'm not sure why it just suddenly stopped working. Really want an answer.
  • chris.forster.739chris.forster.739 Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    Mizcreant said:
    I'm not a new user and this is happening to me too.  In fact, I can't even reinstall the Oculus software.
    I had the same problem. Since the last firmware update Wednesday of last week. Uninstalled like support said and now I can’t even reinstall it. This is the last email I got 3 days ago. Hey,

    Thank you for trying that step.

    Please give us some time to look into this further for you.

    We will update you as soon as possible.

  • MizcreantMizcreant Posts: 3
    NerveGear
    I had the same problem. Since the last firmware update Wednesday of last week. Uninstalled like support said and now I can’t even reinstall it. This is the last email I got 3 days ago. Hey,

    Thank you for trying that step.

    Please give us some time to look into this further for you.

    We will update you as soon as possible.


    Same here.  Provided logs, provided my system information.  I spent quite a bit of time detailing some very extensive troubleshooting steps.  I've been given advice to re-do everything I've already done, plus a request to forward ports. 

    Forwarding ports of course wasn't required when I initially set it up, and doing it now didn't help either.  At the moment, our Rift-S is a paperweight.

    The best part is it's not even connected to the computer.  The Oculus software refuses to install.
  • uKERuKER Posts: 160
    Art3mis
    edited November 26
    This also happens to me, but is fixed by just unplugging the headset from both USB and DisplayPort before you click the "Update" banner.
    This time the update will actually work and stop nagging you.
    Same thing if you're performing a clean install of the drivers. Disconnect the headset until strictly necessary.

    I've already tried to work this out with Oculus but not much was achieved I guess.
  • KdozerKdozer Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    uKER said:
    This also happens to me, but is fixed by just unplugging the headset from both USB and DisplayPort before you click the "Update" banner.
    This time the update will actually work and stop nagging you.
    Same thing if you're performing a clean install of the drivers. Disconnect the headset until strictly necessary.

    I've already tried to work this out with Oculus but not much was achieved I guess.



    This only worked temporarily for me. The update required comes up after every reboot and other random times that I haven't been able to pinpoint a trigger.

    System Information
    ------------------
          Time of this report: 11/28/2019, 10:19:02
                 Machine name: ****
                   Machine Id: {****}
             Operating System: Windows 10 Home 64-bit (10.0, Build 17763) (17763.rs5_release.180914-1434)
                     Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
          System Manufacturer: System manufacturer
                 System Model: System Product Name
                         BIOS: 0905 (type: UEFI)
                    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i9-9900K CPU @ 3.60GHz (16 CPUs), ~3.6GHz
                       Memory: 16384MB RAM
          Available OS Memory: 16304MB RAM
                    Page File: 8857MB used, 11157MB available
                  Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
              DirectX Version: DirectX 12
          DX Setup Parameters: Not found
             User DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
           System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
              DWM DPI Scaling: Disabled
                     Miracast: Available, with HDCP
    Microsoft Graphics Hybrid: Not Supported
               DxDiag Version: 10.00.17763.0001 64bit Unicode

  • SkScotcheggSkScotchegg Posts: 1,278
    Wintermute
    Guys this happened to me loads since I got my Rift S. I've had it since release and it happens all the time, every time they release a new update or firmware update.

    It happened to me the other week and I thought it was broke but after 4 days it updated and then it worked.

    Sometimes it works just buy unplugging it and putting the displayport and usb back in.

    Sometimes you have to repair and/or reinstall all the software again.

    Just try everything until it works. It will work eventually.
    UK: England - Leeds - - RTX 2080 - Rift CV1 & Rift S - Make love, not war - See you in the Oasis!
  • CrazyBon360CrazyBon360 Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    edited November 30
    Same issue, Windows tell me the Rift S is not detected and the Oculus Software want to restart again and again.
    Bringing the Setup to a friend and the same problem. WTF is wrong with Oculus??
    The support also knows nothing and push the fault to me.
    FIX THE S... IMMEDIATELY!
  • OculusPatrickJamesOculusPatrickJames Posts: 4
    NerveGear
    Same here. Had a call from support, they said log file stated it was a windows update issue. I updated then it worked. For a while. Now it says software restart required and here we go again! Very annoyed. Oculus do you read users complaints - clearly this is a fault issue many, many users are experiencing. It can't all be unique causes. Please provide a final fix to this annoying issue or you will lose the VR market share eventually. Has anyone here found a definitive fix for this problem?
  • TaomynTaomyn Posts: 39
    Brain Burst
    I just replaced my old Rift with the S this week and really disappointed to once again start experiencing connectivity issues. I spent a long time getting my current machine and the previous one sorted with reliable USB, and for at least the last year had zero issues like this. Now I'm back to square one having to mess about for 10-15min trying to get the new one just to connect.

    Hope there is a fix soon.
    ---
    AMD Ryzen 7 2700X CPU | Asus RoG Strix X470-I Gaming Motherboard | Corsair Vengeance RGB 32GB DDR4-3200 RAM | MSI GTX 1070Ti Gaming 8G GPU | Corsair Force MP500 M.2 120GB SSD | Samsung 860 EVO 1TB SDD | Corsair H100i v2 Cooler | Corsair 250D Case | Corsair RMx 750 80+ Gold PSU


  • jiabao9166jiabao9166 Posts: 7
    NerveGear
    same question  i got here    ,drive me crazy ...i just bought it  1 week ago
  • uraizenuraizen Posts: 5
    NerveGear
    I'm having the same issue, but with the original Rift. It couldn't update, so I did the repair option and all it did was uninstall it. Now I can't get it to reinstall because it fails at the end. I've tried god knows how many solutions all over this forum, reddit, and google.
  • SuperBigBangSuperBigBang Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    Suddenly, Rift S stopped working yesterday! In general, it does not react at all to switching the USB or Display Port, until this month it worked normally. The Oculus application does not see it either.
  • SnapjawSnapjaw Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    edited December 7
    I'm having the exact same issue. Bought my first VR headset, a Rift S, about a week ago.

    Edit: I fixed it, at least for the moment, by enabling "Public Test Channel" in the Beta settings.
    Same issue again after restarting my computer
  • fishhuntfishhunt Posts: 34
    Brain Burst
    Look in device manager there should be 2 "oculus usb hub" to make it work, if it only shows 1 "oculus usb hub" your oculus rift s wont work

  • SnapjawSnapjaw Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    fishhunt said:
    Look in device manager there should be 2 "oculus usb hub" to make it work, if it only shows 1 "oculus usb hub" your oculus rift s wont work

    I can confirm this, although mine are called "Rift S USB hub". When it wasn't working it only showed one, but after reconnecting the headset another appeared and it started working.
  • SugarGlider2000SugarGlider2000 Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    I copied nethfys' post (modified) from Reddit because it wouldn't let me post the link here with steps for disabling and then re-enabling the Windows camera access that gets the Rift S working for me every time. It is still a pain because it stops working when I put the computer to sleep and wake it up again. I hope a better fix is found soon because it is a ridiculous problem to have.

    • Close the Oculus app

    • Unplug the Rift S

    • Disable the camera permission ("Windows key + I" to open the settings - Privacy - Camera - Flip the "Allow apps to access your camera" toggle to "off")

    • Plug the Rift S in again

    • This should automatically start the Oculus app too, otherwise do it yourself

    • Now you should get the "Sensors can't track headset" error

    • Unplug the Rift S

    • Toggle the camera permission to "on"

    • Re-plug the Rift S (plug in USB first, wait 5 seconds, then plug in the DP cable)

    • Now the status dot should be green in the Oculus app (you might have to restart it)


  • bernard.velkaverhbernard.velkaverh Posts: 4
    NerveGear
    Same issue here. For me I need to unplug the USB cable and plug it back in (while the computer is started) to get it working. After each computer restart the app is just suggesting for me to restart Oculus software, but it doesn't help.
  • fishhuntfishhunt Posts: 34
    Brain Burst
    edited December 11
    I think its not giving a enough power from usb 3 to the headset when you boot up the computer that's why you have to unplug usb and plug it back in, that's why i think its a power issue, some usb 3 are better then others
  • TaomynTaomyn Posts: 39
    Brain Burst
    I have 3 pairs of USB sockets on the back of my PC - 2 x USB3.1 (Gen-2), 4x USB3.1 (Gen-1), and the Rift S (and my Rift before it), were plugged into the Gen-2 ones. I've now moved the Rift S to a Gen-1 socket and it seems to be fine now.
    ---
    AMD Ryzen 7 2700X CPU | Asus RoG Strix X470-I Gaming Motherboard | Corsair Vengeance RGB 32GB DDR4-3200 RAM | MSI GTX 1070Ti Gaming 8G GPU | Corsair Force MP500 M.2 120GB SSD | Samsung 860 EVO 1TB SDD | Corsair H100i v2 Cooler | Corsair 250D Case | Corsair RMx 750 80+ Gold PSU


  • LegendBaconLegendBacon Posts: 6
    NerveGear
    Hi everyone,

    As people have mentioned here, this is a USB issue.
    I have around 70 Oculus Rift S out there, on the same Windows update (1909), same laptop models, same Oculus App version, same Nvidia drivers, connected to the same networks, etc...

    And yet for some reason only a third of them have this issue.

    I haven't found the cause yet, but I've found a fix.

    If your computer has a USB-C port, get a USB->USB-C adapter and use that with the Rift S. Reboot your computer, and now everything's green. No reinstall needed.

    I've shipped the same adapter to ~20 clients, and it fixed the issue immediately for all of them.

    I still don't understand why it only happens on some of our machines though.


    I hope that helps!
    Cheers,
    ~LegendBacon
  • bernard.velkaverhbernard.velkaverh Posts: 4
    NerveGear
    fishhunt said:
    I think its not giving a enough power from usb 3 to the headset when you boot up the computer that's why you have to unplug usb and plug it back in, that's why i think its a power issue, some usb 3 are better then others
    It has enough power after windows are started, runs just fine until the next shutdown. The firmware/drivers should be able to handle that, get it running at the point when the power input is sufficient without an unplug. Oculus please fix this bug, I'm not buying a new PC.

    As you noted above - when I see only one Oculus USB hub, I have a problem, when there are two, it's fine.
  • fishhuntfishhunt Posts: 34
    Brain Burst
    I have just order a  USB->USB-C adapter it was only £1.99 on ebay hope this work
  • andrea.davieroandrea.daviero Posts: 10
    NerveGear
    Try to completely remove oculus drivers.
    Open oculus app with oculus connected
    Open device manager
    Remove both the oculus rift s devices from USB devices. When Windows asks to remove the software, click yes.
    Wait until it finishes.
    Close oculus, unplug.
    Open oculus, plug rift, check in device manager for 2 generic devices (if you see oculus rift s you failed uninstalling). 
    If it doesn't work, try to restart the pc, unplug, plug, start oculus.


    LAST BUT ESSENTIAL, in device manager, for each of the usb devices of the oculus, disable power management.

    It worked for me also if I experience some stability issues (not sure about the cause), but sometimes, after one or more hours, it happens that app crashes, oculus disconnects, or oculus app closes.

  • TaomynTaomyn Posts: 39
    Brain Burst
    @andrea.daviero thanks but sorry to say "been there, done that" I tried this afters switching from the old Rift as I thought it was because I was still using the old configuration - it made a difference for just a couple of sessions, the next day it was back to being undetected. My only fix has been to use a Gen-1 USB3.1 port and not the Gen-2. The old Rift CV1 was fine in the Gen-2 so I think it's either a firmware issue with the headset or the Oculus drivers (as it seems it may have started after an update way before I got mine a week ago).
    ---
    AMD Ryzen 7 2700X CPU | Asus RoG Strix X470-I Gaming Motherboard | Corsair Vengeance RGB 32GB DDR4-3200 RAM | MSI GTX 1070Ti Gaming 8G GPU | Corsair Force MP500 M.2 120GB SSD | Samsung 860 EVO 1TB SDD | Corsair H100i v2 Cooler | Corsair 250D Case | Corsair RMx 750 80+ Gold PSU


  • bernard.velkaverhbernard.velkaverh Posts: 4
    NerveGear
    Hey guys, I think I have cracked this one. Wel at least for me :smile: What seems to do the trick is to go to BIOS and change XHCI support from Auto or Smart Auto to Enabled. I also disabled support for all legacy USB. Now I can reboot at will and the headset is in normal state. Will keep you posted if there is any change.
  • TaomynTaomyn Posts: 39
    Brain Burst
    @bernard.velkaverh sorry, hasn't helped me. The only option in my BIOS is "xHCI hand-off" and it was disabled. I enabled it, switched my Rift-S back to the Gen-2 USB3 port, started the PC and it was still showing as not connected. In Device Manager, the two Oculus USB Hubs appear as normal (always do), but under "Imaging devices" the "Rift S" is failed with error 10. Switch it back to the Gen-1 USB3 port and it's fine and loads up immediately, even without a reboot.

    I even tried removing all the Oculus USB devices and rebooting so that they could be rediscovered, it made no difference.
    ---
    AMD Ryzen 7 2700X CPU | Asus RoG Strix X470-I Gaming Motherboard | Corsair Vengeance RGB 32GB DDR4-3200 RAM | MSI GTX 1070Ti Gaming 8G GPU | Corsair Force MP500 M.2 120GB SSD | Samsung 860 EVO 1TB SDD | Corsair H100i v2 Cooler | Corsair 250D Case | Corsair RMx 750 80+ Gold PSU


Sign In or Register to comment.