New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

Can I download games to my PC for storage, then upload to Quest when wanted

TupeloBTupeloB Posts: 5
NerveGear
Newbie here. My Quest is arriving in three days. I'd like to purchase games online and move to a PC hard drive. Then link to my Quest and upload games to it. Any problems with that?

Comments

• KentobiKentobi Posts: 156
    Art3mis
    Can I ask why? Maybe your WiFi is not great, but what advantage are you looking for by doing that?
  • TupeloBTupeloB Posts: 5
    NerveGear
    Two reasons: 1. I can store more on my PC hard drive than on my Oculus Quest 64 gb. I have seen more than 64 gb worth of games that I like. 2. I assume that uploading from my PC is significantly faster than uploading via WIFI, so I wouldn't have to wait as long.
  • KentobiKentobi Posts: 156
    Art3mis
    Maybe what you're asking for can be done with SideQuest,  but - 
    1. Honestly really truly, you have to work to fill up that 64G Quest. I haven't felt the need to delete anything off of my Quest yet, though I have taken off a few things that I know I'm compleltly done with. Even without that, I wouldn't have hit capacity. And you can always redownload.

2.This is probably the bigher deal for you, given slower wifi - but even to the first point, VR games are smaller than you likely expect. They aren't the large downloads you may be expecting as a PC or Console player. I've never felt like that was a hinderance to my VR experience.
    NerveGear
    Thanks. Good info. What concerns me it that when I look at the description of the games, most of them are 1-3 gb. For example Vader Immortal says it is 2.67gb. At that rate I'd fill up my 64gb with 24 games. And when I download from the internet, 1gb takes more than an hour (and that's when everyone in my neighborhood is asleep). I was hoping I wouldn't have to tie up my family internet for a day.