New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

EVERY update screws my rift over!

GhettoScouserGhettoScouser Posts: 12
Brain Burst
honestly im beyond sick of this. Its every update WITHOUT fail. I run the setup and everything is fine. Before the update my headset worked flawlessly. Now just after guardian the setup quits and i get a hmd error. WHY cant oculus just give cv1 users a final stable release instead of constantly updating their spyware just to annoy people. 3 times now. every time i have had to spend days messing with software to get it to work. and every update screws it up. safe to say im staying WELL away from anything oculus. their software is abysmal. I have attached a log in case it helps but im starting to think its not worth anyone's time. There was NO need to update my software. I restart my pc, I update mobo drivers and i DDU and re install nvidia drivers but nothing works. Thanks oculus!

Comments

  • MegalithikMegalithik Posts: 49
    Brain Burst
    Edit your hosts file so it can't ever talk to oculus again.   Download all your Home games so you can play them and then cut off all communications with oculus and switch to SteamVR for games and mulitplayer stuff.
  • GhettoScouserGhettoScouser Posts: 12
    Brain Burst
    Edit your hosts file so it can't ever talk to oculus again.   Download all your Home games so you can play them and then cut off all communications with oculus and switch to SteamVR for games and mulitplayer stuff.
    OMFG how do i do this?!?!?! Im trying to fix it as we speak. if i can get it to work that would be golden. i only use steamVR
  • BCauseBCause Posts: 6
    NerveGear
    Add this line to your hosts file:
    127.0.0.1       graph.oculus.com
  • HiThere_HiThere_ Posts: 1,294
    3Jane
    Its every update WITHOUT fail.
    Are you getting any better at fixing their mess ? They might have a job for you.

  • GhettoScouserGhettoScouser Posts: 12
    Brain Burst
    BCause said:
    Add this line to your hosts file:
    127.0.0.1       graph.oculus.com
    Could you explain more? where is the host file sorry i cant find it
  • Techy111Techy111 Posts: 6,771 Volunteer Moderator
    edited July 29
    BCause said:
    Add this line to your hosts file:
    127.0.0.1       graph.oculus.com
    Could you explain more? where is the host file sorry i cant find it

    Try adding the following to the end of the hosts file (located in C:\Windows\system32\Drivers\etc) 31.13.95.61 graph.oculus.com


    Or use the other one = 127.0.0.1

    A PC with lots of gadgets inside and a thing to see in 3D that you put on your head.

  • GhettoScouserGhettoScouser Posts: 12
    Brain Burst
    Techy111 said:
    BCause said:
    Add this line to your hosts file:
    127.0.0.1       graph.oculus.com
    Could you explain more? where is the host file sorry i cant find it

    Try adding the following to the end of the hosts file (located in C:\Windows\system32\Drivers\etc) 31.13.95.61 graph.oculus.com


    Or use the other one = 127.0.0.1

    so im in the driver folder with all the .dll's but which one is it?
  • adam.poole.313adam.poole.313 Posts: 173
    Art3mis
    Techy111 said:

    Try adding the following to the end of the hosts file (located in C:\Windows\system32\Drivers\etc) 31.13.95.61 graph.oculus.com


    Or use the other one = 127.0.0.1

    so im in the driver folder with all the .dll's but which one is it?
    Keep going into the folder labeled, "etc."  Inside that folder is a file called "hosts."

    I can confirm that this works. Its really a shame when we have to block updates just to keep our headsets on. The only permanent solution is to buy anything but Oculus for your next headset.

    Oculus Rift S, CV1
    Intel i7-8700K
    ASUS ROG Maximus X Hero
    16GB DDR4 x 2
    4 TB SDD, 2 TB SSD, 1 TB SSD
    Windows 10 Home
  • RuneSR2RuneSR2 Posts: 5,965 Valuable Player
    Techy111 said:

    Try adding the following to the end of the hosts file (located in C:\Windows\system32\Drivers\etc) 31.13.95.61 graph.oculus.com


    Or use the other one = 127.0.0.1

    so im in the driver folder with all the .dll's but which one is it?
    Keep going into the folder labeled, "etc."  Inside that folder is a file called "hosts."

    I can confirm that this works. Its really a shame when we have to block updates just to keep our headsets on. The only permanent solution is to buy anything but Oculus for your next headset.


    Valve also constantly forces SteamVR updates, not sure that's much different.
    Intel i7 7700K (4.5 GHz); MSI GeForce GTX 1080 8GB Gaming X (oc 2100 MHz gpu boost, 11 GHz mem speed); 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 3200 MHz; MSI Z270I Gaming Pro Carbon AC (VR-Ready) mainboard; Samsung 960 Evo M.2 SSD + Toshiba P300 HD; Windows 10 OS; Valve Index and Oculus Rift CV1 - the latter nearly always using super sampling 2.0. 

    "Ask not what VR can do for you – ask what you can do for VR"
  • dburnedburne Posts: 3,758 Valuable Player
    If you have not I would open a support ticket with Oculus on the issue you are having.
    It would be much better to try and get to the bottom of what is going on rather than trying to band aid it by blocking the device from receiving updates.

    Don

    EVGA Z390 Dark MB | I9 9900k| EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 Ultra |32 GB G Skill 3200 cl14 ram | Warthog Throttle | VKB Gunfighter Pro/MCG Pro grip | Crosswind Pedals | EVGA DG 87 Case| Rift S | Quest |
  • GhettoScouserGhettoScouser Posts: 12
    Brain Burst
    Ill block the updates once i get it all working again. i haven't opened a support ticket because i know oculus support is aids (I will do now).

    I use the log app and i get the following:
      Code: -3000 -- ovrError_Initialize
      System error: -2147024809 (80070057) -- The parameter is incorrect.
      Description: D3D11ComputeTask::Initialize: Unabled to initialize compute shader.
      OVRTime: 20840.280350
      Time: 2020-07-29 04:39:01 [607:375:400]

    I also get a lot of
    " {WARNING} [Dash] [dash_warn] { message: "[W]: Failed to load Texture asset asynchronously: "

    All i know is that it was working before the update so thank you oculus
  • GhettoScouserGhettoScouser Posts: 12
    Brain Burst
    also im in the ect/host file but its just an example one by microsoft theres nothing to change. im confused
  • GhettoScouserGhettoScouser Posts: 12
    Brain Burst
    RuneSR2 said:
    Techy111 said:

    Try adding the following to the end of the hosts file (located in C:\Windows\system32\Drivers\etc) 31.13.95.61 graph.oculus.com


    Or use the other one = 127.0.0.1

    so im in the driver folder with all the .dll's but which one is it?
    Keep going into the folder labeled, "etc."  Inside that folder is a file called "hosts."

    I can confirm that this works. Its really a shame when we have to block updates just to keep our headsets on. The only permanent solution is to buy anything but Oculus for your next headset.


    Valve also constantly forces SteamVR updates, not sure that's much different.
    Yeah but i bet valveVR updates don't brick your hardware EVERY time. Absolute joke this is.
  • GhettoScouserGhettoScouser Posts: 12
    Brain Burst
    also im in the ect/host file but its just an example one by microsoft theres nothing to change. im confused
    nvm i did it. thank god i can stop updates. im still trying to get it to work (day 2 now)

  • GhettoScouserGhettoScouser Posts: 12
    Brain Burst
    edited July 29
    RuneSR2 said:
    Techy111 said:

    Try adding the following to the end of the hosts file (located in C:\Windows\system32\Drivers\etc) 31.13.95.61 graph.oculus.com


    Or use the other one = 127.0.0.1

    so im in the driver folder with all the .dll's but which one is it?
    Keep going into the folder labeled, "etc."  Inside that folder is a file called "hosts."

    I can confirm that this works. Its really a shame when we have to block updates just to keep our headsets on. The only permanent solution is to buy anything but Oculus for your next headset.


    Valve also constantly forces SteamVR updates, not sure that's much different.
  • RuneSR2RuneSR2 Posts: 5,965 Valuable Player
    RuneSR2 said:
    Techy111 said:

    Try adding the following to the end of the hosts file (located in C:\Windows\system32\Drivers\etc) 31.13.95.61 graph.oculus.com


    Or use the other one = 127.0.0.1

    so im in the driver folder with all the .dll's but which one is it?
    Keep going into the folder labeled, "etc."  Inside that folder is a file called "hosts."

    I can confirm that this works. Its really a shame when we have to block updates just to keep our headsets on. The only permanent solution is to buy anything but Oculus for your next headset.


    Valve also constantly forces SteamVR updates, not sure that's much different.
    Yeah but i bet valveVR updates don't brick your hardware EVERY time. Absolute joke this is.

    Well, I have the Index, have experienced some problems, mostly 1 year ago when Index had just launched - but Index may receive more focus and more updates than other hmds - since Index is Valve's own hmd. If you don't have the Index, SteamVR updates may be more safe for you.

    Although I'm not fond of forced updates, I don't think Oculus - on my rig - has been the source of more problems than the SteamVR updates. During the last 3 years my CV1 has never been "bricked", maybe I've just been lucky, but my CV1 has really been working flawlessly. And no, I'm not payed by Oculus to write this ;)
    Intel i7 7700K (4.5 GHz); MSI GeForce GTX 1080 8GB Gaming X (oc 2100 MHz gpu boost, 11 GHz mem speed); 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 3200 MHz; MSI Z270I Gaming Pro Carbon AC (VR-Ready) mainboard; Samsung 960 Evo M.2 SSD + Toshiba P300 HD; Windows 10 OS; Valve Index and Oculus Rift CV1 - the latter nearly always using super sampling 2.0. 

    "Ask not what VR can do for you – ask what you can do for VR"
  • GhettoScouserGhettoScouser Posts: 12
    Brain Burst
    Just submitted a support ticket. I know ill get some half baked response. Oculus support is known for just not caring at all. A single update and now i have an expensive paperweight. thanks
  • DracioDracio Posts: 6
    Brain Burst
    my problem with the stuttering was completely fixed by disabling the RGB lighning on my graphics card (RTX 2980TI ASUS ROG STRIX) with the ASUS AURA software. Unblievable, that this RGB effects cause microstuttering.
  • GhettoScouserGhettoScouser Posts: 12
    Brain Burst
    Dracio said:
    my problem with the stuttering was completely fixed by disabling the RGB lighning on my graphics card (RTX 2980TI ASUS ROG STRIX) with the ASUS AURA software. Unblievable, that this RGB effects cause microstuttering.
    but yours still worked
  • GhettoScouserGhettoScouser Posts: 12
    Brain Burst
    Update: Still not working and Oculus have said that because I'm on windows 7 its not their fault that they forced an update on me that broke everything. So now im stuck without VR
Sign In or Register to comment.