New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

3.1 ports: graphics card or motherboard

dan.landis.77dan.landis.77 Posts: 11
NerveGear
edited September 6 in Oculus Rift S and Rift
I am new to VR and will be using it in my x-plane 11.41 set up.  MY system is OS: Win 10(54 bit). Motherboard:  ASUS Tuf 2390M-Pro. Graphics card:ASUSGefource RTZ 2070. . CPU I9 I am presently running three monitors off of the DP ports on the Graphics card.  The question is: when set up the Rift S, whichUSB port should I use: there is a 3.1 (Gen2 on both th e motherboard and a USB 3.0(?) on the Graphics card.  I''d like to know before I start plugging things in.  Any help you VR experts could give me would be appreciated.  .  :
Tagged:

Answers

  • dan.landis.77dan.landis.77 Posts: 11
    NerveGear
    Sorry. I sometimes type too damn fast...Of course the OSis 64 bit.  I don't think Microsoft even put a 54 bit out....
  • RichooalRichooal Posts: 1,802 Valuable Player
    edited September 6
    I don't think nvidia put out a RTZ either. ;)

    Rift S *must* be on a DP.
    i5 6600k - GTX1060 - 8GB RAM - Rift CV1 + 3 Senors - 0 PROBLEMS 1 minor problem
    Dear Oculus, "If it ain't broke, don't fix it", please.

  • dan.landis.77dan.landis.77 Posts: 11
    NerveGear
    You are correct: It is RTX.and EVGA was the brand.  I understand that Rift S using DP, but it also has a USB connector (for power?), My question is where does that get plugged into, given that both the motherboard and the graphic card have 3.0 and 3.1 USB ports.  My present setup also is using three monitors all connected to DP ports on the card.  That leaves the USB port available.  While I can, of course disconnect one of the monitors to free up the DP for Rift, or I can put a DP hub on it and switch it over to the Rift when I want to go VR.  
  • RichooalRichooal Posts: 1,802 Valuable Player
    edited September 6
    Don't know how the hub would sit with the Rift S, here's a pic from oculus about connections...............



    Also I'll tag in a helpful X-Plane user @TomCgcmfc
    i5 6600k - GTX1060 - 8GB RAM - Rift CV1 + 3 Senors - 0 PROBLEMS 1 minor problem
    Dear Oculus, "If it ain't broke, don't fix it", please.

  • dan.landis.77dan.landis.77 Posts: 11
    NerveGear
    edited September 6
    Richoal, thanks for your help.  The image you mention did not come through. 
  • RichooalRichooal Posts: 1,802 Valuable Player
    edited September 6
    The image you mention did not come through. 

    I can see it there in the post, it starts.....Your Oculus Rift S uses USB 3.0........etc.

    You'll find the info here..........
    https://support.oculus.com/1225089714318112/
    under the heading "What type of connections does Oculus Rift S need to connect to my computer"

    PS, I'd remove the email address if I was you.
    i5 6600k - GTX1060 - 8GB RAM - Rift CV1 + 3 Senors - 0 PROBLEMS 1 minor problem
    Dear Oculus, "If it ain't broke, don't fix it", please.

  • dan.landis.77dan.landis.77 Posts: 11
    NerveGear
    May I assume that the USB is used to provide power to the headset?
  • kojackkojack Posts: 6,763 Volunteer Moderator
    May I assume that the USB is used to provide power to the headset?
    The USB connection for the Rift-S is used for power, audio, receiving the 5 camera video feeds for tracking, communicating with the touch controllers (read their inertial tracking and controls and send vibration values) via the wireless receiver in the headset, reading the headset's inertial tracking chip, etc.


    Author: Oculus Monitor,  Auto Oculus Touch,  Oculus Forum Tool,  Phantom Touch Remover,  Forum Dark Mode,  X-Plane Fixer
    Hardware: Threadripper 1950x, MSI Gaming Trio 2080TI, Asrock X399 Taich
    Headsets: DK1, DK2, CV1, Rift-S, GearVR, Go, Quest
  • dan.landis.77dan.landis.77 Posts: 11
    NerveGear
    then what does the dp connection do?
  • dan.landis.77dan.landis.77 Posts: 11
    NerveGear
    I'm sorry to seem a bit dim here, but I started this thread asking should I connect the usb line to the usb port on the graphics card or to the usb port on the motherboad?  On the motherboard I have both 3.1 and 3.0, while on the card it is not clear.  
  • kojackkojack Posts: 6,763 Volunteer Moderator
    then what does the dp connection do?
    The DisplayPort connection is for the video from the PC to the headset. Everything else (both to and from the headset) is over the USB.

    I'm sorry to seem a bit dim here, but I started this thread asking should I connect the usb line to the usb port on the graphics card or to the usb port on the motherboad?  On the motherboard I have both 3.1 and 3.0, while on the card it is not clear.  
    The usb port on Nvidia graphics cards is effectively just a standard usb port. It does have an extra mode made especially for VR, but no consumer VR headset (such as Rift) supports that mode and it's been discontinued.
    I don't know what the state of usb-a to usb-c adapters is (which you'd need to plug a Rift into the graphics card port). I just tried connecting my Rift-S with an adapter and my PC instantly died and wouldn't turn back on until I had fully cut power to it. So, umm, I'm not trying that again. :)

    Author: Oculus Monitor,  Auto Oculus Touch,  Oculus Forum Tool,  Phantom Touch Remover,  Forum Dark Mode,  X-Plane Fixer
    Hardware: Threadripper 1950x, MSI Gaming Trio 2080TI, Asrock X399 Taich
    Headsets: DK1, DK2, CV1, Rift-S, GearVR, Go, Quest
  • dan.landis.77dan.landis.77 Posts: 11
    NerveGear
    So,   it.  sounds that it would be better to use the 3.0 USB port on the motherboard?
  • kojackkojack Posts: 6,763 Volunteer Moderator
    edited September 7
    Yep, probably the safest bet.

    Also, there can be trouble with Gen 2 ports. My motherboard has a 3.2 Gen 2 USB-C and a 3.2 Gen 2 USB-A port. If I plug the Rift into the Gen 2 USB-A port the vibration of the controllers gets messed up (lags, or doesn't turn on/off correctly).
    Others have reported the same thing.
    A Gen 1 port (either USB 3.0, USB 3.1 Gen 1 or USB 3.2 Gen 1, they are all the same thing, the committee keeps renaming the standard) seems the most reliable. Although even then you may need a powered Hub, many motherboards can't reliably handle the Rift-S's power requirements.

    Author: Oculus Monitor,  Auto Oculus Touch,  Oculus Forum Tool,  Phantom Touch Remover,  Forum Dark Mode,  X-Plane Fixer
    Hardware: Threadripper 1950x, MSI Gaming Trio 2080TI, Asrock X399 Taich
    Headsets: DK1, DK2, CV1, Rift-S, GearVR, Go, Quest
  • dan.landis.77dan.landis.77 Posts: 11
    NerveGear
    My motherboard has has four  3.1 Gen 1 (Type A), one 3.1 Gen 2 (Type A) and one 3..1 (Type C).  Which would you suggest I try first? I do have a powered 3.1 (Type C) hub.
  • TomCgcmfcTomCgcmfc Posts: 2,617 Valuable Player
    My motherboard has has four  3.1 Gen 1 (Type A), one 3.1 Gen 2 (Type A) and one 3..1 (Type C).  Which would you suggest I try first? I do have a powered 3.1 (Type C) hub.
    You are probably best to try all of these and see which works best for you.

    Custom built gaming desktop; i9 9900k (water cooled) oc to 5ghz, gtx 1080 ti, 32 gb 3000hz ram, 1 tb ssd, 4 tb hdd.  Asus  ROG Maximus xi hero wifi mb, StarTech 4 port/4 controller sata powered usb3.0 pcie card, PCI-E PCI Express to USB 3.1 Gen 2 card, Asus VG248QE 1080p 144hz gaming monitor, Oculus Rift cv1 w/2x sensors, Vive Pro w/2.0 base stations/controllers, Quest w/Link and VD wireless (good/close 5Ghz wifi and PC with Ethernet cable to my Router).

  • dan.landis.77dan.landis.77 Posts: 11
    NerveGear
    That's sounds like a plan.  My rift-s is supposed to arrive next week and we'll see which port works best without blowing up my computer!  Thanks to all of you for helping. 
  • dan.landis.77dan.landis.77 Posts: 11
    NerveGear
    Hi, it's me again.  Questionsfor somebody who is running x-pl;ane with three monitors.1) Before connecting rift-S, should I disconnect all three of the monitors from the graphic card? Or, can I leave the center one connected and put the rift on one of the other ports?  2) I would like to continue to use my Honeycomb yoke and throttle quadrant rather than the rift S remotes. The Honeycomb and throttle give a more realistic experience, similar to actually flying my old 172.  How can I do this?  3) Right now (pre VR) I send location information to an IPAD which has charts on it and I am able to follow my flight on that display.  Is there a way to bring that information into the VR?  4) Have any of you run the new 11.50 with rift?  If so, any bumps to watch out for?

    My rift-s should arrive on Tuesday (God and the USPS willing) and I plan to spend a day or two getting it setup.  I'd appreciate any comments so I don't go around inventing the wheel.

    Thanks much. 

    Dan
Sign In or Register to comment.