New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

PC Software Build 23.0 Release Notes

ShowbizDonkeyShowbizDonkey Posts: 306 Oculus Staff
These features and enhancements will become available starting on 11/13/2020

Oculus Link
  • Oculus Link is now out of beta! In addition to the beta exit, we’ve added the following features that let you crank up the visuals by fine-tuning the following graphics preferences:
    • You can now set your refresh rate to 72hz/80hz/90hz.
      • Please note that USB-3 is required for 80hz and 90hz support.
    • You can now adjust your render resolution for even better visuals.
    • Learn more about these new features in our Graphics Preferences article. 
«13

Comments

  • TomCgcmfcTomCgcmfc Posts: 3,100 Valuable Player
    edited November 13
    Will these new refresh rates work for the Quest 1?  Does the current PTC v23 have all these changes or do they also need to be rolled out?  Thanks.

    Edit;  OK, see on the Quest v23 notes that 80/90Hz refresh rates are only for Quest 2.

    Custom built gaming desktop; i9 9900k (water cooled) oc to 5ghz, gtx 1080 ti, 32 gb 3000hz ram, 1 tb ssd, 4 tb hdd.  Asus  ROG Maximus xi hero wifi mb, StarTech 4 port/4 controller sata powered usb3.0 pcie card, PCI-E PCI Express to USB 3.1 Gen 2 card, Asus VG248QE 1080p 144hz gaming monitor, Oculus Rift cv1 w/2x sensors, Vive Pro w/2.0 base stations/controllers, Quest 1 w/Link and VD wireless (good/close 5Ghz wifi and PC with Ethernet cable to my Router).

  • NunyabinezNunyabinez Posts: 171
    Art3mis
    I'm a little confused. I got the PC software and my Quest 2 updated. I was able to change the setting to 90Hz, but I still only see four choices in the Quality area, just like before. The article above says there should be a place to set the resolution, but I'm not seeing it yet.

    BTW, it looks great. I'm using the OTT to crank up the resolution and the 90Hz makes it really smooth.
    i7 8700, 16GB, RTX 2080 TI, Rift CV1 | i5 4690K, 16GB, GTX 1660 TI, Rift CV1 | Quest
  • TomCgcmfcTomCgcmfc Posts: 3,100 Valuable Player
    I'm a little confused. I got the PC software and my Quest 2 updated. I was able to change the setting to 90Hz, but I still only see four choices in the Quality area, just like before. The article above says there should be a place to set the resolution, but I'm not seeing it yet.

    BTW, it looks great. I'm using the OTT to crank up the resolution and the 90Hz makes it really smooth.
    Ya, I thought there was supposed to be a slider to adjust encoding resolution (and maybe encoding bandwidth beyond stock 150mbps).  Maybe it's hidden or maybe it gets installed later.  Who knows?

    Custom built gaming desktop; i9 9900k (water cooled) oc to 5ghz, gtx 1080 ti, 32 gb 3000hz ram, 1 tb ssd, 4 tb hdd.  Asus  ROG Maximus xi hero wifi mb, StarTech 4 port/4 controller sata powered usb3.0 pcie card, PCI-E PCI Express to USB 3.1 Gen 2 card, Asus VG248QE 1080p 144hz gaming monitor, Oculus Rift cv1 w/2x sensors, Vive Pro w/2.0 base stations/controllers, Quest 1 w/Link and VD wireless (good/close 5Ghz wifi and PC with Ethernet cable to my Router).

  • saint_cowsaint_cow Posts: 4
    NerveGear
    edited November 13
    I have them, I unticked PTC the other day so was on 21, today I reticked PTC and the v23 it download came with the not that link is now out of beta etc. I have the different refresh rates option plus the slider to increase render resolution. Now bitrate seems to default to 500Mbps, haven't done much testing but a quick look at a couple of games and the update seems significantly better, definitely smoother as well.
  • NunyabinezNunyabinez Posts: 171
    Art3mis
    TomCgcmfc said:
    I'm a little confused. I got the PC software and my Quest 2 updated. I was able to change the setting to 90Hz, but I still only see four choices in the Quality area, just like before. The article above says there should be a place to set the resolution, but I'm not seeing it yet.

    BTW, it looks great. I'm using the OTT to crank up the resolution and the 90Hz makes it really smooth.
    Ya, I thought there was supposed to be a slider to adjust encoding resolution (and maybe encoding bandwidth beyond stock 150mbps).  Maybe it's hidden or maybe it gets installed later.  Who knows?

    Well oddly enough, it now appears right with the refresh rate, so they really are rolling things out it phases.
    i7 8700, 16GB, RTX 2080 TI, Rift CV1 | i5 4690K, 16GB, GTX 1660 TI, Rift CV1 | Quest
  • TomCgcmfcTomCgcmfc Posts: 3,100 Valuable Player
    TomCgcmfc said:
    I'm a little confused. I got the PC software and my Quest 2 updated. I was able to change the setting to 90Hz, but I still only see four choices in the Quality area, just like before. The article above says there should be a place to set the resolution, but I'm not seeing it yet.

    BTW, it looks great. I'm using the OTT to crank up the resolution and the 90Hz makes it really smooth.
    Ya, I thought there was supposed to be a slider to adjust encoding resolution (and maybe encoding bandwidth beyond stock 150mbps).  Maybe it's hidden or maybe it gets installed later.  Who knows?

    Well oddly enough, it now appears right with the refresh rate, so they really are rolling things out it phases.
    Ya, sometimes it comes later or requires a full restart to finish installing. 

    I now have v23 on my Quest 1 but my Oculus desktop app has not updated to v23 yet.  My v23 Quest 1 seems fine with Link and Oculus desktop app v21 for now.

    Custom built gaming desktop; i9 9900k (water cooled) oc to 5ghz, gtx 1080 ti, 32 gb 3000hz ram, 1 tb ssd, 4 tb hdd.  Asus  ROG Maximus xi hero wifi mb, StarTech 4 port/4 controller sata powered usb3.0 pcie card, PCI-E PCI Express to USB 3.1 Gen 2 card, Asus VG248QE 1080p 144hz gaming monitor, Oculus Rift cv1 w/2x sensors, Vive Pro w/2.0 base stations/controllers, Quest 1 w/Link and VD wireless (good/close 5Ghz wifi and PC with Ethernet cable to my Router).

  • TomCgcmfcTomCgcmfc Posts: 3,100 Valuable Player
    saint_cow said:
    I have them, I unticked PTC the other day so was on 21, today I reticked PTC and the v23 it download came with the not that link is now out of beta etc. I have the different refresh rates option plus the slider to increase render resolution. Now bitrate seems to default to 500Mbps, haven't done much testing but a quick look at a couple of games and the update seems significantly better, definitely smoother as well.
    Hmm. maybe I should have just left my Oculus Desktop app beta-ticked?  I'm never quite sure whether or not to roll back to the final version (currently v21 for me) or just leave it on PTC?

    Custom built gaming desktop; i9 9900k (water cooled) oc to 5ghz, gtx 1080 ti, 32 gb 3000hz ram, 1 tb ssd, 4 tb hdd.  Asus  ROG Maximus xi hero wifi mb, StarTech 4 port/4 controller sata powered usb3.0 pcie card, PCI-E PCI Express to USB 3.1 Gen 2 card, Asus VG248QE 1080p 144hz gaming monitor, Oculus Rift cv1 w/2x sensors, Vive Pro w/2.0 base stations/controllers, Quest 1 w/Link and VD wireless (good/close 5Ghz wifi and PC with Ethernet cable to my Router).

  • chert1024VRchert1024VR Posts: 7
    Brain Burst
    edited November 14
    PTC Oculus Software V23 now has the refresh rate and resolution settings enabled. Those on non-PTC V21 should now join the PTC. Those on PTC V23 without these settings should go back to V21 and then re-join PTC.
  • TomCgcmfcTomCgcmfc Posts: 3,100 Valuable Player
    PTC Oculus Software V23 now has the refresh rate and resolution settings enabled. Those on non-PTC V21 should now join the PTC. Those on PTC V23 without these settings should go back to V21 and then re-join PTC.
    I just tried going back from v23 PTC to v21 and then to v23 PTC and these new settings did not show up, even after a few restarts.  So back to v21 non-PTC and I'll just wait for the proper rollout. 

    No big deal, v21 with new v23 on my Quest 1 is working fine and I'm just using OTT to set encoding resolution to 3648 and global super sampling to 1.3.  Actually most things are now looking almost as good as my Rift cv1 with 2x SS.  Still not as good for more complex games/sims though.

    Custom built gaming desktop; i9 9900k (water cooled) oc to 5ghz, gtx 1080 ti, 32 gb 3000hz ram, 1 tb ssd, 4 tb hdd.  Asus  ROG Maximus xi hero wifi mb, StarTech 4 port/4 controller sata powered usb3.0 pcie card, PCI-E PCI Express to USB 3.1 Gen 2 card, Asus VG248QE 1080p 144hz gaming monitor, Oculus Rift cv1 w/2x sensors, Vive Pro w/2.0 base stations/controllers, Quest 1 w/Link and VD wireless (good/close 5Ghz wifi and PC with Ethernet cable to my Router).

  • philneitzphilneitz Posts: 14
    Brain Burst
    Intel i9 9900K @4,8GHz
    32GB DDR4 3733
    GIGABYTE Aorus Pro WiFi
    GeForce 2080 Ti
    Quest 2
  • Jorgec81Jorgec81 Posts: 22
    Brain Burst
    umm for the the image quality is trash i got the update for the pc and installed manually on the quest 2 with the video above i have a 1080ti and i7700k if i go tot the bitrate cannot go even to 200MB because the tracking stutter so not sure whats wrong but definetly image is not improved and the OVR tool tells me the resolution on quest 2 display is 18xx by 1920 if i put the graphics to the top it doesnt increase it increases only on the layer indicator.

    very extrange i dont see any better image, way worst than Virtual desktop sadly
  • Rosto79Rosto79 Posts: 13
    NerveGear
    How do I install V23?? I am on PTC v23 now.. but when I disable PTC it installs V21... When I download the software from Oculus site it's also v21....
  • Scott-JonScott-Jon Posts: 41
    Brain Burst
    saint_cow said:
    I have them, I unticked PTC the other day so was on 21, today I reticked PTC and the v23 it download came with the not that link is now out of beta etc. I have the different refresh rates option plus the slider to increase render resolution. Now bitrate seems to default to 500Mbps, haven't done much testing but a quick look at a couple of games and the update seems significantly better, definitely smoother as well.

    PTC?
  • AdaptoAdapto Posts: 12
    Brain Burst
    Public test channel
  • PITTCANNAPITTCANNA Posts: 538
    Trinity
    All just be patient, updates are on rolling basis, not everyone gets it day one or two.  This is due to server limitations.  You will get the update by the end of next week.
  • mick45987mick45987 Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    Same problem here...thick PTC to get v23 but in Graphics Preference it show only 72Hz (Recommended), Automatic (Recommended) is thick and Render Resolution (4128x2176) is grey out. If I untick the Automatic selection I then can change the Render Resolution from 1.0x to 1.3x but the refresh rate remains at 72Hz whithout any option for 90Hz...
    I try unticking PTC to go back to v21 and rejoin PTC for another try at v23 but same result...There is no 90Hz selection...
    I'm using the Oculus cable and it was detected as USB 3.
    BTW where can I found the bitrate?
  • PITTCANNAPITTCANNA Posts: 538
    Trinity
    mick45987 said:
    Same problem here...thick PTC to get v23 but in Graphics Preference it show only 72Hz (Recommended), Automatic (Recommended) is thick and Render Resolution (4128x2176) is grey out. If I untick the Automatic selection I then can change the Render Resolution from 1.0x to 1.3x but the refresh rate remains at 72Hz whithout any option for 90Hz...
    I try unticking PTC to go back to v21 and rejoin PTC for another try at v23 but same result...There is no 90Hz selection...
    I'm using the Oculus cable and it was detected as USB 3.
    BTW where can I found the bitrate?
    bitrate is in the oculus debug tool
    so you have to open the bitrate via the file explorer click on oculus in the programs, then click support then diagnostics, then you will see the occulus debug tool

    so if you are ptc you wont be able to adjust frame rate and rend render resolution thru the main app.

    but if the rollout is not availabe in your area you will revert to 21 if you click leave test channel.
  • tanubontanubon Posts: 9
    NerveGear
    please add correct version number.

    23.0.0. what?
  • WebMetalReeseWebMetalReese Posts: 42
    Brain Burst
    I come  here for the rift - see finally v.23 is out and its alllll about the quest and link. 
    What bothers me even more is that when you read up on the CV1 it specs at 90, so hopefully if it ever does decide to update to 23, it won't give me that option since I don't have a quest. 
    I'm not sure it's going to end up like that though, since they still haven't fixed the misleading sensor indicators for the USB errors for well over a year now, I think it's finally time to accept that they've given up on older HMD's. 

    Thats 100% fine - but give me the option to roll my software back to when it worked with my CV1. Please!
    Specs:
    AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
    AMD Vega 56 8GB 
    T-Delta 3200Mhz (32GB)
    Asus Strix x-470 F Gaming
    Samsung Evo 860 1 TB M.2 1TB


  • TomCgcmfcTomCgcmfc Posts: 3,100 Valuable Player
    I come  here for the rift - see finally v.23 is out and its alllll about the quest and link. 
    What bothers me even more is that when you read up on the CV1 it specs at 90, so hopefully if it ever does decide to update to 23, it won't give me that option since I don't have a quest. 
    I'm not sure it's going to end up like that though, since they still haven't fixed the misleading sensor indicators for the USB errors for well over a year now, I think it's finally time to accept that they've given up on older HMD's. 

    Thats 100% fine - but give me the option to roll my software back to when it worked with my CV1. Please!
    It still works fine with my cv1 so I'm not sure why you are complaining?

    Custom built gaming desktop; i9 9900k (water cooled) oc to 5ghz, gtx 1080 ti, 32 gb 3000hz ram, 1 tb ssd, 4 tb hdd.  Asus  ROG Maximus xi hero wifi mb, StarTech 4 port/4 controller sata powered usb3.0 pcie card, PCI-E PCI Express to USB 3.1 Gen 2 card, Asus VG248QE 1080p 144hz gaming monitor, Oculus Rift cv1 w/2x sensors, Vive Pro w/2.0 base stations/controllers, Quest 1 w/Link and VD wireless (good/close 5Ghz wifi and PC with Ethernet cable to my Router).

  • YoLolo69YoLolo69 Posts: 1,158
    Wintermute
    Agree, even if I find this USB2.0 warning annoying, my CV1 still work fine, and I never noticed a difference versus when it detect my port as USB 3.0.

    “Dreams feel real while we are in them, it's only when we wake up that we realize something was strange.” - Dom Cobb

    "Be careful, if you are killed in real life you die in VR too." - TD_4242

    I7 10700K,  GTX1080 OC 10%, 32GB DDR4 3200Mhz, Oculus Rift CV1

  • WebMetalReeseWebMetalReese Posts: 42
    Brain Burst
    TomCgcmfc said:
    I come  here for the rift - see finally v.23 is out and its alllll about the quest and link. 
    What bothers me even more is that when you read up on the CV1 it specs at 90, so hopefully if it ever does decide to update to 23, it won't give me that option since I don't have a quest. 
    I'm not sure it's going to end up like that though, since they still haven't fixed the misleading sensor indicators for the USB errors for well over a year now, I think it's finally time to accept that they've given up on older HMD's. 

    Thats 100% fine - but give me the option to roll my software back to when it worked with my CV1. Please!
    It still works fine with my cv1 so I'm not sure why you are complaining?
    Yeah, still works fine? I spent almost three hours on Friday just getting the software to install itself after it refused to start due to 'establishing connection to server' To me it's painfully obvious that their priorities are solely focused on Quest 2 and it seems that they don't have the manpower nor the willpower to sort the issues that have been plaguing us for months. 
    Actually, I don't really care if I could just rollback my drivers without any issue I'd be more than happy to sink into the shadows until the CV1 gives up it's ghost. 
    Specs:
    AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
    AMD Vega 56 8GB 
    T-Delta 3200Mhz (32GB)
    Asus Strix x-470 F Gaming
    Samsung Evo 860 1 TB M.2 1TB


  • YoLolo69YoLolo69 Posts: 1,158
    Wintermute
    edited November 15
    Personally I will be happy if there is a possibility to use my CV1 on lower Hz than 90 (Oooohhhhh, what it just said?)
    Yes, because now I only have the choice to lower settings in high demanding games/apps to hope keeping 90Hz, or accept the 45fps ASW/ATW management which is sometimes surprisingly good and nearly transparent, but sometimes awful due to ghosting. I will prefer to set my CV1 at a lower frequency like 70Hz or 80Hz, easier to achieve, so I can raise games settings and not have any ghosting. I highly doubt the CV1 hardware allow this...

    “Dreams feel real while we are in them, it's only when we wake up that we realize something was strange.” - Dom Cobb

    "Be careful, if you are killed in real life you die in VR too." - TD_4242

    I7 10700K,  GTX1080 OC 10%, 32GB DDR4 3200Mhz, Oculus Rift CV1

  • WebMetalReeseWebMetalReese Posts: 42
    Brain Burst
    YoLolo69 said:
    Personally I will be happy if there is a possibility to use my CV1 on lower Hz than 90 (Oooohhhhh, what it just said?)
    Yes, because now I only have the choice to lower settings in high demanding games/apps to hope keeping 90Hz, or accept the 45fps ASW/ATW management which is sometimes surprisingly good and nearly transparent, but sometimes awful due to ghosting. I will prefer to set my CV1 at a lower frequency like 70Hz or 80Hz, easier to achieve, so I can raise games settings and not have any ghosting. I highly doubt the CV1 hardware allow this...
    Honestly I have no idea if it ever ran at 90 for me because it's constantly battling with SteamVr and their also troublesome launcher. Even with the performance monitor running sittin at the menu sure 90 all day, anything else and the red starts showing up and then turning on performance graph in SVR and they literally say two different things. 
    I'm never quite sure if SteamVR settings are messing with my rift or it if just adapts to them. 
    All I know is that I paid to use it to have fun, but it seems I spend most of my time troubleshooting why my jitters happen or my controller floated off, or why my sensor test is wrong but tracking fine. 
    IN GAME though I've never really noticed or got angry because it wasn't 90 and tbh not even sure if lowering or make it higher would make any bit of difference to me playing lucky's tale. 
    I guess none of that really matters as the all in one system is going to end up being the VR version of the Iphone. 
    Specs:
    AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
    AMD Vega 56 8GB 
    T-Delta 3200Mhz (32GB)
    Asus Strix x-470 F Gaming
    Samsung Evo 860 1 TB M.2 1TB


  • YoLolo69YoLolo69 Posts: 1,158
    Wintermute
    edited November 15
    SteamVR ? Ok then check its settings because if you let it on default options it will decide by itself to Supersample all games and apps launched through it, according to some weird algorithms it use. For my previous and old configuration it decided to set SS at 150% by default so heavy games was stuttering like hell.

    Edit : Sorry I'm kind off topic here regarding the thread...

    “Dreams feel real while we are in them, it's only when we wake up that we realize something was strange.” - Dom Cobb

    "Be careful, if you are killed in real life you die in VR too." - TD_4242

    I7 10700K,  GTX1080 OC 10%, 32GB DDR4 3200Mhz, Oculus Rift CV1

  • WebMetalReeseWebMetalReese Posts: 42
    Brain Burst
    YoLolo69 said:
    SteamVR ? Ok then check its settings because if you let it on default options it will decide by itself to Supersample all games and apps launched through it, according to some weird algorithms it use. For my previous and old configuration it decided to set SS at 150% by default so heavy games was stuttering like hell.

    Edit : Sorry I'm kind off topic here regarding the thread...
    Haha yoLolo69 man, I spent all day trying to find some explanations to what the steamvr settings actually DO for the rift and all that I can find is how to connect the Q2 to SteamVr - Please PM me if you can actually help me set it up to run correctly. I don't have it on auto, but I also don't know what to set it on. I shut SS off but I know that the resolution slider is way off according to the specs for the CF1, but I can't get the slider to the native OC res. 

    Please if you do know, I'd be much appreciative. 
    Specs:
    AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
    AMD Vega 56 8GB 
    T-Delta 3200Mhz (32GB)
    Asus Strix x-470 F Gaming
    Samsung Evo 860 1 TB M.2 1TB


  • MikeJeffriesMikeJeffries Posts: 9
    Brain Burst
    Does anyone know how to download v23 for the Oculus PC app? I dont see the resolution/refresh rate... I just see Automatic, prefer quality, prefer performance, or balanced - as options under graphics preference for the Quest 2.
  • PITTCANNAPITTCANNA Posts: 538
    Trinity
    Does anyone know how to download v23 for the Oculus PC app? I dont see the resolution/refresh rate... I just see Automatic, prefer quality, prefer performance, or balanced - as options under graphics preference for the Quest 2.
    You just have to wait for it, it usually takes a week to roll out to all users.
  • J_ShepzJ_Shepz Posts: 8
    Brain Burst
    I'm on PTC version 23.0.0.43.517 and when I click on Quest 2 & Touch under Devices, I scroll down to Advanced and see Graphics Preferences with Refresh Rate 72hz and Rendering Resolution at 3616x1920 (Automatic) but I can't change the Refresh Rate? Do I have to wait for my Quest 2 to update to V23 as well or...?
  • chert1024VRchert1024VR Posts: 7
    Brain Burst
    J_Shepz said:
    I'm on PTC version 23.0.0.43.517 and when I click on Quest 2 & Touch under Devices, I scroll down to Advanced and see Graphics Preferences with Refresh Rate 72hz and Rendering Resolution at 3616x1920 (Automatic) but I can't change the Refresh Rate? Do I have to wait for my Quest 2 to update to V23 as well or...?
    What is your graphics card? Maybe it has something to do with this.
Sign In or Register to comment.