New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

What is the first think you will do with DK2?

2

Comments

  • KingchudKingchud Posts: 56
    willste wrote:
    Unfortunately, there probably won't be a ton of DK2 compatible content at first. I'll probably just run Tuscany.


    Cyber, I assume DK2 will still be able to run old demo's in a DK1 fashion without taking advantage of the better camera tracking. Is this not the case?


    DK1 demos will need to be recompiled using the new SDK or they won't work with the DK2, or at least not without issues.
  • WelbyWelby Posts: 1,065 Oculus Start Member
    I've implemented the latest SDK (0.3.2) without too much issues. Like Drash has said just with some drag and drops and all works pretty fine.

    When i'll receive the DK 2 i'll try it,especially the positional tracking and eventually release a new Demo and more important a new alpha for Rift's cave with a lot of new features.

    We are trying to finish the new Alpha for the half of July so every people can try it with the DK2 as soon as possible when they'll receive it.

    To have the new Rift's Cave Alpha[DK 2 ready],PRE-ORDER it from here,you'll receive the first Alpha[DK 1 ready] (that's the first big step towards the final game )after some hours from the pre-order,but more important if you want something to try istantly when you'll receive your DK 2, a lot of better than the first Alpha,you absolutely have to pre-order the game right now! :lol:

    Alright,the time for advertising is finish :lol:

    But seriusly,i think Rift's cave can be a really cool experience especially with the Dev Kit 2!
  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 26,156 Oculus Staff
    willste wrote:
    Cyber, I assume DK2 will still be able to run old demo's in a DK1 fashion without taking advantage of the better camera tracking. Is this not the case?
    Content made with the old 0.2.x SDK or prior won't work on DK2. Newer content with the latest 0.3.x SDK will work, but only in a compatibility mode. For all the DK2 features, developers will need to build with a newer SDK that has not been released yet. We plan to get that release out around the same time as DK2 ships, so developers can update their content as soon as they receive the headset.
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    Gigabyte RX Vega 64 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • ThreeDeeVisionThreeDeeVision Posts: 2,087
    Wintermute
    I hope by the time I get my DK2 people will have had a bit of time to update their demos/games to use positional tracking. I would like to see some of the best demos and get inspired to make some of my own. Then again, if there aren't any good demos, maybe that will push me to try developing a game sooner.

    I am really just looking forward to being able to look around a high-def virtual world. I tried a VR game about 12 years ago in Universal Studios Florida, and I am betting the DK2 will blow the doors off of that old game. From what I remember about the game, it was a yellow and black setup just like the one in the movie Hackers, when 'The Plague' is playing VR in his apartment. I think you had a gun and could shoot your opponent (you were playing against another live person) and you were both trying to get an egg and return it to the goal for a point. If you got shot carrying the egg, you dropped it and had to go back for another (from what I remember after all these years). I remember the graphics being very blocky and there was some pretty bad latency, but it definitely got me interested in the possibilities.
    i7 5960X @ 3.8 GHz | Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 PC2800 | GTX Titan X Pascal | Win 10 64 bit | Asus ROG PG348Q | EVGA X99 Classified
  • uswinuswin Posts: 32
    Brain Burst
    I guess it will be busy time to give a shout to all of our dev buddies to consider updating their build when they had a chance, especially from VRJAM 2013 one, like sightline, private eye, polyrider, not to mention also red frame. oh man, the list are way too long :twisted:
  • kojackkojack Posts: 7,054 Volunteer Moderator
    First thing I will do is check for dead pixels (had a few dead and stuck on my dk1).
    First game I'll try? Whatever the sdk comes with (tuscany I assume).
    What I really want to try: DCS-A10 with dk2 support.
    Author: Oculus Monitor,  Auto Oculus Touch,  Oculus Forum Tool,  Phantom Touch Remover,  Forum Dark Mode,  X-Plane Fixer
    Hardware: Threadripper 1950x, MSI Gaming Trio 2080TI, Asrock X399 Taich
    Headsets: Wrap 1200VR, DK1, DK2, CV1, Rift-S, GearVR, Go, Quest, Quest 2, Reverb G2
  • jtelferjtelfer Posts: 109
    Art3mis
    Elite Dangerous, Prepar3D, Lunar Flight, Doorways - basically all the Steam stuff that's got support I've picked up. Then the demos.

    Echo the comments re not wanting motion sickness though - I've never experienced it in real life so I have everything crossed I don't get it in VR.
  • DomitjenDomitjen Posts: 269
    Nexus 6
    If I can set it up properly, Then I'll try Senzo Pesa first, be amazed, call my friends to show the same Senzo Pesa to them :p

    After that I'll try Cineveo or Virtual cinema 3d, still haven't figured out which is the best. I really want to see how the effect is on a 3dmovie in that theater.
  • japsanderjapsander Posts: 43
    Brain Burst
    now im sad :(

    i was hoping that the time i have spent setting up my game collection and downloading countless demos that i would have plenty to play with when my DK2 arrives, oh well.....

    i take it this means vireio perception wont work straight away either?
  • GygaxGygax Posts: 208
    NerveGear
    japsander wrote:
    i take it this means vireio perception wont work straight away either?

    good question
  • Tails-Tails- Posts: 89
    Hiro Protagonist
    Technolust, The Gallery, then try to retrofit games like Mirror's edge.. if all these still work of course.

    Edit: Just read cyber's response on earlier posts, I guess I'll just have to wait for updates! :/ I heard Technolust wants to update for DK2 asap at least, and Cloudhead games certainly will be ready to go.. I hope
    DK2 Status: DELIVERED
    Reddit: FourTails
  • DemoniC3444DemoniC3444 Posts: 97
    Hiro Protagonist
    Gygax wrote:
    japsander wrote:
    i take it this means vireio perception wont work straight away either?

    good question
    That's right Vireio Perception wont work straight away with DK2 I asked Cyber this last month and he said that the programmers will need to use the upcoming (not yet released) SDK to make Vireio Perception work with DK2
  • VallieVallie Posts: 124
    Art3mis
    Content made with the old 0.2.x SDK or prior won't work on DK2. Newer content with the latest 0.3.x SDK will work, but only in a compatibility mode.

    Well, thats one way to rain on the parade.
    I doubt even an eighth of the demos will be updated.

    All my roller coasters nooo~
  • ChristiaanChristiaan Posts: 386
    Art3mis
    I'm guessing that most of the developers out there who've invested a considerable amount of resources are on the DK2 bandwagon and are just as anxious as you to see their stuff on DK2.

    It'll be fun to see all the newly rebaked stuff rolling out daily!

    Cyber, how about a DK2-ready sub-forum? Why not roll it out soon?
  • fudspongfudspong Posts: 382
    Brain Burst
    I was all excited about finally pre-ordering my DK2 this morning and then I found this thread and now I has a sad :(
  • snappaheadsnappahead Posts: 2,302
    Trinity
    It is a bit of a downer, but glad I know now not to expect all the demos to just work. I hope all these awesome demos we've been able to play have devs ready and willing to do the work to make them dk2 ready. Fingers crossed. Tuscany won't be fun for long.
    i7 3820
    16 gigs of Ram
    GTX 780ti
  • fudspongfudspong Posts: 382
    Brain Burst
    Oculus should supply some rifts in advance to developers so they can get their demos working before . . oh, wait :shock:
  • DarrenMDarrenM Posts: 237
    Hiro Protagonist
    Unfortunately, there probably won't be a ton of DK2 compatible content at first. I'll probably just run Tuscany.
    That's why we need a 2014 VR jam :)

    It would be cool to see what experiences people can come up with that make use of the extra movement. Also an opportunity to get more UE4 demos.
  • uswinuswin Posts: 32
    Brain Burst
    DarrenM wrote:
    Unfortunately, there probably won't be a ton of DK2 compatible content at first. I'll probably just run Tuscany.
    That's why we need a 2014 VR jam :)

    It would be cool to see what experiences people can come up with that make use of the extra movement. Also an opportunity to get more UE4 demos.

    couldnt agree more man, vrjam2014 should be on the way, and maybe this time due to fb cash, the prize might be even higher, who knows. :twisted:
  • mp3guymp3guy Posts: 6
    I'm slightly concerned about the amount of load that will be on the GPU with the higher resolution now.
  • Zer0kewlZer0kewl Posts: 82
    Hiro Protagonist
    mp3guy wrote:
    I'm slightly concerned about the amount of load that will be on the GPU with the higher resolution now.

    ...this was a given.
  • subfractalsubfractal Posts: 16
    Brain Burst
    DCS WORLD! No question :) It will should support DK2 natively at the launch...
  • DarkyDanDarkyDan Posts: 38
    Brain Burst
    Assetto Corsa, Senza Peso, Cyber Space, Minecrift, and Disunion (because I think it looks hilarious)
  • DrachenherzDrachenherz Posts: 111
    Art3mis
    I will unpack it and then hold and caress it for an undefined amount of time.

    SmeagolPrecious.gif

    Then, I will try what's ready for it at the time. I really hope I can play Assetto Corsa, War Thunder and Euro Truck Simulator 2 and demos/experiences like Titans of Space, Senzq Peso and the Helix-Rollercoaster on it!!! *hype*
  • ComgenieComgenie Posts: 13
    Of course unpack and test it. Getting my first Rift Experience (Never had one before, although I did have the ST1080 with a Track IR). After I played around with it enough and got a good feeling for it, I'll fire up Unity and start shaping worlds. So much ideas I have for nice games :).
  • dusty44dusty44 Posts: 51
    Star citizen,hl2 +ep1 and ep 2 ,surgeon sim,asserto corsa,world of diving,eurotruck sim 2 and dcs a10 all sit patiently on my desktop waiting for Dk2.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y9znA_dwjHw
  • madmickmadmick Posts: 134
    Have a romantic dinner with it...because it will become the love of my life..well until the sexy new model comes along
  • abstractkiwiabstractkiwi Posts: 7
    NerveGear
    I just can't wait to launch Senza peso in 1080p with positional tracking :D
  • KING5TONKING5TON Posts: 55
    Brain Burst
    Calibrating, tweaking, setting up.

    After that probably blast though the game I have that support DK2 such as Elite Dangerous.
    GTX 980 OC to 1497Mhz
    i5-3570K OC to 4.4Ghz
    GA-Z77X-D3H Mobo
    8GB 1600MHz CL9 Ram
    GX750 PSU
    1TB Hard Drive
    120GB + 240GB SSDs
    Windows 8.1
    OR DK2
    Buttkicker gamer 2
  • ThoemseThoemse Posts: 172
    Art3mis
    Buy the Elite Beta. :)
Sign In or Register to comment.