Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Star Trek Voyager: Elite Force

MartinCaine
Honored Guest
Reddit Thread: reddit.com/.../star_trek_voyager_elite_force_for_oculus_rift/
Progress Updates: martincaine.com/tags/elite_force

I've been working on adding Oculus support in to my own engine which was pretty straight forward. Unfortunately I don't think my game Positron is well suited to the Rift however my helicopter game Critical Strike and racing game Shadow Racers both are. I'll be releasing demos of those later in the summer when the games are a little more fleshed out.

In the mean-time I've been looking in to learning Unity to knock together some small OR demos but to be honest I don't have the time to be learning Unity right now (I'm a professional game developer by day working with C++/Java/Obj-C and OpenGL/DirectX).

Seeing some of these older games getting support for the Rift got me thinking about some of my own favourite games. Many years ago one of the first games I ever played online was Star Trek Voyager: Elite Force. Those who played it online knew there was a strong following for the game and a very dedicated pool of players who enlisted in clans (or fleets) and we played matches regularly for many years.

The game's source code was released a long time ago (but only the VM which ran the Star Trek specific stuff on top of Quake 3), but there's also a version someone put together to work with ioQuake3. Using these two open source codebases I should have everything I need to start putting in stereoscopic rendering and then hook in the Oculus SDK. I've downloaded the source already and over the next few days will be building it and making sure it all still compiles in VS2010 (since the projects originally would've been using VC6).