cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

[CV1] CastleCoaster - RiftCoaster clone

Elecman
Explorer
I am working on a RiftCoaster clone, build with Unity. No assets from UDK or UE4 are used but I aim to make it look as similar as possible, except for some graphical improvements. All assets are from the Unity Asset Store and TurboSquid as I am a programmer, not an artist. If you have something to donate, let me know.

This screenshot is just a quick prototype. The final version will look much better.

promo.jpg

Why not make a new coaster? None of the coasters out there give me the same sensation as with RiftCoaster. The way the track is designed is quite ingenious, even though an existing demo scene is used. Replicating the RiftCoaster thrill should be easier then trying to design something from scratch. And there is the sense of nostalgia. It was one of the first demos and still is one of the best. But unfortunately it doesn't work with the DK2 and it doesn't look that is going to be fixed any time soon.

Why not use the Epic Citadel in UDK? UDK doesn't support the DK2 and has some camera transform issues (camera can't rotate with a vehicle), although this guy seems to have solved those problems:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Og-jYrx ... detailpage

Why not use UE4? UDK scenes are not compatible with UE4 so everything has to be build from scratch. And since I already know Unity, it will be much easier to stick with that.

How does it work? I use MegaShapes to build the spline which defines the track shape. Using this, it is really fast to make or modify the track. Luckily it also supports the airborne section. For the physics, a simple acceleration function seems to work fine: f = m g cos θ − b v.