cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Lost as to what I should do, get oculus or wait? I am a dev.

codejoy
Honored Guest
I have an oppertunity to order a oculus dk2. Not sure if I should wait.

A) I think it would be a while before id see it even
b) Is the consumer model going to be cheaper? and vastly improved?
c) I am a unity developer but currently oculus requires full version unity to work, is there any way this will change in the future?

Thanks for the input to help make a decision...

Shane
22 REPLIES 22

drash
Heroic Explorer
A) Not sure how long the wait is to receive a DK2 order now.

B) Not sure how much the consumer model will cost, but it will very certainly be a vast improvement over DK2 (just based on the new feature prototype that Oculus unveiled last weekend). DK2 is already mindblowing, though. 🙂

C) Also announced last weekend is that Oculus has partnered with Unity to introduce an Oculus Rift build target which means you'll be able to develop for the Rift in both Unity free and Unity Pro, for free. I believe Unity has said to stay tuned for concrete info regarding this soon (days/weeks).
  • Titans of Space PLUS for Quest is now available on DrashVR.com

codejoy
Honored Guest
wow that unity stuff is great news thank you, I missed that in the flurry of news on all things gaming.

You have Dk2? IS there issues with ati cards? Man this tempts me, its between this or buying a ps4/or xbox one. But i did see the new announcement one, looks like earphones and I am still researching what is new in the latest announced version (dk3? dk2.5?)

Vercci
Honored Guest
Getting a DK2 now will let you develop something that you'll be able to sell on day 1 when the consumer version hits.
NZ DK2 Order: May 26, 2014 06:00 PM PDT Status:Delivery Complete

cyriltra
Honored Guest
A) New order should be shipped in 6 to 8 weeks, according to Cybereality => this is valid if you are living in US and probably Europe as well.