cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Lost as to what I should do, get oculus or wait? I am a dev.

codejoy
Honored Guest
I have an oppertunity to order a oculus dk2. Not sure if I should wait.

A) I think it would be a while before id see it even
b) Is the consumer model going to be cheaper? and vastly improved?
c) I am a unity developer but currently oculus requires full version unity to work, is there any way this will change in the future?

Thanks for the input to help make a decision...

Shane
22 REPLIES 22

codejoy
Honored Guest
I was going to ask, or ponder. Is the CV1 going to be as much as the DK2? more? or less? maybe? I haven't heard any scuttlebutt on that yet (but new to the scene)

Kel
Explorer
"codejoy" wrote:
I was going to ask, or ponder. Is the CV1 going to be as much as the DK2? more? or less? maybe? I haven't heard any scuttlebutt on that yet (but new to the scene)

It will likely be around the same price point as the DK2 if not a little more. But that is only speculation based on what they have said in various interviews. They want to continue selling them at cost as they are doing with the DK2.

AntDX316
Honored Guest
its at 0.4.2

it can be firmware upgradeable which means they can release an awesome update to make it even better and plug n play with everything

basically there is room for potential but as of now it's pretty bad and not worth it

Luciferous
Consultant
The DK2 came as bolt from the blue as did facebook, so although very unlikely I wouldn't rule out a DK3. Always expect the unexpected from Oculus.

Personally I couldn't wait and I'm just an enthusiast. The CV1 will be far superior by the looks of the latest prototype.

Oneiros
Honored Guest